djaggs wrote:there are many ancient documents that are proven fakes.
djaggs wrote:Well, how many of those people started off from such a lowly insignificant social position and changed the entire world to the extent that our modern western civilization has its basis upon the words he spoke. How many of those people were able to influence hundreds of millions of people to prefer to go to their deaths rather than deny him?
He only had a few followers during his lifetime but his life changed the world..
djaggs wrote:d spike, the reason I asked you for the source of the quote you used is because there are many ancient documents that are proven fakes. They were written at much later dates by people who were trying to contradict or discredit the Church. If you cannot prove the authenticity of your quote then your argument could be based on a lie.
Whenever you read a book it is important to check the bibliography for the source documents. Documents written 4 and 500 years after the birth of the Church cannot be authentic and many people quote such documents to deceive others into believing a false argument.
what percentage of the world is christian?
how many people were put to death or forced to become christians under threat of death?
how many people have died and suffered as a result of HIS presence and legacy 2000 years ago?
Jonathan wrote:A global flood would have produced evidence contrary to the evidence we see.
How do you explain the relative ages of mountains? For example, why weren't the Sierra Nevadas eroded as much as the Appalachians during the Flood?
Why is there no evidence of a flood in ice core series? Ice cores from Greenland have been dated back more than 40,000 years by counting annual layers. A worldwide flood would be expected to leave a layer of sediments, noticeable changes in salinity and oxygen isotope ratios, fractures from buoyancy and thermal stresses, a hiatus in trapped air bubbles, and probably other evidence. Why doesn't such evidence show up?
How are the polar ice caps even possible? Such a mass of water as the Flood would have provided sufficient buoyancy to float the polar caps off their beds and break them up. They wouldn't regrow quickly. In fact, the Greenland ice cap would not regrow under modern (last 10000 years) climatic conditions.
Why did the Flood not leave traces on the sea floors? A year long flood should be recognizable in sea bottom cores by
(1) an uncharacteristic amount of terrestrial detritus,
(2) different grain size distributions in the sediment,
(3) a shift in oxygen isotope ratios (rain has a different isotopic composition from seawater),
(4) a massive extinction, and (n) other characters.
Why do none of these show up?
Why is there no evidence of a flood in tree ring dating? Tree ring records go back more than 10,000 years, with no evidence of a catastrophe during that time.
MG Man wrote:djaggs wrote:there are many ancient documents that are proven fakes.
such as the bible
what percentage of the world is christian?
how many people were put to death or forced to become christians under threat of death?
how many people have died and suffered as a result of HIS presence and legacy 2000 years ago?
djaggs wrote:
Jesus never intended the Church to be led by carnal men but the result is the excesses you see in history. .[/i]
djaggs wrote:
To answer your first statement, bring your evidence that the bible is fake and we will disuss it.
djaggs wrote:From my understanding, and as far as i know, ancient writings, the early Christians were persecuted because they refused to bow down to Caesar.
When the apostle says,.....That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth;
again this was confrontational doctrine. These letters were being read to the Church all over Rome.
When Christians prayed and declared "in the name of Jesus" this was an affront to Caesar...
Try and remember when you read St. Paul's letters and other early Christian writings, that the early Christians fully expected Jesus to return in their lifetime. (Don't take my word for it, go and study - formally - this era under some scriptural historian, preferably belonging to whatever religion you follow.) Due to this concept, their idea of Christ's Kingdom was more "worldly" than our own. The main world power at the time was the Roman Empire, so Jesus' Kingdom obviously was going to supplant the Romans. With that in mind, "We is on de winnin' side!" would have been a fairly common mindset among the younger, more vociferous ones, who weren't quite clear on the entire concept, and this obviously was projected in their attitude towards the authority - sounds familiar? The more things change, the more they stay the same...
influential people in the society like priests, sought to persecute the Christians because they were losing followers and were turning them away from their religious traditions.
Quite right. But as in all civilised societies, one required assent from the authorities before one took action on a large scale. The fact that Christians met quietly, and thus gave themselves the reputation of having a "secretive" nature, didn't help much (there were quite a few secret cults at the time, so obviously, being secretive wasn't seen as a problem in itself) and gave their detractors more ammunition. Life for the early Christians was actually rather peaceful between the persecutions which were directed by an Emperor.
