2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

EmilioA

Re: 2015/2016 Budget - Trinidad & Tobago

Postby EmilioA » October 5th, 2015, 9:18 pm

ToyotaPower wrote:People should stop complaining...Great is the PNM...great budget...lol...Just deal with it. On another note, I find the PM should get trained on public speaking, tackle questions being asked by the media head on and stop hiding/ diverting questions to his ministers, like he clueless about the nation.

Just my two cents.

You mean he should answer a question he may not know the answer to instead of giving to a person who might actually know ?

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » October 5th, 2015, 9:42 pm

All great things do come to an end...

Postby RASC » October 5th, 2015, 9:44 pm

ToyotaPower wrote:People should stop complaining...Great is the PNM...great budget...lol...Just deal with it. On another note, I find the PM should get trained on public speaking, tackle questions being asked by the media head on and stop hiding/ diverting questions to his ministers, like he clueless about the nation.

Just my two cents.

What the...?

I'd love to meet you people in person-do you guys really look as retarded as you sound on here?

ToyotaPower

Postby ToyotaPower » October 5th, 2015, 10:07 pm

Soldier...mind your tone if you know what is good for you. People are entitled to their viewpoints, just my observation via media coverage.

Postby RASC » October 5th, 2015, 10:12 pm

ToyotaPower wrote:Soldier...mind your tone if you know what is good for you. People are entitled to their viewpoints, just my observation via media coverage.

Shut up, you're an ignoramus!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 10:16 pm

Just my two cents.

He has a lot more clues about the nation than Kamla. Seeing as her weekend used to start on a Wednesday.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on October 5th, 2015, 10:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Twin Isle Cars n' Parts

Postby Twin Isle Cars n' Parts » October 5th, 2015, 10:16 pm

Just my two cents.

Very evasive when questioned fuh true...

Playerz

Postby Playerz » October 5th, 2015, 10:22 pm

OMG, Ignoramus. I think if you tell the PM that word, he might ask even his minister to explain. "I would like to direct this question to one of my ministers," quoted unquoted. Toyotapower what you said is true..lol

ToyotaPower

Postby ToyotaPower » October 5th, 2015, 10:38 pm

Effectic designs - Kamla is stale news, we all know that, imagine this is level of professionalism we have to deal with

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 10:41 pm

ToyotaPower wrote:Effectic designs - Kamla is stale news, we all know that, imagine this is level of professionalism we have to deal with

True but lets be real she is still political leader, the cabal is still there and going to fight 2020.

So we still have to compare Rowley to Kamla is not like Bas still leading the UNC. Who else we go compare Rowley with? certainly not the pope.

rayrayray

Postby rayrayray » October 5th, 2015, 10:50 pm

Age of foreign used vehicles imported ...any change there ???

Postby Habit7 » October 5th, 2015, 10:54 pm

...No fare increase, say maxi-taxi associations
Published on Oct 5, 2015, 10:24 pm AST

President of the Route 2 Maxi-Taxi Association Linus Phillip is assuring commuters that there will be no increase in maxi fares on the Port of Spain to Arima route as a result of an increase in fuel prices announced by Finance Minister Colm Imbert yesterday.

Imbert announced a 41-cent per litre increase in super gasoline and a 23-cent increase per litre in the price of diesel during the presentation of the 2015-2016 budget.

Responding to concerns raised by commuters about an inevitable increase in maxi and taxi fares as a result, Phillip said the public can breathe easy as it was not a significant increase to warrant any hike in fares.

Phillip said it would cost just about $18 more to fill the tank of a 24-seater maxi, while a 12-seater tank would take just about $12 more to fill. He said this was not any huge amount.

“It is a moderate increase,” he said.

Phillip said fares are increased by examining a number of factors, including maintenance and operational costs as well as the cost of living, and not on the basis of fuel prices alone.

“When we raise fares we take all these things into consideration, so because Government raise fuel prices doesn’t mean we will just go and raise the fare,” he said. “We don’t operate like that.”

Additionally, he said, maxi fares went up along this route in January of this year and this would help absorb the new increase in fuel.

