New Trinidad & Tobago $ money polymer notes

hong kong phooey

Re: New $100 bill revealed

Postby hong kong phooey » December 10th, 2019, 9:10 am

rexsmith wrote:Anybody knows if the ATMs started dispensing the new Hundreds as yet?

No new money in south as yet

Postby maj. tom » December 10th, 2019, 9:10 am

fokhan_96 wrote:People need to realize that all these billions of new $100 notes was not printed overnight. It probably was months of planning and printing, then shipping. It is clear that only very few people knew about this. As the central bank governer said the timing is what it is. You didn't expect containers of money to be just sitting in the port waiting for a more convenient time for it to enter circulation. As to why the rush and only 2 weeks, well if fraudulent currency is in circulation they need to get rid of it as soon as possible. But if all monies are to be returned to the bank, the bank would have to check for fraudulent currency on their end ( as they normally do).
Sooo, when an individual goes to deposit his money, would the tellers have to check every single note to see if it is legitimate or would they just put it in the bill counter and not do any manual check. As was said in the news conference there are 80 billion $100 notes in circulation. How much of these is in banks already and how much is on the outside, no one knows.

It does sound like a crime fighting exercise and the only way for it to be effective was a sharp, short shock. Hence all the hush and then this rapid implementation. They probably had a lot of high security meetings with consultants on the issue of counterfeit bills + the underworld drug money. It will be hard to launder all the old dirty money in just two weeks. However the drug money will still flow with the new bills. Shipments and transporters are also paid in USD, not worthless TTD.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 10th, 2019, 9:13 am

fokhan_96 wrote:People need to realize that all these billions of new $100 notes was not printed overnight. It probably was months of planning and printing, then shipping. It is clear that only very few people knew about this. As the central bank governer said the timing is what it is. You didn't expect containers of money to be just sitting in the port waiting for a more convenient time for it to enter circulation. As to why the rush and only 2 weeks, well if fraudulent currency is in circulation they need to get rid of it as soon as possible. But if all monies are to be returned to the bank, the bank would have to check for fraudulent currency on their end ( as they normally do).
Sooo, when an individual goes to deposit his money, would the tellers have to check every single note to see if it is legitimate or would they just put it in the bill counter and not do any manual check. As was said in the news conference there are 80 billion $100 notes in circulation. How much of these is in banks already and how much is on the outside, no one knows.

I don't think they said 80 billion $100 notes. That would be 8 trillion dollars

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2019, 9:20 am

maj. tom wrote:

It does sound like a crime fighting exercise and the only way for it to be effective was a sharp, short shock. Hence all the hush and then this rapid implementation. They probably had a lot of high security meetings with consultants on the issue of counterfeit bills + the underworld drug money. It will be hard to launder all the old dirty money in just two weeks. However the drug money will still flow with the new bills. Shipments and transporters are also paid in USD, not worthless TTD.
Drug world is not the 99%

Postby pugboy » December 10th, 2019, 9:55 am

and pay ferris value for money rent

viedcht wrote:All this hype is probably to pick up on tax evaders. Govamint need money, and I still waiting on my VAT refund.
Your vat refund is used to support camile wigs, weave ,sperm and Shamfass phone bill

Postby Ben_spanna » December 10th, 2019, 10:11 am

Wait for the comment come January.......
mr speaker........... we singly handed increased spenditure and consumer confidence by 300% in December..people came out and spent lots of ca$h.....................

Heard some fbook rumor someone paying in ca$h for a rental property for the next 5 years in advance...

Postby sMASH » December 10th, 2019, 10:16 am

scotia didnt receive as of this morning. so even when the truck roll up, they will still have to ingest, process, split up. so i say by the day after it comes to the bank, then u could get.
while there, the teller was putting the current notes in two stacks. she said that one is old notes and the other is the more recent ones, to be placed back into the atm.

so, dont think u withdrawing atm and getting only the polymer. the old notes is still legal tender till jan 1st

Postby MaxPower » December 10th, 2019, 10:17 am

eliteauto wrote:
MaxPower wrote:I must say, its really touching to know that the citizens who are unaffected by this situation are so concerned with their fellow countrymen scrambling to meet the deadline.

Great job guys.

When a sufferer accuses others of suffering

Lmao @ DeFagon,

Its how u standing up in line with yuh lil few hundred begging for the bank to ask you source of funds just to feel important hahahahhahaha

Postby The_Honourable » December 10th, 2019, 10:23 am

Waiting for zessers to post their new polymer notes on facebook.

Postby Rovin » December 10th, 2019, 10:24 am

gr8 is d poo nm .... all over it happening

https://www.facebook.com/ExpressNewspap ... 754004894/

BLUE NOTE BLUES
Customers have begun showing up at banks in order to exchange their old $100 notes for the new one in circulation. This image by Express photojournalist Trevor Watson show people outside the High Street/Library Corner branch of Republic Bank on Tuesday morning. Republic Bank has changed its opening hours to accommodate the exchange

Postby matr1x » December 10th, 2019, 10:46 am

eliteauto wrote:
MaxPower wrote:I must say, its really touching to know that the citizens who are unaffected by this situation are so concerned with their fellow countrymen scrambling to meet the deadline.

