The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

Re: Self Employed...The Thread Meeting Set Pg 6

Postby Monk BANzai » July 21st, 2010, 12:45 pm

in like sin.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 21st, 2010, 12:52 pm

Somebody call Raptor

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » July 21st, 2010, 2:16 pm

May I join you guys even though I'm not self-employed at the moment, but looking to start my own business venture in the near future and could do with some enlightenment.

Postby wagonrunner » July 21st, 2010, 2:28 pm

Will try to make it.

Postby foss » July 21st, 2010, 3:29 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Will try to make it.

great, now I hadda stay home :roll:

will try to make it as well
(must remember to walk with call cards)

Bareback

Re: Self Employed...The Thread

Postby Bareback » July 21st, 2010, 3:32 pm

mr. mindz wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:My only issue or turnoff with regards to being in buisness for myself especially in my line of work, which is Building design and all associated with it, is the fact that Trinidadians, for the most part, are a people that do not appreciated or understand the efforts that one has to put in.
i literally have to take a clients idea, put it on paper for them to see, tailor it to his/her needs/wants etc., and turn that into a reality.
It's no easy task by any means. It takes alot out of me WRT, time, $$, constant communication, research, humility, patience, etc.
Ive said it in many threads prior to this one , but what i've come to realise is that their are very few people or types of people , that can appreciate work done and are willing to pay for it, without the usual run around, and scheming.
With that said, i was in it full time and needed a break from the stresses as described above. I got a reasonably livable offer 3 yrs ago and took it. I am right now putting things back in motion to get back on my own and try different angles so as not to experience the same problems as before.

Someone mentioned earlier about the sacrifice WRT to family and time when running your own business.
Know this:

It is almost Impossible at the starting point of any buisness to have near perfect relationships, unless you have found that one in a million person to share, understand , support and stand firm, knowing that its for an eventually profitable cause in most aspects.

Ive personally seen in many instances, men leaving chances of success in buisness because of their g/f's/ wives, etc. who demands that they do not work the hours required that is necessary to take them all to another level of existence.

couldn't have said it better............... ur trade and mine are very similar, in which we both are considered 'artists'.....

people have no appreciation for intellectual concepts and look at it as something that should be free with the package, when in fact - this is what you pay for - ideas!

eg; ppl will beat you down on every dollar, for material and time.......... but some of them don't even know you have to pay for artwork, but yet they want their stuff looking d besss........... if u want the best, you have to pay for the best.......

some of them act as if ur car does work on water, tstt and blink is ur father business, t&tec and u rel good, you dont have a life or a family - when they say jump - you ask 'how high?'......... and ur brain is like a machine programmed to jus spit out ideas................. and u cyah stick wit their work, but when it come to payment - is bounce cheque, is post dated cheque, is 'ah collecting money friday'..... 'yuh go pass back nah....'....... 'oh gosh man - daiz yuh best price?'

trinidadians sicken me at times................. sometimes u wish u were jus working somewhere and u didnt have to put up wit their crap..... :roll:

Thank you both for this type of feedback. With my level of expertise and experience I was considering going out on my own and consulting - business process design/ improvement, risk management, revenue management - along these lines and I always had concerns that you just expressed. Others have said that I was simply trying to talk myself out of it, maybe there is some truth to that as I make really good money right now, but that comes at the expense of my health and to some extent my family.

In your experience is there a "willing" market for this type of service? I know this may sound somewhat naive but I was always brought where you found a job and stuck with it until retirement, regardless. I am seeing now that that is not the way to go.

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 21st, 2010, 5:24 pm

TriniVdub wrote:May I join you guys even though I'm not self-employed at the moment, but looking to start my own business venture in the near future and could do with some enlightenment.

As long as your contributions are constructive you are welcomed to join us.

Postby Rooki3 » July 21st, 2010, 6:33 pm

wish i coulda make this!!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » July 21st, 2010, 6:49 pm

Mr Gear wrote:Somebody call Raptor

PM me your contact info

i should be there as i'm done withe work.

Postby equipped2ripp » July 21st, 2010, 7:46 pm

I'm in...