However, Phillip said if businesses and suppliers of parts and other services choose to increase prices as a result of higher transportation costs, it would have an adverse effect on drivers and the Association would then be forced to increase fares.

He added that brown-band maxis, which have not had a fare increase in nine years, may be justified in raising their fares now.

President of the Green Band Maxi-Taxi Association (GBMTA) Julien St George also assured that there are no plans to increase fares as a result of the increased fuel prices.

“Presently, we have no plans to raise fares. We have to wait and weigh out things... Probably at a later date we might be able to properly analyse the situation, but as far as we stand right now, we see no reason to raise fares.”

St George said the GBMTA would meet to discuss the matter, but will not “jump the gun” by forcing commuters to pay more.

“We will exercise some patience and see how this is going to go,” he said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151005 ... sociations

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 5th, 2015, 11:01 pm

Them maxi men does make a killing as it stands, good to see they too are going to absorb costs. Under Kamla they raise fare and she was too incompetent to do anything about it.

Now PNM raise diesel and look how not a single one of them could quack. PNM have them under manners somehow. They fraid the raging bull, this is good. The talk was true after all, a raging bull is exactly what this country needed in they ass.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 5th, 2015, 11:07 pm

If VAT drop then that means all the car dealers should drop their new car prices by a few grand otherwise is robbery!!!
Thats my 2 cents!

Lutch

Postby Lutch » October 5th, 2015, 11:22 pm

as much as kamla tried to educate people its seems like she should have built even more early childhood centers…………………………………….

has anyone taken into consideration the benefits of a deficit budget…. 9 out of the top ten global economies run deficit budgets. Wonder why?

What about the multiplier effect on an economy? ....what plans are there to stimulate the economy?

Govt plans to spend approx 63bn …. but only outlines the spending of roughly 40 bn…. Whats the plan for the remaining 20 bn or so?

This budget is going to make life even more difficult for the less fortunate…..soon enough the basics such as food, housing and transport are going to increase in a disproportionate manner to people’s income. …do the math’s you’ll figure it out…… Only good I see in this budget is the 10bn for national security….. “cuz those who cant make enough to survive go have to thief!!!”

Playerz

Postby Playerz » October 5th, 2015, 11:37 pm

Yes this is true...what's effectic designs is talking about doesn't make sense. Soon fares will raise, which idiot will want to absorb costs as a Good Samaritan. So that means no protest for five years, everyone contented with their salary too because of the bull..lol

Postby desifemlove » October 5th, 2015, 11:56 pm

Habit7 wrote:...No fare increase, say maxi-taxi associations
Published on Oct 5, 2015, 10:24 pm AST

President of the Route 2 Maxi-Taxi Association Linus Phillip is assuring commuters that there will be no increase in maxi fares on the Port of Spain to Arima route as a result of an increase in fuel prices announced by Finance Minister Colm Imbert yesterday.

Imbert announced a 41-cent per litre increase in super gasoline and a 23-cent increase per litre in the price of diesel during the presentation of the 2015-2016 budget.

Responding to concerns raised by commuters about an inevitable increase in maxi and taxi fares as a result, Phillip said the public can breathe easy as it was not a significant increase to warrant any hike in fares.

Phillip said it would cost just about $18 more to fill the tank of a 24-seater maxi, while a 12-seater tank would take just about $12 more to fill. He said this was not any huge amount.

“It is a moderate increase,” he said.

Phillip said fares are increased by examining a number of factors, including maintenance and operational costs as well as the cost of living, and not on the basis of fuel prices alone.

“When we raise fares we take all these things into consideration, so because Government raise fuel prices doesn’t mean we will just go and raise the fare,” he said. “We don’t operate like that.”

Additionally, he said, maxi fares went up along this route in January of this year and this would help absorb the new increase in fuel.

However, Phillip said if businesses and suppliers of parts and other services choose to increase prices as a result of higher transportation costs, it would have an adverse effect on drivers and the Association would then be forced to increase fares.

He added that brown-band maxis, which have not had a fare increase in nine years, may be justified in raising their fares now.

