Re: Coup Documentary on TV6

Postby nismoid » July 28th, 2010, 8:57 pm

oh you poor brainwashed pnmites tsk tsk

Postby bluefete » July 28th, 2010, 8:59 pm

Cjruckus wrote:See brett you won't find any of these things in the Coup Documentary on TV 6.

Bakr tried to help the people before, but the Government was the Problem. The NAR did not want Bakr to make any political advances, which is why they had the Jamaat under lock.

Again with 33 seats in the house you expect everybody in the country to keep loving you, but after 2 years this was not the case. I expect the same thing to happen with the PP in power. they feel they are too big for themselves.

None so blind as those who cannot see.

Postby eliteauto » July 28th, 2010, 9:17 pm

funny you call ppl brainwashed and blind but the facts are there (were you there?) In case you weren't the NAR won the election on the theme "One Love" ("We will rise" ver1) in 1996, the electorate was fed up of the PNM and the oil boom was over and we were in a recession, the NAR adopted a drastic fiscal policy of cutting public servants COLA, wage freeze, tightening the negative list etc whilst promoting a State dependent economy (hence cj's socialist comment) public servants were unhappy and police officers marched around the Red House ( this is/was illegal btw but they were fed up) narco trafficking/transhipping was now setting in and the lure of the money was strong, the Jamaat was able to galvanise hundreds of disenchanted and jaded youths and were seen as a direct threat to the groundswell that the NAR had enjoyed 3 years prior and they were very anti-JAM, hence the occupation of the land next door and the tearing down of the wall, setting up the tension that eventually ran into the coup attempt that Bakr mistakenly thought would have been supported by the people

nismoid you're coming off like a dyed-in-the-wool UNCite who will oppose for opposing sake trying hard to align the PNM to everything negative and be anti-cjruckus irregardless of if he makes sense, that makes you a sycophant, the suggestion is that Patrick Manning, Basdeo Panday, Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj etc had prior knowledge of the events not a PNM party alignment and collusion in the coup

Postby Cjruckus » July 28th, 2010, 10:45 pm

eliteauto wrote:funny you call ppl brainwashed and blind but the facts are there (were you there?) In case you weren't the NAR won the election on the theme "One Love" ("We will rise" ver1) in 1996, the electorate was fed up of the PNM and the oil boom was over and we were in a recession, the NAR adopted a drastic fiscal policy of cutting public servants COLA, wage freeze, tightening the negative list etc whilst promoting a State dependent economy (hence cj's socialist comment) public servants were unhappy and police officers marched around the Red House ( this is/was illegal btw but they were fed up) narco trafficking/transhipping was now setting in and the lure of the money was strong, the Jamaat was able to galvanise hundreds of disenchanted and jaded youths and were seen as a direct threat to the groundswell that the NAR had enjoyed 3 years prior and they were very anti-JAM, hence the occupation of the land next door and the tearing down of the wall, setting up the tension that eventually ran into the coup attempt that Bakr mistakenly thought would have been supported by the people

nismoid you're coming off like a dyed-in-the-wool UNCite who will oppose for opposing sake trying hard to align the PNM to everything negative and be anti-cjruckus irregardless of if he makes sense, that makes you a sycophant, the suggestion is that Patrick Manning, Basdeo Panday, Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj etc had prior knowledge of the events not a PNM party alignment and collusion in the coup

Brett, these kids dont understand the NAR hatred.
Why do you think Bas distanced himself from all those who were associated with the NAR? Kamla seems to not have a problem with them.. even so she would align herself with NUFF if she had a chance.

Postby tr1ad » July 28th, 2010, 11:43 pm

dang i remember in school the year before for a kaiso i sang "robbie yuh want to kill we"

but to add to elite's comments.....

la tinta bay incident was allegedly linked to who again????

