Cause when PNM wants to get rid of something they will put a negative spin on it with their propaganda media houses.K_J_R wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:K_J_R wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Trinidad formally expresses interest in refining Guyana’s oil
The government of Trinidad and Tobago has formally expressed interest in having an arrangement with Guyana to refine its oil. This was noted in a government document seen by this news agency.
The Guyana Standard understands that the Coalition administration is of the view that this is perhaps, a suitable option. It noted in the document that Petrotrin, Trinidad’s National Oil Company which was sold last year September to Patriotic Energies and Technologies Co Ltd, holds a refinery that has received extensive upgrading in recent years.
It was further stated in the document that if Guyana were to go ahead with this option, there would be a need for configuration investments since the refinery is currently configured to refine heavy to medium crude while Guyana produces sweet light crude. When all the outlying factors are considered however, the government is of the view that this option, which appears to be the best at the moment, should be given due consideration and studied.
To underscore its agreement to study the Trinidad option, the government highlighted that Guyana independently pursuing a large, petrochemical refinery is not a viable investment. It was keen to note that a traditional refinery with capacity of up to 200,000b/d would occupy hundreds of acres and take USD $5 billion of investments. It was further noted that a refinery’s construction might take more than 60 months and generate as a consequence, a negative net present value of USD $2.5 – 3.0 billion.
Source: https://www.guyanastandard.com/2020/01/ ... yanas-oil/
dIdn't our media report that the refinery was old and outdated? how come they are syaing that it was upgraded?
What was the reason for petrotrin's closure?
Loop summarized it as poor management, crippling debt and supply chain issue (not enough oil to profitably run)
Seems as though the equipment is fine.
http://www.looptt.com/content/petrotrin ... t-was-done
This proposed Guyana deal will be good.
i understad the reason.
i was just under the imrpession that the refinery was old and the upgrades were never completed due to mismanagement. how come we now saying that the refinery was upgraded and could handle guyanese oil?
zoom rader wrote:Cause when PNM wants to get rid of something they will put a negative spin on it with their propaganda media houses.
Remember beech high school, they twisted the PNM people brains to believe it's no good.
Remember Couva Hospital?
Rememver PNM said Panday airport was no good? Now it's the best in the region.
Becareful reading PNM newspapers
A trini mind is easy to fool
teems1 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Cause when PNM wants to get rid of something they will put a negative spin on it with their propaganda media houses.
Remember beech high school, they twisted the PNM people brains to believe it's no good.
Remember Couva Hospital?
Petrotrin was overstaffed with a huge wage bill and low oil prices. Stevie Wonder could have seen something had to be done.
Your ability to turn everything into some political fallacy or 1% conspiracy is quite amazing.
teems1 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Cause when PNM wants to get rid of something they will put a negative spin on it with their propaganda media houses.
Remember Couva Hospital?
Petrotrin was overstaffed with a huge wage bill and low oil prices. Stevie Wonder could have seen something had to be done.
Your ability to turn everything into some political fallacy or 1% conspiracy is quite amazing.
Our Pointe-a-Pierre refinery is 101 years old and has reached the end of its commercially viable days. It is now at a stage where it is haemorrhaging cash and the cost of rehabilitating it is way more than its potential ever to be profitable, competitive or sustainable.
The only commercially sound and viable option is to close the refinery; export Petrotrin’s oil, which will be produced by an efficient and aggressive exploration programme
Continue reading the Newspapers broteems1 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Cause when PNM wants to get rid of something they will put a negative spin on it with their propaganda media houses.
Remember Couva Hospital?
K_J_R wrote:i was under the impression that mismanagement was not the only issue. i remember reading in a few papers that the refinery very was old and upgraded dudnt finish.
i thought that that was one if the reasons. naybe i mistook whst was said.
https://newsday.co.tt/2018/09/03/full-t ... petrotrin/Our Pointe-a-Pierre refinery is 101 years old and has reached the end of its commercially viable days. It is now at a stage where it is haemorrhaging cash and the cost of rehabilitating it is way more than its potential ever to be profitable, competitive or sustainable.
