Yup the funding of tents to cause racial discord and promote the red Goverment is way wrong.Redress10 wrote:zoom rader wrote:There should be absolutely no funding for Carnival or any Religious body.sMASH wrote:by all means, means test. but dont cut the budget, expand it. take the funds from carnival and religious funds.
and get rid of nonsense as carnival studies and soca studies.
Agreed 100%. No funds for carnival or religious bodies. Oy carnival spending should be for "marketing" the festival as part of our tourism product. Alluh know how much taxpayers money is spent purchasing fete tickets for companies etc. Madness
Yah can't expand gate like that. You have to cut it because you want it to become self sufficient. So in the case of loan. Loan payments go towards funding the next batch of students and so on.
Robin Montano wrote: Tuesday, November 17, 2020
THE CONTINUING UNWILLINGNESS TO FIX THE EDUCATION SYSTEM
It isn't always easy to avoid criticizing the Rowley regime, but sometimes it becomes absolutely necessary when it becomes apparent that rather than dealing with what is or ought to be important for the well being of the society, that the Government is operating more like a business rather than a government. Put another way, I have often said that you cannot run a country the way you run a business. Running a business entails not only balancing the books but making a profit. Running a country means that decisions have to be taken which are not only in the best short term interests of the society, but also in the best long term interests as well.
What has aroused my concerns is the announcement at the end of last week by the erstwhile Minister of Education in which massive cuts were declared in the GATE program ... the program which provides subsidized tertiary education for a wide swath of students. That the cuts are going to hurt many students is a given. What is also a given is that there will be a sizable number of very poor students who will be unable to access tertiary education.
So? Let them eat cake? The problem here is that of all the programs or facilities for people that ought to be cut, I would argue that education is just about the last one that ought to be tampered with. No country can lift itself out of poverty without a good, viable and efficient education system. That the PNM and Dr. Eric Williams did just that in the period 1956 to about 1970 is true and we owe a tremendous amount to Dr. Williams for this is true.
But here we are many, many years later and education seems to have taken a back seat in the Rowley regime's push to modernize the country. There are some people even who detect a certain racism in the regime's effective downgrading and cancelling many of the GATE programs. These people argue that they think this because they see East Indians as being the major beneficiaries of GATE and that this is a way of slowing down the rise of the East Indians against the Africans in the society. I don't know if that perception can be backed up with facts, but the mere fact that the perception exists is as unfortunate as it is disturbing and means that the regime is seen by many to be racist. Beauty, after all, is in the eye of the beholder and not the beholden.
Look, in my opinion it is better to stay away from thoughts like this. It is my respectful view that regardless of whatever is motivating the regime to slash spending on education it needs to do a complete 180 degree turn and pour ALL the resources into the system that we have at our disposal ... even if this means that badly needed projects elsewhere (e.g., Dr. Rowley's plans for East Port of Spain) have to be put on hold or cancelled. There is NOTHING more important than education. I would even argue that our health care system (which is most important) comes in a close second behind education.
We don't, for example, pay our teachers enough. The starting salary for a teacher is around TT$6,000 per month. That is ridiculous! It should be three times that amount! And it should go up by at least three times for every level after that. If you pay peanuts, do you expect to get world class scholars?
This country will never fix itself until we start at the beginning. It will take about twenty years to fix the problem. But most governments think only in terms of five year cycles. Time for a new Constitution? But that is another argument again!
But since then our national attention turned elsewhere and we did not pay the kind of attention to the education system that we ought to have paid. For example, in my opinion the salaries that we pay teachers is nothing short of a scandal and a complete disgrace. I understand that the starting salary for a brand new teacher is somewhere in the vicinity of $5,000 per month. This is awful. It should be AT LEAST three times that amount. Then again, it is not
All that said is injun took the gate education while red Goverment supporters played play weysMASH wrote:Robin Montano wrote: Tuesday, November 17, 2020
It isn't always easy to avoid criticizing the Rowley regime, but sometimes it becomes absolutely necessary when it becomes apparent that rather than dealing with what is or ought to be important for the well being of the society, that the Government is operating more like a business rather than a government. Put another way, I have often said that you cannot run a country the way you run a business. Running a business entails not only balancing the books but making a profit. Running a country means that decisions have to be taken which are not only in the best short term interests of the society, but also in the best long term interests as well.
What has aroused my concerns is the announcement at the end of last week by the erstwhile Minister of Education in which massive cuts were declared in the GATE program ... the program which provides subsidized tertiary education for a wide swath of students. That the cuts are going to hurt many students is a given. What is also a given is that there will be a sizable number of very poor students who will be unable to access tertiary education.
So? Let them eat cake? The problem here is that of all the programs or facilities for people that ought to be cut, I would argue that education is just about the last one that ought to be tampered with. No country can lift itself out of poverty without a good, viable and efficient education system. That the PNM and Dr. Eric Williams did just that in the period 1956 to about 1970 is true and we owe a tremendous amount to Dr. Williams for this is true.
But here we are many, many years later and education seems to have taken a back seat in the Rowley regime's push to modernize the country. There are some people even who detect a certain racism in the regime's effective downgrading and cancelling many of the GATE programs. These people argue that they think this because they see East Indians as being the major beneficiaries of GATE and that this is a way of slowing down the rise of the East Indians against the Africans in the society. I don't know if that perception can be backed up with facts, but the mere fact that the perception exists is as unfortunate as it is disturbing and means that the regime is seen by many to be racist. Beauty, after all, is in the eye of the beholder and not the beholden.
