Postby salvation4U » August 31st, 2011, 10:03 pm

geee she dat nah if she wah it

Re: Facebook to be monitored after video posted on Youtube

Postby AllTrac » August 31st, 2011, 10:05 pm

S_2NR wrote:
salvation4U wrote:buh they must tell she in school:

"buh ent iz you who cuss up kamla on youtube....yuh look fuh dat ....yuh mouth dutty fuh so"

something along those lines.....

is tranquil we talking about here.
lets not get ahead of ourselves

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » August 31st, 2011, 10:06 pm

salvation4U wrote:Image

geee she dat nah if she wah it

Yeah bai, she geh rell stripes...she's ah guntress now!
Whey rfari, he cudd rope she in de posse..:rofl:
Last edited by eViLwOn on August 31st, 2011, 10:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » August 31st, 2011, 10:15 pm

bluefete wrote:
zcarz wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Rofl @ the excuses being made for this criminal. We will see 5 years from now when she is on the news crying over her bf body that was never in nothing :lol:

I agree that she was totally out of place to make the kinds of threats that she did. And the obscene language ...... What a fine, respectable young granny to be we are raising.

Having said that, let me deal with the AG. This Anand Ramlogan is a member of the same government which about 2-3 weeks ago put out a VERY DISRESPECTFUL ad on television in which a young girl of about 10-12 years old was being very rude and saying all kinds of things to her mother.

This government put that ad on television.

I did not think the chickens would come home to roost so quickly.

So the deeper meaning of that ad totally escaped you then?

Exactly my thoughts ! It was a great commercial

The deeper meaning of the ad did not escape me. Stop being an apologist. The government put out that ad for a purpose. The problem I have is that they could have used two adults and achieved the same outcome.

Do you think that the children who saw that ad are really going to look below the surface?

The message was clear to me. How many of you (if you have any) would let your children speak to you like that little girl did in that ad. And think nothing of it? Or do nothing about it?

Now I'm absolutely certain you missed the point of that ad. Think trade union salary negotiations meng. The kid being rude thing was a euphemism, not permission to get on bad.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 1st, 2011, 2:15 pm

check this article from Al Jazeera

Al Jazeera wrote:Syrians supporting the opposition have had their Facebook accounts hacked [GALLO/GETTY]
If there's one thing that net-savvy activists from Tunisia to Bahrain are aware of, it’s that the Internet isn’t always safe. From the constant threat of surveillance to the knowledge that posting the wrong picture on Facebook can get you arrested - or worse - activists have for a long time taken measures to mitigate risks, censoring themselves, using special tools like Tor, or staying off certain networks altogether.

Unfortunately, not only do some activists lack the necessary savvy, but even the best can fall victim to savvier regimes. Back in December, for example, just as the Tunisian uprising began to take root, activists within the country noticed that their Facebook accounts had been compromised. Some reported information missing from their accounts, leading Facebook to investigate and, in the end, re-route users to a secure HTTPS version of the site.

The incident may have prompted Facebook to make the decision to roll out HTTPS to all of its users. By the end of February, users of the site could opt in for increased security; but as two incidents from this week illustrate, their sense of security may have been premature. The latest in a series of events to take advantage of Facebooking dissidents, the two exploits demonstrate a seemingly perpetual cat-and-mouse game between users of social media living under authoritarian regimes and the regimes themselves.

Syrian Facebookers targeted

For months, the Syrian regime and its supporters have been devising and implementing new ways of targeting social media users who express favour toward the opposition, from flooding Twitter hashtags with unrelated links to hacking and defacing opposition sites. While various incidences of Facebook manipulation have been reported, none have been confirmed.

Today, the Information Warfare Monitor reports on a new attempt to mount an attack on pro-opposition Syrians. Though the perpetrators remain unknown, the attacks were launched on Twitter, targeting users of Facebook. According to the report, the culprits tweeted a link in an attempt to lure followers to a video posted to Facebook, whereupon those clicking on the link would be redirected to a fake Facebook page. Then, if the user then logged in, their credentials would be captured and their account information compromised.

This type of attack, whether launched by the regime or third-party actors, is basic in scope but can be devastating to a user who hasn’t backed up his or her Facebook data (a feature made available in the Account Settings), and outright dangerous to an activist whose account contains private information or sensitive contacts. Still, this type of attack pales in comparison to one discovered this week in neighbouring Iran.

Iranian connection

In the wake of the Arab Spring and the development of tools like Firesheep, escalating risks have led to increased pressure on social media platforms to offer encrypted HTTPS connections to their sites, providing users with a safer, less vulnerable way of accessing their platforms. In the wake of the aforementioned Tunisian attack, Facebook rolled out opt-in encryption services to its users, while Twitter is in the early stages of offering it by default (it’s already available as an opt-in service). Most webmail programmes offer secure browsing as well.

