PREMIUM gas now $4.00/L .......lets discuss

Postby wagonrunner » September 29th, 2008, 11:34 am

crazybalhead wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Time to stop buying shittings jerk... :lol:
yuh mean let other ppl buy me beers when they hail me out. :lol: :lol:

Yuh cheap MC. :lol: :lol:

aye, i eh appreciate the MC comment.

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 1st, 2008, 7:05 pm

I sorry guys but I outta the country often enough to spend US $55 filling my tank to complain right here in Trini. Was a good trini salary? 12k a month? for the 'small man'. If the small man was forward thinking enough to want a car that didn't have to fix often with better safety than his rust box and he saved and scrimped and bought a RORO that is premium only he is screwed. I sorry clearly Trinis making paper or don't see the issue on the world scale...

Making 2000USD and paying $4TTD a liter/$2.40USD a gal. - 3.785411784 liters = 1 gal. - really is different to making 6000USD (not even doing a dollar to dollar conversion cutting equivalent salary in half) and paying $3.50 a gal./~$5.80 a liter. It just don't add up. I gaawn from $140TTD a tank to ~$185TTD complete madness... I looking to buy a friggin bike yes... Time for us to get like India or Pakistan...

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » October 1st, 2008, 9:35 pm

^^^lol borther man managers an ting daz bank managers salary yuh talkin der....d small man in trinidad does make about $2500-3500TT if he lucky

Terran

Postby Terran » October 1st, 2008, 9:56 pm

Mr. Cheese, great stuff! Thanks a lot! That helped to put a few things in perspective, at least for me! :wink:

Postby tr1ad » October 1st, 2008, 10:32 pm

norstar2k wrote:Attention Tr1ad - one Gas Suzuki Grand Vitara for trade for a Diesel Hyundai Tucson/Kia Sportage. :oops: :x :? :o

hmmmm

after payin 75usd + to fill up a car in d us..... throwe in some goodies nah, we go talk

doh worry wagonrunner....i eh go hail u out no more

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2008, 5:56 am

tr1ad wrote:doh worry wagonrunner....i eh go hail u out no more

phew thank hoss. i was worried yuh didn't see it.
associating with shottas like yuhself is too expensive these days. and i eh pimping no industrial machinery from a back alley.

NST

Postby NST » October 2nd, 2008, 7:45 am

dsaint, NP man hittin yuh BS...It don't have any lead in the gas period!

Regualr is still used for that 87RON "boat gas" that only NP and Jamacia does buy

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 8:00 am

TriniVdub wrote:^^^lol borther man managers an ting daz bank managers salary yuh talkin der....d small man in trinidad does make about $2500-3500TT if he lucky

So is worse cause all Trinis ent bank managers... One bounce me on my bday last year and telling me she is a bank manager so she cyaan be wrong and telling the police that she not gonna pay - wait I digress...

It is so easy for ppl to feel like we still have it nice paying USD$2.50 a gal. for gas but not on TriniVdub's more accurate quote of $556USD/month pay. So I gonna be nice x2 Vdub... Let we say the average Trini (leh we pretend that I too stoosh u know some of mih morvant brethrens) on the in between $7000TTD/month $1112USD... We still talking bout cutting out KFC and Subway? It still that simple? Including inflation in the grocery? My 1.6 4g18 CVT driving from 2000rpm to 3000rpm max to save gas... I still reaching 140km/h but it takes bout a 5mins now to get there or more...

I agree with rpging the red house but at the same time... PNM, UNC, COP, same for all ah we... dem boys not on we the people... We is only votes to record profits and nice life. I was told by a lecturer that very quietly all the elected officials passed their pay raise. So the PNM in power but UNCle in opposition didn't oppose that bill. Then came the raise in the price of gas so they was prepared. Me? I moving like a witness yes - voting is against my religion, health and sanity. That is just so that my hindu and muslim brethren and me have beef for one year ever so often. What would happen if nobody voted? If Baliser house and Rienzi complex was empty? Again I digress...

I maintain if I was making a lil' $2500USD a month minimum I wouldn't bawl as much. I know ppl with Masters degrees making $8K-$10k in UWI so again how does paying USD$2.50 a gal. = small ting on a small salary? Miss minister right about road rage yes... CVT is kool but slow all ah sudden...

Oh - octane boosters = BS (there was a link to a 5th Gear vid)
Oh - Premium = there are pluses to using it... (http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid ... t=lf&hl=en)

Octane Calculator - this is tuner somebody know how to use it ^_^ - http://www.csgnetwork.com/octaneratecalc.html

Clarity on Octane numbers - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octane_rating

Bless.

ps. I not trying to be controversial just trying not to be political.

oh and ps2... I didn't think of CNG... Was the price on kits though? or I buying a 400cc trail or a 600cc sportbike cause I cyaan afford a ISUZU or Ford or Mazda again with $30 a cc for 3000cc engines...
Last edited by djcarbon on October 2nd, 2008, 8:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 2nd, 2008, 8:02 am

The NEW car companies are talking bullcrap as far as I'm concerned, when they support the government (I wonder why?).