Postby UML » July 29th, 2010, 1:25 am

k i found out who was the customs officer who allowed the guns to pass...hearsay info...so i go wait until the enquiry come out to see if it is true.

also found out who released the amnesty document...apparently one person hid it and carried it outside.....and well abu found out and it was handed over to him

i guess we go have tuh wait and see

nismoid

Postby nismoid » July 29th, 2010, 6:49 am

eliteauto wrote:funny you call ppl brainwashed and blind but the facts are there (were you there?) In case you weren't the NAR won the election on the theme "One Love" ("We will rise" ver1) in 1996, the electorate was fed up of the PNM and the oil boom was over and we were in a recession, the NAR adopted a drastic fiscal policy of cutting public servants COLA, wage freeze, tightening the negative list etc whilst promoting a State dependent economy (hence cj's socialist comment) public servants were unhappy and police officers marched around the Red House ( this is/was illegal btw but they were fed up) narco trafficking/transhipping was now setting in and the lure of the money was strong, the Jamaat was able to galvanise hundreds of disenchanted and jaded youths and were seen as a direct threat to the groundswell that the NAR had enjoyed 3 years prior and they were very anti-JAM, hence the occupation of the land next door and the tearing down of the wall, setting up the tension that eventually ran into the coup attempt that Bakr mistakenly thought would have been supported by the people

just a few words for you and your pnmite partners :-
during that time, I had already voted twice, how many times did you or your pnmites partners voted back in those days?
back then I was one of the people defending property from looters during the coup,
I was protecting my children,
I was one of the people trying to restore democracy in Trinidad,
where were you? how old were you at the time?
what i know about those times was first hand knowledge, not what people said or what i read somewhere.
and if you feel i am a dyed-in-the-wool unc-ite, well thats your opinion, but I am anything that a pnmite isn't.
and in case you didnt know, ramesh maraj was whose lawyer at the time?,,,, abu bakr
the people who got shot in the red house were who?
only the people in govt at the time.
ever heard abu bakr say he had a deal with manning?
so it is reasonable to say that people in the pnm conspired with abu bakr to stage the coup.

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 29th, 2010, 7:42 am

I wouldn't say the pnm conspired, but rather were quite aware and purposefully did nothing to prevent it from happening.

btw on oen of the locan stations during the week i see the shirt emett hennessey had on with the blood and the bullet hole still there, i get goosebumps there yes..

Postby eliteauto » July 29th, 2010, 8:38 am

nismoid wrote:

just a few words for you and your pnmite partners :-
during that time, I had already voted twice, how many times did you or your pnmites partners voted back in those days?
back then I was one of the people defending property from looters during the coup,
I was protecting my children,
I was one of the people trying to restore democracy in Trinidad,
where were you? how old were you at the time?
what i know about those times was first hand knowledge, not what people said or what i read somewhere.
and if you feel i am a dyed-in-the-wool unc-ite, well thats your opinion, but I am anything that a pnmite isn't.
and in case you didnt know, ramesh maraj was whose lawyer at the time?,,,, abu bakr
the people who got shot in the red house were who?
only the people in govt at the time.
ever heard abu bakr say he had a deal with manning?
so it is reasonable to say that people in the pnm conspired with abu bakr to stage the coup.

I lol'd at first hand experience, you think I'm quoting something I read? I was there and also protected property, suddenly you wanna backpedal and make it a d!ck measuring contest? You state things already stated and think that's a retort? I lol some more at your changing from
no kant, the only thing that is a fact is that the pnm who was in opposition at the time ,conspired with abu bakr to stage the coup.

to the above
suddenly your broad brush becomes narrow? hope the same doesn't happen to you when you're d!ck measuring

Again anyone who questions the mindless PP sheep is a PNMite, I lol at that even louder you clearly don't qualify as being intelligent enough to engage in any impartial discussion
Phillo was a Sergeant back then but now.......

nismoid

Postby nismoid » July 29th, 2010, 9:21 am

it was never a 'dick measuring' contest however if it was, your spouse and female family members would tell you not to do that cause you would lose.
but back to the topic, when the COI starts you will see how much facts i just stated.
so i hope this thread is still here.
end of discussion.

