:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2012, 8:49 am

considering adding a MIG welder to my assortment, any suggestions?

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 6th, 2012, 2:56 pm

Definitely Lincoln Electric.

They're pricy @ Edoo's and FTF but you can get the parts and support locally (i know parts really are not an issue for you to source)

You should check the models they offer and see if importing one of the same models is more cost effective.

That way you can get the support locally if anything goes wrong as its the same model they sell and you would have gotten it cheaper (maybe) than their price.

Don't know if we have any dealers for Miller locally.

Postby Chimera » March 6th, 2012, 2:57 pm

should be able to get a good price at edoo's, them guh be meh in laws in the future :|

Postby X_Factor » March 6th, 2012, 4:42 pm

u getting a 220v flux core plant
or the one that has the co2 bottle option as well?

Postby pugboy » March 6th, 2012, 6:36 pm

get at least a 180amp size, 220v using co2
a co2 welder can be used with fluxcore but not vice versa

anything smaller is a waste of time
lincoln or miller are the common dogs

those unit weigh about 70lbs

I understand esab has a 200amp inverter unit which has good reviews and only weighs 26lbs.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 6th, 2012, 6:58 pm

Got a set of these $9 Amazon ($80 TT landed)

Milwaukee 48-32-1700 Insert Bit Screw Driving Set, 20-Piece

Phillip
1 - #1 & #3
7 - #2

Flat
1 - #6 & #8

Torx
1 - #15, #20 & #25

Square
1 - #1 & #3
3 - #2

1 Magnetic hex shank driver which has a retracting screw guide
Magnetic Case, lockable so the bits don't fall out

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 7th, 2012, 9:06 am

^^ Good stuff, I cant survive without mine..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 16th, 2012, 3:40 pm

just a lil heads up :

was in bhags yesterday & saw they have 10-15% off sale on some B&D , milwaukee & porter cable tools ...

Postby X_Factor » March 22nd, 2012, 9:35 am

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FK ... PDKIKX0DER

2 nice deals ATM, the stanley kit went from 26.00 to 19.00...and the Pliers went from about 27.00 to 20.00

not too sure how long they will stay that way

Postby Hook » March 28th, 2012, 4:41 pm

So tell me something guys. I'm in the market for a sander. I already have a finishing sander, but I'm no good at cutting straight lines, so most times I'll have to remove some material from two joined surfaces to make them flush and a finishing sander is no good at that. It's not some dread zig-zag lines or anything that'll need a planer or a belt sander, just kinda wavy most times.

So in looking it up online, turns out a decent buy is a random orbital sander.
Where would you guys recommend I start looking for one locally?
What features should I look out for?
What prices should I expect?

Postby Chimera » March 28th, 2012, 4:43 pm

anyone know where i could get a makita chuck changed locally?

will have to post up some pics tmr of what it looks like now..it got proper screwed up by some workers lol

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 28th, 2012, 5:18 pm

Check william h scott in Trincity for the makita parts.

Sent from my MotoA953 using Tapatalk

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 28th, 2012, 8:28 pm

Hook wrote:So tell me something guys. I'm in the market for a sander. I already have a finishing sander, but I'm no good at cutting straight lines, so most times I'll have to remove some material from two joined surfaces to make them flush and a finishing sander is no good at that. It's not some dread zig-zag lines or anything that'll need a planer or a belt sander, just kinda wavy most times.

I have not seen many RO sanders locally. There's a Milwaukee unit at Bhags and i thing the same model at Tool Store. Sorry i never caught the prices as i was not considering buying a RO at the time.

My main gripe with them is the specialised sandpaper you need to get (circular sheets) versus you need just regular sheets of sandpaper for the 1/4 sheet sanders.

The RO sanders work quite well, better than the 1/4 sheet ones for some tasks. Smoother finish. In using one once, i found that i could not apply the amount of force necessary to grind down a bad joint as i could with a 1/4 sheet.

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 28th, 2012, 8:43 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:anyone know where i could get a makita chuck changed locally?

will have to post up some pics tmr of what it looks like now..it got proper screwed up by some workers lol

Anything stamped on the side of the chuck? eg 20 UNF

If it's a regular chuck with the screw in the center, it can possibly be DIY. If you prefer a pro to do it, Tool Doctor may be able to help or Tool Store or WH Scott in POS. They all do repairs on various brands.

Point to note, when i called Tool Doctor when i screwed up my chuck, the tech actually advised me to buy the chuck at Bhags and try it myself. He said the same chuck was about 3 times more expensive if they had to change it. That's my kinda service.. :)

Postby X_Factor » April 1st, 2012, 7:00 pm

so i spent about 125USD in tools today....got some nice stuff
will post pics when i get back....
wanted to get more but the weight!!

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 2nd, 2012, 2:53 pm

Brought forth the smoke on my Dewalt DW511 drill yesterday :oops:

After doing quite a few holes on 1/4" flat steel the bit locked on the LAST hole and smoke started flowing out the vents.

Was already quite hot from all the previous drilling. Needless to say, i shat bricks.

