paid_influencer wrote:j.o.e wrote:Is the topic a post about a man’s watch with a grossly over estimated price tag ?
the scary part is pnm leadership really doh understand why this is an election topic
this election going to make 1986 look like joke
The_Honourable wrote:paid_influencer wrote:j.o.e wrote:Is the topic a post about a man’s watch with a grossly over estimated price tag ?
the scary part is pnm leadership really doh understand why this is an election topic
this election going to make 1986 look like joke
That's an exaggeration, we're not going to have results similar to 33-3.
hover11 wrote:Tell me you're slow without telling me you're slow.....it's about a man who is clearly out of touch with his people complaining on a podium that he never knew how expensive flour and saltfish was yet he could afford a rolexj.o.e wrote:hover11 wrote:Instead of attacking , can you be unbiased for one minute and stay focused on the topic or is that all you can say. Lewwe know na. Cuz it appears you dunce no MCj.o.e wrote:hover11 wrote:Interesting FB_IMG_1744502398128.jpg
A gimme gimme hungry mouth does take chain up easy yes.
Is the topic a post about a man’s watch with a grossly over estimated price tag ?
pugboy wrote:not so easy to get a sweep
back then there was no widespread cepep and contracts to keep supporters chained up
it had dewd and urp but a fraction of the scale now
paid_influencer wrote:what do you mean if kamla was allowed to devalue
is the value of the dollar
set by proclamation
or set by economics
if it is by proclamation, why not set it at 2:1 goods will be real cheap
Where are the international observers?The_Honourable wrote:Caricom, Commonwealth election observers arrive on April 21
ELECTION OBSERVERS will be in TT a week ahead of the general election on April 28.
A release by the Ministry of Foreign and Caricom Affairs said missions from Caricom and Commonwealth were confirmed and they would conduct the exercise from April 21-30.
Copies of the letters to the respective groups were also attached to the release.
“They are also expected to share their observations and make recommendations for future electoral processes with relevant authorities, stakeholders and members of the public.”
The Carter Centre, it said, was also invited by Prime Minister Stuart Young. A letter was sent to Dr David Carroll, the director of the Democracy Programme, dated March 21 but, so far, correspondence indicated it has been unable to deploy a mission to observe the election.
It said former PM Dr Keith Rowley wrote Caricom Secretary-General Dr Carla Barnett requesting the presence of a Caricom electoral observer mission for the 2025 general election on December 10, 2024. In a letter dated January 13, Barnett replied saying the Secretariat was prepared to make the necessary administrative arrangements for the deployment of an electoral observer mission.
On March 19, Young wrote Baroness Patricia Scotland KC, the then-Commonwealth Secretary-General, requesting an electoral observation mission from the Commonwealth. In response, on March 25, Scotland said arrangements would be made to deploy a Commonwealth electoral mission and contact would be made with the relevant officials to coordinate the planning and deployment of the mission.
“The chief election officer (of the Elections and Boundaries Commission) has been officially written informing of the presence of the missions and of the request from the Caricom Secretariat for meetings with key stakeholders. Details with regard to the Commonwealth’s team are being addressed.
“Facilitation of the electoral observer missions is in keeping with international best practice and reflects TT’s long-standing commitment and adherence to democracy and the rule of law, to the promotion and protection of human rights and the country’s universally-acknowledged tradition of free and fair elections,” the letter said.
Election scrutiny important
UNC political leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar has been calling on the government for international observers for the election for some time. She first wrote Rowley on September 16, 2024, and then Young on March 19 expressing concerns about the erosion of democratic institutions, the transparency of the electoral process and the impartiality of the EBC.
Up to April 10 at the UNC labour consultations in Couva, Persad-Bissessar asked for an update on the status of the election observers. She said the UNC team met with the EBC on April 7 but the EBC knew nothing about the observers.
At a UNC meeting in Arima on April 11, spokesperson Anil Roberts called on supporters to be vigilant on election day as he warned the PNM was planning to steal the election.
Up to press time, calls and messages to UNC public relations officer Dr Kirk Meighoo and deputy political leader Dr Roodal Moonilal for a response went unanswered.
