Re: Sedition Act struck down: Sat vindicated: Duke's case halted

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2020, 7:56 pm

Redman wrote:
Redman wrote:Oh you serious?
Ok
Well you were talking about the Sedition Act.
Its a thread on the Sedition Act.
If you forget-look at the thread title.
Is there a law somewhere in your froth that is relevant to what we were actually discussing?-or are you just on your bigot rant rag time of the month?
Stealing is not breaking the law?

Stealing public funds to buy wigs, weave and sperm is not breaking the law?

Public purse is not a loans account

Relevant to the Thread re Sedition....stop moving the goalposts
Dummy you asked what laws was broken and I told you stealing.

But anyway PNM is abusing power and harassing citizens.
Last edited by zoom rader on January 27th, 2020, 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2020, 7:57 pm

sMASH wrote:Police went to sat to confiscate stuff, sat shake their hands, CoP said it wasn't a raid.
Sat get charge fir sedition,
Judge throw it out, ag say privy for it, let th decide what the law means, he eh find the injun make the right judgement.

It is abuse of power wastage of state resources, and if kept without reprimand, PNM could use their PNM inclined officers to harass citizens under this law with no real reason.

Alwaris is a cnut
Redman and the PNM mob of clowns fail to understand this

Postby De Dragon » January 28th, 2020, 2:08 am

sMASH wrote:Police went to sat to confiscate stuff, sat shake their hands, CoP said it wasn't a raid.
Judge throw it out, ag say privy for it, let th decide what the law means, he eh find the injun make the right judgement.

It is abuse of power wastage of state resources, and if kept without reprimand, PNM could use their PNM inclined officers to harass citizens under this law with no real reason.

Alwaris is a cnut

White people have to tell Red Plastic Bag and he man crush Arse-Wari that the law is archaic and subject to abuse (as we have seen) by the PNM and indeed any other government so inclined.

Postby Redman » January 28th, 2020, 4:19 am

Ultimately allyuh could whine and call names.

Not one singular law was broken,and while Dumass calling abuse...the end result remains that the govt operated within the law, no charge was brought, and the Sedition Act is halfway gone.

When this started all here wanted that.

Postby Gladiator » January 28th, 2020, 6:21 am

Yes but the PNM made azzes of themselves on the way there....

They tried to use an archaic law to silence political opponents. Straight out of the 1917 handbook.

Al Wari is an epic failure. And lost even more credibility when he sent it to the privy council to try to appeal.

Don't try to defend them. You would look just as dotish...

Postby Redman » January 28th, 2020, 7:10 am

If it was a political move wasn't it a stupid one....? I would say yes.
How you use the Sedition act to silence political criticism...
When
The act expressly states that political criticism is NOT Sedition.

And the statement that Sat Did not include any reference to the govt....and was focused on Tobago etc.

TATT had an issue with the statement.
TTPS took evidence,Sat asks for judicial review.
Judgement made...
..the judicial system performed as it was supposed to.
Last edited by Redman on January 28th, 2020, 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » January 28th, 2020, 7:20 am

Redman wrote:If it was a political move wasn't it a stupid one....? I would say yes.
How you use the Sedition act to silence political criticism...
When
The act expressly states that political criticism is NOT Sedition.

And the statement that Sat Did not include any reference to the govt....and was focused on Tobago etc.

TATT had an issue with the statement.
TTPS took evidence,Sat asks for judicial review.
Judgement made...
..the judicial system performed as it was supposed to.

Still waiting to see where the

judicial system performed after PNM dragged peoples names in the mud, abused and harassed good Citizens.

TATT, TTPS, DPP are all PNM and a disgrace. They are not independent

Postby sMASH » January 28th, 2020, 5:48 pm

Alwaris is a cnut

White people have to tell Red Plastic Bag and he man crush Arse-Wari that the law is archaic and subject to abuse (as we have seen) by the PNM and indeed any other government so inclined.

alwaris want privy council to settle it... that is like asking a vegan if beef does taste better than goat.

Postby De Dragon » January 29th, 2020, 12:17 am

Redman wrote:Ultimately allyuh could whine and call names.

Not one singular law was broken,and while Dumass calling abuse...the end result remains that the govt operated within the law, no charge was brought, and the Sedition Act is halfway gone.

