Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

shameer

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby shameer » August 23rd, 2011, 9:32 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:
shameer wrote:powered sub got a 1200 watt amp at the back with a speakon jumper to the passive

2 channel amp?
RMS power?
18" or 15"

2 CHANNEL AMP
18" SUB

Postby gt4tified » August 24th, 2011, 12:49 am

eliteauto wrote:anyone have any experience with Mackie SRM450s? Considering a pair of either this or Mackie Thump TH15A, for use as a mobile system for small events (>200ppl) looking for opinions/comparisons of both sets

What is the system going to be mainly used for? Live audio, playback, vocals only? Either way, the srm's are great value for money....much better than eons imho....and if you're using a separate sub, they will surprise you beyond belief!

Kasey

Postby Kasey » August 24th, 2011, 9:23 am

I find the thump lacks SPL. SRM sounds better than the EON G2, but I find they dont sound much different than the EON G3. Price WISE the SRM is a better buy IMHO. I find the JBL new EONs are wayyy over priced for the quality and power they put out.

On another note, I have a nice pair of active boxes to sell in the Miscellaneous section.

Samo

Postby Samo » August 24th, 2011, 10:37 am

so ok guys- thinking abt this for sum time now. jus to do small house parties,prayas etc.
self powered set up- pair tops an bass to go with it...eg- JBL monitors with 12" sub.
8ch mixing board,2 cordless mics,2 cordful with stand,numark cdn, vdj with controller.
small lighting sys an fog machine..this cud run me in like ..15grand???

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2011, 10:58 am

gt4tified wrote:
eliteauto wrote:anyone have any experience with Mackie SRM450s? Considering a pair of either this or Mackie Thump TH15A, for use as a mobile system for small events (>200ppl) looking for opinions/comparisons of both sets

What is the system going to be mainly used for? Live audio, playback, vocals only? Either way, the srm's are great value for money....much better than eons imho....and if you're using a separate sub, they will surprise you beyond belief!

mostly playback, house limes, birthday parties, small weddings etc

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2011, 12:21 pm

Samo wrote:so ok guys- thinking abt this for sum time now. jus to do small house parties,prayas etc.
self powered set up- pair tops an bass to go with it...eg- JBL monitors with 12" sub.
8ch mixing board,2 cordless mics,2 cordful with stand,numark cdn, vdj with controller.
small lighting sys an fog machine..this cud run me in like ..15grand???

doh forget a small snake...just incase you hav to mic up a small stage

but i doubt...unless ur buying low end stuff

if ur going with medium range products...maybe 20-22k

Samo

Postby Samo » August 24th, 2011, 12:53 pm

thanks X_Factor; i forgot abt the snake..

hmm...so forget the JBl..lol.. how abt the Gemini self powered?
i'll chk these things...20k...this will hadda wait till xmas yes. :(

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 24th, 2011, 6:20 pm

I prefer the Mackie a lot more to the JBL also. I haven't heard much JBL EONs, but I've never been impressed by one.

Samo

Postby Samo » August 24th, 2011, 8:38 pm

nice...thanks..weekend i goin hunting.. :)

shameer

Postby shameer » August 26th, 2011, 8:16 pm

small to medium parties i would recommend the active 1515 (see my tops in the above pics). its a dual 15 full range sub with a comp driver runs u up to about $7500 a pc.
beauty with these boxes they are easy to hook up(cockpit straight to boxes no amp rack), got built in limiters (so u can run them at max without anything burning) and they play a complete bandwidth......

used 4 of these boxes at a wedding in paria suits (no subs eh) management shut we down around 9pm complaining bout bass too loud........

2 of these will get u by better than 4 monitors any day.

izzy be

Postby izzy be » August 28th, 2011, 1:13 am

gt4tified wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:why 2 systems?

Was wondering the same thing? Is it like dem long time injun wedding when it had two tassa side clashing, but nowadays instead is two DJ soundclashing?

