Re: New Commissioner of Police (CoP) appointed, Gary Griffith

Postby rspann » August 4th, 2018, 10:43 am

Motor Mouth.

Postby The_Honourable » August 5th, 2018, 8:46 pm

steupz... :roll:

Political Leader of the Movement for Social Justice, David Abdullah says Commissioner of Police designate, Gary Griffith needs to recognise that the post he's about to take up is not political.

Postby RedVEVO » August 5th, 2018, 9:07 pm

Political Leader of the Movement for Social Justice, David Abdullah is calling Gary .. " Rambo "

It's a Rambo we need in Trinidad :D :D

Again we need to stop listening to these OLD people .
They have OLD ideas and have failed the youths.

They are becoming useless and a danger to T&T .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 6th, 2018, 5:16 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^^

Political Leader of the Movement for Social Justice, David Abdullah is calling Gary .. " Rambo "

and you backing Kamla and she peeps strong...allyuh good yes

Postby RedVEVO » August 6th, 2018, 8:55 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^^

and you backing Kamla and she peeps strong...allyuh good yes

Whoever RedVEVO backs is a constitutional and God given right ..

Postby The_Honourable » August 6th, 2018, 11:01 am

Griffith appointed as CoP

The Police Service Commission (PSC) yesterday announced the appointment of Gary Griffith as the new Commissioner of Police (CoP).

Griffith's appointment was in keeping with the PSC’s mandate to appoint people to hold or act in the office of CoP and Deputy CoP.

Griffith was chosen as top cop when the House of Representatives debated the matter in the Parliament last Monday. Government MPs present all voted for Griffith, while the Opposition abstained.

Stephen Williams has been acting CoP for several years.

As CoP, Griffith will be responsible for directing all strategic activities of the police to promote and achieve higher levels of safety and security for the nation.

The Ministry of National Security was repsonsible for finalising the terms and conditions of Griffith’s contract.

Source: https://newsday.co.tt/2018/08/06/griffi ... ed-as-cop/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 6th, 2018, 12:07 pm

road block like that later

Postby sMASH » August 6th, 2018, 10:41 pm

anaconda 2020

Postby sMASH » August 7th, 2018, 6:41 am

1533638481897.jpg

blood

Postby blood » August 19th, 2018, 9:43 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
maj. tom wrote:If they fix crime would citizens even need firearms?

Can we fix crime in Trinidad ?

While Politicians playing games , business people are being robbed and murdered .

So meanwhile, give the business people guns to provide safety for their family & property.

If you have a better solution - talk :D

I hope the business men & women who are lobbying for gun licenses are taking it upon themselves to become properly trained as several serious citizens are doing, and not sitting down waiting for a FUL because they feel that they are more intitled to one. I personally believe that Commissioner Griffith should firstly consider applicants who has over 6 months of firearms training on the shooting range before other applicants. It's only logical that the citizens who are investing their time and money regularly on the range are showing true delugence to earn gun licenses .

Postby Redman » August 20th, 2018, 6:36 am

All they need to do is to establish a relevant course of training - and let the ranges implement it for a fee to the citizen.

So I go through a series of classroom and range time and I get the LICENSE.
Re cert every 2 years.

Postby 16 cycles » August 20th, 2018, 6:40 am

Can you practice on a gun range without a FUL or provisional?

Asking as i really unaware...

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2018, 6:42 am

is there such a thing as provisional ?

16 cycles wrote:Can you practice on a gun range without a FUL or provisional?

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2018, 6:44 am

Griffith need to start weeding out the bad cops in the firearms/armory dept first

those guys creaming the most bobol money out of all and involved in all kind of slackness with some of the firearms dealers.
some of them should be locked up for the kind of nastiness they does be involved in esp on the pellet/air gun side.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 20th, 2018, 6:46 am

16 cycles wrote:Can you practice on a gun range without a FUL or provisional?

Never heard of a provisional....and I not sure if local ranges open to the public otherwise everybody woda be taking selfie with gun while shooting at targets...

Not like men doh take selfie with gun already...but yuh know wah ah mean

Postby Redman » August 20th, 2018, 7:19 am

The ranges will apply for a FUEC- Firearm User Employee Certificate for a member.
Once granted the person will be able to use the ranges firearms on the range with a range officer present.

Its an easy process-but can take some time.

I guess that equates to a provisional

Postby 16 cycles » August 20th, 2018, 7:50 am

^ thanks

Postby MaxPower » August 20th, 2018, 10:46 am

Too many Trinidadians with guns is catastrophic.

Everybody crying protection...but how many have the right mentality?

