Which residential water pump to buy?

Re: Which residential water pump to buy?

Postby Dave » September 25th, 2023, 2:03 pm

So narrowed it down to the pump and pressure system.
Turned off the outlet to the house on the pump so the pump has to pressure itself and turn off and it didn't hold pressure.
Gotta love Leo's with their installed lock offs on inlet and outlet.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2023, 2:40 pm

is the check valve from tank to pump suction right on the pump ?
sometimes if it far away you get an oscillation

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2023, 2:55 pm

what psi is the cut on/off set on the pressure switch ?
does the pressure tank get noticeable water into it?

Postby Dave » September 25th, 2023, 4:12 pm

Puggy interesting you ask...I didn't install a check on the supply as the run is about 2ft and the cut in and out was left as it which seems about 20-40.

I have seen long and short runs on the supply without a check. If for sure that's the issue I'd put one.

As for the tank...when it switches off I hear some gurgling inside it.

It's all brand new so I won't be messing with it.

Postby alfa » September 25th, 2023, 5:17 pm

Dave wrote:Puggy interesting you ask...I didn't install a check on the supply as the run is about 2ft and the cut in and out was left as it which seems about 20-40.

I have seen long and short runs on the supply without a check. If for sure that's the issue I'd put one.

As for the tank...when it switches off I hear some gurgling inside it.

It's all brand new so I won't be messing with it.

You definitely need one on the supply coming from your tanks. If not then the pressure developed withing the pressure tank would just be released back into your water tanks

Postby Dave » September 25th, 2023, 5:43 pm

Thank you my good man. I can install.
What is your take on changing from 3/4 to 1/2 for the pump?

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2023, 7:13 pm

the gurgling you hearing could very well be the pressurized water back leaking thru the pump to the water tank

if you have a lockoff valve on pump intake,
lock it as soon as pump cuts off and see how it behaves since it can’t leak back into the water tank

hp change should not be a big deal that is more for how hard the motor will run and get hot or burnout
as well as ability to push water upstairs
Last edited by pugboy on September 25th, 2023, 8:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 25th, 2023, 7:26 pm

The noise in the pressure tank may mean a too much water in the pressure tank and as PUG said its leaking back through the system/

Postby Dave » September 25th, 2023, 8:18 pm

Will install tomorrow and report back. Thank you gentlemen.

Postby pugboy » September 25th, 2023, 8:46 pm

btw 20/40 is kinda low for a 3/4hp
so very little water will go into the pressure tank and will contribute to short cycling
turn the main screw to raise both up to say 30/50

Dave wrote:Will install tomorrow and report back. Thank you gentlemen.

Postby Dave » September 25th, 2023, 9:56 pm

Yes agreed. That was what the factory said it was. Let me get the check in and see exactly what it is.

Postby Dave » September 26th, 2023, 4:45 pm

And in the illustrious words of Edd China....Sorted!

Thanks again all.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 26th, 2023, 6:45 pm

Glad to know that you got through Daddy Dave

For the education of the home water projects to the plumbers what was the issue as per the vendor ?

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 30th, 2023, 3:05 pm

Is there any way to add dry run protection to a pressure tank system? Smart head may not be viable as I do not have access to check leaks or open faucets and I'm pretty sure there are minor leaks in the system.

Is there an adjustable smart head so I can allow a trickle without turning on the pump?

Postby Chimera » October 30th, 2023, 3:16 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Is there any way to add dry run protection to a pressure tank system? Smart head may not be viable as I do not have access to check leaks or open faucets and I'm pretty sure there are minor leaks in the system.

Is there an adjustable smart head so I can allow a trickle without turning on the pump?

i believe theres a float that you put into the tank and wire into system

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2023, 3:59 pm

float switch in the water tank
it involves wiring between tank and pump
so if they are close it is easy to install

triniringo

Postby triniringo » October 30th, 2023, 7:09 pm

Try this
Screenshot_2023-10-30_190716~2.jpg

Postby Strugglerzinc » October 30th, 2023, 8:12 pm

Thanks. Hadn't thought of a float switch.