Btw, anyone interested in a pair of DN-S5000 Denon players....considering selling mine to upgrade to the 4500’s. I have them from brand new, and they are in very good condition. PM for info.

how much are u sellin dem 4

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 1st, 2011, 3:54 pm

Kasey

Postby Kasey » September 1st, 2011, 10:04 pm

Seen similar sets on other sites.

shameer

Postby shameer » September 1st, 2011, 10:12 pm

so ah guess the set down south again..aint sure if i going on ah trailer or SSL judging point...either way we go be hard....lol carnival 2012 here we come :infinity: :infinity:

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 2nd, 2011, 8:09 am

shameer wrote:small to medium parties i would recommend the active 1515 (see my tops in the above pics). its a dual 15 full range sub with a comp driver runs u up to about $7500 a pc.
beauty with these boxes they are easy to hook up(cockpit straight to boxes no amp rack), got built in limiters (so u can run them at max without anything burning) and they play a complete bandwidth......

used 4 of these boxes at a wedding in paria suits (no subs eh) management shut we down around 9pm complaining bout bass too loud........

2 of these will get u by better than 4 monitors any day.

I would love to stack one of these next to a jrx125 and hear the difference...i feel the b52 will kill the JBL..

Kasey

Postby Kasey » September 2nd, 2011, 3:16 pm

^^ I have a pair of JRX125 to sell. If u want, u can buy them, and try it out. In clarity, the JRX125 is one of the most accurate boxes I have ever heard. I have not yet heard a B52, so I cannot comment bout that. Looks deadly tho.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » September 3rd, 2011, 4:56 pm

anyone use the new crown XLS? any idea on pricing?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 5th, 2011, 4:46 pm

Kasey wrote:^^ I have a pair of JRX125 to sell. If u want, u can buy them, and try it out. In clarity, the JRX125 is one of the most accurate boxes I have ever heard. I have not yet heard a B52, so I cannot comment bout that. Looks deadly tho.

I have the same boxes , I run 800 rms each on them . Best sound quality ever

Kasey

Postby Kasey » September 5th, 2011, 6:50 pm

Yep, cant beat JBL Crips-ness. lol.

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 5th, 2011, 7:25 pm

Kasey, I have a pair, I'd love to buy another pair but i poor for the hour..... :(

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 6th, 2011, 10:22 am

smokey , rent a amp have sale on the jrx125...

Postby SmokeyGTi » September 6th, 2011, 12:40 pm

interesting..how much they calling for a pair?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 6th, 2011, 5:39 pm

$2800 each

brand new in box

matthewmazda

Postby matthewmazda » September 12th, 2011, 12:05 pm

cherrypopper wrote:$2800 each

brand new in box

thats a good price ?

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » September 12th, 2011, 12:13 pm

yea thaz a good price

vijar

WTK MACBOOK

Postby vijar » September 13th, 2011, 2:48 pm

he new 2011 macbook with the intel i5 processor.... does anyone have one of these that they use with serato? the SL 1 box? i know windows based laptops with i processors have problems with the SL1 box ....it drops out...

so does anyone here use the SL1 with the macbook with the i5/i7 processor? oh btw its OSX Lion

Thanks

Re: WTK MACBOOK

Postby nemisis » September 13th, 2011, 2:49 pm

Has an apple thread.....

Postby eliteauto » September 13th, 2011, 2:50 pm

more for DJ' s to answer than techies

Ultimas

Postby Ultimas » September 13th, 2011, 8:48 pm

The Bose® RoomMatch™ array module and PowerMatch™ amplifier coming soon

Signal-to-Noise Ratio
> 102 dBA (1 dB below rated power)
A/D and D/A Converters
24-bit / 48 kHz
Input Channels
8 (balanced line level)
Output Channels
2 to 8 configurable, using 8-pin Phoenix® connectors
Dimensions
3.5" H x 19" W x 20.7" D (88 mm x 483 mm x 525 mm)- 2 rack space
Net Weight
28 lb (12.7 kg)

http://www.bose.co.uk/GB/en/new-from-bose/roommatch-aray-module-and-powerMatch-configurable-professional-amplifier.jsp

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » September 14th, 2011, 2:27 am

Currently I got a 15" MBP with an i5 quad running Snow Leopard and Serato thru a ttm57 mixer, no issues thus far. I've got a buddy with a MBP 13" with an i3 Mac OS Lion running Serato thru a ttm57 mixer with no issues.
I know that Rane admits that Serato isn't fully compatable with lion as yet, but he has been running it for about 2 weeks with no problems.
I've never tried the SL1 so i have no experience with that box.

vijar wrote:he new 2011 macbook with the intel i5 processor.... does anyone have one of these that they use with serato? the SL 1 box? i know windows based laptops with i processors have problems with the SL1 box ....it drops out...

so does anyone here use the SL1 with the macbook with the i5/i7 processor? oh btw its OSX Lion

Thanks