When this started all here wanted that.

Yes, because the cost of lawyers to fight politically motivated cases is free :roll: :roll:

Postby The_Honourable » February 17th, 2020, 2:02 pm

Sedition laws back in effect, as Appeal Court suspends Seepersad's ruling

THIS country's sedition laws are back in effect. At least for now.

Today the Appeal Court suspended the order of Justice Frank Seepersad who found last month that parts of the law were unconstitutional, as it infringed on the rights of citizens to freedom of expression, thought and freedom of the press.

That appeal was filed by the Office of the Attorney general after Justice Seepersad refused to grant an application by the State for its suspension immediately following his ruling on January 13.

Today, Appeal Court judge Justice Alice Yorke-Soo Hon suspended Justice Seepersad's order.

It means that the laws under which Public Services Association (PSA), President Watson Duke and Jamaat al Musliemen leader Yasin Abu Bakr were arrested and prosecuted, are again enforceable.

However, the suspension of the order only comes pending the hearing and determination of the substantive appeal. This means the actual findings of Justice Seepersad is yet to be tried and ruled upon.

Justice Seepersad had ruled that sections 3 and 4 of the Sedition Act, which came into effect in 1920, were not in conformity with the Constitution as they imposed disproportionate and unjustified restrictions on citizens’ free speech, expression and thought.

The judge also held that the act infringed on the right to freedom of the press.

Following the ruling, Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi said the ruling of the judge was “dangerous” and indicated it would be appealed all the way to the Privy Council in London, England.

A week after Seepersad’s ruling, the State filed 29 grounds of appeal.

An additional five grounds are being relied upon as they relate to a substitution order in which the judge allowed Vijay Maharaj, the son of former Sanatan Dharma Maha Sabha (SDMS) secretary general Sat Maharaj, to replace his father as a claimant in the proceedings that ended in Seepersad’s judgement striking down the sedition laws.

In his January ruling, Justice Seepersad found sections 3 and 4 of the Sedition Act patently inconsistent and at odds with Section 1 of the Constitution, which guarantees that Trinidad and Tobago is a sovereign, democratic State.

“In addition, they violate the Rule of Law because they lack certainty, are vague and so their status as law cannot be reasonably justified in this sovereign, democratic state,” the judge said.

The effect of the ruling meant that people could no longer be charged with the act of sedition.

The ruling brought a halt to a preliminary enquiry against Watson Duke, who was charged with sedition last August over statements he made during a protest at telecoms provider TSTT in 2018.

Duke was successful in having a charge of sedition against him discontinued by Chief Magistrate Maria Busby-Earle Caddle in the Port of Spain Court.

Abu Bakr, also made an application before Justice Maria Wilson in the Port of Spain High Court for a charge of sedition against him to be discharged.

That charge came following statement during a sermon in which Bakr allegedly incited others to demand money by menace and to commit a breach of the peace during an Eid sermon at the Jamaat’s Mucurapo Road Mosque in 2005.

In 2012, his trial at the High Court ended in a hung jury, resulting in a retrial being ordered. The retrial has not taken place.

The constitutional claim was filed by Maharaj and his media company, Central Broadcasting Services Ltd, after Maharaj made certain statements on his Maha Sabha Strikes Back programme on TV Jaagriti on April 15, 2019.

Maharaj said citizens living in Tobago were lazy and the men were rapists.

Even though he had not been charged, Maharaj later suggested to his supporters during an SDMS Indian Arrival Day celebration that a charge for sedition against him was inevitable.

Source: https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/s ... ba5f9.html

Postby rspann » February 17th, 2020, 3:08 pm

When somebody get ban ,they could still read the comments?

Postby K74T » February 17th, 2020, 3:55 pm

Yupp. Dont even need to log in

Postby redmanjp » February 17th, 2020, 4:07 pm

so Duke and Bakr could be charged again?

Postby De Dragon » February 17th, 2020, 5:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:so Duke and Bakr could be charged again?

They need not worry, because Arse-Wari + Privy Council = PNM Failure.
Of course it matters not to fools like Redman because according to Hat from Miguel Street "white people is God you hear!"

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2020, 5:28 pm

Hey dumass.

Still trying to be ZR?

