Postby RichieRich » July 27th, 2011, 8:12 pm

Anyone ever used this set up?
!BwhSSGQ!Wk~$(KGrHqJ,!iYEv1+z)nJpBMJUK27egQ~~_3.jpg

todd61

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby todd61 » July 27th, 2011, 8:28 pm

RichieRich wrote:Anyone ever used this set up?

I did but never got anything ,but that was only once i used it

todd61

Postby todd61 » July 27th, 2011, 8:31 pm

pugboy wrote:fish was real biting in the gulf weekend,
all kinds too, banking as well not only carite
friend with boat said there like 30 boats there
he literally run out of bait by 11am

Which part in de gulf?

Postby pugboy » July 27th, 2011, 8:50 pm

in the middle where the tankers park and where they normally catch the carite

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 27th, 2011, 9:37 pm

Yes... grouper and eel's some red fish etc.. good for banking in somewhat rocky banks with 50+ lb line.

used that setup a few times, was ok... didn't "feel the bite" as much but when a fish went for rocks it didn't buss 1/2 as easily as a basic line setup (not sure how the braided compares but i'd think it'll work better still in said conditions.) where yuh bankin an when? i'll bring d rum. :mrgreen:

drop ho

Postby drop ho » July 28th, 2011, 9:56 am

I normally use this for more rocky areas but yeah you dont normally feel the bite on it.
(I assuming this i the wire) There is a nylon one as well I find better to work with.
I'll try to post a pic.

What pound line you all use on your rods? Say medium to heavy action?

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » July 28th, 2011, 9:57 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:

Yes... grouper and eel's some red fish etc.. good for banking in somewhat rocky banks with 50+ lb line.

used that setup a few times, was ok... didn't "feel the bite" as much but when a fish went for rocks it didn't buss 1/2 as easily as a basic line setup (not sure how the braided compares but i'd think it'll work better still in said conditions.) where yuh bankin an when? i'll bring d rum. :mrgreen:

Thanks for the info lol

Wanna make a north run soon, will let you kno

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 28th, 2011, 10:04 am

drop ho wrote:

I normally use this for more rocky areas but yeah you dont normally feel the bite on it.
(I assuming this i the wire) There is a nylon one as well I find better to work with.
I'll try to post a pic.

What pound line you all use on your rods? Say medium to heavy action?

My 8 ft casting rod has 14 lb line...
small penn has 30 lb test
big penn has 50lb test

20 - 50 id say medium
50 - 100 heavy but some people use 100 lb +...i don't find that fun.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » July 28th, 2011, 10:42 am

There is a saying the lighter the line more bite you get as it is harder to see.
Ofcourse to land might take a little more skill as line will break quicker.
Currently using 14lb as well. Going to try 10lb

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 28th, 2011, 6:01 pm

ah 30lb line in my opinion is great for trolling...if yuh goin behind wahoo, go higher like 50-60lb and for jigging, yuh need at least 80-100lb braid...kepp fishing...

evil_twin

Postby evil_twin » July 28th, 2011, 7:02 pm

anybody knows anyone who makes bamboo crab traps to sell or where i can get a design to try to a make abt a dozen?

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » July 28th, 2011, 10:14 pm

Now came back from manzan! Water by the river mount still dirty but was able to pull in 6 bushe and 2 nice size pag!..Notting big and extravagant!

todd61

Postby todd61 » July 28th, 2011, 11:31 pm

hoping to make a run up de north coast in the morning

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 29th, 2011, 6:40 am

well guys, here is the long awaited vid for the channel on youtube...check it out, subscribe and like it for more...will be doin ah vid wen i go across tobago in ah few weeks and i wanna do ah gd one wen i charter ah boat for wahoo later on this year...hope u guys enjoy it...

http://www.youtube.com/user/FishingTrin ... ature=mhee

wraith

Postby wraith » July 29th, 2011, 9:37 am

Nice vid. but a question. Do most people eat the Tarpon?

Here in grenada it is not really eaten, I have tried it but personally do not like the flesh especially all the bones. It is a great fighting fish though.

Also has anyone tried Jigging for fish in the 150' to 200' range.? Am thinking of getting into it once i can get the boat engine repaired and get a good fish finder.

Postby Gladiator » July 29th, 2011, 10:36 am

wraith wrote:Nice vid. but a question. Do most people eat the Tarpon?

Here in grenada it is not really eaten, I have tried it but personally do not like the flesh especially all the bones. It is a great fighting fish though.

Also has anyone tried Jigging for fish in the 150' to 200' range.? Am thinking of getting into it once i can get the boat engine repaired and get a good fish finder.