Still runs fine with no noticeable loss in performance (yet) but i probably took some years off its life with that one. The lockup was not preventable but probably the initial overheating WAS... :oops: That just added to the conditions that smoked the motor.

Postby X_Factor » April 2nd, 2012, 8:26 pm

^ thats tough....atleast it still works and didnt kick the bucket

http://www.amazon.com/DeWalt-DWD525K-2- ... 531&sr=8-2
i got my baby i wanted for the last 6mths

picked up this as well
http://www.amazon.com/Porter-Cable-PC60 ... 646&sr=1-1

i got it for 20US!! in an insane sale the black and decker store had...as well as
several hand tools

they had the router for around 60$ and planer for 30$ but they were too heavy to bring back, i thought about shipping it but didnt have enough time...

ado15mk3

Re: Power Tools

Postby ado15mk3 » April 2nd, 2012, 9:15 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Hitachi NT50-AE2 Finish Nailer for my cupboards $475TT from Amazon vs $800+ at WHS, 2"x18ga nails

can anyone comment on these nailers?
which gauge nail would be best for woodwork (eg. bed, cupboard, bookshelf etc.)?
angled or not?
anywhere in t&t have? price?
thinking of a 15g angled finish nailer.

Postby gt4tified » April 2nd, 2012, 10:43 pm

Hook wrote:So tell me something guys. I'm in the market for a sander. I already have a finishing sander, but I'm no good at cutting straight lines, so most times I'll have to remove some material from two joined surfaces to make them flush and a finishing sander is no good at that. It's not some dread zig-zag lines or anything that'll need a planer or a belt sander, just kinda wavy most times.

Was in Bhagwansinghs Sea Lots just last week looking at the orbital sanders there...they have them in Bosch and Porter Cable....the Bosch is a little over my budget and prolly overkilll for what I need.....maybe Farfan might have better prices on the PC?

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Hook » April 3rd, 2012, 12:32 am

I bought a Dewalt Random Orbiting Sander already. Thanks tho.

Re: Power Tools

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 3rd, 2012, 8:02 am

ado15mk3 wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Hitachi NT50-AE2 Finish Nailer for my cupboards $475TT from Amazon vs $800+ at WHS, 2"x18ga nails

can anyone comment on these nailers?
which gauge nail would be best for woodwork (eg. bed, cupboard, bookshelf etc.)?
angled or not?
anywhere in t&t have? price?
thinking of a 15g angled finish nailer.

Remember 18-15 ga nails are not meant to be load bearing. They can both work for that type of construction, 15ga being better because of the size but it will leave bigger holes. You need to use lots of good wood glue. I think of it as the nails just holding it together until the glue dries. Good wood glue will tear the wood apart before it separates.

As for angled vs horizontal, its a matter of preference and the ability to work in some tighter spaces.

Nails are already difficult to find locally, angled nails maybe even more difficult, i have never seen angled locally.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » April 3rd, 2012, 8:33 am

good advice.
so i guess either way i need to use glue.
so 18g then.
strugler: any review on yours?

once tried to re-purpose an upper kitchen cupboard. was made using 1/2" ply, 18g brad nails and glue. as you stated, that thing was stress to break up without destroying it.

my only prob with using this system is that after i glue and nail there is no going back.
usually when i use pocket screws w/o nails and a mistake is made i just back out screws and continue.

GoS

Postby GoS » April 3rd, 2012, 9:38 am

i am looking to get a star tip t30 with the hole in the center socket to buy urgently pm and reply would be nice

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 3rd, 2012, 8:11 pm

The beauty of small gauge nails is that saws go right through them so you can get away with some very careful cutting.

15 ga should be fine, you need to fill the nail holes either way for surface nails, just verify the availability of nails before you buy. Bhags got some Porter Cable nails recently but 18 ga.

The NT50 works beautifully. Shot about 4000 nails of varying sizes with no issue, never jammed once. Very light and easy to use. I did not get a 15ga at the time as most were angled.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » April 3rd, 2012, 10:08 pm

Hook, the solution for fixing your saw lines, uses no sandpaper, no electricity , and makes no noise.
A good old jackplane.

Postby Hook » April 3rd, 2012, 10:12 pm

^^^ hahahahahahaha...I considered it inno, but I dunno how it'll work on MDF...will it work on MDF?

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » April 4th, 2012, 1:32 am

Actually... it could, but I wouldn't say thats the proper thing, my suggestion would actually be the belt sander.

Postby X_Factor » April 4th, 2012, 1:06 pm

a belt sander, orbital, electric planer is the tool for hook

i've used all 3 for the same issue as hook, and imo the belt sander works best! the only thing is the dust
the electric planer works nice as well with no dust, only shavings

Postby Rooki3 » April 4th, 2012, 3:44 pm

recommend a good tool kit to keep in mih car plz

Postby X_Factor » April 6th, 2012, 10:19 am

one of the happiest days of my life....i got more stuff as well, but its more bits, jig blades, hand saw etc...

My newest toy...its structure is almost identical to a corded impact gun..has some weight to it as well