PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby M_2NR » June 21st, 2011, 1:16 pm

HCCA wrote:
fouljuice wrote:Most sites say they expect the GT545 to cost about $150US.
If that is true, it would not make sense to get a 545 since a GTS450 cost less and has higher specs, or GTX460 which cost the same and has even higher specs than the 450

Yeah the price is the real dealbreaker there.

Was expecting it to be a bit under $100 US really.

i think its all about the form factor.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 21st, 2011, 1:39 pm

damn it

150US

keep EEETTTTTT !!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 21st, 2011, 1:42 pm

Virus

Postby Virus » June 21st, 2011, 1:49 pm

Chiney wrote:http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-PCI-Express-Graphics-01G-P3-1366-TR/dp/B004DKWLB4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1308678038&sr=8-1

gotta love this price!!

Yup and look how cute :D

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 22nd, 2011, 1:47 am

^^ remember too though, the SE-edition is slightly slower than the regular editions

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 22nd, 2011, 8:15 am

nothing a slight OC wont fix,

heck.. u wont see that much of a difference in gaming either

Virus

Postby Virus » June 22nd, 2011, 6:20 pm

Chiney wrote:nothing a slight OC wont fix,

heck.. u wont see that much of a difference in gaming either

Agreed there are alot of reference cards running neck with OC version its all about finding the sweet spot of the card

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 22nd, 2011, 6:23 pm

Chiney wrote:http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-PCI-Express-Graphics-01G-P3-1366-TR/dp/B004DKWLB4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1308678038&sr=8-1

gotta love this price!!
for real!!!

I got this in my rig and never played a game on it

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » June 22nd, 2011, 11:50 pm

duane is adobe designed to use more of your cpu or GPU for rendering files...also can you give some real world rendering/encoding benchmarks you've experienced with your build from personal projects thus far e.g (5:00 min AVCHD or MP4 (1080p) clip takes "x" amount of time to render in H.264 1080p )....

BTW decent build and it looks well researched.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 22nd, 2011, 11:54 pm

duane u suck

pass that bad boy over! let me warm her up. LOL

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2011, 2:42 am

speedfreak99 wrote:duane is adobe designed to use more of your cpu or GPU for rendering files...also can you give some real world rendering/encoding benchmarks you've experienced with your build from personal projects thus far e.g (5:00 min AVCHD or MP4 (1080p) clip takes "x" amount of time to render in H.264 1080p )....

BTW decent build and it looks well researched.
Adobe partnered with nvidia for CS5 so apps like Primiere Pro use the CUDA processors in the video cards for video processing. Off the bat I can tell you that with a i7 2600kat 4.5Ghz I still had to wait to render full HD video to see it and the scrub line was red, meaning that you cannot scrub in real time, however after I put in the nvidia card the line went to yellow and I could scrub HD 1080p video in real time with no hiccups.

I havent really done any benchmarks.

the app has to be able to use CUDA for this to work - the GPU is ALOT faster at this than the CPU.

In apps like convertXtoDVD the conversion time dropped to half when using the i7 2600k over a i7 960. Sometimes even better with HD movies.

I have a P67 board not H67, so I don't know how the built in GPU in the sandy bridge helps with video processing and editing.

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » June 23rd, 2011, 4:04 am

thanks!
I am using Corel Videostudio pro X4; which has a proxy caching feature which helps alot (for now) with merely reading AVCHD files off my laptop. But rendering takes for ever!

So i guess your build was tailored to your choice of video editing software. I still expect to wait for the rendering... but not hours for a 40 min clip etc...(as is my plight :( )

i have seen reviews on the H67 and Z68 boards and performance benching in particular for SNB's igu using Virtu.... (I know its inaccessible on the P boards) and i understand now what you're saying about the hardware-software interaction.

Postby Chimera » June 23rd, 2011, 12:35 pm

suppose to post some pics of meh build yes, doh tell me nun about bird nest eh :P

will take some pics and post them up tmr

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » June 23rd, 2011, 1:31 pm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2011, 1:47 pm

speedfreak99 wrote:thanks!
I am using Corel Videostudio pro X4; which has a proxy caching feature which helps alot (for now) with merely reading AVCHD files off my laptop. But rendering takes for ever!

So i guess your build was tailored to your choice of video editing software. I still expect to wait for the rendering... but not hours for a 40 min clip etc...(as is my plight :( )

i have seen reviews on the H67 and Z68 boards and performance benching in particular for SNB's igu using Virtu.... (I know its inaccessible on the P boards) and i understand now what you're saying about the hardware-software interaction.
yup

a GPU will exceed a CPU at doing video conversion though (like converting an AVI to another format) - so look for software that uses GPU acceleration

I've always used Adobe applications and so the nvidia choice was a no-brainer for me

Postby M_2NR » June 23rd, 2011, 1:49 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:suppose to post some pics of meh build yes, doh tell me nun about bird nest eh :P

will take some pics and post them up tmr

can't wait. Im sure the case had A LOT of space to run and hide the wires bro.

Postby Chimera » June 23rd, 2011, 1:58 pm

I actually building a shelf to hold 2 32inch tvs /dvr system/ps3/printer/speakers etc behind the table that I have the new tower and the original 19 inch monitor that I had on my old pc

Plan is to have two 32 inch monitors/tv side by side, one for the camera system and the older pc,
one for the new tower and ps3 and direct tv with 50 feet hdmi cables running from the ps3 and tower to the 55 inch tv in living room and 50 foot rca cable from the direct tv outside to one of the 32 inch monitors.

also the 19 inch monitor in front of me on the desk (gotta dump the 19 and get a 22, that 19 have a line through it for the longest while)

Postby M_2NR » June 23rd, 2011, 3:48 pm

oh yea that reminds me, i saw on the other page you mention 50 feet of HDMI, i surprise Duane eh jump een on that.