Don't need to monitor the level, just would like the pump to stop if the tank is empty.

Postby pugboy » October 30th, 2023, 9:17 pm

yuh could put it a few feet from bottom so still have some reserve left in tank and put a bypass switch on the float switch so the pump could operate with the reserve water

Strugglerzinc wrote:Thanks. Hadn't thought of a float switch.

Don't need to monitor the level, just would like the pump to stop if the tank is empty.

dtopshottas

Postby dtopshottas » November 9th, 2023, 9:46 pm

Any reviews on the Ingco 3/4hp water pump over the Pentax 3/4hp?

Postby Dave » December 21st, 2023, 7:22 am

Any reliable ppl out there can do a service and repair?

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2023, 8:23 am

buy the stainless leo as a quick install
and after you service you can keep it as spare

Postby Chimera » December 21st, 2023, 8:35 am

I hadda learn to service pump yes. It so expensive

Val

Postby Val » December 21st, 2023, 8:36 am

Dave wrote:Any reliable ppl out there can do a service and repair?

PM sent.

Also, yes the float switch (to another poster) is the simplest and most reliable way of shutting down the pump at a low water level. Mechanical controls are almost always more reliable in clean applications than electronic controls.

I use a float switch in my primary tank to shut off the pump, and a smaller backup tank isolated from the system by valve.
Check valve on the inlet to the pump to prevent what other's have spoken of. Particulate filters on inlet to tank, and discharge of pump.

Val

Postby Val » December 21st, 2023, 8:43 am

dtopshottas wrote:Any reviews on the Ingco 3/4hp water pump over the Pentax 3/4hp?

if you can, always look at the performance curves. 3/4 hp are not all created equal.
A Xylem (legacy Goulds) pump at the same hp will outperform an equivalent Pentax in terms of flow. That being said, theoretical curves are for ideal conditions (like suction pressure etc). Your mileage may vary.

If you can afford it, I would always recommend to go to the Xylem (I work for a Xylem distributor but for the larger commercial and industrial pumps so disclaimer there).

But I recognise that Xylem can be expensive, the Pentax are half the price and can be useful also, they give like 3/4 the flowrate at the same pressure as the Xylem.

I have a Xylem 1/2 hp and Pentax 1hp at home and both function well, with the 1hp functioning more like a 3/4hp Xylem. 1hp will invariably draw more power than the 1/2hp, so there is that to look to. I have no experience with those other pop-up brands, and wouldn't use them.

The installation and piping configuration is probably half the battle in providing a good fluid handling experience as well.

Postby Dave » December 21st, 2023, 9:40 am

Val wrote:
Dave wrote:Any reliable ppl out there can do a service and repair?

PM sent.

Also, yes the float switch (to another poster) is the simplest and most reliable way of shutting down the pump at a low water level. Mechanical controls are almost always more reliable in clean applications than electronic controls.

I use a float switch in my primary tank to shut off the pump, and a smaller backup tank isolated from the system by valve.
Check valve on the inlet to the pump to prevent what other's have spoken of. Particulate filters on inlet to tank, and discharge of pump.
Thank you and appreciated!

Postby Dizzy28 » December 21st, 2023, 9:45 am

Hitting 6 months on one of them Total smart heads and so far so good.

For 800 bucks even with a few years service you probably GT...just saying!!!

Postby pugboy » December 21st, 2023, 11:09 am

just look at the size of the motor windings and compare the various 3/4 hp
you will quickly figure out how to choose

Information Officer

Postby Information Officer » January 22nd, 2024, 2:14 pm

Leo worked good for 8 years. Now burn out. Price was 600 back then. Well worth it. Less than 100 per year is the return. Replaced it with another leo. If i get 5 years with that price then thats pretty good

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2024, 4:41 pm

the stainless one?

Information Officer wrote:Leo worked good for 8 years. Now burn out. Price was 600 back then. Well worth it. Less than 100 per year is the return. Replaced it with another leo. If i get 5 years with that price then thats pretty good