Re: Windows 8 (Next: Windows Blue)

Postby original_lollybob » April 18th, 2013, 7:00 pm

http://money.cnn.com/2013/04/18/technol ... index.html

Sent from my Lumia (but really iPad) using TriniTuner mobile app

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 13th, 2013, 8:05 pm

anyone ever had an issue where the metro app installed as normal, but when you click on it the splash screen comes up for a few seconds then it goes back to the start screen?
this has happened to most of the apps i have installed.

Postby stev » May 13th, 2013, 8:34 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:anyone ever had an issue where the metro app installed as normal, but when you click on it the splash screen comes up for a few seconds then it goes back to the start screen?

i came across this problem....

...but i cant post the solution here because it is illegal. :lol:

Postby M_2NR » May 13th, 2013, 8:43 pm

Halfbreed07 wrote:anyone ever had an issue where the metro app installed as normal, but when you click on it the splash screen comes up for a few seconds then it goes back to the start screen?

same thing happens for me. Happens for me because of a proxy on the network i was on.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 13th, 2013, 8:46 pm

PM meh nuh

Postby stev » May 13th, 2013, 8:47 pm

ok well the fix not that illegal after all....

...anytime u open an app, the windows store checks to see if there are any updates to the app.

try temporarily disabling automatic updates and auto update checks if ur behind a proxy server.

Postby stev » May 13th, 2013, 8:53 pm

and if that does not work...try disabling the windows update service under 'services' in administrative tools in control panel.

that worked for me...let me know if it does for u guys.

edit: if the Microsoft WWA host process is running, kill it. :lol:

u can always start it back or just restart.

if your market app stops working, download and run the Windows 8 app diagnostic tool from Microsoft.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 13th, 2013, 9:02 pm

thanks, i tried those suggestions, still nothing, its either i call the tech or live without those apps, which really dont look that useful.

Postby M_2NR » May 13th, 2013, 9:22 pm

It's so painful honestly. Luckily i only use desktop apps when on that network.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » May 13th, 2013, 9:50 pm

saw a lot of users having similar issues with apps not functioning properly or loading on some MS forums, lots of different fixes, some had to even resort to re-installing the OS. Typical windows issues, hopefully they will release a patch soon, but knowing them i wont hold my breath nuh

brickman

Postby brickman » June 27th, 2013, 10:57 pm

I see windows 8.1 preview came out yesterday.

Postby javishm » June 27th, 2013, 11:25 pm

my windows 8 crashed about a 2 weeks now...anyone have a link to get a copy downloaded...i have my product key(sadly didnt get a copy with my laptop)

original_lollybob

Re: Windows 8 (Next: Windows 8.1)

Postby original_lollybob » June 28th, 2013, 10:52 am

so i dl 8.1 PR for pro... works great on my local .live account

added my domain account and everything was fcuked...

geez

Postby stev » June 28th, 2013, 11:00 am

what happened when u added it to the domain? :shock:

i have it on a virtual machine in work and was gonna add it to the domain to test it out.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 28th, 2013, 12:15 pm

i added it to domain, logged in and all my tiles had an x on them... go into the store and cant dl a single fcuk cause of group policies in effect on my domain... of course no such policies exist...

checked local group policy and did as per http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... store-apps

now nothing at all works.. all my metro apps are gone and cant be re-downloaded cause the store wont start

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 28th, 2013, 12:18 pm

deleted and re-added my domain account

still a failure

logged in as domain admin.. failure

Postby stev » June 28th, 2013, 12:21 pm

i added the machine to the domain here in work....everything seems fine...the only thing i had to do was give it special access through the checkpoint firewall in work for it to connect to the store....for some reason i cant get access to the store using domain credentials on DHCP....i added a static address and gave that address full access in the firewall......which is bullocks if thats what u gotta do to get it to work. lol

i assume group policy worked fine....browser settings came down normal.....update services not working.....cant connect to our WSUS server. :?

edit: well das it dey...dis ting not working properly.....i keep getting knocked off the domain after every restart....it goes back to the default 'WORKGROUP' :?

i reported it to Microsoft through win8.1 itself but i doh think it went through. :lol:

i dont think it has anything to do with our AD and DCs....its on 2008 R2.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » June 28th, 2013, 2:38 pm

my DC is still a 2003 box :|

Postby stev » June 28th, 2013, 10:41 pm

original_lollybob wrote:my DC is still a 2003 box :|

2003 more stable than 2008 in my experience though....2008 functionality is a win....but is headache sometimes.

Postby stev » September 16th, 2013, 11:05 pm

so the 8.1 update would be out in the near future (probably next month).....anyone had a chance to try out the preview?

what are your views?

start button didnt make a difference IMO.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » September 17th, 2013, 10:30 am

^
October 18 is the release date for 8.1

if you're a tech net or MSDN subscriber u can get it now

ive been using 8.1 on win8 pro for as long as the preview release has been available

and it makes a HUGE difference... its fricking usable now.. i could not use win8 before... now im using 8.1 as my primary desktop machine at work

and the start button in itself makes no difference, even tho i find myself clicking on it rather than pressing start key. Being able to right click there to shut down and restart is a blessing tho.

The biggest, yet most simple change is the ability to have wallpapers on both start and desktop screens the same. makes everything seamless.

Also, boot to desktop. thank u MS. that is all

u can use the start button as a "start menu" sorta kinna if u select Show the Apps view when i click on start..

System search is way better
that store needs to go away and try again...
Pin the control panel to start.. good lawd that system settings app is rubbish

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2013, 9:54 am

Microsoft has released the Windows 8.1 update for its flagship operating system.

Servers ready to dispense the update were turned on at 07:00 New York time (12:00 BST). The update is free to those already running Windows 8. Charges will apply if users upgrade to 8.1 from Windows 7. The update comes just over a year after the launch of Windows 8.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-24564738

Just make sure Automatic Updates are enabled. It will get to you.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 17th, 2013, 9:55 am

servers clearly stumped by the requests...

cant get thru at all.. will update after i do

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2013, 10:01 am

Go in the green Windows Store tile from the Start Menu. There's a big purple tile with "Update to Windows 8.1 for free." Click on it, and download. It's 3.62 GB.

This will take a while. Will return when it's over.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » October 17th, 2013, 10:56 am

yea im at 20%

at work speeds... we'll prolly discuss this tmr

brickman

Postby brickman » October 17th, 2013, 11:55 am

Will update next week,giving it a few days to see if any issues come up.

Postby maj. tom » October 17th, 2013, 12:41 pm

Done. Download takes however long it takes. Upgrade took 15-20 minutes. Nothing much changed visually.

Had to reinstall Comodo Internet Security.

Re: Windows 8.1

Postby javishm » November 2nd, 2013, 11:27 am

I downloaded 8.1 about 2-3 days ago but on my desktop screen i am seeing Windows 8.1 single language SecureBoot isn't configured correctly.

I was wondering what is the solution for that.

Thanks

brickman

Postby brickman » November 2nd, 2013, 12:38 pm

javishm wrote:I downloaded 8.1 about 2-3 days ago but on my desktop screen i am seeing Windows 8.1 single language SecureBoot isn't configured correctly.

I was wondering what is the solution for that.

Thanks

Check this link
http://www.optimizemswindows.com/fix-se ... ndows-8-1/

Upgraded to 8.1 a week now,no problems whatsoever.Like thats its needing even less ram. (5% + less ram usage than 8 for me)

Postby javishm » November 2nd, 2013, 5:00 pm

^Thanks man

ended up downloading a link after a while of searching online. No issues now at all. I actually prefer 8.1 a bit smoother