Building a house in Trinidad

screwbash

Re: Building a house in Trinidad

Postby screwbash » June 26th, 2020, 8:05 am

how do i go about digging up the govt pavement to make a driveway? i want to move my exisitng driveway from the middle to the end but the end had pavement about 10 inches higher than the road. do i need permission or do i just dig it up?

Postby adnj » June 26th, 2020, 8:47 am

screwbash wrote:how do i go about digging up the govt pavement to make a driveway? i want to move my exisitng driveway from the middle to the end but the end had pavement about 10 inches higher than the road. do i need permission or do i just dig it up?
You must seek regional corporation approval. The RC may do it for you if there is a roadwork project planned.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » June 26th, 2020, 9:13 am

Anyone have a good contact for a mason? Need some cracks repaired around my fence wall

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 26th, 2020, 9:19 am

Get a good sledge hammer, and hire a piper. If anyone ask, you don't know nuttin bout dat.
screwbash wrote:how do i go about digging up the govt pavement to make a driveway? i want to move my exisitng driveway from the middle to the end but the end had pavement about 10 inches higher than the road. do i need permission or do i just dig it up?

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » June 26th, 2020, 11:05 am

Good day all,
Need some advice painting some unpainted C purlins. How do I prep it and what brand of paint is the best? I have seen others paint and cracks appeared later. Thanks.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2020, 11:35 am

Best advice
fokhan_96 wrote:Get a good sledge hammer, and hire a piper. If anyone ask, you don't know nuttin bout dat.

carluva

Postby carluva » June 26th, 2020, 12:33 pm

dtopshottas wrote:Good day all,
Need some advice painting some unpainted C purlins. How do I prep it and what brand of paint is the best? I have seen others paint and cracks appeared later. Thanks.
Good day.

It depends on your budget. If it's galvanised purlins, you will have to use etching primer to put down a substrate for subsequent layers of paint to grip to.

Galvanising leaves a protective residue which is somewhat oily and slick. Apply primer or paint to that surface as is and all paint will flake out.

Always remember that the key to a good paint bond is surface preparation. Some people spend money of expensive paint and have poor surface prep and after some time, their job looks worse that one where there was good surface preparation and then budget friendly paint.

Firstly for the purlin, if galvanised, and for a lasting coating, you can wipe down the purlins with denatured alcohol or acetone. That's an optional but optimal step and easily done before erecting the purlin. After this, paint thoroughly with etching primer. Again, this is easier done prior to erection. This is a mandatory step and at the end of this step, all purlin should have that dirty yellow colour.

For a purlin coating I did some time ago, I used Sherwin Williams DTM primer and top coat. This is an industrial product and was only available at the O'Meara outlet and no where else, at that time in 2017. The primer was one coat on the etching primer and one top coat. The colour is white. This was painted with a spray gun for even coverage. This could be done prior to erection and then touched up after erection.

I used this system minus the acetone. So far it's held up for more than two years. The only difference is that I did everything after erection as it was an outside shed and I wanted the underside of the roof sheeting to be white as well. I did not want to do under ceiling. I pressure everything last year and nothing flaked out. I'd say that was a good test.

You can probably get good results with a standard oil paint or perhaps a water based acrylic, both at cheaper prices than the DTM I used. But, surface preparation is essential. Poor surface preparation always results in failure or subsequent coats and long term flaking and general unsightly appearance.

Hope this helps.

Postby Chimera » June 26th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Rent a demolition hammer , $400 per day.
Start about 1pm. By that time any neighbour who wanna report yuh and cause a scene wont get through to anyone in government service to complain to.
Break it out brisk brisk and fix back whatever hadda fix.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » June 26th, 2020, 1:37 pm

Quick question related to some kitchen work.

Pine, Mahogany and Teak. I know teak is probably the best but what are the cons and pros of each when it comes to Kitchen Cupboard applications.

Also in terms of varnishing in a dark oak color, what are the possibilities of such with each.

Postby adnj » June 26th, 2020, 4:21 pm

Wash surface oils with a solvent. If a detergent is used, rinse well and let dry.

If the galvanized metal has been weathered mote than six months, even better.

Apply a coat of etching primer.

Apply one or two coats of galvanized metal primer.

Apply one or two finish coats. Oil-based paint will adhere longer than latex.

Bhagwansingh will likely have the etching primer and galvanized metal primer.

Postby *KRONIK* » June 26th, 2020, 6:13 pm

Who does termite treatment for soil?

telfer

Postby telfer » June 26th, 2020, 8:00 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Who does termite treatment for soil?

Call this guy ...Nigel 785-2468 gimme your name so I could tell him who’s calling

telfer

Postby telfer » June 26th, 2020, 8:04 pm

thelem-again wrote:Quick question related to some kitchen work.

Pine, Mahogany and Teak. I know teak is probably the best but what are the cons and pros of each when it comes to Kitchen Cupboard applications.

Also in terms of varnishing in a dark oak color, what are the possibilities of such with each.

