||| The Eyewear Thread ; Glasses, Contacts, Shades |||

Re: ||| The Eyewear Thread ; Glasses, Contacts, Shades |||

Postby M_2NR » November 30th, 2013, 7:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:Just go with a print out of your prescription or they could take your glasses and check it. I kid u not. Takes two hours max. Did this in Toronto few years back.

this is d way self!
I got a quote that the starting price for tested polarized lenses for sunglasses is $1500.00.
Not bad honestly but I believe abroad you can get prescription _and_ get to keep all the fancy chit say Oakley's have. (someone correct me if I'm wrong)

triniwhiteboi

Postby triniwhiteboi » December 4th, 2013, 4:00 pm

Seriously contemplating getting contacts. Anyone knows who has the best prices?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 6th, 2013, 1:08 am

need to get a sports glasses/goggles. anyone knows if i would be able to get something like this down here?

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » December 15th, 2013, 8:12 pm

where has a wide variety of men readiing glasses frames?...went to gulf city already and didnt find ne cool ones!

Postby DFC » December 15th, 2013, 9:19 pm

triniwhiteboi wrote:Seriously contemplating getting contacts. Anyone knows who has the best prices?

Order online from vision direct . com.

Go to ferreiras and pay $99 for a contact lens test and then sign up online vision direct and enter your details and buy.

They will ask you prescription info.
The test contacts will have the strength of the lens and you must also enter the name of the place u get ur prescription ( fererias) and they will call them to verify.

Its an easy simple process.

Much much cheaper.
Ship it to your sky box.

I use accuvue oasys .

Postby M_2NR » December 15th, 2013, 11:39 pm

^astigmatism pairs start at $39.99. By the time you add on shipping and questionable vat and duty its almost the same unless you plan on buying a whole set at once. I think its $350.00 a box for astigmatism pairs from OT. Probably cheaper at other shops to.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 16th, 2013, 6:16 am

I pay like $520 for my 2 boxes at FO

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » December 16th, 2013, 9:52 am

heard about a place in Port of Spain, ne suggestions?

Postby M_2NR » December 16th, 2013, 6:26 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:I pay like $520 for my 2 boxes at FO

see :lol:
astigmatism pairs?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 16th, 2013, 6:27 pm

M_2NR wrote:
hustla_ambition101 wrote:I pay like $520 for my 2 boxes at FO

see :lol:
astigmatism pairs?

yup

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » December 17th, 2013, 4:09 pm

ne recommendations?

Postby sliderz1 » December 17th, 2013, 4:33 pm

reeshie1985 wrote:where has a wide variety of men readiing glasses frames?...went to gulf city already and didnt find ne cool ones!

youre looking at prescription lenses or those that you can pick up in those pharmacies/variety stores?

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » December 18th, 2013, 9:15 am

prescription lenses...

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 18th, 2013, 2:44 pm

reeshie1985 wrote:prescription lenses...

Ferreiras, Value Optical, Optometrists Today, there are lots of glasses place around

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » January 8th, 2014, 2:09 pm

where in port of spain sells good designer frames?...ray bans, burberry, etc?

Postby maj. tom » January 9th, 2014, 1:30 am

Charlotte Street.

Postby 1UZFE » January 9th, 2014, 5:14 am

reeshie1985 wrote:where in port of spain sells good designer frames?...ray bans, burberry, etc?

Nelson street..

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » January 9th, 2014, 9:09 am

you guys have any names for these places by chance?

Postby Rainman » January 9th, 2014, 9:22 am

Why not order online? or do you like paying 200-300% more for the same item.

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » January 9th, 2014, 9:55 am

well from my experience with online shopping for frames, you would waste alot more $$$ due to the fact that the size or shape might not work out...rather than you go into a local store and try them on and afterwards order the same frame off the internet..lol

Postby Rainman » January 9th, 2014, 10:46 am

reeshie1985 wrote:well from my experience with online shopping for frames, you would waste alot more $$$ due to the fact that the size or shape might not work out...rather than you go into a local store and try them on and afterwards order the same frame off the internet..lol

You just contradicted yourself in your statement unless i am misinterpreting what you said.

I have gone into local optical stores, tried on their frames, noted the model numbers and dimensions (they're available on all frames), even did my eye exam there, took all that info and ordered online. My health insurance entitles me to a new pair but only every 24 months and does not cover prescription sunglasses. Plus I have a 16 month old daughter that loves to pull them off and throw the on the floor so i am always looking to save money on eyewear. Let me gie you some real life examples of what i pay.

Local Optical dealer (through heath insurance)
Prada Frame, AR lens, Transition - $5800
Reimbursed from insurance - $4640
Total cost - $1160
Not bad, but i can only claim a full Frame&Lens combo every 24 months and not everyone has health insurance with vision coverage so assume 5800 for comparison purposes

Online dealer - No coverage from insurance
Same Prada Frame, AR Lens, Transition - $279USD or $1813.50TTD
Shipping from Skybox to TT $12USD or $78TTD
Duties and Taxes: Never paid duties or taxes on eye wear
Total: $1891.50 for a glasses that would have costed you 5800

Local dealer - Quotation for prescription sunglasses - No coverage from insurance
Ray-Ban frames, Dark Grey tinted, polarized - $4280.60 (Lol wut)
Wait Time: Approx 4-6 weeks (eh?)