The only commercially sound and viable option is to close the refinery; export Petrotrin’s oil, which will be produced by an efficient and aggressive exploration programme
if what the PM said is true then how come we now saying the reinfery could be a place to run guyanese oil?
The refining assets of Petrotrin can now be put in a separate company for opportunity attention. The OWTU will be given the first option to own and operate it on the most favourable terms.
K_J_R wrote:i was under the impression that mismanagement was not the only issue. i remember reading in a few papers that the refinery very was old and upgraded dudnt finish.
https://newsday.co.tt/2018/09/03/full-t ... petrotrin/Our Pointe-a-Pierre refinery is 101 years old and has reached the end of its commercially viable days. It is now at a stage where it is haemorrhaging cash and the cost of rehabilitating it is way more than its potential ever to be profitable, competitive or sustainable.
if what the PM said is true then how come we now saying the reinfery could be a place to run guyanese oil?
sMASH wrote:the negatives that they peddled about the refinery:
-it was old and costly to maintain
-it was over sized, that the local supply of crude was unable to keep it running, they had to import crude.
-it had the malcom jones WGTL loan bullet payment upcoming, and it cant sustain that.
-the salaries were too high.
the reality:
-it was old but most stuff was upgraded, so it could run. the upgrades are part of the loans that it owes
-it was never intended to function with only national supply of crude, it was intended to be a regional refinery. (as we are seeing now)
-the bullet payment didnt evaporate and disappear because PNM shut down the refinery. it still have to be paid. so what ever happened to it now, coudl have gone occurred, even with the refinery kept functioning.
-just like how u fire and pay off the people, u could go through ur labor force and stream line to suit.
and guess what, Espinet got petrotrin profitable, coming down to the last. if u leave out the malcom jones WGTL bullet payment, with all other constraints, petrotrin made money.
VexXx Dogg wrote:K_J_R wrote:i was under the impression that mismanagement was not the only issue. i remember reading in a few papers that the refinery very was old and upgraded dudnt finish.
The answer may be two paragraphs down.The refining assets of Petrotrin can now be put in a separate company for opportunity attention. The OWTU will be given the first option to own and operate it on the most favourable terms.
The Refinery was in good working order and making money as mentioned earlier. The reasons for closure were very flimsy and obviously were to protect someone. Restructuring could have taken place while the facility was running and people would be still employed. It is now very expensive to restart all the facilities from scratch as opposed to having a structured turnaround program for each plant.K_J_R wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:K_J_R wrote:i was under the impression that mismanagement was not the only issue. i remember reading in a few papers that the refinery very was old and upgraded dudnt finish.
The answer may be two paragraphs down.The refining assets of Petrotrin can now be put in a separate company for opportunity attention. The OWTU will be given the first option to own and operate it on the most favourable terms.
ok, so the owtu has the option to own, operate and rehabilitate as the pm put it.
but nothing was done with the refinery since the closure ent? so how they doing to startup and all of a sudden run the guyanese oils? how can they advertise the refinery as an option for guyana when the PM say that the reifnery has to be rehabilitated to make sustainable? ent that rehavilitation will cost time and money? so i supposed to believe they advertising a outdated old refinery that needs repairs, as a place to run guyanese oils?
unless you telling me that the reinfery was in good running condition when it was closed and it was not as old as they said it was?
to me this not adding up. maybe i am missing something.
Is it that the Government does not know if, where and how much the preferred bidder can raise, and the preferred bidder now needs a tour of the installation to better position its bid?—Oropouche East MP Roodal Moonilal asked, before remarking: “What kind of Mickey Mouse business has been taking place on this matter?”
Lou Screuz wrote:Is it that the Government does not know if, where and how much the preferred bidder can raise, and the preferred bidder now needs a tour of the installation to better position its bid?—Oropouche East MP Roodal Moonilal asked, before remarking: “What kind of Mickey Mouse business has been taking place on this matter?”
is unfortunate that moonilal ended with the "what Mickey Mouse business has been taking place on this matter" - it gave rowlee a way out - and the speaker was only too happy to give it to him.
Because the first question was a very good one
rspann wrote:Didn’t growlers say it was a done deal?