Recently did my kitchen in appamat it’s a hard wood not as hard as teak but cheaper and if you are using colored paint this is better if you going for a wood look then teak or mahogany is better
This is my recently done kitchen

telfer

Postby telfer » June 26th, 2020, 8:08 pm

[quote="telfer"][quote="thelem-again"]Quick question

I have a French security double doors metal trying to adjust the doors to come closer together because when the lock is turned once the locks come out but can still be open but if I turn it twice and the locking pins push out full it’s locked and help is appreciated

Postby pugboy » June 26th, 2020, 8:48 pm

Nice, what type of windows are those?

telfer wrote:

Recently did my kitchen in appamat it’s a hard wood not as hard as teak but cheaper and if you are using colored paint this is better if you going for a wood look then teak or mahogany is better

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » June 26th, 2020, 10:05 pm

Nice what the cost look like I have my own to do
telfer wrote:

telfer

Postby telfer » June 26th, 2020, 10:46 pm

pugboy wrote:Nice, what type of windows are those?

telfer wrote:

4x3 windows from Abel

telfer

Postby telfer » June 26th, 2020, 10:47 pm

PariaMan wrote:Nice what the cost look like I have my own to do
telfer wrote:

Cabinets were 25k and quartz counters installed was 18k

Postby Chimera » June 27th, 2020, 7:58 am

I have one of those old coppers from caroni days....I want to clean it up and use it in a landscaping project to probably put some koi in it..can that be safely done ? Or the fish gonna get poisoned from the metal

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2020, 8:05 am

many use them

Phone Surgeon wrote:I have one of those old coppers from caroni days....I want to clean it up and use it in a landscaping project to probably put some koi in it..can that be safely done ? Or the fish gonna get poisoned from the metal

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » June 27th, 2020, 8:16 am

Good day, can I have the contact for the person who did the kitchen? Looks really good especially for the price thank you

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 27th, 2020, 8:37 am

Would like to know as well.
Wolfgang123 wrote:Good day, can I have the contact for the person who did the kitchen? Looks really good especially for the price thank you

Nexus

Postby Nexus » June 27th, 2020, 8:44 am

That's a very good price for that kitchen, what was used inside for the shelving?!

telfer

Postby telfer » June 27th, 2020, 9:24 am

Nexus wrote:That's a very good price for that kitchen, what was used inside for the shelving?!

Framing is appamat shelving is melamine

Amin is the guys name he’s from chase vlg ...761-1187

Postby pugboy » June 27th, 2020, 9:33 am

a really nice kitchen and well you have the space
you could have installed an additional stovetop unit on the huge island you have there too, even a sink/prep area

Lot of builders use pvc board for the sink unit as a precaution for any water leak accidents

I recommend the bases be well sealed with silicone or expanding spray foam so no critters/roaches can move in there

Wolfgang123

Postby Wolfgang123 » June 27th, 2020, 9:57 am

thanks brother

telfer

Building a house in Trinidad

Postby telfer » June 28th, 2020, 10:24 am

[quote="pugboy"]a really nice kitchen and well you have the space
you could have installed an additional stovetop unit on the huge island you have there too, even a sink/prep area

Why why why.... why should I have installed additional stove top???is only 1 person cooking....why install a prep sink.....why not just stop at a really nice kitchen .....why did you have to add your personal touch

Postby pugboy » June 28th, 2020, 11:06 am

lol sorry

one other suggestion but too late but you could also have put the island top overhang wider to facilitate stool seating on one side

telfer

Postby telfer » June 28th, 2020, 11:29 am

pugboy wrote:lol sorry

one other suggestion but too late but you could also have put the island top overhang wider to facilitate stool seating on one side

You ain’t easy bhai lol

The over hand is on the side with the railing and where the guy is standing
It seats 6

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » June 29th, 2020, 3:31 pm

carluva wrote:
Good day.

It depends on your budget. If it's galvanised purlins, you will have to use etching primer to put down a substrate for subsequent layers of paint to grip to.

Galvanising leaves a protective residue which is somewhat oily and slick. Apply primer or paint to that surface as is and all paint will flake out.

Always remember that the key to a good paint bond is surface preparation. Some people spend money of expensive paint and have poor surface prep and after some time, their job looks worse that one where there was good surface preparation and then budget friendly paint.

Firstly for the purlin, if galvanised, and for a lasting coating, you can wipe down the purlins with denatured alcohol or acetone. That's an optional but optimal step and easily done before erecting the purlin. After this, paint thoroughly with etching primer. Again, this is easier done prior to erection. This is a mandatory step and at the end of this step, all purlin should have that dirty yellow colour.

For a purlin coating I did some time ago, I used Sherwin Williams DTM primer and top coat. This is an industrial product and was only available at the O'Meara outlet and no where else, at that time in 2017. The primer was one coat on the etching primer and one top coat. The colour is white. This was painted with a spray gun for even coverage. This could be done prior to erection and then touched up after erection.

I used this system minus the acetone. So far it's held up for more than two years. The only difference is that I did everything after erection as it was an outside shed and I wanted the underside of the roof sheeting to be white as well. I did not want to do under ceiling. I pressure everything last year and nothing flaked out. I'd say that was a good test.

You can probably get good results with a standard oil paint or perhaps a water based acrylic, both at cheaper prices than the DTM I used. But, surface preparation is essential. Poor surface preparation always results in failure or subsequent coats and long term flaking and general unsightly appearance.

Hope this helps.

Thank you. Will take the surface prep advice seriously. Wish me luck.