Early Christians were actually despised by those in society, they were looked down upon because they were ususually poor and considered social outcasts.... Well, who do you think would be mainly attracted by a new religion that claims equality, love and fairness for all? Slaves and servants? Or the wealthy people who became and remained wealthy due to the system of a classed society which required slaves to support it? So much in life is common sense - but common sense ain't that common any more...
Do not make the mistake of taking what is palmed off as Christianity today as a reflection of what it was originally when it was first planted by the Apostles.
If Paul saw the Church today he would not recognise it and would probably cry.
...So when Christ said, "Upon this rock I shall build my Church, and the gates of Hell shall never prevail against it..." he was: a) mistaken; b) lying; c) basing his concept on falsified documents?
this god you speak of is one sick bastard
No he isn't... he is a kind, loving god who smites the evil, stomps on the heartless, and strikes down the unbeliever, and is viewed by his followers in fear and trembling, especially since he flooded the world, drowning everyone, and has promised to destroy his creation with fire nex' rounds. Because of his all-encompassing love for me, I be going to heaven - whether he likes it or not. Beam me up, Jesus!
writing a book full of riddles, contradictions and vagaries that can be used for so much evil
No he didn't... he told some fellahs what to write...and they each wrote what they thought he meant, ignoring what was written before sometimes... kinda like when you ask a fellah to build arched windows and he does you know what... so you live with it and refuse to discuss it...
..........but we digress.....this is about the logistics of filling a wooden boat with animals for a 40 day cruise.......
Sorry boss, will stop farting around in this thread too...
d spike wrote:MG Man wrote:u still want dem mirrors fadda?
Yeth pleathse...![]()
Yuh ha' dem pappi? Pass fuh it? Ah ha' tuh shave mih leg?
wagonrunner wrote:d spike wrote:MG Man wrote:u still want dem mirrors fadda?
Yeth pleathse...![]()
Yuh ha' dem pappi? Pass fuh it? Ah ha' tuh shave mih leg?
umm yes please.
There seems to be a team of scientists following up on vague reports of a Yeti population / descendants in the Caribbean.
Confused how a normally cold-climate loving creature made it here, and flourished, even successfully breeding. They are utilizing a sizable portion of their budget in these harsh economic times.
The worse seems yet to come though, as the trail led to them to believe that said YETI pilots a red VIVA, throwing into even further, theories on it's assimilation into "normal" society.
So please, for the love of our nation's reputation, perform the highlighted, and throw off the trail.![]()
MG Man wrote:pioneer wrote:How dare you question religion, it was written in a book dammit
not questioning, just asking about the mechanics of the thing.....religions generally urge people to inquire and seek truth yadda yadda
TRAE wrote:MG Man wrote:pioneer wrote:How dare you question religion, it was written in a book dammit
not questioning, just asking about the mechanics of the thing.....religions generally urge people to inquire and seek truth yadda yadda
Modern Man cant explain Pyramids properly yet...but either way you gotta believe in something or be like the ones outside laying on the pavement, brains all over their mother's blouse...
MG Man wrote:TRAE wrote:MG Man wrote:pioneer wrote:How dare you question religion, it was written in a book dammit
Modern Man cant explain Pyramids properly yet...but either way you gotta believe in something or be like the ones outside laying on the pavement, brains all over their mother's blouse...
really? ego inflated ruler breaks the empire's bank to build big stone crypt using thousands of labourers over a period of two decades..... no rocket science there
basic tools, inclinde ramps made of sand, lots of blood and sweat.....
devrat wrote:MG Man wrote:TRAE wrote:MG Man wrote:pioneer wrote:How dare you question religion, it was written in a book dammit
really? ego inflated ruler breaks the empire's bank to build big stone crypt using thousands of labourers over a period of two decades..... no rocket science there
basic tools, inclinde ramps made of sand, lots of blood and sweat.....
but ent the aliens helped...they had a stargate after all