THE OFFICIAL QUIT SMOKING THREAD

Shooter_boy_J

Re: This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby Shooter_boy_J » March 13th, 2012, 2:21 pm

The first thing i do in the morning is smoke a cigarette if i cud cut out that one i cud stop smoking!

Postby Hook » March 13th, 2012, 3:35 pm

^^^ it's not that difficult inno...but you have to WANT to stop

I keeping count as I quit - smoked 31 for January, 12 for February and none for March thus far. I figure "if I have just one" at this point I'll spoil all my hard work. Gotta keep my eyes on the prize yo. Up to Saturday night I limed amongst smokers and I was normal. The temptation to smoke weakens gradually.

Even the financial saving is good incentive to go along with the improved health. Having come down from at least a pack/day, I've saved a minimum of $600/mth and I could last the full two hr practice twice a week instead of getting winded 30mins into the session.
It's a definite improved lifestyle change.

Postby Mark! » March 13th, 2012, 4:12 pm

Hook wrote: you have to WANT to stop

yup, i never wanted to stop, thats the ting, I knew it as bad and kept saying i had to stop, but was soo in love with it. If you dont want to stop, you wouldnt last long if you do try to quit

W2J

Postby W2J » March 13th, 2012, 7:33 pm

today is 21days that I'm clean of alcho and cigs, I quit for 40 days have been doing this for the last 12 years give the body a fighting chance to recover.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » March 13th, 2012, 7:52 pm

Stephon. wrote:Also it's disgusting the way smokers smell, it's amazing when you smoke you never notice the horrid smell, but when you don't smoke and you're around a smoker you realize how strong and horrible that person smells.

Ent... :lol:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 13th, 2012, 8:40 pm

191 days smoke free.....cravings are hardly noticeable now..... over $3400 saved.

460 days alcohol free.....that's at least $23,000 saved on that one too....

Postby Trini Hookah » March 13th, 2012, 8:53 pm

You could put a B13 on the road with those savings Vega! :lol:

Kudos! :D

This is what smoking does to your Heart.

Postby Hook » March 13th, 2012, 9:37 pm

:lol: a pk/day less each mth does feel good on the pocket eh? The extra ~$7000 will be a cool Christmas bonus.

That alco saving is alarming tho. Thas abt $50/day. I don't drink that often, but when I do...*whew* I'd probably save around that if I stopped.

I should make a check on just how much I spend a mth on alcohol...though I prefer to just cut down lol

Postby Mark! » March 13th, 2012, 9:46 pm

oh ladd alco is another story :lol: .....will stick to fighting smoking at the moment :lol:

Postby Hook » March 13th, 2012, 10:14 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: working on one vice at a time

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » March 13th, 2012, 10:52 pm

Where did all this come from? Is it our nature?

Postby Hook » March 13th, 2012, 11:02 pm

^^^ whatchutalkin'boutP2G? the vice thing? yeah, prolly human nature

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 22nd, 2012, 12:31 am

200 days smoke free.....at least 4000 cigarettes NOT smoked and a minimum of $3600 not in WITCO's pocket....

Postby Hook » March 22nd, 2012, 1:10 am

*high fives Vega*

23 days clean! Let's keep this going! *bbm dancing emoticon*

Postby Mark! » March 22nd, 2012, 1:41 am

well done vega!!!!!!! you too hook!

now on day 13. I realized since i stopped i cant stop eating :S

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 22nd, 2012, 2:16 am

^^^jah drink water instead!!!!! You heading towards becoming one of the cliche'd "gain weight after stop smoking"
I never gained weight after quitting cigs...but then again I was on a kinda diet thing....I drank (and still drink) literally litres and litres of water daily......that will help cleanse yuh liver and get rid of those nicotine filled cells that cause the cravings.......plus it'll full yuh up...add some sort of fibre too, whole grain or maybe a fruit....

Postby Mark! » March 22nd, 2012, 2:23 am

nice, will try it out. Thanksss

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 22nd, 2012, 3:38 am

still fkn waking....should be done with what I'm doing in about half an hour, but then it makes no sense going to sleep....

Postby S_2NR » March 22nd, 2012, 6:16 am

Mark! wrote:well done vega!!!!!!! you too hook!

now on day 13. I realized since i stopped i cant stop eating :S

chew gum

Postby Hook » March 22nd, 2012, 8:32 am

boi, I realized I was falling into the same trap with the snacking instead of smoking...doing the water thing since gum only makes me hungry

W2J

Postby W2J » March 22nd, 2012, 8:49 am

28days clean - 14 days to go.....

Postby Hook » March 22nd, 2012, 9:07 am

^^^^ :lol: so you start back in two weeks?

Postby dougla_boy » March 22nd, 2012, 9:19 am

eh, i used to smoke a pack a day in secondary school........one morning i stopped cold turkey.....didnt have any withdrawal symptoms........i used to smoke afterwards when stressed.....but i stopped that.....occasionally i take a puff of the naturals......but i wanna have a cuban for when my children are born as a celebration.......

Postby Hook » March 22nd, 2012, 9:25 am

^^^ you're supposed to puff a cigar, not inhale it

W2J

Postby W2J » March 23rd, 2012, 8:35 am

Hook wrote:^^^^ :lol: so you start back in two weeks?

maybe a day or two after :)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2012, 9:28 am

220 days smoke free.....how's it going?

don't give up the fight!

Postby Hook » April 11th, 2012, 9:50 am

I lorse track of the days, but I smoked my last somewhere in the last week of February.

Last night I dreamed I was talking to somebody and just casually lit up a cigarette tho. Can't recall who it was or what was the topic, but I remember thinking "wait, didn't you quit this?"...weird dream yo

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2012, 9:58 am

I use a counter to keep track....I've created a thread in a special place that helps me keep track of my days.

weird dream indeed....lol....just don't be encouraged by it..

Postby Stephon. » April 11th, 2012, 10:02 am

134 days for me. :D

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2012, 10:06 am

^^^well done