**The Tuner Christmas Thread**

Oleander

Re: *:::*CHRISTMAS MEGA THREAD 2010*:::*

Postby Oleander » December 9th, 2010, 7:58 am

Mistletoe

Mistletoe is a plant that grows on willow and apple trees (and in garden centres!). The practice of hanging it in the house goes back to the times of the ancient Druids. It is supposed to possess mystical powers which bring good luck to the household and ward off evil spirits. It was also used as a sign of love and friendship in Norse mythology and that's where the custom of kissing under Mistletoe comes from.

When the first Christians came to Western Europe, some tried to ban the use of Mistletoe as a decoration in Churches, but many still continued to use it! York Minster Church in the UK used to hold a special Mistletoe Service in the winter, where wrong doers in the city of York could come and be pardoned.

The custom of kissing under Mistletoe comes from England! The original custom was that a berry was picked from the sprig of Mistletoe before the person could be kissed and when all the berries had gone, there could be no more kissing!!

The name mistletoe comes from two Anglo Saxon words 'Mistel' (which means dung) and 'tan' (which means) twig or stick! So you could translate Mistletoe as 'poo on a stick'!!! Not exactly romantic is it!

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 9th, 2010, 8:10 am

Theatrical Christmas films
The 12 Dogs of Christmas (2005)
The Angel of Pennsylvania Avenue (1996)
All I Want for Christmas (1991)
All Mine to Give (1957)
Babes in Toyland (1934)
Bachelor Mother (1939)
Bad Santa (2003)
Beyond Tomorrow (1940)
The Bishop's Wife (1947)
Blizzard (2003)
Bush Christmas (1947, remade 1983)
The Cheaters (1945)
Creepers Christmas (2010)
Christmas at Maxwell's (2006)
A Christmas Carol (1938)
Christmas Carol: The Movie (2001)
A Christmas Carol (2009)
Christmas Child (2003)
Christmas Eve (1947)
Christmas Holiday (1944)
Christmas in Connecticut (1945)
A Christmas Tale (Un conte de Noël) (2008)
A Christmas Story (1983)
Christmas in Wonderland (2007)
Christmas with the Kranks (2004)
Deck the Halls (2006)
Elf (2003)
Ernest Saves Christmas (1988)
The Family Stone (2005)
Fitzwilly (1967)
Four Christmases (2008)
Frozen River (2008)
Fred Claus (2007)
The Great Rupert (aka A Christmas Wish) (1950)
How the Grinch Stole Christmas (2000)
Holiday Affair (1949)
Holiday Inn (1942)
The Holiday (2006)
The Holly and the Ivy (1952)
Homeless for the Holidays (2009)
Home Alone (1990)
Home Alone 2: Lost in New York (1992)
I'll Be Seeing You (1944)
I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus (2002)
In the Nick of Time (1991)
It Happened on Fifth Avenue (1947)
It's a Wonderful Life (1946)
Jingle All the Way (1996)
Joyeux Noël (AKA Merry Christmas) (2005)
The Lemon Drop Kid (1951)
Love Actually (2003)
The Man Who Came to Dinner (1942)
Mickey's Christmas Carol (1983)
Miracle on 34th Street (1947)
Miracle on 34th Street (1994) —
Mixed Nuts (1994)
The Muppet Christmas Carol (1992)
National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation (1989)
National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation 2: Cousin Eddie's Island Adventure (2004) Nativity! (2009)
The Nativity Story (2006)
The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)
Noel (2004)
Nothing Like the Holidays (2008)
One Magic Christmas (1985)
The Perfect Holiday (2007)
Prancer (1989) —Th
e Preacher's Wife (1996)
The Polar Express (2004)
Rare Exports: A Christmas Tale (2010)
the Night (1940)
Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer: The Movie (1998)
Samantha: An American Girl Holiday (2004)
Santa Claus (1959) — Santa battles evil demon in outer space.
Santa Claus Conquers the Martians (1964)
Santa Claus: The Movie (1985)
The Santa Clause (1994)
The Santa Clause 2: The Mrs Clause (2002)
The Santa Clause 3: The Escape Clause (2006) .
Santa's Slay (2005)
Santa with Muscles (1996)
Scrooge (1935)
Scrooge (1951)
Scrooge (1970)
Scrooged (1988)
Stalking Santa (2006)
The Shop Around the Corner (1940)
Surviving Christmas (2004)
Susan Slept Here (1954)
Tenth Avenue Angel (1948)
This Christmas (2007)
Trapped in Paradise (1994)
'Twas the Night Before Christmas (1914)
Unaccompanied Minors (AKA Grounded) (2006) .
What Would Jesus Buy? (2007)
While You Were Sleeping (1995)
White Christmas (1954)
We're No Angels (1955)