When a user visits such sites, they are relying upon Certificate Authorities (CAs), hundreds of companies that sign the certificates that supposedly guarantee secure browsing. But what happens if just one of these CAs is tricked into issuing a fraudulent certificate? That certificate can be used to compromise sites that people believe they are browsing securely.

On Monday, an Iranian Gmail user reported a warning from the Google Chrome browser that indicated the presence of a fake certificate. A statement from Google acknowledges that primarily Iranian users were affected, and that the fraudulent certificate was issued by a CA called DigiNotar nearly two months ago, on July 10. While critics of the CA system have long feared that such an attack could be possible, this is the first time such an attack has been seen “in the wild”.

For the last two months, Iranians who tried to access encrypted Google websites, including Gmail, may have been vulnerable to surveillance, their user data (including passwords and any activity conducted while logged into a site) available to the attacker.

For its part, Google has released a statement reminding users to be vigilant about keeping software up-to-date and pay attention to browser warnings. Mozilla, which produces the Firefox browser, and Microsoft have communicated the situation to users as well.

Different methods, same purpose

Although the Iranian attack was significantly more sophisticated than that perpetrated against Syrian Facebook users, both serve the same ends: to grab hold of user data in an attempt by malicious actors to silence or endanger those with whom they disagree.

Syrian authorities have used the Facebook accounts of detainees, for example, to track down other activists. The same has occurred in Bahrain, while in Iran, deep packet inspection - used to snoop on email, VoIP calls, and other online activity - has been reported. Activists in all three countries have been arrested, jailed, and in some cases, tortured.

Critics of the encryption and CA systems have long focused on the threats to average users. The Electronic Frontier Foundation (where I am employed) has voiced concerns that such incidents may be widespread, noting that the CA system was created decades ago, “in an era when the biggest online security concern was thought to be protecting users from having their credit card numbers intercepted”.

These latest attacks shed light on just how serious the ramifications can be for users in countries like Iran and Syria, where authorities regularly use social media to silence dissenters. When a regime gains the capability to conduct surveillance on large swaths of users, it need not rely on traditional, cost-heavy methods of identifying and spying on individuals.

It is therefore imperative that the security community, and the Certificate Authorities in particular, become aware of the global implications of their technologies: there are lives at stake.

Jillian York is director for International Freedom of Expression at the Electronic Frontier Foundation in San Francisco. She writes a regular column for Al Jazeera focusing on free expression and Internet freedom. She also writes for and is on the Board of Directors of Global Voices Online.
http://english.aljazeera.net/indepth/opinion/2011/08/201183171859264925.html

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 1st, 2011, 2:25 pm

Stephon. wrote:"KAMLA JUS VEX U MAKE SHE OUT HOW SHE RACIAL AN TING" -Classmate #2 AKA Future Cellmate block 22.

Yuh add she on facebook oar?

Postby bluefete » September 1st, 2011, 4:03 pm

Hook wrote:
Now I'm absolutely certain you missed the point of that ad. Think trade union salary negotiations meng. The kid being rude thing was a euphemism, not permission to get on bad.

I did not miss the point of the ad. I was more disturbed by the portrayal of the child being rude to her mother (Tanty Kamla) to get her point and petulance across. When the mark buss, in a different direction, Uncle Anand want to come and jail the same child for being rude to Tanty Kamla.

This is high in so many ways that even the government cannot understand what happened there.

Postby wagonrunner » September 2nd, 2011, 8:12 am

I know more than three sentences pose a problem for the majority of the posters here but.....

From http://www.guardian.co.tt/columnist/2011/09/02/akon-ramlogan

In 2007, the Sengalese-American hip hop star, Akon, put down an ordinary dutty wine on a teenaged girl in a Port-of-Spain nightclub and respectable T&T was horrified to the core that such a thing could happen; as if they don’t glance out of their car windows and see it every weekend night and all day Sunday. Play two notes of a drum-and-bass loop anywhere in Trinidad and, before the hi-hat can clash, you’ll have an instant passa-passa, including open displays of intimate depilation; I’ve seen, eight o’clock Sunday morning, at the side of an otherwise quiet country road, a small maxi, parked, blasting dancehall for the benefit, apparently, of the wild-meat of the area—which showed itself in the form of a glassy-eyed 40-something skettel with a beer in one hand, backing it up against a shirtless, drooling man chooking waist like a dog; Akon could take lessons from any Trini lime, anywhere; they are as proud to get on bad in Lange Park as in Laventy.

