Taste of Carnival 2022

Re: Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby hover11 » January 31st, 2022, 8:33 pm

The question remains does the sole responsibility lie on the government or taxpayers to set aside millions per year to fund this ecosystem

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 31st, 2022, 8:33 pm

Ah yes, Trinidad and tobago, where our economy depends on a woman selling blue waters in a make shift hut around the savannah for two days of the year

Postby matr1x » January 31st, 2022, 8:34 pm

Carnival hasn't ever made a profit.

Postby paid_influencer » January 31st, 2022, 8:43 pm

pugboy wrote:the return is when you need election funding and other kickbacks under the table you pickup the phone and call the contractors who got the contracts for the north stand or whatever
but then again you probably dont need to pickup the phone because you in they house every month or vice versa

hover11 wrote:Years now I always hearing how much the government spending on carnival but never the other side of the table, what was their return on this investment ?

man hit it yes

carnival does have productive elements. it could stand on its own, given the chance. But PNM patronage networks/State funding keeps the carnival economy "THA-ized", to use a made up but very apt term.

Postby pugboy » January 31st, 2022, 8:56 pm

yup,
those huts are a huge undertaking and food chain

covid mash up that gravy train 2 years in a row

Mmoney607 wrote:Ah yes, Trinidad and tobago, where our economy depends on a woman selling blue waters in a make shift hut around the savannah for two days of the year

Postby De Dragon » January 31st, 2022, 9:16 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
pugboy wrote:the return is when you need election funding and other kickbacks under the table you pickup the phone and call the contractors who got the contracts for the north stand or whatever
but then again you probably dont need to pickup the phone because you in they house every month or vice versa

hover11 wrote:Years now I always hearing how much the government spending on carnival but never the other side of the table, what was their return on this investment ?

man hit it yes

carnival does have productive elements. it could stand on its own, given the chance. But PNM patronage networks/State funding keeps the carnival economy "THA-ized", to use a made up but very apt term.

The political currency from chupidees who believe "iz we cultyah" is priceless.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 1st, 2022, 6:28 am

Exits thread
IMG-20220131-WA0105.jpg
IMG-20220201-WA0007.jpg
IMG-20220201-WA0007.jpg (19.68 KiB) Viewed 3007 times

Postby hover11 » February 1st, 2022, 7:04 am

They put fear into ppl for months "we running out of beds". but gonna spend 25-35 million on Carnival, a superspreader event. Allyuh tell me bai yuh think it right for that amount of money to be spent on Carnival in a pandemic when the health care system in a mess, the cost of living sky high crime out of control frontline workers on the grind since 2013 do we really need this at this time?

Postby De Dragon » February 1st, 2022, 7:28 am

hover11 wrote:They put fear into ppl for months "we running out of beds". but gonna spend 25-35 million on Carnival, a superspreader event. Allyuh tell me bai yuh think it right for that amount of money to be spent on Carnival in a pandemic when the health care system in a mess, the cost of living sky high crime out of control frontline workers on the grind since 2013 do we really need this at this time?

Distraction for the LFD RFD PNM fools.
"Look Massa JUHN Scarfy love we!"
"He gih we back we Carnaval!"
"Grate iz de LFD RFD PNM!"

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » February 1st, 2022, 7:43 am

They say Carnival Mon and Tues are normal working days because carnival will not be on the street to disrupt businesses, so ppl will have to apply for leave to attend the events.

ChingChongTT

Postby ChingChongTT » February 1st, 2022, 7:46 am

After all the jobs and finances lost over the past two years, this right now is not a priority, especially that ridiculous amount of money being invested into it. Use that same money to create and sustain jobs, & get Public Servants out of that dreaded 2013 salary.

Postby MaxPower » February 1st, 2022, 9:18 am

Let the ppl bray

Postby zoom rader » February 1st, 2022, 9:44 am

MaxPower wrote:Let the ppl bray
I doh give two 5hits, let them all jump and covid.

Less people less voters for red government.

Never seen so many stupid Conts

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » February 1st, 2022, 10:12 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Exits thread

Guyanese government smart too bad. Unlike this one.

Postby aaron17 » February 1st, 2022, 10:42 am

I eh see no difference.
Zelfsluitend-voerhek5479_03K-910x683.jpg

Postby Chimera » February 1st, 2022, 10:51 am

I really wanna see the clowns to pay to be in them pods lolll

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 1st, 2022, 11:01 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:I really wanna see the clowns to pay to be in them pods lolll

This, I'm in the carnival crowd and no body I know wants anything to do with this carnival.

Flabbergastry

Postby Dizzy28 » February 1st, 2022, 11:14 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:I really wanna see the clowns to pay to be in them pods lolll

This, I'm in the carnival crowd and no body I know wants anything to do with this carnival.

Flabbergastry

You're not in the Carnival crowd. You are in the fete crowd. It's merely a subset of Carnival.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » February 1st, 2022, 11:14 am

It could be on or off I ain't care cause I not in it.

Postby Rovin » February 1st, 2022, 11:16 am

is how fast d govt cud get dem goat pens organised in 1 wk but cant organise nothing else to benefit d general public ..... supporters\financiers hadda eat ah food yo

Postby aaron17 » February 1st, 2022, 11:27 am

'Down in ah trinidad we have ah music farm ... e ..i ..e..i ...ooooooh'
song comes to mind

Postby eliteauto » February 1st, 2022, 11:31 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Flabbergastry

You're not in the Carnival crowd. You are in the fete crowd. It's merely a subset of Carnival.

If Tribe or Cesear's Army was involved, these pods would be "revolutionary" and "first world" lol

Postby Chimera » February 1st, 2022, 11:46 am

If we have safe zones...where eating and drinking and socializing is allowed once you are vaxxed....why do they need pods? They just hadda check vax status at the door.

This is outright just a reason to give a scaffold contractor a bess contract.

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 1st, 2022, 11:56 am

dey cudda revolutionize the thing/ put 4 wheels and let 2 big donkey push/pull it while the rest of dem wine in the box. Pass the judging point like that in the hot sun. It go be like long time float bands.

Postby matr1x » February 1st, 2022, 12:06 pm

I hope everyone gets covid who takes part in this stupidity

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 1st, 2022, 12:09 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Flabbergastry

Kinda true, but generally I can say while some of the Carnival crowd are grateful, no one is fooling themselves into thinking this is a real carnival, there is no vibe.

death365

Postby death365 » February 1st, 2022, 12:12 pm

yuh does still get wool, milk and meat outa tha :!:

aaron17 wrote:I eh see no difference.

Postby redmanjp » February 1st, 2022, 12:24 pm

matr1x wrote:I hope everyone gets covid who takes part in this stupidity

many will due to omicron's immune escape, but will mostly be mild, thanks to T cell immunity from vaccination.

Postby timelapse » February 1st, 2022, 1:04 pm

X quadrillion

Carnival 2022 - Would it stil be on?

Postby MaxPower » February 1st, 2022, 1:15 pm

timelapse wrote:
X quadrillion

Let the irresponsible feel it.

We have too many loopholes, inconsistencies and breaches of the protocols, quarantining, pcr testing and vaccinations.

Now is NOT the time for congregating.

This bullsheit of “safe zones” must be abolished because it is not safe UNless we follow the rules properly….which we know never happens.