Annabelle's Wish (1997)
Bah, Humduck! A Looney Tunes Christmas (2006)
Barbie in a Christmas Carol (2008)
The Bears Who Saved Christmas (1994) .
Beauty and the Beast: The Enchanted Christmas (1997)
Buster & Chauncey's Silent Night (1998)
Casper's Haunted Christmas (2000)
A Charlie Brown Christmas (1965)
(Mr. Magoo's) Christmas Carol (1962).
A Cosmic Christmas (1977)
Frosty the Snowman (1969)
How the Grinch Stole Christmas! (1966)
The Little Drummer Boy (1968)
Olive, the Other Reindeer (1999)
Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (1964)
Rudolph's Shiny New Year (1976) —
Rudolph and Frosty's Christmas in July (1979) —
Shrek the Halls (2007)
Twas the Night Before Christmas (1974)
The Year Without a Santa Claus (1974)
Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus (1974)

Emmet Otter's Jug-Band Christmas (1977)
It's a Very Merry Muppet Christmas Movie (2002)
A Muppet Christmas: Letters to Santa (2008)
A Muppet Family Christmas (1988)

An American Christmas Carol (1979)
Benji's Very Own Christmas Story (1978)
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever (1983)
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever (2010) —
Borrowed Hearts (1997)
A Boyfriend for Christmas (2004)
Call Me Claus (2001 TV)
A Carol Christmas (2003) .
Carol for Another Christmas (1964)
A Chance of Snow (1998) —
Chasing Christmas (2005 TV)
The Christmas Box (1995)
The Christmas Card (2006)
Christmas Caper (2007)
The Christmas Cottage (2008)
Christmas Cupid (2007) —
Christmas Town (2008)
A Christmas Carol (1971)
(Rich Little's) Christmas Carol (1978)
A Christmas Carol (1984)
A Christmas Carol (1999)
Christmas Comes to Willow Creek (1987 TV)
Christmas Do-Over (2006)
Christmas Every Day (1996)
The Christmas Gift (1986)
Christmas in Boston (2005)
Christmas Lilies of the Field (1979)
The Christmas List (1997)
Christmas on Division Street (1991) —
A Christmas Romance (1994).
The Christmas Secret (aka Flight of the Reindeer) (2000)
Christmas Snow (1986)
A Christmas Snow (2010)
The Christmas Star (1986)
A Christmas Too Many (2007)
A Christmas Visitor (2002)
A Christmas Wedding (2006) —
The Christmas Wish (1998)
A Christmas Without Snow (1980)
Christmas Caper (2007 TV)
Christmas in Wonderland (2009 TV)
Crazy for Christmas (2005)
Crazy for Christmas (2006)
A Dad For Christmas (2006)Deck the Halls (2005)
A Dennis the Menace Christmas (2007)
A Different Kind of Christmas (1996)
The Dog Who Saved Christmas (2009)
The Dog Who Saved Christmas Vacation (2010)
Eve's Christmas (2004)
The Family Holiday (2007)
The Gathering (1977)
The Gift of Love: A Christmas Story (1983)
A Grandpa for Christmas (2007)
The Greatest Store in the World (1999)
His and Her Christmas (2005 TV)
A Hobo's Christmas (1987)
Hogfather (2006)
Holiday in Handcuffs (2007)
A Holiday to Remember (1995).
Home Alone 4 (2002)
Home for Christmas (1990)
Home for the Holidays (1972)
Home for the Holidays (2008)
A Home For The Holidays (2005 TV) .
The Homecoming: A Christmas Story (1971)
The House Without a Christmas Tree (1972)
It Came Upon the Midnight Clear (1984)
It Happened One Christmas (1977)
John Grin's Christmas Carol (1986)
J.T. (1969)
Like Father, Like Santa (1998)
The Man in the Santa Claus Suit (1979)
The Man Who Saved Christmas (2002)
Mary Christmas (2002)
Meet the Santas (2005)
Moonlight and Mistletoe (2007)
A Mom For Christmas,Disney's (1990 TV)
A Mouse, A Mystery and Me (1987)
Mr. Krueger's Christmas (1980)
Mr. St. Nick (2002
Mrs. Santa Claus (1996)
The Mrs. Clause (aka The Christmas Clause) (2008)
Mrs. Miracle (2009)
Naughty or Nice (2004)
The Night They Saved Christmas (1984 TV) .
Once Upon A Christmas (2000 TV)
Picking Up & Dropping Off (2003).
Recipe for a Perfect Christmas (2005 TV)
Red Boots for Christmas (2004) .
Road to Christmas (2006 TV) Roots: The Gift (1988)
Santa Baby (2006 TV)
Santa Baby 2: Christmas Maybe (2009 TV) — Santa needs his daughter, Mary Class' help
Santa Buddies (2009)
Santa, Jr. (2002)
Santa Who?
A Season for Miracles (1999)
Single Santa Seeks Mrs. Claus (2004)
A Smoky Mountain Christmas (1986 TV)
Snow (2004)
Snow 2: Brain Freeze (2008)
Snowglobe (2007)
Sons of Mistletoe (2001)
Special Delivery (2000) .
Stealing Christmas (2003)
Stubby Pringle's Christmas (1978)
CBC's The True Meaning of Christmas Specials (2002)
Three Days (2001)
The Three Kings (TV film)|The Three Kings (1987)
Three Wise Guys (2005)
The Twelve Days of Christmas Eve (2004)
Twice Upon a Christmas (2001 TV)
The Ultimate Christmas Present (2000)
Unlikely Angel (1996 TV)