In response to the announcement, National Transformation Alliance political leader Gary Griffith said the elections observer mission officers were welcomed, but were expected as they had been requested and agreed upon by the government.
“I was a little disappointed when I heard other political parties stating they preferred to have international observers, giving the perception Caricom cannot be trusted because of their close affiliation with other political parties in TT. I think it’s ludicrous to try to question the ethics of Caricom.”
He believed the Caricom observers were sufficient to put checks and balances on the election and said he wished they were present during the local government election in 2023.
“The election observers will ensure some degree of stability because what they will ensure as well is any political party that gets into government would not be going in there with a cloud hanging over their head based on a perception that they got there through some type of clandestine plan.”
In a statement on April 7, the UNC said an eight-member delegation met with the EBC to discuss matters ahead of the April 28 general election.
The party said the matter of observers was one of two major election-integrity issues which were unsolved, and with which the UNC remained “deeply concerned” and “dissatisfied.”
"Election observation by impartial international bodies is a standard democratic safeguard, especially in a context where public confidence in the electoral process must be protected and upheld.”
The opposition party added that the country must not hold an election without independent international scrutiny and said it would pursue the matter urgently including direct engagement with international bodies and diplomatic missions, if necessary.
https://newsday.co.tt/2025/04/12/update ... pril-21-2/
hover11 wrote:I voting party , refuse to reward the same party that did the bare minimum for past nine years.....call it whatever you wantst7 wrote:hover11 wrote:How is that tribal voting idiot if it applies to schools and work.....if you are part of a group you are assigned a group grade. Regardless if one person did the work or everybody pulled their weight. The same applies for work you are assigned a team grade if the department did not meet the targets then you cannot reward some when the ENTIRE team failed. There are many slackers within the pnm or are simply living off the fat and not pulling their weight.....hinds did it for NINE years.st7 wrote:hover11 wrote:Again even if i voting for my mp.....if you are part of a team and the entire team fails to meet their targets why must I reward some. If the team fails everybody fails . I not voting for no mp who is part of a team that failed.st7 wrote:you voting for the MP for your area or a man you heavily jealous of?hover11 wrote:Political scientist and UWI Prof Hamid Ghany has weighed in on the heated political rhetoric ahead of the general election, stating that the real issue at play is class, not race.
Read more:
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ghany-t ... ca44fadefa
Why must I vote for a man who knows nothing about the struggles about the average man, who for his entire life had everything served to him on a silver platter.FB_IMG_1744546208196.jpg
you seem to be focused too much on the wrong thing.
ah yes, stupid tribal voting. not surprised by a sufferer.
if yuh MP doing something for your area, yuh wont vote for him because he part of a team u doh support.funny you said this while begging for a higher wage lololfails to meet their targets why must I reward some
lol... you are tribal voting based on the leader of the tribe and not the one who represents you. as always, you astound us with your ignorant small mindedness and it's no wonder you remain a sufferer. carry on.
we know who you were in those team projects when you copy and paste other's words as your own on tuner.
The_Honourable wrote:pugboy wrote:not so easy to get a sweep
back then there was no widespread cepep and contracts to keep supporters chained up
Also, back then the pnm base didn't have to study about the "threat" of an indo becoming prime minister. Panday himself admitted that the country wasn't ready for an indo PM in 1986 hence why he didn't make a play back then and gave way to ANR Robinson as the PM.
Plus, Robbie was going to be PM for the first time. As he was afro, many afro trinis at the time felt comfortable switching their vote. A good example is Tobago elections over the decades. Why you think the pnm does use the "calcutta ship" method of fearmongering every THA election?
There is a high chance Kamla+ could make it over 21 seats to win but over 30 is improbable.