Postby UML » August 1st, 2010, 8:08 pm

SHOWING AGAIN ON TV6!!!!

Slow Poke

Postby Slow Poke » August 2nd, 2010, 9:29 am

lol at pioneer......tiger balm and dinner mints well yes

Postby Cjruckus » August 2nd, 2010, 11:30 am

nismoid wrote:it was never a 'dick measuring' contest however if it was, your spouse and female family members would tell you not to do that cause you would lose.
but back to the topic, when the COI starts you will see how much facts i just stated.
so i hope this thread is still here.
end of discussion.

LOL

man i think many threads ago you lost all street cred...noone takes you serious...your lack of informed opinions/statements enforces such

you no better than a uncmite...you talk before you think and speak pure uneducated and uninformed RUBBISH

please come back in 2014...by then you might have learned something about your country...

which further makes me think you are guyanese...because you were selling tiger balm and dinner mint outside woodford square...doesn't mean you were "protecting property"

it's only ah peerhah and ah umbrella dude...take it light

are you guyanese?

the_animal

Postby the_animal » August 3rd, 2010, 11:24 pm

all yuh no if dem go show it over .. i wah c it.. i missed :( :(

Postby Rooki3 » August 3rd, 2010, 11:33 pm

^^^x2

Postby UML » August 18th, 2010, 8:43 am

UML wrote:BTW wah allyuh think about the State auctioning his land....good idea...but i dont think anyone will buy them for fear of being bullied off of it, sell it cheap or even killed!!!

BAKR AUCTION FLOPS
State raises just $5.2m of $42.4m target
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Aug 18, 2010 at 12:52 AM ECT
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/BAK ... FLOPS.html

Story Updated: Aug 18, 2010 at 1:33 AM ECT

THE FAMILY of Jamaat-al-Muslimeen leader Imam Yasin Abu Bakr was able to buy back two of ten properties which the State had seized and publicly auctioned yesterday.

Indrani Maharaj-Abu Bakr, one of the Imam's four wives, and his son, Ayinde, successfully bid on two properties which were on the auction block yesterday.

Auctioneer Peter Soon supervised the auction, which was held inside the auditorium at City Hall, Port of Spain.

Soon said there was no difficulty with Abu Bakr's family repurchasing the properties, since according to the terms of the sale "parties are at liberty to bid".

"If Mr Bakr himself wanted to bid on a property we would have accepted his bid. So if it is okay for him then it must be okay for his family," Soon said after the auction.

Ten properties, owned by Abu Bakr and his second-in-command Kala Aki Bua, were auctioned yesterday, as the State attempted to recover a $42.3 million debt (including interest) incurred from the destruction of the Police Headquarters during the 1990 attempted coup.

The State raised $5,212,000 at yesterday's auction. The auction came as a result of a ruling by Justice Rajendra Narine on September 11 last year.

It is now up to the State to determine how to recover the $37 million shortfall, Soon said. The total price of the two properties purchased by the Imam's wife and son was $2.4 million.

"We anticipated a better turnout. I believe if there were more people present the competition would have pushed the prices higher," Soon said of the procedure.

Uniformed police officers were stationed at the entrance of City Hall and inside the auditorium.

There were 62 registered bidders at yesterday's auction, according to registration forms.

Abu Bakr and a group of Jamaat members, dressed in khaki uniforms and black kippahs, formed part of the audience at yesterday's auction. Abu Bakr left the auction around 11 a.m.

Soon began the auction proceedings by listing the rules and terms of sale for the properties.

"The properties are being sold 'as is and where is'. So I give no warranty as to title. You buy at your own risk," Soon told prospective bidders.

At the end of yesterday's auction only a house and property at La Puerta, Diego Martin, was left unsold. It was being offered for $1.1 million.

Abu Bakr's son Fuad made a $100,000 bid for the property. It was refused by Soon.

The ten properties which were sold yesterday were bought by five bidders.

The most expensive property to be sold yesterday was a property at Maharaj Lands in Marabella.

