Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2017, 8:11 am

ent rollingstock had post a while back somewhere here that you don't actually need a permit to buy or have a air rifle

Postby Chimera » April 15th, 2017, 8:13 am

http://trinidadandtobagolegalrights.blo ... obago.html

Air gun law in Trinidad and Tobago

Q: Hi, are air guns illegal in Trinidad and Tobago? Do I need a license to own one?

A: The answer to both questions is, "it depends". According to the Firearms (Air weapons) Order made under s.2 of the Firearms Act 1970, as amended:

"For the purposes of the definition of “firearm” occurring in section 2 of the Firearms Act, it is hereby declared that a firearm does not include air weapons of or below .177 calibre, unless the barrel thereof is rifled."

Simply put, owning an air gun without a license is illegal if it is over .177 calibre.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » April 15th, 2017, 8:19 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:http://trinidadandtobagolegalrights.blogspot.com/2014/02/air-gun-law-in-trinidad-and-tobago.html

Q: Hi, are air guns illegal in Trinidad and Tobago? Do I need a license to own one?

A: The answer to both questions is, "it depends". According to the Firearms (Air weapons) Order made under s.2 of the Firearms Act 1970, as amended:

"For the purposes of the definition of “firearm” occurring in section 2 of the Firearms Act, it is hereby declared that a firearm does not include air weapons of or below .177 calibre, unless the barrel thereof is rifled."

Simply put, owning an air gun without a license is illegal if it is over .177 calibre.

Unfortunately ambiguous as with many of our laws. The question is do you really want the hassle of meeting police with one without a permit even though it's technically legal?

_Kingfish_

Postby _Kingfish_ » April 16th, 2017, 9:35 pm

Last edited by _Kingfish_ on November 15th, 2024, 7:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sandbank

Postby sandbank » May 9th, 2017, 7:49 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:anyone with a new Pcp to sell...NEw..not used with all receipts

I have an Armada, 6 months old with receipt, scope, extra mags, AR stock, bipod and case for sale. $12G
PM if interested.

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 11th, 2017, 3:30 am

Bought an armada from centrep, it up for sale as well..lol one month old....fired 18 times

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2017, 3:42 am

What wrong with them armadas ?

Postby 88sins » May 11th, 2017, 5:35 am

Nuttn, just front heavy overdressed Marauders :lol:

Dem ting too tactical for I tastes.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2017, 5:55 am

Lol thought so,
Also the bt65 etc from Hatsan make not much sense for .177 smoothbore use

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » May 11th, 2017, 6:47 am

How much the fx revolution does go for?

What are the other options for a semi automatic pcp?

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2017, 7:12 am

prob $20k plus
somebody told me agostinis just got in a hatsan semiauto also

carnagecassidy

Postby carnagecassidy » May 11th, 2017, 8:30 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:http://trinidadandtobagolegalrights.blogspot.com/2014/02/air-gun-law-in-trinidad-and-tobago.html

Like boss man hinted, interpretation of the law suiting your point of view doesn't matter. Most officers would seize the air rifle/arrest you for possession pending the rifle going to the armoury to determine it being rifled bore. Police operate on the concept tht spiral/rifled bore is wholly illegal but smooth bore needs a license.
The fact tht police and all other national security officers who can with permission carry home a pistol from work normal yet have to obtain a permit for a ful before aquiring says volumes. Unless you have funds and time to waste to lawyer up to get back your air rifle(the armoury sticks like everything else in t&t) and taking time off to go to court regularly isn't worth it when you can just get your permit in a few weeks. Providing you got a clean criminal record and can obtain a Coc.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 11th, 2017, 9:06 am

Went beginning of May for my permit, so hopefully going back end of June to see if I get thru...

Postby 88sins » May 11th, 2017, 9:21 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:How much the fx revolution does go for?

What are the other options for a semi automatic pcp?

hatsan bullmaster & barrage, was about 16k last i checked

Postby 88sins » May 11th, 2017, 9:24 am

pugboy wrote:Lol thought so,
Also the bt65 etc from Hatsan make not much sense for .177 smoothbore use

you'd be surprised

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » May 11th, 2017, 9:32 am

wet into centerfire yesterday....and walked back out.... ridiculous prices!

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 11th, 2017, 4:39 pm

nah i love the armada...it is heavy..very tactical looking.....dont even want to get in a roadblock with it not in the case....if someone sees u with an armada....i am sure they will call ttps.......but i got an import permit...so.....saw something else
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on May 11th, 2017, 4:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 11th, 2017, 4:43 pm

sport and games trincity has new stuff GAMO

bossmann

Postby bossmann » May 11th, 2017, 4:51 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:nah i love the armada...it is heavy..vert tactical looking.....dont even want to get in a roadblock with it not in the case....if someone sees u with an armada....i am sure they will call ttps.......but i got an import permit...so.....saw something else

Finding one online within legal specs?

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 11th, 2017, 4:52 pm

NOOOO all rifled....gave up....

Keeshan Bachan

Postby Keeshan Bachan » May 11th, 2017, 5:45 pm

Does anyone have there id # on there permit

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2017, 6:08 pm

nope, no id no gun serial etc

Postby streetbeastINC. » May 11th, 2017, 8:19 pm

DP number i used DP

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2017, 8:37 pm

Anybody have a hatsan fill probe ?

Friend looking for one to install on a hand pump

Postby 88sins » May 11th, 2017, 9:03 pm

check Agostini's or Buckshots, they might have spares

If not a machinist could make it easy enuff

Postby dougla_boy » July 3rd, 2017, 6:10 pm

Soooo, question, how hard is it to get a license for air rifles now?

Postby 88sins » July 3rd, 2017, 8:06 pm

dougla_boy wrote:Soooo, question, how hard is it to get a license for air rifles now?

Impossible, since all that was ever issued were permits

But I know a couple ppl that got theirs recently, within the last month. Last fella collected his about 2 weeks ago.

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 3rd, 2017, 9:35 pm

still got a new armada FS ...

_Kingfish_

Postby _Kingfish_ » July 3rd, 2017, 9:36 pm

Last edited by _Kingfish_ on December 28th, 2024, 2:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 4th, 2017, 8:51 am

dougla_boy wrote:Soooo, question, how hard is it to get a license for air rifles now?

Impossible, since all that was ever issued were permits

But I know a couple ppl that got theirs recently, within the last month. Last fella collected his about 2 weeks ago.

Cool, it has been two months since I applied. Going poke meh head in the window sometime this week.