The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » December 23rd, 2011, 11:32 am

wanted to buy a SGS2 but i had to buy other phones as gifts. lol

bought a galaxy ace for the girl, galaxy y for the momz and a SONIM impact phone for pops.

props to the galaxy y though...nice phone for a girl.

achillies

Postby achillies » December 23rd, 2011, 2:31 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Battery life on my gs2 is really bad in heavy usage...i use my phone heavily every day for basically whatsapp, facebook, browsing, emails etc. and well i can only get around..6hrs with the screen on constantly..and during more moderate use...i have around 12hrs..which really isn't enough..im always having to be paranoid of my battery dying nd walkin around with a charger..is anyone else's gs2 like this? i tried everything..running stock rom, rooted and deodexed with siyah 2.3 kernel..i even underclock the damn thing to 500mhz but that makes no diff nd i dont wna mess with voltages..ive had too many reboots cuz of that. my screen brightness is always to the lowest also..any suggestions?

BTW, have you checked to see if your device is wakelocked

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 23rd, 2011, 2:44 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Got my sgs2 yesterday...love it cant stop playing with it.

got the xperia play and cant put it down

Postby sharkman121 » December 23rd, 2011, 3:13 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

How come, u got glue on yr hands? :lol:

Postby M_2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 5:53 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

ouch.... O___O

sgs2 battery life is super here with the one i use off and on. Better than my.... iphone

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » December 24th, 2011, 7:26 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

i think im addicted to the app store :lol:

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » December 24th, 2011, 9:03 pm

achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:Battery life on my gs2 is really bad in heavy usage...i use my phone heavily every day for basically whatsapp, facebook, browsing, emails etc. and well i can only get around..6hrs with the screen on constantly..and during more moderate use...i have around 12hrs..which really isn't enough..im always having to be paranoid of my battery dying nd walkin around with a charger..is anyone else's gs2 like this? i tried everything..running stock rom, rooted and deodexed with siyah 2.3 kernel..i even underclock the damn thing to 500mhz but that makes no diff nd i dont wna mess with voltages..ive had too many reboots cuz of that. my screen brightness is always to the lowest also..any suggestions?

Six hours screen on time is a lot, realistically, how much more than that do you really expect? Remember, if you use the phone, the battery percentage has to drop, it can't be avoided.

My SGS2 always gets me through the day easily, 2 to 3 hours screen on time, 12 to 16 hours off the charger, at least 40% left, I have never had the time to try to get 6 hours screen on time though...

I agree achillies

Wow you real using that phone boy, i think you're getting your batteries worth tho :|

You can always invest in the Official 2000mAh battery from Sansumg.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1239719

Postby Trini Hookah » December 24th, 2011, 10:13 pm

stev wrote:wanted to buy a SGS2 but i had to buy other phones as gifts. lol

bought a galaxy ace for the girl, galaxy y for the momz and a SONIM impact phone for pops.

props to the galaxy y though...nice phone for a girl.

From Brigicell orwha dan? I saw the Galaxy Y at a good price from them, the Ace too.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 24th, 2011, 10:16 pm

Captainzaak wrote:
achillies wrote:

Six hours screen on time is a lot, realistically, how much more than that do you really expect? Remember, if you use the phone, the battery percentage has to drop, it can't be avoided.

My SGS2 always gets me through the day easily, 2 to 3 hours screen on time, 12 to 16 hours off the charger, at least 40% left, I have never had the time to try to get 6 hours screen on time though...

I agree achillies

Wow you real using that phone boy, i think you're getting your batteries worth tho :|

You can always invest in the Official 2000mAh battery from Sansumg.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1239719

As far as I've seen no apps are keeping he phone awake.. Stand by time is pretty okay, its using it is the issue... But i noticed today.. That with EDGE disabled.. Stand by time is amazing.. Around 1% in 4-5hours, but my problem is that I need to constantly be using whatsapp and i think whatsapp keeps a connection open constantly and causes the radios to be used excessively thus causing my drain because I started using whatsapp at 1pm.. By 4pm my battery was dead when it was at around 60 before.. I'll admit the screen was on for most of the time but. I still want a bit better than that.. Cause it started draining like around 1% every 10-15mins or so while using whatsapp. Any suggestions? Think I should try using another bbm-like app? I was looking at that battery also but it's expensive and only 400ma more.. Would the gain really be significant?

Thanks for the help btw :) appreciate it.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 25th, 2011, 9:02 pm

The Galaxy note rules..a little on the big side but it is a boss..

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 25th, 2011, 9:03 pm

Sharkman yuh mc yuh hold out on me dread.....i would loud u up in a post yuh mc

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 25th, 2011, 10:49 pm

plenty new Android users this christmas 8-)

d Apple thread kinda empty :lol:

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 26th, 2011, 1:55 am

The power of the Note....very impressive!!!

capture_01.png
:P

Postby sharkman121 » December 26th, 2011, 1:59 am

bess almera wrote:Sharkman yuh mc yuh hold out on me dread.....i would loud u up in a post yuh mc

what u rocking now hoss? i got my galaxy 3 days ago

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 26th, 2011, 4:28 am

Got meh note last thursday!!! Eeet sweet!!!