Anthony Cherry, a former board member of the Urban Development Corporation of Trinidad and Tobago (UDeCOTT), purchased the Marabella property for $1.6 million.

Maharaj-Abu Bakr purchased the land at Dibe Road, Long Circular, along with a building housing six apartments located on the property for $1.3 million.

Ayinde Abu Bakr bought an undivided half-share of property and building at #10 Park Avenue Queen's Park East, Port of Spain, for $1.1 million.

A man named Narine, who refused to give his first name, bought two properties at yesterday's auction. These included a parcel of land at Lot 5 in Guayaguayare, Mayaro, for $72,000, in addition to land and a house at "Zorro" Las Cuevas for $380,000.

A man named Nagassar, who also refused to give his first name, bought four parcels of land at Rivulet Road, Indian Trail, Couva, for a total of $760,000.

Successful bidders were required to make a ten per cent deposit of their bid yesterday. The balance is expected to be paid in 30 days.

The auction lasted just under four hours and ended at 1.48 p.m.

Abu Bakr remained mum when contacted by the Express yesterday for comment on the auction.

"No comment," Abu Bakr said.

Contacted an hour after the auction, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, who ordered the auction on the State's behalf, said he was not in a position to comment on the proceedings, as he was not present. He said, however, that he had staff at the event who were to present a report to him. He said then that he would be in a position to comment after reading the report, but attempts to reach him last evening were unsuccessful as calls to his cell phone went unanswered and he did not return calls or text messages sent to him.

no competition...ppl fraid tuh come and partake...land sell cheap

Postby eliteauto » August 18th, 2010, 10:05 am

Gov't got pwnt.

Postby crazybalhead » August 18th, 2010, 10:10 am

eliteauto wrote:Gov't got pwnt.

I believe this sums it up quite succinctly.

Humes

The July 27, 1990 Commission of Enquiry

Postby Humes » January 27th, 2011, 1:24 pm

Let's use this as the official thread for discussion into the commission of enquiry into the July 27, 1990 attempted coup.

I'll update this post later with relevant info, but for now, we'll post links to/excerpts from testimonies, and share our own thoughts on the proceedings and the enquiry itself.

For the terms of reference, testimonies and even a live feed of the proceedings, check this link: http://www.1990coe.org/ (Thanks to searchingone)

Here are a few of the COE's objectives:

1. To enquire into—

(i) the causes, nature, extent and impact of the attempted coup, including any contributing historical, social, economic, political and other factors;

(ii) the underlying purpose and extent of the intention behind the plot that led to the attempted coup;

(iv) the identity of any person or any local, regional or international authority, institution, organisation or entity who incited, masterminded, planned, directed, conspired towards, consented to, connived at, acquiesced in, participated in, aided or abetted the carrying out of, had prior knowledge of , or was implicated or otherwise involved in criminal acts or omissions, including looting, which were committed in connection with the attempted coup, and the extent to which any such person, authority, institution, organisation or entity did any such thing or had prior knowledge of, or was implicated or otherwise involved in, any such acts or omissions;

(v) the national security deficiencies and breaches of law that facilitated the attempted coup and the extent to which it was possible to prevent the occurrence of the attempted coup;

(viii) The continuing propensities for criminal activity arising from the attempted coup and the correlation, if any; between the attempted coup and the trafficking, supplying and possession of illegal drugs, firearms and ammunition.
Last edited by Humes on January 28th, 2011, 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Humes

Re: The July 27, 1990 Commission of Enquiry

Postby Humes » January 27th, 2011, 1:25 pm

Former president and then prime minister ANR Robinson gave his testimony on the first day of the enquiry. Here's the transcript.

Counsel: During the course of you captivity, were you given anything to eat or drink?

Robinson: I refused water, I refused tea. I refused anything that they gave me that would have to go into my stomach because I was convinced that I would be poisoned by these men.

Counsel: Do you recall when the Parliament was stormed whether Mr Patrick Manning was in the Parliament?

Robinson: No. Mr Patrick Manning was not in the Parliament when the Parliament was stormed.