I am not really a conservationist but I must say, those Tarpons are really small and will not be good to eat (plenty bones). They are good game fish and should be caught and released to get more size... The big ones have plenty meat and I can understand keeping those (80lbs +)

I know a fisherman who caught 11 Tarpon, ranging from 100lbs to 250lbs. Ran out of storage and couldn't give away any so he ended up dumping 7 of them in the cane fields.... A couple months later he and his crew disappeared mysteriously, no boat was ever found till about a year later when a trawler dragged up the wreck. Nature has a way of getting back at you!!!

Usually when we catch we keep only the ones that are 100lbs and over and catch only enough for the family or to share with the village.

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » July 29th, 2011, 1:08 pm

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH wrote:Now came back from manzan! Water by the river mount still dirty but was able to pull in 6 bushe and 2 nice size pag!..Notting big and extravagant!

looking to head up that side for the wknd
what bait the brochet/snook taking?
you fishing from the beach near the mouth or in the river mouth itself?

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 29th, 2011, 2:07 pm

ok ok ....who say boshey / snook???

hold dat!!
Copy of P7280758.JPG

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » July 29th, 2011, 2:09 pm

ok brudda ya win lol

give a brudda some tips.....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 29th, 2011, 6:13 pm

nice snook bro...all the tarpon dat we caught were given away within 2 days and those size tarpon are great size for eating...i dont find there are much bones and anyway any fish that lives in the water for a longer time have higher levels of lead in them, so dey ah little worst to eat...on the other hand, with jigging...i tried once so far with my new jigging tackle and i expect to catch sumthing big wen i go across tobago...dont forget to like and subscribe to my channel on youtube for more vids...

http://www.youtube.com/user/FishingTrin ... ature=mhee

todd61

Postby todd61 » July 29th, 2011, 7:10 pm

Real salt today yes.

No live bait = fail yes

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 29th, 2011, 10:43 pm

todd61, where u went? ulyuh fellaz ever try trolling dem pink squid in d gulf to see wat ulyuh pickup?

todd61

Postby todd61 » July 29th, 2011, 11:31 pm

ryan99tt wrote:todd61, where u went? ulyuh fellaz ever try trolling dem pink squid in d gulf to see wat ulyuh pickup?

We was going showdo but we didn't get get the live bait no one had any that we knew

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 30th, 2011, 12:51 am

...saw about 8 boat outside d gulf yesterday....all fishing live bait...
i see a man pulling in a nice size carite in one of d boat and like he padna get a jam down same time on another line.

Postby meccalli » July 30th, 2011, 8:32 am

Noice Snook! *thumbs*

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 30th, 2011, 11:06 am

^^ :D...thanks...
weighed 12lbs...
but dats not line eh...speargun in he arse.....well...actually <<in the head>> lol
i only ever pulled 1 snook with an artificial <soft bait> behind the airport in tobago. had abt maybe 2 - 2 n ah half lbs size...grab bait and run...drag start to sing...lol

BTW fellas....hav some big cavalli there!!...

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » July 30th, 2011, 8:51 pm

jramsarran wrote:...saw about 8 boat outside d gulf yesterday....all fishing live bait...
i see a man pulling in a nice size carite in one of d boat and like he padna get a jam down same time on another line.

where?

tropi_flakes

Postby tropi_flakes » July 30th, 2011, 9:14 pm

Anyone know wheres the spot where people go to ketch lobsters when the tide is out? i keep hearing people talk about it but im not to sure where it is :oops: .They say u could walk out a good distance when the tides out and look for them hiding in the rocks :)

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » July 30th, 2011, 11:10 pm

RichieRich wrote:
jramsarran wrote:...saw about 8 boat outside d gulf yesterday....all fishing live bait...

where?

was off Orange Valley about 3-4 miles... there's a pile projecting out of the water....rite around there!!....

tropi_flakes wrote:Anyone know wheres the spot where people go to ketch lobsters when the tide is out? i keep hearing people talk about it but im not to sure where it is :oops: .They say u could walk out a good distance when the tides out and look for them hiding in the rocks :)

....the place where you talking abt is in toco....well dats what a fisherman from right there tell me..he said ppl just walk out in the low tide (at night) with a flash light...and catch them....
i've never actually done it soo i can't say for sure...when u confirm it let me know ok...jus leave ah few fuh me.. :oops: doh catch all...haha

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » July 30th, 2011, 11:33 pm

jramsarran wrote:
RichieRich wrote:

where?

was off Orange Valley about 3-4 miles... there's a pile projecting out of the water....rite around there!!....

You mean the ole abandon Oil pipe thats close to the ole rig?