The *Official* Home DIY Recycling thread.

kripplerz

Re: The *Official* Home DIY Recycling thread.

Postby kripplerz » September 9th, 2015, 5:55 pm

Thanks for the advice, I'll see how it goes if anything I can always change them if they wear out. I like the locking mechanism on these, I woulda preferred larger ones but this was the largest they had.

Today's DIY. More storage. ImageImage

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2015, 7:04 pm

What size angle iron is that

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » September 9th, 2015, 7:21 pm

2x3/16

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » September 14th, 2015, 7:40 pm

Progress Image
ImageImage

Postby *KRONIK* » September 14th, 2015, 7:56 pm

Build one of dat for me nah hoss!

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 14th, 2015, 8:04 pm

Nuh bad nuh bad....I renovating meh workshop...I will be buildin one of that

Postby Chimera » September 15th, 2015, 8:12 am

How much you spend in material for the shelf kripplerz

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2015, 8:36 am

Hey Guys,
Im looking for a couple sq feet of corrugated plastic...corroplast is a brand as is corriflut.

Any advice would be appreciated..

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 15th, 2015, 9:01 am

Corrugated plastic....hmm plastic galvanise wont work?

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2015, 9:10 am

dont think so....making a water rocket and the material is for the fins...light and tough.

the waves on the PG wouldnt be suitable...I think.

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 15th, 2015, 9:22 am

Was hunting around the house to find some old pill bottles to store small screws and sheit, but wasnt find any. Gonna make these from now, save time and money.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 15th, 2015, 12:13 pm

Redman wrote:dont think so....making a water rocket and the material is for the fins...light and tough.

OHHHH, i know what you can use......

there is a material sign companies use, thin PVC sheets, u can mark it with a knife and cut it, its hard and durable as well as lightweight....check that out...

Postby Redman » September 15th, 2015, 3:21 pm

nos_specialist wrote:
Redman wrote:dont think so....making a water rocket and the material is for the fins...light and tough.

OHHHH, i know what you can use......

there is a material sign companies use, thin PVC sheets, u can mark it with a knife and cut it, its hard and durable as well as lightweight....check that out...

Yep,
Will try that
thx!!

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » September 15th, 2015, 6:20 pm

I paid about 180 for a length of angle. I used 5 lengths for the standing shelf and 2 for the rolling one.
And the ply can't remember the exact price for it I guessing about $160
So 7x180=$1260 for the steel. Plus the ply.

hindian

Postby hindian » September 15th, 2015, 8:49 pm

Ill soon be building one of those workbenches myself but in the size 4'x6' at about 4' working height, but ill be putting a piece of 3/16" sheet steel on top as i want to bolt a vise and weld on it. Im borrowing your idea to store my welding plan in it and ground the whole table and just bring the hot lead outside. Im hoping i don't electrocute myself doing that lol.

Postby Chimera » September 16th, 2015, 5:03 am

kripplerz wrote:I paid about 180 for a length of angle. I used 5 lengths for the standing shelf and 2 for the rolling one.
And the ply can't remember the exact price for it I guessing about $160
So 7x180=$1260 for the steel. Plus the ply.

And whats the dimensions on that standing shelf?

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » September 16th, 2015, 5:10 am

5x2x7

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » October 2nd, 2015, 12:26 am

Anyone ever had any experience servicing a ring stove. I have one and it's not lighting properly in some spots, it's been packed down a while and bits of rust on it.
I'm thinking if I go trough all the holes with a small drill bit just to clean the port and then blow it out with some compressed air. What you all think.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bossmann

Postby bossmann » October 2nd, 2015, 6:30 am

kripplerz wrote:Anyone ever had any experience servicing a ring stove. I have one and it's not lighting properly in some spots, it's been packed down a while and bits of rust on it.
I'm thinking if I go trough all the holes with a small drill bit just to clean the port and then blow it out with some compressed air. What you all think.

That could work, however try your best to avoid making the holes wider. It's a really straight forward design so it's pretty easy to service. You can also take a steel brush to the surface to aid with the cleaning.

kripplerz

Postby kripplerz » October 2nd, 2015, 6:41 am

That's makes sense I'll try that first before I do anything else. Thanks.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 2nd, 2015, 7:43 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:

Was hunting around the house to find some old pill bottles to store small screws and sheit, but wasnt find any. Gonna make these from now, save time and money.

Very legit. Might make one

Postby Chimera » October 2nd, 2015, 11:21 am

The matchless fire starter to use with that is pretty.cool

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 28th, 2016, 1:41 pm

Alright alright alright....

Soo i am starting up my home Aquaponics setup gonna use some ibc tanks and barrels for the setup....if anyone wishes to do the same, or provide me wid some assistance, information etc..hey all are welcomed..soo i bought some ibc tanks..chopped off the top and began to fill and rinse wid water and some bleach....gonna do this a few times and put some test fish in it
1454002869030.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » January 28th, 2016, 3:19 pm

Dont put fish yet...
Fill the tanks and let them sit a few days...if the water starts to turn green (algae)...that means the chemicals in the tank are washed out properly and is safe for fish.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 29th, 2016, 7:57 am

Right behind yuh nos with the aqua-phonics. However, I wanna do a little covering. I was thinking of doing a PVC structure, something like those green house.

Does anyone know where to get those furniture grade PVC fitting? Such as the 3- way and 4-way connectors.

Thanks

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 29th, 2016, 8:10 am

Allied home center in sando have dem...u kno daz a good idea...lemme kno how that build goes i wud like to do dat as well

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 29th, 2016, 8:28 am

I was looking at this design, due to the patio being square.

http://www.littlegreenhouse.com/plans/gable-plans.shtml

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 30th, 2016, 1:41 pm

Right....so.. i read somewhere that i shud paint the tank black..as to.prevent growth of algae so i did that..painted and put it on a height...and trinituner app playin up so i cant post d damn pic grrrr

Postby DVSTT » January 31st, 2016, 6:31 am

Guys, where will I get those stones that they use to line the edge of ponds with ? And what do they cost roughly?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 31st, 2016, 6:01 pm

Daz not face stone or ledge stone? There is a place up palmyra by the linkup that sells it..