3 Godfathers (1948)
29th Street (1991)
About a Boy (2002) .
An Affair to Remember (1957)
All That Heaven Allows (1955)
Alvin and the Chipmunks (2007)
American Psycho (2000)
Annie Hall (1977)
The Apartment (1960)
The Associate (1996)
Auntie Mame (1956)
Babe (1995)
Batman Returns (1992)
Beat Street (1984)
Bell, Book and Candle (1958)
The Bells of St. Mary's (1945)
Ben-Hur (1959)
Better Off Dead (1985)
Black Christmas (1974)
Das Boot (1981) .
Boys Town (1938)
Brazil (1985)
Bridget Jones's Diary (2001)
Bright Eyes (1934)
La Bûche (AKA Season's Beatings) (1999)
Cast Away (2000)
Catch Me If You Can (2002)
Christmas Evil (1980)
The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (2005)
Citizen Kane (1941)
Cosmopolitan (2003)
Desk Set (1957)
Die Hard (1988)
Die Hard 2 (1990)
Diner (1982)
Donnie Brasco (1997)
Don't Open Till Christmas (1984)
Edward Scissorhands (1990)
Elves (1990)
Enemy of the State (1998)
Eyes Wide Shut (1999)
Falling In Love (1984)
Fanny and Alexander (1982) First Blood (1982)
Funny Farm (1988)
Futurama: Bender's Big Score (2007)
Ghostbusters II (1989)
Go (1999) )
Going My Way (1944) .
Goodfellas (1990)
The Great Ziegfeld (1936)
Gremlins (1984) .
Grumpy Old Men (1993)
Harry Potter series (2001-2011)
Heatwave (1982)
Hot Rods to Hell (1967)
The Hudsucker Proxy (1994)
I Am Legend (2007) .
The Ice Harvest (2005
In Bruges (2008)
Jack Frost (1996)
Just Friends (2005)
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (2005)
Kramer vs. Kramer (1979)
Lady and the Tramp (1955)
Lady in the Lake (1947)
Legion (2010)
Lethal Weapon (1987)
The Lion in Winter (1968) Little Women (1933)
The Long Kiss Goodnight (1996)
Look Who's Talking Now (1993)
Love Finds Andy Hardy (1938)
Love Story (1970)
Make the Yuletide Gay (2009)
Mame (1974)
The Matador (2005)
Meet John Doe (1941)
Metropolitan (1990)
Millions (2004)
The Miracle of Morgan's Creek (1944)
Moonstruck (1987)
Mr. and Mrs. Smith (1941)
Never Say Goodbye (1946)
The Night of the Hunter (1955)
The Odessa File (1974)
On the Avenue (1937)
Ordinary People (1980)
P2 (2007)
Penny Serenade (1941)
Period of Adjustment (1962)
The Proposition (2005)
Rabbit Test (1978)
The Ref (1994)
Rent (2005)
Reindeer Games (2000)
Rocky IV (1985)
Ronin (1998)
Running Scared (1986)
'R Xmas (2001)
Santa Claws (1996)
Serendipity (2001)
Silent Night, Deadly Night (1984)
Silent Night, Deadly Night Part 2 (1987)
Silent Night, Deadly Night 3: Better Watch Out! (1989)
Silent Night, Deadly Night 4: Initiation (1990)
Silent Night, Deadly Night 5: The Toy Maker (1992)
Since You Went Away (1944)
Sleepless in Seattle (1993)
Soldier (1998)
Stalag 17 (1953)
Stowaway (1936)
Sun Valley Serenade (1941)
The Sure Thing (1985)
Tales from the Crypt (1972)
The Thin Man (1934)
Three Days of the Condor (1975)
To All a Good Night (1980)
Tokyo Godfathers (2003)
Toy Story (1995)
Trading Places (1983)
Trapped in Paradise (1994)
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn (1945)
The Victors (1963)
The War of the Roses (1989)
Harry Met Sally (1989)
You've Got Mail (1998)