Counsel: What about Mr Basdeo Panday?
Robinson: Neither was he there.

Counsel: Did anyone of your captors come to you and ask you to communicate with the Regiment or the Protective Services in any way whatsoever?

Robinson: Yes, the person whose name I subsequently found out was Bilaal Abdullah. He came to me with his gun and microphone as I lay on the floor asked me whether I would do what I was instructed to do. And I said yes. I had just finished reading Vidia Naipaul’s book Among the Believers, so I had gathered from that book some impression about the character of these Muslim fanatics. That’s why I said yes, but I had intended to oppose whatever they asked me to do.
He then left me and went, and I thought that he had gone to consult with Abu Bakr. I did not know, but that was my impression. He came back, holding the gun nearby and putting the microphone to my mouth and said, ‘Will you instruct the Regiment to withdraw and lay down their guns because the government has fallen?’
I receive that instruction with revulsion. I thought it was not only impertinent, I thought I could not possibly do anything of the sort and should do just the opposite. So I shouted to the Regiment, ‘These are murders and torturers. Attack with full force!’

Counsel: What was Abdullah’s reaction to that?

Robinson: He drew back—it appeared to be in shock—but a young man who was a short distance away fired a gun. I don’t know whether he intended the direction in which it went—but it passed through my right knee, hitting me on the right side and exiting on the left side. That’s the bullet . My medical advisers told me that if the bullet had diverted about half an inch differently I would have died in a short space of time.

Counsel: While in captivity, were you handed any envelope by the Muslimeen?
Robinson: Yes, at one stage I was handed an envelope by one of the Muslimeen who whispered to me, ‘From your wife.’

Counsel: Did you open the envelope, Sir?

Robinson: I was really surprised at this because I thought these people were inhuman. And now I felt, well, they are human after all (Smile across his face). I opened the envelope and saw a bit of paper with a note, and I read the note, only three words, “I love you, Patricia,” who was my wife and that strengthened me because I did not know what was happening to her or to my children.

Humes

Postby Humes » January 27th, 2011, 1:32 pm

Former Youth and Sport Minister Jennifer Johnson gave testimony on the second day. Here's the link.

Johnson: Well what I observed was that while all the commotion was going on and people were scurrying around and screaming that representative Leo des Vignes was still standing and I was thinking why doesn’t he go down and as I looked again he was down, he was bleeding, that’s what I saw on that side.

(Leo Des Vignes later died.)

Johnson: Mr Robinson objected. He said no that you all are murderers and traitors and ‘I would do no such thing’ and ‘Attack with full force.’ And as soon as he said that I heard shots .

Counsel: Was he speaking into a microphone or some sort of telephonic device?

Johnson: I don’t know. I subsequently learned that he was given some equipment.

Counsel: What happen when Mr Robinson said this?

Johnson: After those defiant statements by Mr Robinson as I said I could remember thinking, speaking to myself. Now we are dead, I told myself. Then suddenly I heard shots. I think I heard more than one and we were all startled and then we heard Mr Robinson groaning, moaning, he was obviously hurt and Mr Dookeran at that point said, ‘We don’t want any bloodshed, let us negotiate.’

Johnson: I think the negotiations stepped up because Dr Hosein realised that if the persons who are injured did not get attention, they would perhaps die. So I think Dr Hosein was the person, apart from the prime minister, who really really stepped up and was a hero in that situation. So he was concerned about the negotiations stepped up, he was concerned that Mr Des Vignes was perhaps losing blood or consciousness, so part of the negotiations was to get assistance for Mr Des Vignes and also for Mr Robinson.

Counsel: So as a result of Dr Hosein’s efforts to step up the negotiations and people needing attention and so on, did that bear fruit?

Johnson: Yes it did bear fruit because the morning we understood that they agreed to let Minister Dookeran go out and they agreed to let Mr Des Vignes go out and they agreed also to get some medication for Mr Robinson’s eyes.

Postby K74T » January 27th, 2011, 1:35 pm

pioneer wrote:What exactly they hoping to uncover from this?

