PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 11th, 2011, 12:37 pm

HCCA wrote:^^Doh study Duane dude. In a couple months Intel releasing a new socket type and line of cpus as well as AMD have their Bulldozer chips coming out. So his system will be outdated pretty fast :lol:

Your system should last a few years. If you wanna get technical u can flash your video card and get more performance like here: http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/ove ... idcard/159
shhhhh!!! :lol:

though no one is sure what intel will bring with Ivy Bridge and LGA 2011

Ivy Bridge may be the same 1155 socket
2011 is the replacement for 1366

Intel might wait to see what Bulldozer offers first!

Virus

Postby Virus » June 11th, 2011, 1:11 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR that why AMD holding back and playing the wait game they already figured out that the bulldozer going to run circles around the 1155 in the price range.

But when Intel drops prices hmmmmmmm i guess performance going to be the deciding factor yes..

What you think ? or you going to build an AMD system like Chiney undercover

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 11th, 2011, 1:36 pm

^^ aye aye

wammmmmmmmmm

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 11th, 2011, 2:22 pm

badman doh use AMD and ATi

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 11th, 2011, 2:27 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:badman doh use AMD and ATi

Yes we know they don't but you eh answer the question.

Postby M_2NR » June 11th, 2011, 2:39 pm

BODOW!!!

Virus

Postby Virus » June 11th, 2011, 2:41 pm

But badman does you AMD and NVIDIA :lol:

Postby M_2NR » June 11th, 2011, 2:49 pm

LOL I now realize... it should be AMD and AMD... cuz its all the same... but still

BODOW!!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 11th, 2011, 8:25 pm

let me rephrase:
Badman doh use AMD
Badman doh use ATi

Postby M_2NR » June 11th, 2011, 9:59 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:let me rephrase:
Badman doh use AMD
Badman doh use ATi

M_2NR wrote:BODOW!!!

Postby Chimera » June 11th, 2011, 10:27 pm

Lol wtf

Postby Ronaldo95163 » June 11th, 2011, 11:02 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:let me rephrase:
Badman doh use AMD
Badman doh use ATi

True dat :lol:

Postby M_2NR » June 12th, 2011, 12:16 am

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 12th, 2011, 7:28 am

Yeah it amazing what a few holes in your motherboard tray can do.

However some space behind the motherboard tray and back panel critical too.

The best mid atx case i used so far with excellent cable management was the HAF 922. Had an indent in the back panel to accomodate them psu cables when you route them.

Seeing as you have the Antec a couple yrs is best u sell it and/or buy a better case and start over from there. Modding is fun but it kinda time consuming sometimes when it have better case available.

Virus

Postby Virus » June 12th, 2011, 11:59 am

Thats a really great idea and love the cable management

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » June 12th, 2011, 1:48 pm

Hey guys I am looking at building a computer..My last build was about 8 years ago...
What do you guys think...

Asus P8P67 LE board
Intel i7 2600K
EVGA GeForce GTX 460 Superclocked 1024MB DDR5
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB)
Western Digital 1.5TB Caviar Green 64MB Cache

Mobo and CPU - 449.99
Video - 199.99
RAM - 99.99
HD - 64.99

Total price with out shipping 814.96 US = approx 5135 TT

Postby M_2NR » June 12th, 2011, 1:58 pm

HCCA wrote:

Yeah it amazing what a few holes in your motherboard tray can do.

However some space behind the motherboard tray and back panel critical too.

The best mid atx case i used so far with excellent cable management was the HAF 922. Had an indent in the back panel to accomodate them psu cables when you route them.

Seeing as you have the Antec a couple yrs is best u sell it and/or buy a better case and start over from there. Modding is fun but it kinda time consuming sometimes when it have better case available.

Right now i keeping it just so! Probably in a few years when i rebuild I'll replace it and keep it on the side. I essentially only need about 2-4 holes made as there are two already to the side of the motherboard. But if push comes to shove I'll sell it. Beyond that its a cool case (literally... not cool and is good lol) so it will be hard to part with it.

Rutless Tiida wrote:Hey guys I am looking at building a computer..My last build was about 8 years ago...
What do you guys think...

Asus P8P67 LE board
Intel i7 2600K
EVGA GeForce GTX 460 Superclocked 1024MB DDR5
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB)
Western Digital 1.5TB Caviar Green 64MB Cache

Mobo and CPU - 449.99
Video - 199.99
RAM - 99.99
HD - 64.99

Total price with out shipping 814.96 US = approx 5135 TT

You didnt tell us whats the purpose of the pc, gaming?
The GPU, you could buy an ATI for cheaper (Shocking i know) or get the 560. Depending on your needs.
Make sure if you are buying that card, the ending of model no. is .....-AR. That's lifetime warranty ;)

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 12th, 2011, 2:03 pm

that harddrive is going to be slow, it is the green version of the line, so i suggest the regular ones...