We do NOT need an increase in trigger happiness, irresponsible firearm use, stolen firearms, fatal accidents especially with children etc.

Do not feel GG is your savior.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » August 20th, 2018, 2:22 pm

rspann wrote:
SR wrote:Wasnt emailgate fake??

The COP hasn't pronounced on the investigation as yet. If it was fake, where does that leave Growlers?

Well the narrative that they’ve been pushing is that it wasn’t fake but they just haven’t found what he brought up in the parliament. And that he never accused anyone but was simply asking.

Postby The_Honourable » August 20th, 2018, 3:35 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
rspann wrote:
SR wrote:Wasnt emailgate fake??

The COP hasn't pronounced on the investigation as yet. If it was fake, where does that leave Growlers?

Well the narrative that they’ve been pushing is that it wasn’t fake but they just haven’t found what he brought up in the parliament. And that he never accused anyone but was simply asking.

Back in Dec 2017, Stephen Williams "mouth did miss" and said that little of substance was found. Johnny (al wari) tried to resurrect political life into it saying that the matter was far from over. The investigation was completed and sent to the black hole aka the DPP office, nothing has been mentioned since.

Postby sMASH » August 20th, 2018, 4:03 pm

Redman wrote:The ranges will apply for a FUEC- Firearm User Employee Certificate for a member.
Once granted the person will be able to use the ranges firearms on the range with a range officer present.

can they do that for persons under 18y?

Postby alfa » August 20th, 2018, 4:42 pm

sMASH wrote:
Redman wrote:The ranges will apply for a FUEC- Firearm User Employee Certificate for a member.

Need to be over 25 to handle firearms unless you are a member of the protective services. For those over 25 the shooting associations you can apply to join are South Trinidad rifle association, Trinidad rifle association and International Defensive pistol association. There are private indoor ranges such as at AE tactical but they do not rent guns so you need to have your own and hence a FUL to shoot there. Best bet is to join one of the above clubs

Postby Redman » August 20th, 2018, 4:46 pm

Ok..an edit.
The provisional is a step in the process to get a FUL....you can apply as part of that process.

Separate from that if you join a range..they can apply for an FUEC for you, under(or against) the ranges FUL.

AFAIK...25 is the minimum age for either process.

Postby rspann » August 20th, 2018, 5:26 pm

sMASH wrote:

If your surname is Al Waree.

Postby The_Honourable » August 20th, 2018, 7:06 pm

Alright fellas... doh study Ian or 800-tips

482-GARY (4279)

Postby rspann » August 20th, 2018, 8:08 pm

........and he done say doh be calling that number to ask bout no firearm license.

Postby pugboy » August 20th, 2018, 9:31 pm

Bwahahaha

rspann wrote:........and he done say doh be calling that number to ask bout no firearm license.

Postby hydroep » August 21st, 2018, 1:57 am

Doesn't the setting up of another "confidential" line call into question the integrity of existing 800-TIPS and 555 services?...:|

Griffith starts direct public info line

Rhondor Dowlat
Published: Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Four days after newly-appointed Police Commissioner Gary Griffith started official duties, he has taken a major step towards regaining public trust and confidence in the T&T Police Service (TTPS) by launching a direct and confidential phone contact for information purposes.

In a release issued by the TTPS’ communications unit, the line is to enable persons to share information on criminal activities.

“This new initiative is aimed at building public trust and confidence in the areas of crime prevention and detection. There are many law-abiding citizens who have information on—who the criminals are; where the drugs and illegal guns are entering the country and who has committed a serious crime, particularly murder,” Griffith said, adding this avenue would provide assurance to persons reluctant to come forward with information for fear of reprisal that their information would be treated with the strictest confidence, without any risk to their safety.

He added, “As the Commissioner of Police, I intend to rectify this concern and find avenues to allow citizens to forward with such vital information, which would play a critical role in preventing a serious crime from being committed, and also if one is committed, that the perpetrators can be brought to justice, as there is no such thing as the perfect crime, and on most occasions, a third party would have some knowledge of who the criminal may be.”

Griffith is requesting information on any pending serious criminal act to be committed and any information on the perpetrators of a serious crime that has taken place.

All information can be sent directly to Griffith via Whats App or text messaging at 482-4279.

Additional information can also be made available via the 800-TIPS and 555 numbers.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2018-08-20/griffith-starts-direct-public-info-line

Postby sMASH » August 21st, 2018, 6:12 am

rspann wrote:
sMASH wrote:

If your surname is Al Waree.
I am trying to cross an 'I' and dot a 'T', get muh ducks all lined up.