Postby De Dragon » February 17th, 2020, 5:47 pm

Redman wrote:Hey dumass.

Still trying to be ZR?

At least I'm still in the trying phase, whereas you've fully succeeded in being a tunts. BTW learn to spell your insults before you attempt to hurl them, dumbass.

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2020, 5:55 pm

Yet you answered pumpkin.
But before you get into your junior sec rants.....you didn’t like when the PNM was bringing legislation to parliament....now you don’t like when the same guys are using the courts to refine law.

And now the famous dog whistle of race....

Carry on dumass

Postby De Dragon » February 17th, 2020, 6:20 pm

Redman wrote:Yet you answered pumpkin.
But before you get into your junior sec rants.....you didn’t like when the PNM was bringing legislation to parliament....now you don’t like when the same guys are using the courts to refine law.

And now the famous dog whistle of race....

Carry on dumass

Race? No dumbass, your Gods in the PNM, like you, desperately need a white man to tell them what you all know to be true, which is that using the Sedition Act to suppress political rivals is unconstitutional, and will be struck down eventually. So its really a case of you still worshipping Massa dumbass, not race, ok dumbass? :wink:

Postby sMASH » February 17th, 2020, 6:32 pm

using the courts to refine a law? didnt they understand fully what they concocted, and bullied the opposition into passing?

is not a car u buy parts for on ebay, then send it to the tuner to tune for u. in that scenario, u eh kno ur ass from ur elbow, but u have the power to get sumting. and then when u done get it, u send it by someone else who know better than u, to try to figure it out.

when ur making a law, u should understand fully well, what the problem is that ur trying to solve, understand what u came up with how it will acheive what u intend, how it interacts with the other laws and mechanisms in the system, ensure it does not conflict, then when u sure u get the majority correct, u pass it.

it have nothing noble or conscientious in what rentalwaris do there. it just shows how incompetent he is to be administering law.

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2020, 6:36 pm

the junior sec rant little tired.
And yeah...your chip eh race. :roll:

Postby De Dragon » February 17th, 2020, 7:35 pm

Redman wrote:the junior sec rant little tired.
And yeah...your chip eh race. :roll:

Red Plastic Bag iz 2020, get some new material nah! :roll: Every single time you come here to type your nonsense,( usually in defence of one of your PNM man-crushes) and you get challenged, you resort to your racial accusations, or puerile "typical" comments.
If you're not fine with honestly admitting that you and Arse-Wari prefer waiting on a white man thousands of miles away to tell you what to do with your own laws, even when they are being used unjustly, then I humbly apologize good sir.
If not UDFR with your baseless accusations :wink:

Postby Redman » February 17th, 2020, 8:08 pm

Challenged how ?
The only thing challenged is your understanding of the facts

The Privy Court is the highest court.....the LOCAL appeal court says there is an argument..and today is questioning Seepersads ruling in some way...
....the GORTT is using the courts as is their right, and the same right we all have.

When the court says whatever it says...we have firmer and clearer law.
You can whine all you like...as you are wont to do...

Until we remove the Privy Council they remain the highest court in the land....I really don’t have an issue with them or their whiteness.
That’s your issue.....and it is you that introduced their race into the dialogue.

Postby rspann » February 17th, 2020, 9:45 pm

Zoom, you should appeal yuh ban , go to the privy council if necessary.

Postby De Dragon » February 18th, 2020, 9:36 pm

Redman wrote:Challenged how ?
The only thing challenged is your understanding of the facts

The Privy Court is the highest court.....the LOCAL appeal court says there is an argument..and today is questioning Seepersads ruling in some way...
....the GORTT is using the courts as is their right, and the same right we all have.

When the court says whatever it says...we have firmer and clearer law.
You can whine all you like...as you are wont to do...

Until we remove the Privy Council they remain the highest court in the land....I really don’t have an issue with them or their whiteness.
That’s your issue.....and it is you that introduced their race into the dialogue.

Playing(?) dotish as usual, as if the Sedition Act isn't being used to stifle opponents of the inept and corrupt PNM. Then again, your sheepishness knows no bounds, so spend a few million for the PC to tell us what we already know, the law is archaic, and badly conceived and will be struck down, all while hoping that lawyering by vaps Arse-Wari will look intellectual, and your handlers will think this of you too, in this futile and costly endeavour.