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » June 12th, 2011, 2:07 pm

Some light gaming but I also work with 3D rendering and high end Structural Analysis software...
And dual monitors is a must have.
And yes it has the lifetime warranty.

I can not afford the workstations in the office...those are some beasts...
Xeon e5520 With Quadro video cards

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » June 12th, 2011, 2:13 pm

Chiney wrote:that harddrive is going to be slow, it is the green version of the line, so i suggest the regular ones...

So then I should go with a 1.5TB Caviar Black 64MB Cache - 109.99 US
or a Caviar Blue 1TB 32MB - 64.99 US

Virus

Postby Virus » June 12th, 2011, 2:22 pm

Rutless Tiida go with the black version its better in all aspects when compared to the Blue and Green if you really want some performance get a momentus xt 500GB and get the best of both worlds speeds of an SSD at boot and programs and storage like a black with the same cache and rpm

Postby M_2NR » June 12th, 2011, 2:39 pm

^or just get an SSD like a 80GB or better a 120GB (Should be more than enough for Windows and the software needed) and that will speed up things. The 460 should be enough for your needs :)

Elyon

Postby Elyon » June 12th, 2011, 10:24 pm

Hey guys can I bother you for some help, i just want to know if there is a fault with my new videocard or not. the problem I'm getting is that in really demanding games like the witcher 2 or homefront, the video would crash but i can hear sounds in the back as the game is still running.

It started with the witcher 2 and i thought it was only that game but the same thing with 2 games? that's not coincidence. The card is a gigabyte gtx 560 ti soc, the 950mhz card not the 1ghz, I knew the 1 ghz cards had problems and i thought the 950mhz fixed them. Does anyone know would the problem could be, i don't want it to me the card because then I'll have to RMA and that's not really feasible. I can post my specs if you require. Any help is appreciated.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » June 12th, 2011, 11:04 pm

make sure that your video drivers are the latest from the manufacturer...

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 12th, 2011, 11:17 pm

Elyon wrote:Hey guys can I bother you for some help, i just want to know if there is a fault with my new videocard or not. the problem I'm getting is that in really demanding games like the witcher 2 or homefront, the video would crash but i can hear sounds in the back as the game is still running.

It started with the witcher 2 and i thought it was only that game but the same thing with 2 games? that's not coincidence. The card is a gigabyte gtx 560 ti soc, the 950mhz card not the 1ghz, I knew the 1 ghz cards had problems and i thought the 950mhz fixed them. Does anyone know would the problem could be, i don't want it to me the card because then I'll have to RMA and that's not really feasible. I can post my specs if you require. Any help is appreciated.

Update to latest or some older drivers.

Some games have some weird problems like that with different cards so it not uncommon

Check some forums for those games for patches and advice.

Know two games that have issues with crossfire/sli setups mehself (Spiderman shattered dimensions and NFS Hot Pursuit).

Elyon

Postby Elyon » June 12th, 2011, 11:49 pm

HCCA wrote:
Elyon wrote:Hey guys can I bother you for some help, i just want to know if there is a fault with my new videocard or not. the problem I'm getting is that in really demanding games like the witcher 2 or homefront, the video would crash but i can hear sounds in the back as the game is still running.

Update to latest or some older drivers.

Some games have some weird problems like that with different cards so it not uncommon

Check some forums for those games for patches and advice.

Know two games that have issues with crossfire/sli setups mehself (Spiderman shattered dimensions and NFS Hot Pursuit).

Is not a driver issue I tried the latest of the nvidia website, as well as older drivers, same issue.

I hope is just the games, but when i asked about them on the specific forums no one encountered problems with the 560 ti is not same make but same gpu. I tried other games, battlefield bad company 2 works fine as does dragon age and crysis 2. but dragon age 2 gives the same problem.

Virus

Postby Virus » June 13th, 2011, 5:49 am

Elyon what settings are you running on these games can you try and lower AA or take it off, also what resolution are you running all these can add to the background running factor

HCCA

Postby HCCA » June 13th, 2011, 6:25 am

Virus wrote:Elyon what settings are you running on these games can you try and lower AA or take it off, also what resolution are you running all these can add to the background running factor

Those shouldn't cause any sort of crash. Lower framerates more likely.

@ Elyon: i used the latest nvidia driver out on my GTX 295 and i was getting a dsiplay driver crashed and recovered error when i wasn't doing anyting. Downgraded to a driver released in december to fix that.

Sometimes certain games doh like certain cards yes.

Virus

Postby Virus » June 13th, 2011, 8:04 am

HCCA yes they can what you think will happen when the frame rates too low the game will eventually freeze or go background

Elyon

Postby Elyon » June 13th, 2011, 4:55 pm

@ Virus usual run at 1920X1080 with high spec, but i even dropped the resolution and the spec down to medium but still the same problem.

@HCCA gigabyte recomended the driver version 266 which i have not yet tried, so I'm going to by trying that, fingers are crossed.