Price of Doubles Increased

Re: Price of Doubles Increased

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2015, 2:29 pm

^^^ Some ppl prefer to rent and don't have the need to own a home.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » October 13th, 2015, 2:37 pm

no pics of doubles :| :| :|

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 2:55 pm

zoom rader wrote:^^^ Some ppl prefer to rent and don't have the need to own a home.

Which part of Trinidad you living in again?

Advent

Postby Advent » October 13th, 2015, 2:57 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
zoom rader wrote:^^^ Some ppl prefer to rent and don't have the need to own a home.

i dont think he from trinidad hoss

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 13th, 2015, 3:08 pm

I always wondered why people do this though, is Trinidad big enough to justify relocating from one location to the next for job purpose?

Because instead of renting why not just pay a loan to own a house some day? come just like rent except the house go be yours at some point.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 3:10 pm

Shhhhhhh effectic. ZR is clearly the expert on all things Trinidadian. Your personal experience of actually living here all of your life is no match for his google-fu skills.

Postby eliteauto » October 13th, 2015, 3:15 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I always wondered why people do this though, is Trinidad big enough to justify relocating from one location to the next for job purpose?

Because instead of renting why not just pay a loan to own a house some day? come just like rent except the house go be yours at some point.

because a house is not an asset in most cases, many entrepreneurs put house ownership last

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2015, 3:28 pm

Yup....why spend a million or three on a house that brings with it all kinda headache when you can invest that million and spend a 5k a month rent and not have the headaches that come with owning a house

Postby Chimera » October 13th, 2015, 3:29 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Shhhhhhh effectic. ZR is clearly the expert on all things Trinidadian. Your personal experience of actually living here all of your life is no match for his google-fu skills.

Please try to understand the kind of person effectic is before you agree with him on anything. He is genuinely psycho. Several years ago he threatened to rape me with a spoon after a disagreement on this forum lol.

Postby 1UZFE » October 13th, 2015, 3:32 pm

This comment have rel Heights involved ..

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » October 13th, 2015, 3:41 pm

I buy 3 doubles this morning normel normel

Advent

Postby Advent » October 13th, 2015, 3:49 pm

twicedead2 wrote:I buy 3 doubles this morning normel normel

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 3:52 pm

It sounds like the main deterrent to owning a house is the large cost (and related long term financial commitment). I think if both options were equally viable (house for 5k a month) people would much rather that than rent. Everyone I know would rather have a place to call their own but rent because it's either that or move back home.

ABA Trading LTD wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:Shhhhhhh effectic. ZR is clearly the expert on all things Trinidadian. Your personal experience of actually living here all of your life is no match for his google-fu skills.

Please try to understand the kind of person effectic is before you agree with him on anything. He is genuinely psycho. Several years ago he threatened to rape me with a spoon after a disagreement on this forum lol.
hmm... wow... just wow.

clone101

Postby clone101 » October 13th, 2015, 4:29 pm

i buying doubles from the same guy on Broadway 16+ years since he was $1 ,he raise last week from $4 to $5 and now he has to work till 6am to 11am where up to last Monday he would be sold out by 8;45am-9am for the latest ,i waiting to see how long he going and hold strain cause i cut down from 3-4 times a week to 2 days a week if i can make it.

Postby honda hoe » October 13th, 2015, 4:54 pm

Not sure if doubles or taxation ched

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2015, 6:22 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:

I live in San Do East where there are a large number of renters. These ppl will tell you point blank they prefer to rent. Generations of them are renters, these ppl are mostly trades persons and make probably more than you and I. Their lifestyle is carefree and they spend money freely. They have little financial headaches and work when they want too. Main thing is they pay their rent on time.
A number of these folks rent from me.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 13th, 2015, 6:30 pm

I live in San Do East where there are a large number of renters. These ppl will tell you point blank they prefer to rent. Generations of them are renters, these ppl are mostly trades persons and make probably more than you and I. Their lifestyle is carefree and they spend money freely. They have little financial headaches and work when they want too. Main thing is they pay their rent on time.
A number of these folks rent from me.

Makes sense. For the cost of land and house you could probably rent for 20-40 years depending on where you living.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 13th, 2015, 6:36 pm

EmilioA wrote:
bluesclues wrote:
like someone say, instead of leavin home same time they will leave home 30 minutes later and still reach to work 15 minutes late. and the truck drivers will drive slower to do the same amount of deliveries instead of taking advantage and delivering more.

Very Bad Examples.

More sleep/home time means happier individuals . Happier individuals and more home time means better family life. I dont have to give my new extra time to my employer. I can keep it for myself.

Your employer pays you for hours on the job. He doesnt pay you for the 2 -4 hours you spending getting to and from work.

Secondly a slower truck driver mean less accidents on the road. Which is a good thing. Dont you agree ?

everything is about perspective eh. and u point out a new perspective that makes a good point there. though im sure most employers would unplug their ears from after the first part and only start listening at the part about the truck driver lol.

and well happier ppl are more productive ppl and all that but im sure ud rather convert that 15 minutes in to cold hard cash. the cumulative effect of which would enhance your salary without a second job and without the general cost of living going up.

i still say we have to work on strengthening our agricultural sector to the point where we have surplus food. enough to export. and return to a state of savings in the treasury to strengthen the dollar, and balance it off by lowering prices of everything steadily to make an easy living for all citizens.if our dollar is stronger, with the current amount of bills in circulation, salaries could remain the same while the price of everything around us drops. a reversal of the activities that have taken place over the past 30 years.