This week another local teenaged girl is in the spotlight on YouTube, but it’s her dirty mouth, not her dirty moves, that have outraged “decent” T&T. If you’ve not see the video by now, you need to upgrade your attention to September, 2011, or widen your e-mail circle. It features a 16-year-old girl—maybe a year or two older or younger—speaking direct to her computer camera in a foul-mouthed videoblog. The last film clip I saw with a comparable obscenity rate was Scarface (in which, the urban legend says, Al Pacino uses the eff-word 182 times, giving rise to the name of the pop rock band, Blink 182). The four-minute video is crammed with profanities directly addressed to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, and is not shy of racist terms. But it is still plainly an attempt at humour; not a very successful one, perhaps, but nevertheless obviously intentioned as entertainment. Remove the effs and mother-cees—which are deliberately overdone, in an attempt to get the role right, because, when the teenager slips out of the aged woman character, she reverts to what you imagine is her normal “fricking”—and the Granny Quilla video is not so different from the very funny Trini Slap Chup infomercial voice-over (except, of course, that it doesn’t make you laugh).

It’s surprising how many supposedly intelligent grown-ups have not noticed that the entire video is called “Granny Quilla Spouts Abuse”: the young girl is “in character,” playing the part of an aged pensioner. Her performance is actually good and one or two of the bits are even clever. The whole thing fails because there isn’t a successful marriage of character with content, but it is failed comedy, not deliberate racism that is at play. Everyone scandalised by a young girl suggesting that maybe it was a mosquito that flew up the PM’s nether regions needs to step back and ask themselves if they really think she literally meant that. (Of course it’s a separate, and heartbreaking, discussion of what passes for “culture” and thought here.) The girl has posted an apology but she should never have; indeed, I’d have encouraged her to post another video: “Granny Quilla Tells All Them ------- to Firetruck Off.” No artist should be required to explain art. Like hundreds of thousands of her contemporaries across the Internet—including my own daughter and her friends—the girl was trying a thing using tools available in the IT Age to reflect the age she lives in.

With all the “nastiness” in the video, it was not itself nasty. Indeed, it parodies everyday life in Trinidad very well, for an unrehearsed live blog by a child, who has found out the hard way that not everyone has the talent, wit, scope of reference and high-speed comedic brain of Rachel Price, whose own vidblog inspired by the state of emergency is not short on effs itself (and features a topnotch rephrasing of a great David Rudder song in, “This is not a curfew in here/ This is madness”). Like Rachel Price, Martin Daly and other non-aligned commentators, Granny Quilla is actually discharging her civic responsibility in criticising the misuse of the most draconian powers of the republic in the very shoddy way they have been so far. The young girl should be praised, not pilloried. I’d rather my own daughter embarrass me for four minutes with her cussing on YouTube than shame me forever by not thinking at all about what’s going on around her. And what’s going on around Granny Quilla is shaming, not her, but the so-called adults of Trinidad. (Think about the name, “Granny Quilla” for Christ’s sake: it’s plainly mocking attitudes, not supporting them.)

In his worst public moment ever, the Attorney General has called for the young girl concerned to turn herself in and let the law take its course. What the firetruck is he going to charge her with? Being clever? Is that an admission that the People’s Partnership requires stupidity as a qualification for membership?
The AG has not just prejudged a non-issue arising out of a YouTube video, he has prejudged it wrongly, and made himself look foolish in viewing comedy as sedition. If Granny Quilla has committed a crime, long live criminality, otherwise known as freedom of speech—a freedom the AG himself took to the extreme limits of taste in his own former Sunday Guardian column, in which he wrote lurid prose so purple it made baigan feel shame.

Like Akon in 2007, the person who has really done something wrong skips away from notice while all of Trinidad beats up on a little girl. The state of emergency is likely to be extended in Parliament today, causing more hardship on the law-abiding and not seeming to bother the law-breaking too much. For his sake, I hope Akon Ramlogan will not soon be required by AG Ramlogan to turn himself into the police to answer charges of how he and the People’s Partnership have squandered public goodwill to such an extent that the biggest criminal fish netted by a whole state of emergency is Granny-firetrucking-Quilla.

Postby eliteauto » September 2nd, 2011, 9:02 am

^^ the intelligence in that will fly over the heads of those here only too happy to attach "gunta/terrorist/unpatriotic" and other such terms to the girl in the vid

Postby rollingstock » September 2nd, 2011, 9:06 am

^ Nice article.

The same way Akon was not at blame that an underage girl was in a club, the blame wrt that little girl lies with society and poor parenting, it did have it's minor funny parts though.