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 11th, 2010, 9:44 pm

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 12th, 2010, 10:33 am

I gifted myself with

To go

for 1 week in

and then 1 weekend to thaw out in

I give myself really good gifts!!! :D

grad

Postby grad » December 12th, 2010, 10:53 pm

hey tuners my dad has back pains and my mom has pains on her calves. i was thinking of buying a massage chair for them for Christmas. anyone knows the price or where i can get them as well as if they give a relaxing massage or therapeutic massage?

oh, and if u guys have a better suggestion feel free to suggest!

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 14th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Oleander

Postby Oleander » December 14th, 2010, 12:54 pm

AbstractPoetic

Ladies, what are you getting Your SO this Christmas?

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 15th, 2010, 7:16 pm

Hey Ladies!

I swear I hate this time of the year. I can't quite decide what I'm going to get the SO! I've narrowed it down to a Philips Norelco SenseTouch 3D Electric Shaver or a Movado.

What are you getting your SO this Xmas?

Re: Ladies, what are you getting Your SO this Christmas?

Postby Cjruckus » December 15th, 2010, 7:20 pm

That shaver is pretty good. Used one already, and probably the only electric i would use. I am more of a safety razor kind of guy.

As for Movado.. if you are buying it in trinidad.. prepare for knock off central, or last year models. Make sure and do proper watch research before purchasing.

Postby rollingstock » December 15th, 2010, 7:33 pm

Blahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Most likely my money will be used to buy my gift.

Postby Trini Hookah » December 15th, 2010, 7:49 pm

We've really come a long way...didn't know you can purchase gifts in the kitchen.

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » December 15th, 2010, 7:51 pm

Postby sharkman121 » December 15th, 2010, 7:52 pm

Wow AP... both those gifts are great.

Postby foss » December 15th, 2010, 7:52 pm

isnt there a xmas ched already? :S

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 15th, 2010, 7:56 pm

foss wrote:isnt there a xmas ched already? :S
yes, but apparently there wasn't a PC AP SO xmas gift ched :|

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 15th, 2010, 7:58 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Wow AP... both those gifts are great.

If you had to choose, which one would you prefer as a male?

Postby foss » December 15th, 2010, 7:59 pm

what is "SO" supposed to be?

she cyat?? thats how I understood the razor...... the watch not so much.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 15th, 2010, 8:00 pm

Cjruckus wrote:That shaver is pretty good. Used one already, and probably the only electric i would use. I am more of a safety razor kind of guy.

As for Movado.. if you are buying it in trinidad.. prepare for knock off central, or last year models. Make sure and do proper watch research before purchasing.

Thanks for the first-hand review of the shaver. I like the fact that its wet/dry and has its own jet cleaner.

Yeah, I'm definitely not buying the Movado locally. :)

Postby sharkman121 » December 15th, 2010, 8:01 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:

the shaver most likely.... even tho the watch is great, i was now checking out the specs on the shaver on amazon and so far its the best ive seen yet WRT specs an features.