Postby Redman » February 19th, 2020, 6:41 am

Again-all you can do is bleat about what you feel-and 'know'

Stifle opponents???

The Sedition Act is clear -and it expressly states that political criticism isnt Sedition.In fact that is one thing the vague act is clear on.
So your thesis is that the GORTT is using a Law to enforce something that that Law expressly allows?

Ultimately it is normal for laws to be modernized and fine tuned through case(common) law.

You have an issue when they make law...and you have an issue when they allow the courts to decide.

And theLOCAL Appeal court seems to think that there is merit on both sides -enough so to reverse the strike down

Seems the Constitution and the Law are working as they should.

Postby De Dragon » February 19th, 2020, 7:35 am

Redman wrote:Again-all you can do is bleat about what you feel-and 'know'

Stifle opponents???

The Sedition Act is clear -and it expressly states that political criticism isnt Sedition.In fact that is one thing the vague act is clear on.
So your thesis is that the GORTT is using a Law to enforce something that that Law expressly allows?

Ultimately it is normal for laws to be modernized and fine tuned through case(common) law.

You have an issue when they make law...and you have an issue when they allow the courts to decide.

And theLOCAL Appeal court seems to think that there is merit on both sides -enough so to reverse the strike down

Seems the Constitution and the Law are working as they should.

Semantics appear to be all you can offer. Perhaps you can point out where exactly seditious statements were made in SDMS and Watson Duke cases? I have no issue when the PNM play legislators and make laws, I have an issue when stupid, ineffectual laws are made, or in this case perpetuated, when we know that it can be amended. Making hateful, racist, terroristic statements can be treated with, without infringing on people's free speech right.
Not knowing better is bad enough, but knowing better and not doing better is unforgivable, made all the worse when you're going to be throwing away OUR money to it!
Arse-Wari seems determined to persecute, and prosecute Sat, even in death it seems.

Postby Redman » February 19th, 2020, 8:04 am

Ask TATT and the TTPS why they had an issue.
SAts comments were regarding Tobago...
Show where there was a charge brought against Sat?
It is Sat that filed....so blame him for the cost.

Duke made statements regarding death and morgue etc....weak case, politically expensive, clearly marginal.....all Obvious at the outset.
Why would this be the route the PNM took?...
If they control the judiciary...use the rape charge.
Yet you feel is political..smh.

Check page 2 of the thread-the relevant part of the act is there-as is the express protection of political criticism.
Or better yet-google the Act and read it.
A statement can run afoul of the Act-yet not be Seditious by definition

Both Sat and Duke arguably crossed a line-based on the Act itself.
The courts will decide how or if the Act is relevant.

The law isn’t stupid...it’s outdated.

This is a mechanism to improve it.
That’s how it works.
And it’s about time we get our laws up to date.

Postby Gladiator » February 19th, 2020, 8:56 pm

Redman wrote:Ask TATT and the TTPS why they had an issue.

Duke made statements regarding death and morgue etc....weak case, politically expensive, clearly marginal.....all Obvious at the outset.

Check page 2 of the thread-the relevant part of the act is there-as is the express protection of political criticism.

That’s how it works.

Serious question... are calypsonians exempt from this law? They spew some of the most vile and nasty hate "songs" every year and get paid to do it with taxpayers money too

Postby De Dragon » February 19th, 2020, 9:46 pm

Gladiator wrote:

That’s how it works.

Serious question... are calypsonians exempt from this law? They spew some of the most vile and nasty hate "songs" every year and get paid to do it with taxpayers money too

Not if your hair wring up. TATT is only for Massive Gosine and anti-PNM artistes. Cro Cro, Pink Panther Aloes and the rest can do what they want.

Postby De Dragon » February 19th, 2020, 9:50 pm

That’s how it works.

Missing the point as usual. If, as several legal luminaries have pointed out, that the Act needs amendment, then do that. You yourself have pointed out to the trivial nature of Watson Duke's matter, which would never happen if the proper law is in place. The idea is to keep any politician from abusing the law to arrest people for these trivialities.
Arse-Wari seems determined to get a win here at any cost, mind you it is not costing him anything personally not even his "reputation" because he never had any to begin with.