What output you getting at the end of that 50'? I coulda swear i read somewhere that you start to get degradation of signal beyond 20'

Virus

Postby Virus » June 23rd, 2011, 4:40 pm

M_2NR wrote:oh yea that reminds me, i saw on the other page you mention 50 feet of HDMI, i surprise Duane eh jump een on that.

What output you getting at the end of that 50'? I coulda swear i read somewhere that you start to get degradation of signal beyond 20'

To answer you question question the answer is no signal :D

Especially in long distance runs the HDMI signal will surely degrade tight bends and pulls on wired to make it long than it is will also disrupt the cable in short this don't make sense without HDMI extender and still reports state that the picture size will actually go down so yes you will get video at the end of the run but what size is another question

Postby bushwakka » June 23rd, 2011, 5:16 pm

ammmm....alyuh kno anywhere that sellin DVI-DVI monitor cables cheap? laptop city hav insane prices of $240

Virus

Postby Virus » June 23rd, 2011, 5:52 pm

bushwakka wrote:ammmm....alyuh kno anywhere that sellin DVI-DVI monitor cables cheap? laptop city hav insane prices of $240

What length and application ? i might be able to assist

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2011, 6:44 pm

bushwakka wrote:ammmm....alyuh kno anywhere that sellin DVI-DVI monitor cables cheap? laptop city hav insane prices of $240
check amazon.

and TT$240 is not an insane price for a cable

try US$200 on amazon for a 8foot M series Monster HDMI cable not too long ago.
that's insane!

Postby Chimera » June 23rd, 2011, 7:07 pm

if u jus gonna skybox in a single monitor cable, u probably gonna end up paying $240 anyway lol

duane them fellas was saying i wont get any signal with a 50 foot hdmi cable? gimme some advice before i order it on amazon na

Postby bushwakka » June 23rd, 2011, 7:31 pm

Virus wrote:

What length and application ? i might be able to assist

standard length like 3 feet lol...jus to connect a monitor i bought, it has DVI and VGA input but the idiots only supplied VGA

check amazon.

and TT$240 is not an insane price for a cable

try US$200 on amazon for a 8foot M series Monster HDMI cable not too long ago.
that's insane!

yea buh....a DVI cable really hav to be that expensive? it was over the length i wanted anyway....sumn like 10 ft or so

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2011, 7:33 pm

^ DVI is HDMI without audio yuh know.

ABA Trading, read this:

Cable length

The HDMI specification does not define a maximum cable length. As with all cables, signal attenuation becomes too high at a certain length. Instead, HDMI specifies a minimum performance standard. Any cable meeting that specification is compliant. Different construction quality and materials will enable cables of different lengths. In addition, higher performance requirements must be met to support video formats with higher resolutions and/or frame rates than the standard HDTV formats.

The signal attenuation and intersymbol interference caused by the cables can be compensated by using Adaptive Equalization.

HDMI 1.3 defined two categories of cables: Category 1 (standard or HDTV) and Category 2 (high-speed or greater than HDTV) to reduce the confusion about which cables support which video formats. Using 28 AWG, a cable of about 5 meters (~16 feet) can be manufactured easily and inexpensively to Category 1 specifications. Higher-quality construction (24 AWG, tighter construction tolerances, etc.) can reach lengths of 12 to 15 meters. In addition, active cables (fiber optic or dual Cat-5 cables instead of standard copper) can be used to extend HDMI to 100 meters or more. Some companies also offer amplifiers, equalizers and repeaters that can string several standard (non-active) HDMI cables together.

and

nobody can predict with certainty whether you will be successful at a particular distance. And other folks' success doesn't necessarily mean that you will be successful at the same distance. Performance depends on the characteristics of the equipment at both ends, the HDMI cable itself, anything else in the signal path, and the resolution, frame rate, and color depth you are running.

and
BUT i have noticed differances in cables. "cheap" ones from monoprice etc. are not good for long runs. if you notice the cables from better cables etc. use an inline "amp" and they work fine, at long distances. im personally using a 45ft. or close to that from better cables with no problems.

You won't know if it will work until you try it.
To get deep colour you will need at least an HDMI 1.3 compliant cable, to get 3D you will need at least HDMI 1.4

supremacy_007

Postby supremacy_007 » June 23rd, 2011, 8:09 pm

nice piece of info

Postby M_2NR » June 23rd, 2011, 8:52 pm

Thanks D for clearing it up :)

If ulyuh want MUCH more info, gizmodo did an article related to this topic about monster branded cables etc. Good read as well.

__

http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-26911-D ... 621&sr=8-1

should cost less than 100$ afaik and its prime so if you order now, u should get it by next week (assuming yuh skybox bess like websource, i get a package within 48 hours).

also there are different types of DVI so check it before :idea:

Postby Chimera » June 23rd, 2011, 9:56 pm

http://www.amazon.com/BlueRigger-HDMI-C ... 512&sr=8-2

i usually order stuff for 2 weeks or so and then ship every 2 weeks, doesn't make sense ordering one one thing and skyboxing it.

have some relatives returning from nyc on tuesday anyway so ill have them bring it

xaira

Postby xaira » June 23rd, 2011, 11:01 pm

good thing i stumble on this discussion yes, was now about to bite the bullet on a 40ft hdmi cable thinkin "its a digital signal so 40ft is small thing" lol,

bushwakka, i have 3 or 4 in my nex house, dvi-d single to dvi-d single i think its 6ft, u can get 1 for $120

Postby bushwakka » June 24th, 2011, 1:04 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ DVI is HDMI without audio yuh know.

yea i kno, which is why i dont tink it shud be that expensive lol......newayz, ill look around