The truth will never come out anyhow...

Exactly :|

Postby hydroep » January 27th, 2011, 1:43 pm

This is interesting:

However, the Nanga Committee was not accepted by Mr Basdeo Panday. They continued their disrupted conduct and therefore I had to have them...their positions terminated.
Meanwhile, they had been going about in the country attacking the measures that were being introduced by the Government and attacking the prime minister and I have information that even in my absence (while) abroad, when Mr Panday would act for me as my deputy, he would use the occasion to attack me in the country. It was clear to me, even without that information, that his purpose was to bring down the Government. And that is the reason why I expelled all of his faction, which had been consulting among themselves in secret as Club 88.

Bas's response:

Robinson has an axe to grind...

In denying the claim, Panday told the T&T Guardian yesterday: “Everybody has a little axe to grind in the country these days.” He chuckled when told of Robinson’s claim. “How could I have done that?” he asked. In the early days of the NAR regime, Panday acted for Robinson during his absence from the country.

Article is here.

So the finger pointing starts.

Both he and Patos should be called to testify before the commission and raked over the coals. They should do so willingly, after all it's not like they have anything to hide. :|

Postby cinco » January 27th, 2011, 1:50 pm

waste of money

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 27th, 2011, 2:29 pm

Humes wrote:Former president and then prime minister ANR Robinson gave his testimony on the first day of the enquiry. Here's the transcript.

Counsel: During the course of you captivity, were you given anything to eat or drink?

Robinson: I refused water, I refused tea. I refused anything that they gave me that would have to go into my stomach because I was convinced that I would be poisoned by these men.

Counsel: Do you recall when the Parliament was stormed whether Mr Patrick Manning was in the Parliament?

Robinson: No. Mr Patrick Manning was not in the Parliament when the Parliament was stormed.

Counsel: What about Mr Basdeo Panday?
Robinson: Neither was he there.

Counsel: Did anyone of your captors come to you and ask you to communicate with the Regiment or the Protective Services in any way whatsoever?

Robinson: Yes, the person whose name I subsequently found out was Bilaal Abdullah. He came to me with his gun and microphone as I lay on the floor asked me whether I would do what I was instructed to do. And I said yes. I had just finished reading Vidia Naipaul’s book Among the Believers, so I had gathered from that book some impression about the character of these Muslim fanatics. That’s why I said yes, but I had intended to oppose whatever they asked me to do.
He then left me and went, and I thought that he had gone to consult with Abu Bakr. I did not know, but that was my impression. He came back, holding the gun nearby and putting the microphone to my mouth and said, ‘Will you instruct the Regiment to withdraw and lay down their guns because the government has fallen?’
I receive that instruction with revulsion. I thought it was not only impertinent, I thought I could not possibly do anything of the sort and should do just the opposite. So I shouted to the Regiment, ‘These are murders and torturers. Attack with full force!’

Counsel: What was Abdullah’s reaction to that?

Robinson: He drew back—it appeared to be in shock—but a young man who was a short distance away fired a gun. I don’t know whether he intended the direction in which it went—but it passed through my right knee, hitting me on the right side and exiting on the left side. That’s the bullet . My medical advisers told me that if the bullet had diverted about half an inch differently I would have died in a short space of time.

Counsel: While in captivity, were you handed any envelope by the Muslimeen?
Robinson: Yes, at one stage I was handed an envelope by one of the Muslimeen who whispered to me, ‘From your wife.’

Counsel: Did you open the envelope, Sir?

Robinson: I was really surprised at this because I thought these people were inhuman. And now I felt, well, they are human after all (Smile across his face). I opened the envelope and saw a bit of paper with a note, and I read the note, only three words, “I love you, Patricia,” who was my wife and that strengthened me because I did not know what was happening to her or to my children.

I have real respect for that man for those words.

Humes

Postby Humes » January 27th, 2011, 4:28 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I have real respect for that man for those words.

I sit down fighting back tears in work while I was reading this.

Attack them with full force.