I guess you can't differentiate between politicians who run the country and public servants who are simply workers. Hold the management of the country accountable first then talk about workers. Until then, shut itst7 wrote:hover11 wrote:I voting party , refuse to reward the same party that did the bare minimum for past nine years.....call it whatever you wantst7 wrote:hover11 wrote:How is that tribal voting idiot if it applies to schools and work.....if you are part of a group you are assigned a group grade. Regardless if one person did the work or everybody pulled their weight. The same applies for work you are assigned a team grade if the department did not meet the targets then you cannot reward some when the ENTIRE team failed. There are many slackers within the pnm or are simply living off the fat and not pulling their weight.....hinds did it for NINE years.st7 wrote:hover11 wrote:Again even if i voting for my mp.....if you are part of a team and the entire team fails to meet their targets why must I reward some. If the team fails everybody fails . I not voting for no mp who is part of a team that failed.st7 wrote:you voting for the MP for your area or a man you heavily jealous of?hover11 wrote:Political scientist and UWI Prof Hamid Ghany has weighed in on the heated political rhetoric ahead of the general election, stating that the real issue at play is class, not race.
Read more:
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/ghany-t ... ca44fadefa
Why must I vote for a man who knows nothing about the struggles about the average man, who for his entire life had everything served to him on a silver platter.FB_IMG_1744546208196.jpg
if yuh MP doing something for your area, yuh wont vote for him because he part of a team u doh support.funny you said this while begging for a higher wage lololfails to meet their targets why must I reward some
lol... you are tribal voting based on the leader of the tribe and not the one who represents you. as always, you astound us with your ignorant small mindedness and it's no wonder you remain a sufferer. carry on.
we know who you were in those team projects when you copy and paste other's words as your own on tuner.
funny you said the highlighted while begging for a higher wage lolol
I think if alot of grassroots pnm stay away from voting this rounds UNC will win and PNM plan might very well backfirepaid_influencer wrote:The_Honourable wrote:pugboy wrote:not so easy to get a sweep
Also, back then the pnm base didn't have to study about the "threat" of an indo becoming prime minister. Panday himself admitted that the country wasn't ready for an indo PM in 1986 hence why he didn't make a play back then and gave way to ANR Robinson as the PM.
Plus, Robbie was going to be PM for the first time. As he was afro, many afro trinis at the time felt comfortable switching their vote. A good example is Tobago elections over the decades. Why you think the pnm does use the "calcutta ship" method of fearmongering every THA election?
There is a high chance Kamla+ could make it over 21 seats to win but over 30 is improbable.
I look at it like this: at least in 1986 they had the comfort of voting for an Afro-trinidadian leader in the PNM.
but that option does not exist in 2025. They have to choose between an Indo and a Indo-Chinese PM.
The PNM has no base this time around.
paid_influencer wrote:
I look at it like this: at least in 1986 they had the comfort of voting for an Afro-trinidadian leader in the PNM.
but that option does not exist in 2025. They have to choose between an Indo and a Indo-Chinese PM.
My thing is if we moving forward with young why is Rowley still in the background lurking, is this an attempt to regain grassroots supporters but the majority of ppl hate Rowley is bringing up to speak or say anything wouldn't that be doing more harm than good. Even the mites know if it was Rowley vs kamla in this rounds , PNM cutarse was booked because the support for Rowley has decipatedpaid_influencer wrote:
read the banner on the podium. somebody explain to meh this new chapter nah. what is this new chapter
hover11 wrote:My thing is if we moving forward with young why is Rowley still in the background lurking, is he there to regain grassroots supporters but the majority of ppl hate Rowley is bringing up to speak or say anything wouldn't that be doing more harm than good. Even the mites know if it was Rowley vs kamla in this rounds , PNM cutarse was booked because the support for Rowley has decipatedpaid_influencer wrote:485369896_1081870903969278_89012769679876828_n.jpg
read the banner on the podium. somebody explain to meh this new chapter nah. what is this new chapter
hover11 wrote:I guess you can't differentiate between politicians who run the country and public servants who are simply workers. Hold the management of the country accountable first then talk about workers. Until then, shut itst7 wrote:hover11 wrote:I voting party , refuse to reward the same party that did the bare minimum for past nine years.....call it whatever you wantst7 wrote:hover11 wrote:How is that tribal voting idiot if it applies to schools and work.....if you are part of a group you are assigned a group grade. Regardless if one person did the work or everybody pulled their weight. The same applies for work you are assigned a team grade if the department did not meet the targets then you cannot reward some when the ENTIRE team failed. There are many slackers within the pnm or are simply living off the fat and not pulling their weight.....hinds did it for NINE years.st7 wrote:hover11 wrote:Again even if i voting for my mp.....if you are part of a team and the entire team fails to meet their targets why must I reward some. If the team fails everybody fails . I not voting for no mp who is part of a team that failed.st7 wrote:you voting for the MP for your area or a man you heavily jealous of?
