*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Humes

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Humes » June 29th, 2012, 12:40 am

Humes wrote:As a follow-up to my issue higher up on this page: I solved the problem with a DVI-to-HDMI cable off Amazon.

It carries both video and sound. It's unfortunate that I seem to have lost an HDMI port on the rx and htpc, but the important thing is that the system is complete again.

how does a DVI cable carry audio?

I'm as surprised as you are. I bought a TOSlink cable down with it expecting to have to use that for audio, but I was assured by some enthusiasts in another thread that the DVI would carry sound from a modern system. A search revealed that it began a few years ago with specific ATI graphics cards, and now most motherboards that support HDMI push the same a/v signal over the DVI. Only thing is you need to use a DVI-HDMI adapter or cable. A plain DVI cable won't do it.

And this is normal DVI-D, not dual-link or anything. Even on the Amazon review page there are some people confirming its audio capabilities, even though the product description (along with most other user reviews) specifically says no audio.

Humes

Postby Humes » June 29th, 2012, 12:43 am

Another Tom's Hardware link.

Some enthusiasts wondering WTF after one accidentally discovers the audio.

And Wikipedia:

Features specific to HDMI, such as remote-control, audio transport, xvYCC, and deep-color, are not usable in devices that only support DVI signalling. However, many devices can output HDMI over a DVI output (examples: ATI 3000-series and NVIDIA GTX 200-series video cards),[7] and some multimedia displays accept HDMI (including audio) over a DVI input. Exact capabilities vary from product to product.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 29th, 2012, 6:04 am

^first time i'm hearing of that,lucky you

i've got a 25ft dvi to hdmi cable with a radeon 4890 and it doesnt work.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2012, 9:00 am

wow - learnt something there

seems to be pretty specific to later model video cards that support it.
Thing is if you have a high end card like that, it will have a HDMI port, so why use DVI?
unless of course you are like Humes and your HDMI port stops working

interesting fact though

blaine

Postby blaine » June 29th, 2012, 9:22 pm

Apple TV question.....How to get it to work rent/download from Apple store???

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2012, 9:25 pm

^ you need an iTunes account

it would help if you have a US iTunes account since there would be more content there.
You would also need a method of payment. if you have a US credit card use that, if not you would have to use iTunes Gift Cards.

it also helps to get an IP mask such as unblock-us.com so iTunes will think you are in the US.

blaine

Postby blaine » June 29th, 2012, 9:40 pm

I signed up to iTunes already (Country/Region as Trinidad and Tobago). When trying to rent/buy content using the Apple TV it says Content not available to T&T and also problem with the Store please try back later. Don't have an IP mask.
Is this service available locally or do I have no choice but to mask my IP?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 29th, 2012, 11:47 pm

^ well you just answered your question
Content not available to T&T

first you should sign up for a US account, then look into getting the IP mask

blaine

Postby blaine » June 30th, 2012, 10:15 pm

Think i'll forget about the iTunes for now. Jus signed up for free trial on unblockus.com and configured the apple tv (3rd gen) and without doing anything else I'm getting the American Netflix using my existing Latin American account. I must say...the content is way better. Swwweeeettt!! :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 30th, 2012, 10:23 pm

you should really set the unblock-us DNS on your router rather than on each device

that way you can get US content on all the devices in your house including your laptop, tablet, phone etc

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 1st, 2012, 6:53 am

Triniwattage is now selling Definitive Technology speakers along with Mirage Speakers as well.I also saw they had some nice Denon receivers.Check them out here,prices are quoted in USD,which is great.I got my Mirage Audio S8 subwoofer from here some years ago,and it worked out to be exactly 370USD in my hands.Back then,that was the same price on amazon,crutchfield,vanns(and still is actually) etc minus shipping or vat/tax duties.

http://www.triniwattage.com/index.php?r ... path=52_53

Humes

Postby Humes » July 2nd, 2012, 3:22 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:wow - learnt something there

seems to be pretty specific to later model video cards that support it.
Thing is if you have a high end card like that, it will have a HDMI port, so why use DVI?
unless of course you are like Humes and your HDMI port stops working

interesting fact though

Just a note: I don't have any graphics card at all. I use a Pentium G620, a pretty cheap processor that does HD video. It's the motherboard that's doing the HDMI/DVI.