President of the Green Band Maxi-Taxi Association (GBMTA) Julien St George also assured that there are no plans to increase fares as a result of the increased fuel prices.

“Presently, we have no plans to raise fares. We have to wait and weigh out things... Probably at a later date we might be able to properly analyse the situation, but as far as we stand right now, we see no reason to raise fares.”

St George said the GBMTA would meet to discuss the matter, but will not “jump the gun” by forcing commuters to pay more.

“We will exercise some patience and see how this is going to go,” he said.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151005 ... sociations

these PBR fellas make about $1000 per day for a 12 hour shift.........they can absorb dat, meking dat money wit no degree or need for such and only maintaining clean licence/no criminal record and other difficult/extraordinary things peple does do..

York

Postby York » October 6th, 2015, 12:07 am

buckredan wrote:Goverment have to stabilize the country by over spending by the last goverment they had no choice good going by the government

if yuh budget to spend $3000 per mth on a car by bank loan but months after yuh get a pay cut (like by SIS i hear), what do you do? run a deficit, that's what they did. it's not like they were going to give back the car to the bank. the production and energy prices slumped, also domino effect led to less profit for companies, so less corporation taxes collected. businesses know how to cook their books as well....

Postby desifemlove » October 6th, 2015, 12:13 am

Lutch wrote:as much as kamla tried to educate people its seems like she should have built even more early childhood centers…………………………………….

has anyone taken into consideration the benefits of a deficit budget…. 9 out of the top ten global economies run deficit budgets. Wonder why?

What about the multiplier effect on an economy? ....what plans are there to stimulate the economy?

Govt plans to spend approx 63bn …. but only outlines the spending of roughly 40 bn…. Whats the plan for the remaining 20 bn or so?

This budget is going to make life even more difficult for the less fortunate…..soon enough the basics such as food, housing and transport are going to increase in a disproportionate manner to people’s income. …do the math’s you’ll figure it out…… Only good I see in this budget is the 10bn for national security….. “cuz those who cant make enough to survive go have to thief!!!”

No inherent wrong with a negative budget balance. But then borrowing cannot be forever, and budgets must balance over a cycle. Few countries with healthy economies have perpetual budget deficits. if ah house or business cannot always have endless spending, a country is same. Kams had five years to stimulate the economy...what she do to diversify?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 6th, 2015, 12:22 am

Playerz wrote:Yes this is true...what's effectic designs is talking about doesn't make sense. Soon fares will raise, which idiot will want to absorb costs as a Good Samaritan. So that means no protest for five years, everyone contented with their salary too because of the bull..lol

It makes plenty sense, them fellas with a big maxi makes $1800 a day or more, thats far more than people with advanced degrees etc. And they going to do what? increase the fares by $1? and make $200 more for the day? when they only paying $20 more in Diesel? you tell me how that makes any sense. And they don't want 50 cents or 25 cents anymore its too much trouble to deal with them small change.

Most of them wanted PNM back in power anyways, they behave when PNM in power. And they will sit down and accept this budget and not mutter a word about increase in fares else a raging bull will let loose on their ass and they know it. Notice how well behave everyone is under the raging bull when compared to Manning?

Lutch

Postby Lutch » October 6th, 2015, 12:25 am

the budget of a country and that of an individual is very different.....

eg ....multiplier effect.... employer gets less contracts and your salary by is cut by 100, you cut back on paying someone to cut ur lawn, the guy who used to cut ur lawn no longer has that 100, his children now have to walk to school cuz he dont have the 100 to pay the taxi for the week, taximan loss 100 so he now anit givin he wife 100 to go by d hair salon........ and so on.....

get the idea ..... a cut in govt spending affects everyone negatively..... make up a deficit by debt financing or investments/ eg.... china has a 8.2% deficit on thier budget but lending everybody money.... including trinidad and tobago

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 6th, 2015, 1:16 am

Lutch

You are right to a degree, but PP made the mistake of running a deficit budget when the country was enjoying a high oil price (lets not forget Manning was spending money like crazy too eh)

Just like the old story from the bible, Pharaoh's dream about the 7 lean cows eating up the 7 fat cows - governments are supposed to save in the good times so they can spend in the bad times. (I'm not that religious but its kinda crazy how the Bible had sound advice for managing an economy that still holds true today)

Government is one child on the seesaw of the economy - the other being consumers and the private sector i.e. they are the ones to balance when the private sector is cutting back or slowing down by increasing government spending.