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 21st, 2010, 7:48 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:I'm in...

pass fuh meh nah

i lookin tuh save som $ on gas

NLVA200

Postby NLVA200 » July 21st, 2010, 7:51 pm

^ business men always had look for ways to reduce expenses right? :lol:

Postby brams112 » July 21st, 2010, 8:11 pm

6pm to early for me,wouldhave liked to make it,i am always out of the business at 5pm so it may be tricky for me,hope guys who want to take a big step into making a future learn something from the guys there,one quick question how will people attending know how to make out tuner fellows?

Postby wagonrunner » July 21st, 2010, 8:14 pm

brams112 wrote:6pm to early for me,wouldhave liked to make it,i am always out of the business at 5pm so it may be tricky for me,hope guys who want to take a big step into making a future learn something from the guys there,one quick question how will people attending know how to make out tuner fellows?

you approach people in the open air area outside if the weather is good, and ask if this is the self employed tuner lime.
If yes, identify yourself, name and tuner alias. They would most likely respond in kind.

If no, apologize, and keep your eyes and ears open.

It's unlikely I'll be able to make it tomorrow either.
Last edited by wagonrunner on July 21st, 2010, 8:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 21st, 2010, 8:18 pm

brams112 wrote:6pm to early for me,wouldhave liked to make it,i am always out of the business at 5pm so it may be tricky for me,hope guys who want to take a big step into making a future learn something from the guys there,one quick question how will people attending know how to make out tuner fellows?

wear your 2nr t-shirt :!:

Postby brams112 » July 21st, 2010, 8:24 pm

ha ha didnt get mines but i may use wagon password,,if i remember i may take the drive,south not easy to leave these days with the creek bridge project and traffic on the other side the journey up is a long one,

Postby equipped2ripp » July 21st, 2010, 9:58 pm

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 21st, 2010, 11:31 pm

Soooooooooooooooooooo i'm not in ... big suprise lol I usually deliver goods from 3-7pm ..

I think wat pisses me off the most is tht my instincts are right and I listen to other ppl and they feel like they are effing trump ... Know everything and wanna rule me .. especially WRT to my prices and how i charge ppl ..

and worst yet they make me feel like I dunno wat I'm doing and make me feel guilty coz i just feel tired and constrained and i'm like stfu lemme think for myself .. DUH!!! i don't kno wat i'm doing but at least i'm trying .. and I making money so I figure i'm doing sometihng right :|

hav fun tom :D

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 22nd, 2010, 3:55 am

A group like this will talk well beyond an hour so feel free to fall in later if you like.

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » July 22nd, 2010, 8:13 am

Dont have much to say that wasnt already covered. I simply like business.
I sometimes tell my sell even if i was to break-even or make a loss i will still do business beacuase this is what i like.

I think new entrepreneurs should ensure that they like what they are doing or be very good at it.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 22nd, 2010, 9:27 am

Doubtful for today, wouldve loved to make it.
great "event" tho. Good luck and im sure those that attend will keep us updated on discussed issues.
1st of many i hope. This attitude WRT cooperation should be maintained.

Postby AllTrac » July 22nd, 2010, 10:40 am

networking opportunity is good, bring allyuh call cards and contact info eh fellas

Postby ronsin1 » July 22nd, 2010, 11:18 am

this sounds interesting I may attend is I am in PP

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » July 22nd, 2010, 12:07 pm

How many people want to get a spot in Trincity Mall ? This is the kind of networking opportunity that will let you get an inside track. I met with Mall Management yesterday.

Wanna know what I know ?

See you at the meeting.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 22nd, 2010, 12:14 pm

^^^^Ah comin! Ah comin!

jeepers
Location: Still locating this location that when located it will appear as my location

Postby jeepers » July 22nd, 2010, 1:20 pm

Mr Gear wrote:How many people want to get a spot in Trincity Mall ? This is the kind of networking opportunity that will let you get an inside track. I met with Mall Management yesterday.

Wanna know what I know ?

See you at the meeting.

called trinicity mall already once?
after i was told that a chaos(not sure of correct spelling) can cost like 70000 in total to purchase. that dont include rent :shock:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » July 22nd, 2010, 3:14 pm

Kiosk buddy.....kiosk....

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » July 22nd, 2010, 9:14 pm

DAMMIT !!

I had to go south today :| :(

please please lemme kno ?!

Postby Rooki3 » July 22nd, 2010, 9:20 pm

70k not that bad, esp. when considering the amount of people pass thru there on a daily basis

RapToR

Postby RapToR » July 22nd, 2010, 9:35 pm

meeting was good :!: