Help---Goulds Water pump prob (vid)

viedcht

Re: Help---Goulds Water pump prob (vid)

Postby viedcht » December 19th, 2024, 1:14 pm

^i always thought the smart head prevents any overheating conditions and it cuts off before the pump gets damaged/ overheats

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 19th, 2024, 2:34 pm

viedcht wrote:^i always thought the smart head prevents any overheating conditions and it cuts off before the pump gets damaged/ overheats

Nope. It has dry run protection.
Mechanical failure of the smart head switch (I.e sticking) will let that pump run until the tanks dry but with nowhere for the water to go with constant pressure, the water boils

Postby pugboy » December 19th, 2024, 3:14 pm

some of the pentax come with thermal overload diodes

Postby goalpost » December 19th, 2024, 4:50 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
goalpost wrote:I hear you. Thanks, but I'm not confident to do any of those things. Is this the job of any plumber or must it be a 'pump' man?

pump man.

Check this guy, he did some work for me to convert a smart head to pressure tank.

He services etc on-site.
https://www.facebook.com/trinipumprepairs

Reece.

My smart head pump giving trouble. It doesn't come on automatically anymore. We need to switch it on and off manually each time and once you switch off the outlet the pump wouldn't come back on unless you reset it. Since it's one of those chinese cheap one I'm thinking I am gonna just get a branded one like Gould or Pentax.

Whats the reason for moving from a smart head to a tank?

I had some water quality issues - smart heads never lasted more than 18-24 months on my side (tried allllll the brands of s/heads available). This last time, it stuck open and ran until the water boiled, top pipe thermal fatigued and blew out.

Just got fedup and decided to go back old school.

SquareD pressure switch (30/50)
WellXtrol pressure tank

some people have luck with smart heads. Not me. I don't want this ever again.

Well wah yuh go say about me. Have a pressure tank and switch which done change after 18 months and I still getting problems. I feeling to go smart head.

Postby goalpost » December 19th, 2024, 4:52 pm

alfa wrote:
goalpost wrote:Guys, my Pentax 1hp has a 30/50 switch. I find when it reaches about 38 or so psi it drops quickly to 30 before pump kicks in. This results in a water fluctuation in my faucets.

Is this normal? If not how can it be rectified?

Could be wrong pressure in the pressure tank. It's supposed to be 2psi less than the cut in pressure which in this case would be 28 psi

This morning when my wife put clothes to wash, it short cycled rather rapidly until i turned on another faucet and then it worked. Intermittently it short cycled during the day but more when my wife washing.

I still haven't sorted this out. Plumber coming tomorrow.

Skillys

Postby Skillys » December 20th, 2024, 7:51 pm

goalpost wrote:
alfa wrote:
goalpost wrote:Guys, my Pentax 1hp has a 30/50 switch. I find when it reaches about 38 or so psi it drops quickly to 30 before pump kicks in. This results in a water fluctuation in my faucets.

Is this normal? If not how can it be rectified?

Could be wrong pressure in the pressure tank. It's supposed to be 2psi less than the cut in pressure which in this case would be 28 psi

This morning when my wife put clothes to wash, it short cycled rather rapidly until i turned on another faucet and then it worked. Intermittently it short cycled during the day but more when my wife washing.

I still haven't sorted this out. Plumber coming tomorrow.

Op as I said you should buy a goulds waterpump I had too much stress with Pentax and other brands.

Postby alfa » December 20th, 2024, 8:29 pm

I can't handle the clicking of the centrifugal switch on the goulds nah, plus all pump casings will eventually rust. I have my Pentax 6 years now and did a complete service this year because of rust including machining and rebuilding the shaft where it was pitted , changed bearings to SKF and hoping to get a next 6 years or more now. Never had motor or electrical issues and I'm sure goulds will have the same rust and bearing issues.
I'm seeing Leo coming stainless steel now and quarter the price of a goulds. In this new era of cheap and reliable chinese pumps goulds seems an overkill

Postby Dave » December 20th, 2024, 8:59 pm

Does your Pentax get alot of use?

Postby alfa » December 20th, 2024, 9:20 pm

Dave wrote:Does your Pentax get alot of use?

Everyday except when WASA sends water for like two days straight

Postby Dave » December 20th, 2024, 9:53 pm

That is good service.
Good stuff.
Did you post a tear down of a pump in the past?

Postby alfa » December 20th, 2024, 10:09 pm

Dave wrote:That is good service.
Good stuff.
Did you post a tear down of a pump in the past?

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=486785&p=10418108&hilit=pentax#p10418108

Postby Dave » December 20th, 2024, 10:33 pm

Ha I remember. Quite entertaining. Thanks

Postby pugboy » December 20th, 2024, 10:55 pm

i have a pentax to service
it not making good pressure
most likely the impeller clogged up with crud

Postby alfa » December 20th, 2024, 11:13 pm

pugboy wrote:i have a pentax to service

Make sure the venturi jet tube and its inlet is clear as well

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 20th, 2024, 11:26 pm

pugboy wrote:i have a pentax to service

The Pentax plastic impellers crack/break too. Just buy one and have it on standby for when you tearing down pump to clean.

I’ve seen the Leo with stainless steel housing and brass impeller and it looks tempting. Those units noisy tho. They run at a high pitch that’s quite irritating compared with an equivalent Pentax

Postby goalpost » December 21st, 2024, 6:54 am

Guys I'm reading all these invaluable information about pumps and wondering if you guys are doing it yourselves. Good for you! But I AM NOT a handy guy. So please please someone send some contacts for a reliable pump guy who does home visits.

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 21st, 2024, 11:25 am

goalpost wrote:Guys I'm reading all these invaluable information about pumps and wondering if you guys are doing it yourselves. Good for you! But I AM NOT a handy guy. So please please someone send some contacts for a reliable pump guy who does home visits.

I did earlier up the thread. Max flow pump overhaul.

https://www.facebook.com/share/zyw9YRCe ... tid=wwXIfr