Postby wagonrunner » September 2nd, 2011, 9:24 am

eliteauto wrote:^^ the intelligence in that will fly over the heads of those here only too happy to attach "gunta/terrorist/unpatriotic" and other such terms to the girl in the vid

you think if i put the last paragraph in bold, it will be read? or it need colors and thing?
where sanctifier when yuh need him?

Postby 16 cycles » September 2nd, 2011, 9:32 am

pires casts the girl as an intelligent comedian trying to develop her material based on the events around her........

still a failure

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » September 2nd, 2011, 9:40 am

Like Rachel Price, Martin Daly and other non-aligned commentators, Granny Quilla is actually discharging her civic responsibility in criticising the misuse of the most draconian powers of the republic in the very shoddy way they have been so far.

This is the very essence of democracy!!

Trading rights and freedoms for a false sense of security is the worst thing people of a free society can do.

Postby wagonrunner » September 2nd, 2011, 9:49 am

[X]~Outlaw, party loyalty above all else.

Postby TRAE » September 2nd, 2011, 10:07 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:
Like Rachel Price, Martin Daly and other non-aligned commentators, Granny Quilla is actually discharging her civic responsibility in criticising the misuse of the most draconian powers of the republic in the very shoddy way they have been so far.

This is the very essence of democracy!!

Trading rights and freedoms for a false sense of security is the worst thing people of a free society can do.

democracy? dude there is nothing like democracy in this age, we are entitled to vote-- are we 100% sure that our votes count or is everything organized- and will only be noticed after years of scrutiny. We have two parties that quarrel and demotivate their own members of the public, if A says lets go... B will have a problem with that just because A said so.

Democracy is a failed institution making us feel we have a say in things, now while we can enforce democracy by force and take back things in our hands there will still be a side A and side B in our communities, so in the end we are never gonna have true democracy...

and trading rights and freedom for a false sense of security? Look out the window and see how we use our freedom and rights

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » September 2nd, 2011, 10:32 am

So you will happily give up your freedom of speech then? (That includes posting your opinions on internet forums, facebook, youtube etc.) Would you embrace the government policing social networks? Whats next..internet censorship?

Good for you.

I hope you see how slippery that slope can get.

Postby TRAE » September 2nd, 2011, 10:50 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:So you will happily give up your freedom of speech then? (That includes posting your opinions on internet forums, facebook, youtube etc.) Would you embrace the government policing social networks? Whats next..internet censorship?

Good for you.

with everything there is a line... its a peter pay for paul scenario... a few people make it bad for everyone else, is there a way to isolate who is gonna make threats against persons from us here on tuner? can you isolate your kids from violence and know that they will forever be incapable of violence? We are all paying for the slackness of others, no i dont want internet censorship, i dont want to give up freedom of speech, but people are doing this for us, if you get my meaning...

Postby teems1 » September 2nd, 2011, 1:24 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:So you will happily give up your freedom of speech then? (That includes posting your opinions on internet forums, facebook, youtube etc.) Would you embrace the government policing social networks? Whats next..internet censorship?

Good for you.

Posting opinions != direct threats

Also try to do some reading up on the Patriot Act and what it allows the US government to do. The internet isn't as free or unmonitored as you think it is.

Postby shogun » September 2nd, 2011, 1:49 pm

Monitoring is fine, just like i heard the police monitor these and other similar forums, for people they suspect are breaking the law (selling stolen car parts, goods, etc.)

But if this is the new threshold, they setting the bar pretty low.

Lets hope they are as quick to act, regardless of the political affiliation, of the person being "threatened" or, where the person lives...because a careful read through old threads, would show a few tuners should be, sought out by the authorities.

And that's another thing.....who exactly is responsible for the "monitoring?"

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 4th, 2011, 10:25 am

I believe that there is gonna be an agency for that.

Postby Bizzare » September 4th, 2011, 10:28 am

shogun wrote:because a careful read through old threads, would show a few tuners should be, sought out by the authorities.

Has no evidence there.

Postby A172 » September 4th, 2011, 2:12 pm

strong ethnicity to defenders ratio hya.

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 5th, 2011, 7:44 pm

hold orn............I wonder if "granny quila" went to school today?
I would have loved to see how that turned out.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 8th, 2011, 8:35 pm

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » September 9th, 2011, 9:28 am

actually saw popo going tru tuner and fb yesterday!

Postby rollingstock » September 9th, 2011, 10:04 am

^ Dutty lies, they would neva! :roll:

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » September 9th, 2011, 10:23 am

rollingstock wrote:^ Dutty lies, they would neva! :roll:

I was there,,,under arrest!!!!!