Chopper Chat Thread

NorStar2K

Re: Chopper Chat Ched

Postby NorStar2K » July 31st, 2010, 3:32 am

bhisham45, you've been busy. Nicely done!

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » July 31st, 2010, 1:58 pm

Thanks norstar2k tell those guys take more pics and post them up

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 21st, 2010, 10:31 am

Just missed this at Piarco. No camera. It departed for Suriname after a routine 'tech stop'.

Bristow AW139.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » October 21st, 2010, 11:43 am

Damn! Bristow really spending their money, I guess our leg of the caribbean ops won't be needing birds like that?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 21st, 2010, 12:25 pm

pablo_tt wrote:Damn! Bristow really spending their money, I guess our leg of the caribbean ops won't be needing birds like that?

You may be surprised. Any further deep water exploration may result in exactly that type of (endurance) bird. It's cheaper that the S76 with similar (some say better) if not better performance.

Note: It's the same bird 'planned' for the Air Guard.

Where Type Rated?

Sasquat007

Re:

Postby Sasquat007 » October 21st, 2010, 1:33 pm

[quote="norstar2k"]Summit of the Americas - Helicopter

Capt. Jason Rooks, 960 AACS, was escorted around Trinidad in a Special Unit Air Assault Team helicopter with high fidelity optics and sensors.

(US Air Force Photo courtesy of Capt. Jason Rooks)

Summit of the Americas - City

A picture of Port of Spain, Trinidad, taken from a helicopter at 2,000 feet.

this is up in sautt, taught u cant take pics up there hmm
Last edited by Sasquat007 on October 21st, 2010, 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

NorStar2K

Re: Re:

Postby NorStar2K » October 21st, 2010, 1:53 pm

Sasquat007 wrote:
norstar2k wrote:Summit of the Americas - Helicopter

Capt. Jason Rooks, 960 AACS, was escorted around Trinidad in a Special Unit Air Assault Team helicopter with high fidelity optics and sensors.

Summit of the Americas - City

A picture of Port of Spain, Trinidad, taken from a helicopter at 2,000 feet.

this is up in sautt, taught u cant take pics up there hmm

Yuh notice the part that says "(US Air Force Photo courtesy of Capt. Jason Rooks)"??

That says it all. Once it's on the net, it's public.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » October 21st, 2010, 2:04 pm

So I'm guessing that logo will have to come off that? and the other two?

hot blue

Postby hot blue » October 22nd, 2010, 12:26 am

norstar2k wrote:
pablo_tt wrote:Damn! Bristow really spending their money, I guess our leg of the caribbean ops won't be needing birds like that?

You may be surprised. Any further deep water exploration may result in exactly that type of (endurance) bird. It's cheaper that the S76 with similar (some say better) if not better performance.

Note: It's the same bird 'planned' for the Air Guard.

Where Type Rated?

As far as I can remember it's a considerable amount better than the S76 in the performance area. Can hover single engine I believe.
Would love to have this in Trinidad!

Same bird 'planned' for Air Guard!

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » October 22nd, 2010, 8:23 am

Most definitely but we won't see them for a while. Bristow couldn't even get them on their AOC for the Suriname project.... "planned"....

On that note there are 2 Trini's trained on this equip already. Unfortunately for us but fortunately for them they all the way over in the sand box in Qatar. The first trini to be trained on it and most probably the first to take command is actually a Lady

hot blue

Postby hot blue » October 22nd, 2010, 9:32 pm

^correct is right

hot blue

Postby hot blue » October 29th, 2010, 9:06 pm

so based on the news reports showing both Dr. Rowley and the Honourable PM saying that the 'OPV's have been cancelled but the helis are still coming'

....we are really getting 139's in Trini?

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 30th, 2010, 11:46 am

All things being equal, yes.

Contrary to what Griffith said, the AW139s are not dependent on the OPVs to operate.

The OPVs only extended the operational range of the birds acting as a remote offshore base (mother-ship). SAR operations launched from land bases existed and shall continue to exist with/without such ships from T&T, regionally and globally.

The mighty USCG the world's biggest SAR unit, doesn't always deploy from seaborne assets. Even from there most remote installations such as Air Station Kodiak, Alaska. (They do have helicopter capable Cutters of course).

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » October 30th, 2010, 1:18 pm

I think HB lookin for a job! jus like me! LOL

hot blue

Postby hot blue » October 30th, 2010, 1:20 pm

I definitely fully agree norstar... but I would have liked to have seen the OPV in trini waters. Would have been a great asset to the region!

geodude

Postby geodude » October 30th, 2010, 4:05 pm

hey guys do we have any of these in Trini Super Puma, A number of companies fly these for Petrobras from the Macae Heliport, which i believe is the busiest heliport in the world, off course there are the usual S76 models, the C the C++, etc, but these are fairly new to me at least, some how i don't feel too confident about them, they feel a bit clumsy on landings and takeoffs especially on the ultra deep rigs,
the interior is pretty nice seats like 18 passengers, and apart form the pilot and co pilot there is also a safety officer on board.
This is a pic of one flying for BHS ( Brazilian Helicopter services)

this is an interior shot

the pics were not taken by me they were taken from websites but they are indeed representative of the true form of the Super Puma

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 30th, 2010, 4:59 pm

No Super Pumas (AS332) in T+T. The closest example of these is the Eurocopter AS532 Cougar flown by the Venezuelan Air Force.

geodude

Postby geodude » October 31st, 2010, 5:02 am

they look exactly the same to me

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 31st, 2010, 1:10 pm

AS332 Civil version, AS532 Military version.

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » October 31st, 2010, 10:50 pm

10 points to anyone that can tell me who the guy is on the left in blue.....

I'll give you a hint: he kicks the sheit out of nature.
09092009251.jpg

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 31st, 2010, 11:30 pm

Man vs. Wild host Bear Grylls??

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » October 31st, 2010, 11:40 pm

PapaC wrote:Man vs. Wild host Bear Grylls??

Correct is right! On location for his episode in Panama.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » October 31st, 2010, 11:50 pm

hoverauto wrote:
PapaC wrote:Man vs. Wild host Bear Grylls??

Correct is right! On location for his episode in Panama.

Going to bed. I'll have my cookie with warm milk in the morning please

Postby SUPAstarr » November 1st, 2010, 10:56 am

this mornin 2 SAUTT choppers were in the savannah, passed jus in time for lift off... didnt get a good pic...twas really nice

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » November 1st, 2010, 11:53 am

It was the Sikorsky S-76A++ and the Eurocopter AS355 F2 TwinStar I believe.

Postby Rooki3 » November 1st, 2010, 1:01 pm

hoverauto wrote:10 points to anyone that can tell me who the guy is on the left in blue.....

I'll give you a hint: he kicks the sheit out of nature.

did you meet him???

Postby crazybalhead » November 1st, 2010, 1:27 pm

The first time I rode on a Chopper, I was 17 and working at Bp for the holidays, in 1993. I wanted to grin but with great effort kept my cool. Visited Cassia I think, when the Bells were red and white.

That was a long time ago dread.

Postby foss » November 1st, 2010, 1:59 pm

damn, wish I could get a ride in one... I think I will be the happiest man in the world.

geodude

Postby geodude » November 1st, 2010, 2:04 pm

trust me going to work in a chopper sure beats waiting 2 hrs in traffic, for me choppers are like taxis now. lol

Postby crazybalhead » November 1st, 2010, 2:08 pm

geodude, any other trinis on the rig there?