Some of the people in the linked threads seem to be using it to connect various HDMI-enabled machines (laptops, htpcs) to DVI-only monitors. Which, incidentally, is the other position I'm in right now. Desktop HDD died, and I'm using my laptop on my monitor via VGA. If I had a second of those cables, I could do HDMI to DVI instead, but it's no necessity. Not playing games on the laptop or anything.

Postby noshownogo » July 2nd, 2012, 10:17 am

Unblockus is currently rolling out the option to switch region locations with the click of a button on their "How to setup" once logged in.

This is great news for Netflix subscribers as it opens up the functionality of choosing US, UK and Canadian Netflix options atm. Next up is Latin America. I'll use this to simply watch Dexter, Life and Planet Earth on LA Netflix then revert to US.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 2nd, 2012, 11:46 am

^ very cool!

Postby Habit7 » July 4th, 2012, 12:31 am

I'm looking to get a Logitech Revue and ditch my cable box.

Any local reviews (excuses the pun) on this?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 4th, 2012, 1:50 am

^ Logitech Revue isn't a content provider. As far as I know it is a go between that enhances the content by providing extras

example: you connect the Revue between your cable box and your TV. The Revue looks at the channels and provides data such as information about the show, ratings, about the actors, web links to more information, future showings, previous episodes etc.

Now your cable provider needs to have a system that offers up this information so it may not quite work with FLOWs cable as it would work with COMCAST.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 4th, 2012, 9:03 am

Habit7 wrote:I'm looking to get a Logitech Revue and ditch my cable box.

get an apple tv

Postby Habit7 » July 4th, 2012, 9:15 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Logitech Revue isn't a content provider.

This I know, I hope to use it for Netflix and watching online content from Youtube and other websites.

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2012, 9:26 am

RapToR wrote:

get an apple tv

Convince meh Kalps.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 4th, 2012, 9:40 am

crazybalhead wrote:
RapToR wrote:

get an apple tv

Convince meh Kalps.

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/s ... y/apple_tv

for you is $900 with the apple HDMI cable

$750 for apple tv

$150 for apple HDMI Cable

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » July 4th, 2012, 9:45 am

RapToR wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:
RapToR wrote:

get an apple tv

Convince meh Kalps.

http://store.apple.com/us/browse/home/s ... y/apple_tv

for you is $900 with the apple HDMI cable

$750 for apple tv

$150 for apple HDMI Cable

apple tv is the sheit,looking to get one of these soon enough as well.

Postby Habit7 » July 4th, 2012, 9:47 am

I now thoroughly researching the Apple TV, I kinda liking it.

A major concern for me was browsing the internet and using video from any website, but I see with Airplay I can mirror my Ipod touch on my tv :)

Postby noshownogo » July 4th, 2012, 10:23 am

noshownogo wrote:Unblockus is currently rolling out the option to switch region locations with the click of a button on their "How to setup" once logged in.

This is great news for Netflix subscribers as it opens up the functionality of choosing US, UK and Canadian Netflix options atm. Next up is Latin America. I'll use this to simply watch Dexter, Life and Planet Earth on LA Netflix then revert to US.

Tried the above last night, works well. You sometimes have to reboot your PS3 to get it to sync to the changed region for the Netflix update.

Took a look at Canadian Netflix and it's offerings. Noticed 'Rise of the Planet of the Apes', '127 Hours', 'Captain America' and even 'Dexter' Seasons 1-3 is present. 8-)

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2012, 10:50 am

Why not use the PS3? Just playing devil's advocate. Still never setup netflix or anything else on the PS3 really.

Humes

Postby Humes » July 4th, 2012, 11:05 am

What is an Apple HDMI cable?

*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby S_2NR » July 4th, 2012, 11:09 am

Humes wrote:What is an Apple HDMI cable?

A normal hdmi cable that is white :|

Postby crazybalhead » July 4th, 2012, 11:10 am

S_2NR wrote:

Apple MC...

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 4th, 2012, 12:17 pm

S_2NR wrote:

It's black actually - OEM yo :lol:
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC838ZM/A

Still too expensive as all official apple accessories are...

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 4th, 2012, 12:59 pm

dredman1 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

It's black actually - OEM yo :lol:
http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC838ZM/A

Still too expensive as all official apple accessories are...

apple fanboys still buy it tho :lol:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 4th, 2012, 2:52 pm

I know that very well :lol: Looks at self in mirror :oops:
BTW that $900 for the Apple TV + Official Apple HDMI Cable combo is a very very bess price!