Firstly, I don't really believe we are getting the proper octane fuel.

Secondly, even though vehicles might FUNCTION on this minimum octane gas, it doesn't mean it's best for your vehicle.

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 8:08 am

Word. and fyah bun TK! for the heck of it!

TK! wrote:
~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:$210 to full premium gorne up to $280.

iz a cessna yuh have or wha?

my civic does take 110 and give me at least 350km.

Honda mih arse!!! The only people I cyaan chat to now is Corolla men but I fraid dey teif mih car so I didn't buy one... Now is best they teif we cars and get insurance... Wait they did! If we lost the ability to drive we cars is best they just teif them officially in the budget oui... ^_^

I doh believe we getting good gas either and I barely trusting the premium. But performance in my brethren Scion XB under 87 octane in the US is like we cars on premium down here...

SR20DET could use SupeR?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 2nd, 2008, 8:36 am

^^^^ The Scion is US or JDM?

And BTW... 87 PON = 91 RON

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 8:37 am

US in Austin, TX...

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 2nd, 2008, 8:39 am

The Scion JDM/US question was rhetorical. :wink:

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 8:45 am

My bad...

Postby pugboy » October 2nd, 2008, 8:45 am

I used 2 tanks of super in nze so far, works same as before and same mileage
stupid me not to try before, would have saved close to $2000 over last 2 years

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 8:53 am

Hmmm.... I dunno nah... the only '01 Lancer GLX I see putting super was rattling and vibrating like a can of beans... That was waay before this price thing. I watched the youth man and just thought he was cheap and wrong.

dsaint

Postby dsaint » October 2nd, 2008, 9:43 am

Strauss wrote:The NEW car companies are talking bullcrap as far as I'm concerned, when they support the government (I wonder why?).

Firstly, I don't really believe we are getting the proper octane fuel.

Secondly, even though vehicles might FUNCTION on this minimum octane gas, it doesn't mean it's best for your vehicle.

Exactly what I said in my first post. Are we all so naive to think we are really getting the Octane NP says we're getting at the pump???

eitech

Postby eitech » October 2nd, 2008, 10:18 am

let's say i was to full my tank with super jus to try it..what's d worse case scenario in terms of engine damage or what have u i could experience..i jus speculatin here

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 10:54 am

Bad engine knock. Some men will tell you sensors and injectors gone bad. That's debatable all through this same post. Definite poor engine performance. Find my post with the link to the vid on pg 14...

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 2nd, 2008, 10:57 am

eitech wrote:let's say i was to full my tank with super jus to try it..what's d worse case scenario in terms of engine damage or what have u i could experience..i jus speculatin here

Your knock sensor would save you, and the computer would retard the timing. But if you still getting knocking... it means detonation and over time, if you drive hard...

QG

Postby QG » October 2nd, 2008, 11:03 am

The guy from the interview in Early Edition said Super and Premium from NP are the same. Only difference is that NP used a chemical called MTE or MVE (Either one) which increase octane by 3 in Premium making it RON95.

The guy also said Super Unleaded is the more environmentally gas because it doesn't contain the chemical MTE or MVE :shock: :shock: .

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 11:09 am

Interesting. So the dude behind me whose car was shaking like a can of beans wasn't because of his gas?.. I too cynical. He working NP... If super was sooo much better how come it doh cost $4.00 and premium with the chemical $2.70? Sounding like PR to me... I mean I've heard that talk from an NP dude by my mechanic but I just dunno... Really though at the end of the day from the 5th Gear vidz a Golf GTi recommends 98/95 RON (NOT OCTANE). Diamond Motors ppl told my friends use Premium 95 RON (NOT OCTANE) for Lancers... So who to believe? The PR guy or the car manufacturers?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » October 2nd, 2008, 11:11 am

And why can't we get REAL Super "95 RON" and REAL Premium "98/100RON" ?

QG

Postby QG » October 2nd, 2008, 11:14 am

Strauss wrote:And why can't we get REAL Super "95 RON" and REAL Premium "98/100RON" ?

E-X-A-C-T-L-Y 8-)

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 11:27 am

This is why I come to TriniTuner!

Nissan QG15DE wrote:
Strauss wrote:And why can't we get REAL Super "95 RON" and REAL Premium "98/100RON" ?

E-X-A-C-T-L-Y 8-)

FOR REAL!!!

But as usual - blame the americans...

Definition of octane rating

The octane rating of a spark ignition engine fuel is the detonation resistance (anti-knock rating) compared to a mixture of iso-octane (2,2,4-trimethylpentane, an isomer of octane) and n-heptane. By definition, iso-octane is assigned an octane rating of 100 and heptane is assigned an octane rating of zero. An 87-octane gasoline, for example, possesses the same anti-knock rating of a mixture of 87% (by volume) iso-octane and 13% (by volume) n-heptane. This does not mean, however, that the gasoline actually contains these hydrocarbons in these proportions. It simply means that it has the same detonation resistance as the described mixture.