S Memo_05.jpg
Im not a Picasso eh...clearly

Postby pete » December 26th, 2011, 8:48 am

Swisha wrote:plenty new Android users this christmas 8-)

Got the SGS2 for the wife and heading out to get the Galaxy Player 5 for myself now. :)

Postby sharkman121 » December 26th, 2011, 8:50 am

pete wrote:

Got the SGS2 for the wife and heading out to get the Galaxy Player 5 for myself now. :)

why yuh didnt get the sgs2 for yrself and get the player for her? :lol:

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 26th, 2011, 9:47 am

Not like they have much variety of phones and customisation options :P

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » December 26th, 2011, 10:08 am

Just loving this Galaxy Note all how. Now gonna kill Modern Combat 3: Fallen Nations

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 26th, 2011, 12:10 pm

I feel I go give my gf the desire hd I have and buy the galaxy note for myself , it tempting, how easy it is to walk round with thoiugh, say like in a party, or if u getting flex and thing lol
the note feature is perfect for school too

X-Axis

Postby X-Axis » December 26th, 2011, 3:45 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:I feel I go give my gf the desire hd I have and buy the galaxy note for myself , it tempting, how easy it is to walk round with thoiugh, say like in a party, or if u getting flex and thing lol

Well I've had sex with the Note in my slim jeans pocket and no problem whatsoever. Trust me. Get the Note.

Postby sharkman121 » December 26th, 2011, 4:21 pm

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 27th, 2011, 12:24 am

X-Axis wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:I feel I go give my gf the desire hd I have and buy the galaxy note for myself , it tempting, how easy it is to walk round with thoiugh, say like in a party, or if u getting flex and thing lol

Well I've had sex with the Note in my slim jeans pocket and no problem whatsoever. Trust me. Get the Note.

AGREED :mrgreen:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 27th, 2011, 3:40 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:

Not like they have much variety of phones and customisation options :P

Remember when Windows 95 first came out?

Everyone was like "OMG !! A trash can! Folders in folders in folders, long file names, desktop wallpaper... *gasp* a desktop you can use, cool 3D looking icons etc etc etc".
Remember that?

Also remember how the Mac guys were so quiet? Yea that's cuz we were yawning that the PC world grew into young adulthood with the first "modern" OS.

Well... there are some really great stuff on the Android side and it's exploding; it's all new to everyone. The iPhone guys are over in that corner giving you guys a thumbs up and welcome to the smartphone world. It's only win win no matter what corner you're in.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 27th, 2011, 3:45 am

sharkman121 wrote:Image

There's a fine line between jokes and mis-information.

Like a Windows-user boasting that his PC comes with Anti-virus and spyware removal software... and Macs have no such software installed. An interesting spin, no?

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » December 27th, 2011, 12:31 pm

I really wanted the Note but i brought the S2 because it was smaller.

I love the 5.3 screen on the note though.

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 27th, 2011, 12:57 pm

Strauss wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Image

There's a fine line between jokes and mis-information.

Like a Windows-user boasting that his PC comes with Anti-virus and spyware removal software... and Macs have no such software installed. An interesting spin, no?

I've used an iPhone and Nokia... honestly the performance on the Samsung running android is much better imo. Not sure bout the other android gadgets though.

achillies

Postby achillies » December 27th, 2011, 1:21 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:As far as I've seen no apps are keeping he phone awake.. Stand by time is pretty okay, its using it is the issue... But i noticed today.. That with EDGE disabled.. Stand by time is amazing.. Around 1% in 4-5hours, but my problem is that I need to constantly be using whatsapp and i think whatsapp keeps a connection open constantly and causes the radios to be used excessively thus causing my drain because I started using whatsapp at 1pm.. By 4pm my battery was dead when it was at around 60 before.. I'll admit the screen was on for most of the time but. I still want a bit better than that.. Cause it started draining like around 1% every 10-15mins or so while using whatsapp. Any suggestions? Think I should try using another bbm-like app? I was looking at that battery also but it's expensive and only 400ma more.. Would the gain really be significant?

Thanks for the help btw :) appreciate it.

Download and install Better Battery stats, the app can show you with great detail what is using the battery or if whatsapp is keeping the device awake. It could be an email app or even the calender

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 27th, 2011, 5:50 pm

Strauss wrote: ...The iPhone guys are over in that corner giving you guys a thumbs up and welcome to the smartphone world. It's only win win no matter what corner you're in.

Oh, is that why Steve Jobs wanted so badly to destroy android?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 27th, 2011, 6:14 pm

ghostbusters wrote:
Strauss wrote: ...The iPhone guys are over in that corner giving you guys a thumbs up and welcome to the smartphone world. It's only win win no matter what corner you're in.

Oh, is that why Steve Jobs wanted so badly to destroy android?

This means you don't know the story behind it all.
Well don't just sit there! Go read and find out why Steve was angry at Google.