York

Postby York » October 13th, 2015, 7:00 pm

Renting makes economical sense. If you rent an apartment for $2000 for 30 yrs on average instead of mortgage for $4000 per month, then you save $24000 per yr. If you invest that like in unit trust then you have a tidy sum to hand down to ur kids. They can then build an apartment to rent out, lol. Or that will be ur retirement income.

Was listening to a radio programme this morning, talking about property tax. References were being made to the tax being applicable for the level of government services like roads etc. So I say charge the property tax to the renters because the landlord not living there. It's the renters who benefit and if they are low enough income, they pay no tax at all. It's not fair for those who sacrifice and work hard to constantly pay for those who want a free ride. It's the middle income group who get hit the hardest with the current system.

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2015, 7:04 pm

York wrote:Renting makes economical sense. If you rent an apartment for $2000 for 30 yrs on average instead of mortgage for $4000 per month, then you save $24000 per yr. If you invest that like in unit trust then you have a tidy sum to hand down to ur kids. They can then build an apartment to rent out, lol. Or that will be ur retirement income.

Was listening to a radio programme this morning, talking about property tax. References were being made to the tax being applicable for the level of government services like roads etc. So I say charge the property tax to the renters because the landlord not living there. It's the renters who benefit and if they are low enough income, they pay no tax at all. It's not fair for those who sacrifice and work hard to constantly pay for those who want a free ride. It's the middle income group who get hit the hardest with the current system.

That's how it's done in the Uk.
Renters pay their own council tax.

In trini the landlords will just raise the rent to cover their tax, same as taxi drivers with fares.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » October 13th, 2015, 7:27 pm

zoom rader wrote:That's how it's done in the Uk.

In trini the landlords will just raise the rent to cover their tax, same as taxi drivers with fares.

UNC should never have let the Rent Act and the Rent Control Board lapse.

Postby zoom rader » October 13th, 2015, 7:30 pm

EmilioA wrote:
zoom rader wrote:That's how it's done in the Uk.

UNC should never have let the Rent Act and the Rent Control Board lapse.

That's a thing of the past. Landlords do as they please. Getting good renters can be a headache.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 7:41 pm

Again, the only reason I see people rather rent is because house and land prices are so high it puts a huge financial strain on people and many don't want to deal with that among other things. Everybody I know saving up to buy a piece of land or to put down a house on a piece of land that they got from family.

York you talking real crap. It makes no sense charging people that can't afford a house and land even more. The purpose of the property tax would be to get back the income tax that the landlords ducking.

Again, I don't see the point of taxing someone if all they own is one small personal property (5k-10k sq.ft). Cuz that means you would be forcing pensioners to pay tax from their already small income after they work their whole life to own a home. It will also work for the landlords not having to pay tax on their own house because it brings them no income. However, the income from the apartments that they benefit from would be taxed.

But an across the board property tax on everyone is a bad idea. That will just make owning a home even harder.

andres13

Postby andres13 » October 13th, 2015, 7:42 pm

Project-JDM wrote:any1 want to start a doubles business ?

Bro I'm in and we sell them for 3$ and still make profit

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 13th, 2015, 7:56 pm

Habit7 wrote:Plain talk, doubles went up to make the budget look bad.

plain talk. was a spite move.

York

Postby York » October 13th, 2015, 8:05 pm

It's not crap! I stated the premise or the principle of the property tax, the reason it is being charged. Freeloaders syndrome while doubles folk wuk their asses off to pay for lazy citizens.

New PNM motto: LET'S JUST TAX THE RICH, THE SOLUTION TO ALL T&T'S PROBLEMS.

Daran

Postby Daran » October 13th, 2015, 8:08 pm

York wrote:It's not crap! I stated the premise or the principle of the property tax, the reason it is being charged. Freeloaders syndrome while doubles folk wuk their asses off to pay for lazy citizens.

New PNM motto: LET'S JUST TAX THE RICH, THE SOLUTION TO ALL T&T'S PROBLEMS.

You mean the middle class bro, rich in both sides barely affected by tax changes.

York

Postby York » October 13th, 2015, 8:18 pm

Yes according to the freeloaders the middle class is rich.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 13th, 2015, 8:33 pm

That's the thing. A lot of the middle class, especially the younger ones, are renting. In my case I know I working my a$$ off and my landlord (about 40 years old) chillin at home every day and everybody pays him in cash so he pays no income tax whatsoever. But yeah, please tell me more about how I am a freeloader.

I'll state my reply and your premise to summarise my argument.

Your premise
Renters should pay property tax because they are the ones that benefit from the property

My reply
-Renting is an fixed expense and all benefits of living there are paid for on a month to month basis.

-Landlords benefit because the property earns them an income.

-Everyone that can afford it should be taxed on their income.

-Given rent prices, chances are that most landlord earn more than the stipulated rent free allowance every year. That means they should not be exempt from those taxes. In fact if you fill out your TAX return form you would realise that you are supposed to state all forms of income. Most landlords duck this tax by taking on renters that agree to pay by cash. Seeing that it will be impossible to enforce Tax collection on their income, their tax could be calculated based on the estimated income from their rental property.

Again, I'm against a property tax if people own just a house on one small piece of land (5k to 10k sq.ft.) This includes the landlords house as he is not earning an income for it. It was already fully paid for.

Let me know which part of this you don't agree with or if I lost you anywhere along the way.

Postby sMASH » October 13th, 2015, 9:11 pm

Eh eh, jess bought 5 doubles for $18.

Increase the property tax. Landlords will just pass the savings onto you.

I can understand taxing you for the land. I cannot understand taxing you for your house on that land.