Plus it looks really neat with the chrome finish and digitized interface.

Ill love....ermmm he'll love u when he gets it. 8-)

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 15th, 2010, 8:02 pm

foss wrote:what is "SO" supposed to be?

she cyat?? thats how I understood the razor...... the watch not so much.
S

Significant other = boyfriend, fiance, husband, etc.

Postby foss » December 15th, 2010, 8:04 pm

^^ orrrrr... okay, :|

Postby sharkman121 » December 15th, 2010, 8:05 pm

^ :lol: :lol:

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 15th, 2010, 8:06 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:

the shaver most likely.... even tho the watch is great, i was now checking out the specs on the shaver on amazon and so far its the best ive seen yet WRT specs an features.

Plus it looks really neat with the chrome finish and digitized interface.

Ill love....ermmm he'll love u when he gets it. 8-)

Duly noted. 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)

I want to hear from the other ladies - Oleander, Hotgyul, Lola, apple, et al.... :D

Postby Trini Hookah » December 15th, 2010, 8:17 pm

if yuh buyin de razor, make sure and get some Tend Skin if yuh man like Rooki3..

Postby DFC » December 15th, 2010, 8:22 pm

razor is nice...

not a fan of rado watches though.

Postby sharkman121 » December 15th, 2010, 8:24 pm

vrampersad14 wrote:if yuh buyin de razor, make sure and get some Tend Skin if yuh man like Rooki3..

did he ever get it?

Postby AllTrac » December 15th, 2010, 8:29 pm

i hoping she doh buy me nutting cause i doh plan on getting she one fcuk

Postby Trini Hookah » December 15th, 2010, 8:32 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
vrampersad14 wrote:if yuh buyin de razor, make sure and get some Tend Skin if yuh man like Rooki3..

did he ever get it?

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=343963&start=0

Postby K74T » December 15th, 2010, 8:48 pm

OP yuh "friend" get de ring as yet?

Postby RASC » December 15th, 2010, 9:07 pm

Electric razor? Why not give him a straight blade...

Wet shaving is def. experiencing a renaissance period.

From Wiki

"Traditional" wet shaving
Safety razor, shaving brush and shaving soap. The brush is used to make lather from the soap.

There are two types of manual razors: straight razor and safety razors. Safety razors are further subdivided into double-edged razors, single edge, injector razors, cartridge razors and disposable razors.

Straight razors are still made today, notably by Dovo,[7] Zowada Razors, Thiers Issard, and Feather. Once more commonplace, now they are used mostly in barber shops by a skilled barber. However, there is a growing movement of men finding simpler is better, and are returning to traditional double edge and straight razors with great success.[8]

While straight razors give a good shave, the invention of the double-edged razor offered freedom from the task of sharpening and honing the razor.[9] In the twentieth century, Gillette razors were the most prevalent. Double-edge razors are currently readily available and are manufactured by Merkur in Germany, Kiwishaver in New Zealand, Parker in India, Feather in Japan, Hart Steel in the United States and Weishi in China. Double-edge razors are named so because the blade that they use has two sharp edges on opposite sides of the blade. Cartridge razors are the most expensive type as the blades are designed only to fit the razors of the manufacturer. Current multi-bladed cartridge manufacturers attempt to differentiate themselves by having more or fewer blades than their competitors, each arguing that their product gives a greater shave quality at a more affordable price.

Before wet shaving, a lathering or lubricating agent such as cream, soap, gel, foam or oil is normally applied. Lubricating and moisturizing the skin to be shaved helps to prevent a painful razor burn. It also lifts and softens the hairs, causing them to swell. This enhances the cutting action and sometimes permits cutting the hairs deeper slightly below the surface of the skin. Additionally, during shaving, the lather indicates areas that have not yet been addressed. When soap is used, it is generally applied with a shaving brush, which has long soft bristles. It is worked up into a usable lather by the brush, either against the face, in a shaving mug, bowl, scuttle, or palm of the hand.[10]

Wet shaving may be done in one pass, shaving with the grain of the hair, or in two passes, one with and one against or across the grain. Shaving twice can give a closer shave for a tough beard, but it also increases the risk of cuts, soreness and ingrown hairs.