All in all I was actually surprised by the very level headed approach the Min of Finance took... I am fiercely against austerity measures in times of economic slowdown, and generally I didn't see much Austerity in this budget. I do think that hinging things on more thorough tax collection etc. in TnT is a bit naive, these processes should be improved for sure, but quite literally "don't bank on it"

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 6th, 2015, 2:11 am

What about this property tax
how is this going to be calculated?

Lance

Postby Lance » October 6th, 2015, 2:21 am

Improving the efficiency of the tax collection mechanisms is an excellent strategy to improve cashflow.

However, heavily basing your expenditure on an overly optimistic initial improvement is insane.

No way imbert could meet those collection projections for this fiscal year. I'm positive he will be back to the income drawing board soon enough.

People should be a little concerned about this.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » October 6th, 2015, 2:38 am

Learning

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 6th, 2015, 5:16 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Them maxi men does make a killing as it stands, good to see they too are going to absorb costs. Under Kamla they raise fare and she was too incompetent to do anything about it.

Now PNM raise diesel and look how not a single one of them could quack. PNM have them under manners somehow. They fraid the raging bull, this is good. The talk was true after all, a raging bull is exactly what this country needed in they ass.

what tootoo yuh talkin. nobody aint fraid no ragin bull. he and imbert went and do a seance with God to come up with that budget. we giving them a chance since the charisma and sincerity that is now reaking from the podium has a new tone we've never seen before. meaning it seems they might actually deliver on the election promises without corruption of the past. yuh dont come up with a budget like that just so after years of mismanagement. more than half the budget has come from the book of blueclues, most of which written right here on tuner dating years and repeated ever so often.

now we have a government that set a budget that finally getting the ball rolling in the right direction if we want to get back on a path of savings. but im still worried about money being wasted on pet projects, the possibility to appeal and review all them contractor payments owed to the tune of 5bn dollars to investigate under the new administrator and ensure is no skullduggery went on with those contracts aided by the unc government, and how he is going to attack security. it seems like he wants to attack crime headon like a raging bull. need i remind us, that the entire world has been doing so for decades if not centuries and all it does is increase cost and drain budgets year by year with no success to the tone of trillions upon trillions of dollars spent fighting crimes, some of which have no place in the law books anymore.
Last edited by bluesclues on October 6th, 2015, 5:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » October 6th, 2015, 5:17 am

Quick question, from Jan 01 2016 when the new tax rate @ 12.5% kicks in, would there be a reduction in fuel prices by 2.5% ?

I know there is still the road improvement tax @ 5% presently.

Postby goalpost » October 6th, 2015, 5:18 am

Kamla gave her supporters bad habit. She continued to do things to please a small percentage of people and not looking at things in the long run and how it would affect the country. That didnt matter to her, once she pleased people. Spending a crapload of $ on box drain etc and d place still flooding.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 6th, 2015, 5:20 am

redmanjp wrote:when gas going up? tomorrow?

it went up immediately

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 6th, 2015, 5:25 am

goalpost wrote:Kamla gave her supporters bad habit. She continued to do things to please a small percentage of people and not looking at things in the long run and how it would affect the country. That didnt matter to her, once she pleased people. Spending a crapload of $ on box drain etc and d place still flooding.

dont shift the goalpost. kamla was a drunk weak and corrupted leader with no loyalty to the nation but to her cabal. i am not happy with her even in opposition. time for her to utilize that early retirement package.

the woman was destroyin the country and hiding it like a bad love afair. was somalia style living we was heading for under she after she make she fren and family rich feel dem woulda care bout we when shtf. though i dont need to care or worry is allyuh i worry about.