Humes

Postby Humes » January 28th, 2011, 2:21 am

Former minister of State Joseph Toney spoke yesterday. Partial transcript.

Excerpts:

Toney: There was some shooting, you had the shooting coming from outside and they (Muslimeen inside) were responding and then having beaten Mr Robinson they then asked him to tell the forces outside to back off because if they continued shooting, they would endanger everyone. They gave him this walkie talkie (radio set) and told him tell the forces outside to back off, words to that effect, because they (Muslimeen) are in control now and if they (State forces) continued like this, many people will be killed.

And I heard Mr Robinson say these people are torturers and murderers and vagabonds and “Attack with full force” and then of course I heard a gunshot and Mr Robinson started bawling in pain. “You all have shot me. I am going to die. I am prepared to die for my country, you all are going to kill me. I am going to die for my country” and he kept repeating that on and on and on. And I think they tried to stop him from saying those words.

I heard the voice of Dr Emmanuel Hosein saying “All you don’t do that, all you don’t do that. If all you do that all you will kill him.” And I got the impression that they backed off. But he continued moaning and groaning “I will die for my country, I will die for my country.”

Counsel: Was the attitude of your captors toward you aggressive and hostile?

Toney: Of course, of course, of course. Clearly their intent was to humiliate us and kill us if necessary. There was fire. They were all armed. Some of them had two guns and they were pointed to us at all times. Their intent was bad.

From Express.

Former government minister John Humphrey's advice to the Muslimeen insurgents to "get something in writing" delayed the release of the hostages in the Red House by one day.
This was revealed by former NAR minister Joseph Toney during testimony at the Commission of Enquiry into events surrounding the 1990 coup attempt.
"I think there was some discussion between Bilaal Abdullah and Selwyn Richardson about some condition and we were lined up to leave and John Humphrey told him (Abdullah) 'Be careful. Remember what happen to the soldiers (in 1970). You better get that in writing'. Well, we stayed there for another day," Toney stated.
Asked by lead counsel for the Commission, Avory Sinanan SC, whether Humphrey volunteered this information, Toney said: "Yes".
Toney said discussions then ensued on how "this thing should be put in writing and the question, the whole train of our leaving there was shot down, whilst they sorted that matter out".
Toney said his colleagues were "quite upset".

"You wondered which side is he (Humphrey) on?"
Toney, who drafted two of the documents—one in which the hostages agreed to support Winston Dookeran as prime minister and another, the resignation of former prime minister ANR Robinson— said he had to "cajole" Robinson to sign the documents.
"You know he is a very stubborn chap. And when I went around, even though he was in pain, and bleeding and dishevelled, his face all battered up. He was grumbling that he was not prepared to sign anything. And I had to whisper to him, because gunmen were very close to me: "Sign this, it doesn't mean anything. Let us just sign this thing and get out of here". He borrowed the spectacles of Mr Rawle Raphael to look at the document and then he signed. He is a great chap," Toney said.
He said he did believe that the document were unenforceable.
"All my legal instincts told me that these things (documents) would have been thrown in the waste paper basket. Because of the circumstances under which these things were done. I couldn't see a court upholding it at all," he said.

A note: Much of this information is already in the public domain, in old articles and books like what pioneer linked. The commission of enquiry intends to dig deeper than simply a retelling of what happened, and will investigate other circumstances surrounding the incident. Too little too late? Probably. But I sure as hell not complaining.
Last edited by Humes on January 28th, 2011, 3:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

homeboy

Postby homeboy » January 28th, 2011, 2:28 am

Waste of time and money again and again............when will it end!

Postby sMASH » January 28th, 2011, 9:02 am

ent bakr still livin? why not ask him what he did concerning 1990?

it should have a statute of limitation on this, cause if u let the man live an run business normel after the incident, even to form a political part and go up for elections, u cyar be serious.

searchingone

Postby searchingone » January 28th, 2011, 9:09 am

found this link:
http://www.1990coe.org/

Humes, maybe u could put this link in your first post.