Online dealer
Ray Ban frames, dark grey tinted, polarized, scratch resistant coating $319USD or $2073.50TTD
PLUS a free pair of a generic brand prescription sunglasses - score!
Shipping from Skybox to TT - $12USD or $78TTD
Total: $2151.50 for a sunglasses that would have costed you $4280.60

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » January 9th, 2014, 10:53 am

lol...i don't have any insurance so it won't be the same for me...also ne recommendations on places in port of spain area that sell designer frames?

Postby Rainman » January 9th, 2014, 10:54 am

reeshie1985 wrote:lol...i don't have any insurance so it won't be the same for me...also ne recommendations on places in port of spain area that sell designer frames?

If you don't have insurance you should be looking at options to save money...but like yuh head hard. Proceed.....

WM_Tuner

Postby WM_Tuner » January 9th, 2014, 11:10 am

glasses dealers here have big markups, once you have a prescription, you could get the model #, and dimensions of any frame they carry and order it online... save money that way. no taxes or duty on glasses by the way

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 9th, 2014, 11:13 am

So back in September 2008, I purchased my new frames, first ever as I'd never needed glasses before..

I bought it at Optique in West Mall after searching and combing Other stores and locations and not being too impressed with that they had.

I finally decided on some handmade frames from Paris, France by Face a Face - Model: Axess 4

The frame alone cost me TT$4500 and then of course the cost for lens one was an astigmatism, and anti-glare, transition coating etc.

I have had to change my prescription once since then and refused to select a new frame, told the Optician (Sharon Carter) that I'd like to use my current frames as they are in perfect condition. She warned that most times when they do that, the lens falls out, etc. I still opted to go with my current frames.

Mostly because the selection was poor and I didn't want to go on a 3 mth search for frames that I liked again.

My prescription has changed again.. and sigh.. I think it's time I get a new frame, I've gotten my $4500 worth out of this pair.

Where do you guys recommend for unique frames with subtle style?

Postby DFC » January 9th, 2014, 11:17 am

thanks rainman.

gotta get some new frames soon.

Online FTW.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » January 9th, 2014, 11:18 am

Seems alot was said just to indicate that you bought over priced frames there missy.

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » January 9th, 2014, 11:22 am

Not overpriced at all Halfbreed.. totally worth every penny.
It's is now Over 5 yrs later and the frames are just like new.
How many of those designer frame owners can say the same?

I want that same value again, but I don't want my frames bedazzled like some of these designer chits everybody in Trinidad running down.

reeshie1985

Postby reeshie1985 » January 9th, 2014, 11:32 am

ne recommendions on places that sell designer frames, like different from other places!

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » January 9th, 2014, 11:32 am

Rainman wrote:
reeshie1985 wrote:well from my experience with online shopping for frames, you would waste alot more $$$ due to the fact that the size or shape might not work out...rather than you go into a local store and try them on and afterwards order the same frame off the internet..lol

You just contradicted yourself in your statement unless i am misinterpreting what you said.

I have gone into local optical stores, tried on their frames, noted the model numbers and dimensions (they're available on all frames), even did my eye exam there, took all that info and ordered online. My health insurance entitles me to a new pair but only every 24 months and does not cover prescription sunglasses. Plus I have a 16 month old daughter that loves to pull them off and throw the on the floor so i am always looking to save money on eyewear. Let me gie you some real life examples of what i pay.

Local Optical dealer (through heath insurance)
Prada Frame, AR lens, Transition - $5800
Reimbursed from insurance - $4640
Total cost - $1160
Not bad, but i can only claim a full Frame&Lens combo every 24 months and not everyone has health insurance with vision coverage so assume 5800 for comparison purposes

Online dealer - No coverage from insurance
Same Prada Frame, AR Lens, Transition - $279USD or $1813.50TTD
Shipping from Skybox to TT $12USD or $78TTD
Total: $1891.50 for a glasses that would have costed you 5800

Local dealer - Quotation for prescription sunglasses - No coverage from insurance
Ray-Ban frames, Dark Grey tinted, polarized - $4280.60 (Lol wut)
Wait Time: Approx 4-6 weeks (eh?)

Online dealer
Ray Ban frames, dark grey tinted, polarized, scratch resistant coating $319USD or $2073.50TTD
PLUS a free pair of a generic brand prescription sunglasses - score!
Shipping from Skybox to TT - $12USD or $78TTD
Total: $2151.50 for a sunglasses that would have costed you $4280.60

No sure if I missed it... but I hardly saw comments on shades (sunglasses) and best places to purchase them.
Is online also the best option for this or are there retailers here that you can get good prices?