hover11 wrote:I think if alot of grassroots pnm stay away from voting this rounds UNC will win and PNM plan might very well backfirepaid_influencer wrote:The_Honourable wrote:pugboy wrote:not so easy to get a sweep
Well that's how it works unfortunately when your bread and butter is tied to politics. Public servants are paid based not on meritocracy but whether the government feels to give an increase or not. UNC promising but when unc was in power they delivered with 14 percent pay increase while PNM fighting to pay 4 percent. So the workers will decide who they want to rule over them for the next five years. PNM offering nothing based on their performance over the last nine years so we rather take our chances with the UNCst7 wrote:hover11 wrote:I guess you can't differentiate between politicians who run the country and public servants who are simply workers. Hold the management of the country accountable first then talk about workers. Until then, shut itst7 wrote:hover11 wrote:I voting party , refuse to reward the same party that did the bare minimum for past nine years.....call it whatever you wantst7 wrote:hover11 wrote:How is that tribal voting idiot if it applies to schools and work.....if you are part of a group you are assigned a group grade. Regardless if one person did the work or everybody pulled their weight. The same applies for work you are assigned a team grade if the department did not meet the targets then you cannot reward some when the ENTIRE team failed. There are many slackers within the pnm or are simply living off the fat and not pulling their weight.....hinds did it for NINE years.st7 wrote:hover11 wrote:Again even if i voting for my mp.....if you are part of a team and the entire team fails to meet their targets why must I reward some. If the team fails everybody fails . I not voting for no mp who is part of a team that failed.
the big difference is that you public servants put them there thinking they there for you. UNC promising this and that and allyuh taking the bait real good.
you fail to see outside of your sufferer bubble and that's okay. if you was making money, you was never singing this song - you are as corrupt as they are. in fact you are making money for doing nothing - but greedy for more. so there.
Most of them will sit it out.....two weeks till elections honorable. Nothing for the man on the ground. Just promises. The man on the ground tired of the empty promises. I watched as Camille Robinson Regis walked about in my area on my street alone ppl closed their doors i watched and said to myself ppl truly are fed up and wants no part of PNMThe_Honourable wrote:hover11 wrote:I think if alot of grassroots pnm stay away from voting this rounds UNC will win and PNM plan might very well backfirepaid_influencer wrote:The_Honourable wrote:pugboy wrote:not so easy to get a sweep
You might be right hover.
PNM still have their base, the question really is how much of them will be motivated to come out especially in the marginals. Kamla Derangement Syndrome in the pnm camp seems to be a real thing so that might be a motivator.
Then again, if not enough motivation Rowley and Young have to worry about the couch also.
paid_influencer wrote:hover11 wrote:My thing is if we moving forward with young why is Rowley still in the background lurking, is he there to regain grassroots supporters but the majority of ppl hate Rowley is bringing up to speak or say anything wouldn't that be doing more harm than good. Even the mites know if it was Rowley vs kamla in this rounds , PNM cutarse was booked because the support for Rowley has decipatedpaid_influencer wrote:485369896_1081870903969278_89012769679876828_n.jpg
correct is right. at this point you have to wonder if there is any internal sabotage happening
"vote for a new chapter"
'red ready and responsible'
these slogan are literally opposition campaign points
at a certain point is like wdf wrong with them
Redress10 wrote:I guess even the currency subsidised by the Government. We just don't look at it that way. Hence the demand for usd being more than supply. Wonder what the demand would look like if USD reaches 9 to 1 etc.
paid_influencer wrote:Redress10 wrote:I guess even the currency subsidised by the Government. We just don't look at it that way. Hence the demand for usd being more than supply. Wonder what the demand would look like if USD reaches 9 to 1 etc.
redress brother I think you hit it on the head there. this is probably the biggest subsidy the treasury has - govt subsidising everything from food and medicine to jockey shorts from amazon and foreign vacations in disneyworld by forcing the central bank to sell US$ at below the market rate.