Look, in my opinion it is better to stay away from thoughts like this. It is my respectful view that regardless of whatever is motivating the regime to slash spending on education it needs to do a complete 180 degree turn and pour ALL the resources into the system that we have at our disposal ... even if this means that badly needed projects elsewhere (e.g., Dr. Rowley's plans for East Port of Spain) have to be put on hold or cancelled. There is NOTHING more important than education. I would even argue that our health care system (which is most important) comes in a close second behind education.
We don't, for example, pay our teachers enough. The starting salary for a teacher is around TT$6,000 per month. That is ridiculous! It should be three times that amount! And it should go up by at least three times for every level after that. If you pay peanuts, do you expect to get world class scholars?
This country will never fix itself until we start at the beginning. It will take about twenty years to fix the problem. But most governments think only in terms of five year cycles. Time for a new Constitution? But that is another argument again!
But since then our national attention turned elsewhere and we did not pay the kind of attention to the education system that we ought to have paid. For example, in my opinion the salaries that we pay teachers is nothing short of a scandal and a complete disgrace. I understand that the starting salary for a brand new teacher is somewhere in the vicinity of $5,000 per month. This is awful. It should be AT LEAST three times that amount. Then again, it is not
zoom rader wrote:All that said is injun took the gate education while red Goverment supporters played play weysMASH wrote:Robin Montano wrote: Tuesday, November 17, 2020
RedVEVO wrote:zoom rader wrote:All that said is injun took the gate education while red Goverment supporters played play weysMASH wrote:Robin Montano wrote: Tuesday, November 17, 2020
And then they migrate to "foreign" for a better life and when they succeed Gov't vex
hover11 wrote:We not vex you know but you cannot deny that Gate caused a severe brain drain in this country.People simply took the free education and went foreign for a better life how is that helping Trinidad , it takes money to invest to educate someone and then they serve little to no return , how on God's green earth is that fairRedVEVO wrote:zoom rader wrote:All that said is injun took the gate education while red Goverment supporters played play weysMASH wrote:Robin Montano wrote: Tuesday, November 17, 2020
And then they migrate to "foreign" for a better life and when they succeed Gov't vex
sMASH wrote:farris alrental achieving plenty. camille acheive plenty, karren nunez theifchera, marlene, u see the house hinds have on a minister salary, u never hear him win a case yet.
have plenty money to make here, brain drain helping to make room for the fresh ones to get a chance.
Numb3r4 wrote:Is CEPEP still funded?
If GATE caused such a brain drain why blame those who left?
Shouldn't we be more concerned as to why they left?
If it is that they had job offers and still left well we have a problem but if they were qualified but still could not obtain a job isn't that what we should be figuring out?
Do we even want educated people in general?
death365 wrote:this whole brain drain argument is null and void. there are many many countries that look at there human recourses as an export ; India - tech, Cuba - doctors and other medical, Philippines - Shipping personnel, Colombia - women of ill repute, there are others.
so what if Trinidad and Tobago exports our educated people; there workers generally sends back much needed UD$ to family members here. Plus we dont ready need more persons with BA and MBA in Business Management/ Marketing / entrepreneurship or what ever bs. general social science degrees .
Dizzy28 wrote:Do they though? Our remittances are the lowest in the entire LAC region at something like 1% of GDP. Our Diaspora is not that valuable to the country certainly not in monetary terms.death365 wrote:this whole brain drain argument is null and void. there are many many countries that look at there human recourses as an export ; India - tech, Cuba - doctors and other medical, Philippines - Shipping personnel, Colombia - women of ill repute, there are others.
so what if Trinidad and Tobago exports our educated people; there workers generally sends back much needed UD$ to family members here. Plus we dont ready need more persons with BA and MBA in Business Management/ Marketing / entrepreneurship or what ever bs. general social science degrees .
Redman wrote:The question remains- are we getting value for what we put into it??
Or is it acceptable to continue to fund a persons education and not get any return.
Students parents pay taxes , so yes parents are getting value for money on taxes paid.Redman wrote:The question remains- are we getting value for what we put into it??
Or is it acceptable to continue to fund a persons education and not get any return.
Are these really enforced?pete wrote:Part of GATE stipulation is that you must work in the country for a fixed amount of time or become liable for repaying your tuition.
Same goes for Government scholarships.
sMASH wrote:Now getting enforced.
zoom rader wrote:Are these really enforced?pete wrote:Part of GATE stipulation is that you must work in the country for a fixed amount of time or become liable for repaying your tuition.
Same goes for Government scholarships.
sMASH wrote:i have spoken to people that accessed gate and went abroad to work (dubai), did not fulfil the mandatory work back home, cause the pay they get when they reach was more than worth it to repay the GATE.
that way better than the house slave system of the nit picking who getting GATE and who not.
look what went on; the local get education, worked locally to get some experience, went abroad for people willing to a sheit ton more than what they could get here, the person getting a good salary, the resident country getting a skilled worker it needed, trinidad getting its tuition back, and it got a vacancy opened up to give someone else a chance locally cause the first person decided to work outside.
every body frackin win.
problem is, an educated citizen is counter to PNM stability. keep u distracted, hungry and dotish and that is a pnm vote for the next 40 years surety
Eric was hoping that his supporters would take advantage of the education that he providedRedman wrote:Yep ....free education is counter to PNM policy....allyuh real smart
Jah bless Eric Williams
Hwells wrote:'Selwyn Ryan wrote a report on this,'
link that report i want to take a read
The report was written in early 1990s .Hwells wrote:'Selwyn Ryan wrote a report on this,'
link that report i want to take a read