Octane rating does not relate to the energy content of the fuel (see heating value). It is only a measure of the fuel's tendency to burn rather than explode.

Measurement methods

The most common type of octane rating worldwide is the Research Octane Number (RON). RON is determined by running the fuel in a test engine with a variable compression ratio under controlled conditions, and comparing the results with those for mixtures of iso-octane and n-heptane.

There is another type of octane rating, called Motor Octane Number (MON) or the aviation lean octane rating, which is a better measure of how the fuel behaves when under load. MON testing uses a similar test engine to that used in RON testing, but with a preheated fuel mixture, a higher engine speed, and variable ignition timing to further stress the fuel's knock resistance. Depending on the composition of the fuel, the MON of a modern gasoline will be about 8 to 10 points lower than the RON. Normally fuel specifications require both a minimum RON and a minimum MON.

In most countries (including all of Europe and Australia) the "headline" octane rating, shown on the pump, is the RON, but in the United States, Canada and some other countries the headline number is the average of the RON and the MON, sometimes called the Anti-Knock Index (AKI), Road Octane Number (RdON), Pump Octane Number (PON), or (R+M)/2. Because of the 8 to 10 point difference noted above, the octane shown in the United States is 4 to 5 points lower than the same fuel elsewhere: 87 octane fuel, the "regular" gasoline in the US and Canada, is 91-92 in Europe., However most European pumps deliver 95 (RON) as "regular", equivalent to 90-91 US (R+M)/2, and some even deliver 98 (RON) or 100 (RON).[citation needed]

It is possible for a fuel to have a RON greater than 100, because iso-octane is not the most knock-resistant substance available. Racing fuels, AvGas, LPG, and alcohol fuels such as methanol or ethanol can have octane ratings of 110 or significantly higher - ethanol's RON is 129 (MON 102, AKI 116). Typical "octane booster" gasoline additives include tetra-ethyl lead, MTBE and toluene. Tetra-ethyl lead (the additive used in leaded gasoline) is easily decomposed to its component radicals, which react with the radicals from the fuel and oxygen that start the combustion, thereby delaying ignition, leading to an increased octane number.

SOURCE: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octane_rating

NST

Postby NST » October 2nd, 2008, 11:46 am

djcarbon wrote:Interesting. So the dude behind me whose car was shaking like a can of beans wasn't because of his gas?.. I too cynical. He working NP... If super was sooo much better how come it doh cost $4.00 and premium with the chemical $2.70? Sounding like PR to me... I mean I've heard that talk from an NP dude by my mechanic but I just dunno... Really though at the end of the day from the 5th Gear vidz a Golf GTi recommends 98/95 RON (NOT OCTANE). Diamond Motors ppl told my friends use Premium 95 RON (NOT OCTANE) for Lancers... So who to believe? The PR guy or the car manufacturers?

To start with, premium does not have any "Chemical" to boost octane. The chemical you speak of is MTBE with is NOT put in the local gasoline pool. In super and premuim, the components are the SAME but in different proportions.

Super is far less expensive because the government continues to subsidize the pump price, which BTW they can more than afford to do as we produce enough crude locally to allow for it.

Go with what your manual says but bet your bottom dollar those GA/QG engines can more than take 92RON.

As the other guy posted people should be far more oncerned with the MON of their gasoline than the RON.

yes dasint, you can be that naive you arent going to "lose octane" whilst the fuel is in storage.

W.r.t. CNG, I fraid that sheit outright, any pressurized gas in a car trunk is an explosion waiting to happen...

dsaint

Postby dsaint » October 2nd, 2008, 12:12 pm

^^ Who said anything about storage or "losing octane"???

Postby wagonrunner » October 2nd, 2008, 12:14 pm

NST,
yuh was going ok-ish, before you typed.
NST wrote:W.r.t. CNG, any pressurized gas in a car trunk is an explosion waiting to happen...

:roll: :roll:

dsaint

Postby dsaint » October 2nd, 2008, 12:20 pm

CNG is as safe, if not safer, than liquid gasoline. Although CNG is a flammable gas, it has a narrow flammability range. If released in an accident, CNG disperses rapidly, making it less likely to ignite than gasoline. CNG is also non-toxic.

The tank just takes up a lot of space in your trunk!

djcarbon

Postby djcarbon » October 2nd, 2008, 12:23 pm

I never said that the Premium had the chemical... Twas this post...

Nissan QG15DE wrote:The guy from the interview in Early Edition said Super and Premium from NP are the same. Only difference is that NP used a chemical called MTE or MVE (Either one) which increase octane by 3 in Premium making it RON95.

The guy also said Super Unleaded is the more environmentally gas because it doesn't contain the chemical MTE or MVE :shock: :shock: .

I just saying if its the same gas but the Super is more environmentally friendly as according to Mr. NP fro the interview then y charge us more for the Premium? To force us to save the environment?

Time for Trinis to park up the cars an move like Brazil, Pakistan, India and all the otehr developing nations and go with 2 wheels...

This sux.