Kamla aint doing nothing. None of them have the ballz to confront this reality
it have two ways to reduce that subsidy -
a) raise the price of a us$ to market rate, or
b) limit who gets the subsidy (currency controls)
for the past 10 years they doing neither. what they doing is draining down the treasury, hsf and foreign reserves to keep the subsidy going.
well those savings almost out of us$.
what we had as established policy under the late great Wendell Mottley (the best finance minister the country has ever had), was something called a "managed float." They would use us$ savings to move the rate of the tt$ to little by little ease the dollar into a more sustainable real-world exchange rate. it was like a pressure release for the tt$.
but that was not done by imbert and rowley. what they did was completely scrap that system created by Mottley and go back to a fixed exchange rate. and they kept it fixed for 10 years despite pressure building up and building up. now it dey like a bomb ready to explode on the population from 6.7:1 to 15:1 and all the hardship that could happen. stuwatee warning about the bomb but is he and rowley and imbert built the bomb to start with.
electing stuwatee doesn't make the bomb go away. it jsut moves it into option b, which is currency controls. before Wendell Mottley (who was PNM, back when the PNM was really a great party), we had plenty currency controls in trinidad. ppl nowadays really don't understand what that means or how badly it went. currency controls here going to be- corruption, inefficiency and economic depression for the masses.
the best solution is the one we already had -- attempt the managed float again and see how best we can diffuse this situation imbert put us in. aunty kamla will do that. aunty kamla will put a minister of finance who has a background in finance. aunty kamla is our only hope
Explain to me how is arrears in salary or backpay a handout....I'll waitRedress10 wrote:paid_influencer wrote:Redress10 wrote:I guess even the currency subsidised by the Government. We just don't look at it that way. Hence the demand for usd being more than supply. Wonder what the demand would look like if USD reaches 9 to 1 etc.
redress brother I think you hit it on the head there. this is probably the biggest subsidy the treasury has - govt subsidising everything from food and medicine to jockey shorts from amazon and foreign vacations in disneyworld by forcing the central bank to sell US$ at below the market rate.
Kamla aint doing nothing. None of them have the ballz to confront this reality
it have two ways to reduce that subsidy -
a) raise the price of a us$ to market rate, or
b) limit who gets the subsidy (currency controls)
for the past 10 years they doing neither. what they doing is draining down the treasury, hsf and foreign reserves to keep the subsidy going.
well those savings almost out of us$.
what we had as established policy under the late great Wendell Mottley (the best finance minister the country has ever had), was something called a "managed float." They would use us$ savings to move the rate of the tt$ to little by little ease the dollar into a more sustainable real-world exchange rate. it was like a pressure release for the tt$.
but that was not done by imbert and rowley. what they did was completely scrap that system created by Mottley and go back to a fixed exchange rate. and they kept it fixed for 10 years despite pressure building up and building up. now it dey like a bomb ready to explode on the population from 6.7:1 to 15:1 and all the hardship that could happen. stuwatee warning about the bomb but is he and rowley and imbert built the bomb to start with.
electing stuwatee doesn't make the bomb go away. it jsut moves it into option b, which is currency controls. before Wendell Mottley (who was PNM, back when the PNM was really a great party), we had plenty currency controls in trinidad. ppl nowadays really don't understand what that means or how badly it went. currency controls here going to be- corruption, inefficiency and economic depression for the masses.
the best solution is the one we already had -- attempt the managed float again and see how best we can diffuse this situation imbert put us in. aunty kamla will do that. aunty kamla will put a minister of finance who has a background in finance. aunty kamla is our only hope
I say remove all subsidies. Let trinis face the true price of things and let us see how many fetes, boat rides and carnival costumes trinis will still buy. All those things are only possible because of the various subsidies that trinis enjoy. But ppl loke Hovie will protest that cause they like handouts