Great job guys.

Lmao @ DeFagon,

Its how u standing up in line with yuh lil few hundred begging for the bank to ask you source of funds just to feel important hahahahhahaha

Is that kind of battyman behavior that makes us think that pnm supporters are pipe takers

Postby *KRONIK* » December 10th, 2019, 10:52 am

20191210_101208.jpeg

Carbon12

Postby Carbon12 » December 10th, 2019, 11:01 am

*KRONIK* wrote:20191210_101208.jpeg

I hear it have a limited edition $100 note only 1 million printed with an AV logo next to the rig in the front, c if is one of those.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 10th, 2019, 11:11 am

Mih pops take it from mih......
Carbon12 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:20191210_101208.jpeg

I hear it have a limited edition $100 note only 1 million printed with an AV logo next to the rig in the front, c if is one of those.

Postby MaxPower » December 10th, 2019, 11:16 am

matr1x wrote:
eliteauto wrote:

Great job guys.

Lmao @ DeFagon,

Is that kind of battyman behavior that makes us think that pnm supporters are pipe takers

Both PNM and UNC supporters are pipe takers....cuz no matter who in power the govt does well BULL allyuh like the BOBOLEES allyuh are.......now that is battyman behavior.......so jus sit and take it

airuma

Postby airuma » December 10th, 2019, 11:31 am

^^^ Agree 100%

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » December 10th, 2019, 11:36 am

someone told me that RBC told them you need to have an account to change the old $100 notes.
is this true?

Postby nemisis » December 10th, 2019, 11:37 am

I call bull on that, who wasting time thinking about walking into rbc of you don't have too ie have an account.
rexsmith wrote:someone told me that RBC told them you need to have an account to change the old $100 notes.
is this true?

dogg

Postby dogg » December 10th, 2019, 11:53 am

-

So are ATMs dispensing the new bills? anyone knows?

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2019, 12:20 pm

Reports of PNM ppl bandits lurking outside of banks?

Postby MaxPower » December 10th, 2019, 12:30 pm

zoom rader wrote:Reports of PNM ppl bandits lurking outside of banks?

U maybe correct.

I sent my messenger to deposit some cash and he was a bit uncomfortable going in and out. Its like a feeling of heavy maco eyes from all over.

Suspicious looking people parked up in cars looking around. Funny thing is that these pests feel they blending in and going unnoticed. I mean come on? A STINK almera or a STINK tiida parked up with someone staring and movin up dey lip? Disgusting.

Postby Ben_spanna » December 10th, 2019, 12:32 pm

zoom rader wrote:Reports of PNM ppl bandits lurking outside of banks?

its the ones INSIDE that passing on your personal info you should be more worried about. :roll:

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2019, 12:35 pm

No. Only 20s and maybe 50s
No 100s at all for atleast 2 weeks according to fcb
dogg wrote:-

dogg

Postby dogg » December 10th, 2019, 12:45 pm

Thanks

Phone Surgeon wrote:No. Only 20s and maybe 50s

Postby bluefete » December 10th, 2019, 12:46 pm

RBC said the same thing.

BTW - if you are not a customer of RBC and Scotiabank, do not put God out of your thoughts and go to them expecting any $10,000.00 "exchange". They will run your rass right out of the bank.

I think the other banks will do the same. Plenty fake news out there even from the establishment.

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2019, 12:49 pm

so if someone show up with $10000 to change d bank checking each note one by one to make sure it legit?

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 10th, 2019, 12:50 pm

bluefete wrote:RBC said the same thing.

BTW - if you are not a customer of RBC and Scotiabank, do not put God out of your thoughts and go to them expecting any $10,000.00 "exchange". They will run your rass right out of the bank.

I think the other banks will do the same. Plenty fake news out there even from the establishment.

Well that's a predicament for those who don't have bank accounts

Postby bluefete » December 10th, 2019, 12:53 pm

redmanjp wrote:so if someone show up with $10000 to change d bank checking each note one by one to make sure it legit?

Yup. The banks intercepted real counterfeit monies between yesterday and this morning. They checking every note, especially if you are not part of the 1%.

Postby Ben_spanna » December 10th, 2019, 12:54 pm

So now you all realize your choice to have or not have a bank account is being taken away from you..... the state apparently wants to know exactly what you have!

dogg

Postby dogg » December 10th, 2019, 1:17 pm

I have a family member who's an insurance advisor, she says its flabbergasting the amount of cash some people have stored in their homes. Some literally in their mattresses.

All this time I figured it was an urban/rural myth.

These ppl didn't have back accounts so couldn't get some types of insurance coverage...