COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 57419 (+90) cases, 1709 (+13) deaths, 4795 active, 50915 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 12:18 pm

wtf wrote:Hearing talk of a 3rd vaccine shot.
Roll up those sleeves, first booster of many to come :S

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 57419 (+90) cases, 1709 (+13) deaths, 4795 active, 50915 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » November 6th, 2021, 12:24 pm

hover11 wrote:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 6th, 2021, 12:25 pm

Beating up on children is not nice @st7

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 12:31 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Absence of evidence is not the evidence of absence ,also if you look at precedent it is safe to say first booster of MANY

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2021, 12:50 pm

aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:
sam1978 wrote:Some of you all blaming the unvaccinated for the spread of the virus but none of the vaccines prevents you from getting and spreading the virus so when it comes to the spreading of the virus, it doesn't make a difference if you're vaccinated or not so I don't know what led you all to believe it's the unvaccinated spreading the virus. As well, if an unvaccinated person infected someone know that the result would have been the same if the person was vaccinated. Is it that you all comfortable with a person spreading the virus as long as they are vaccinated?

Yeah. It really does. Unvaxxed people (fuel) keep the spread going.

That graphic is misinformation though.

You're wrong.

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2021, 1:00 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
eitech wrote:
adnj wrote:
eitech wrote:
adnj wrote:

This holds for unvaxxed ppl who properly mask, sanitize and social distance?

Vaxxed people can become infected. Unvaxxed people can become infected more than 10× as often.

3Ws + vaccination is 10× better than 3Ws by itself.

Interesting. So how would you rate vaccination by itself vs 3Ws?
How would you rate it?

Look at countries data with low vaccination rates vs. high vaccination rates.

Look at infection rates before vaccination were available vs. After the rate hit 50%.
Germany is 80 percent vaccinated.

Meanwhile in Germany :
German COVID-19 cases hit daily record as health ministers meet

https://www.reuters.com/business/enviro ... 021-11-04/

really? post your source. we'll wait.

or are you gonna ignore this because we've caught on to your bs again? stop spreading misinformation
https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.dw.com/en/germanys-vaccination-rate-could-be-higher-than-previously-thought/a-59438663

Germany's vaccination rate could be higher than previously thought

Based on their estimates, some 80% of people in Germany have received both jabs, with 84% having received at least their first. The estimates put the total share of vaccinated people at around 5 percentage points higher than official data — around 3.5 million people.

Simple Google search

Look at the deaths. Dropping.

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2021, 1:01 pm

hover11 wrote:
Good use of the excess vaccines.

Postby aaron17 » November 6th, 2021, 1:04 pm

ed360123 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:
sam1978 wrote:Some of you all blaming the unvaccinated for the spread of the virus but none of the vaccines prevents you from getting and spreading the virus so when it comes to the spreading of the virus, it doesn't make a difference if you're vaccinated or not so I don't know what led you all to believe it's the unvaccinated spreading the virus. As well, if an unvaccinated person infected someone know that the result would have been the same if the person was vaccinated. Is it that you all comfortable with a person spreading the virus as long as they are vaccinated?

How exactly?

You can just take out 'herd immunity ' part and ur good to go.

Postby sMASH » November 6th, 2021, 1:59 pm

2+1=1

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/tt-offe ... ndividuals

loopnews wrote: COVID-19

T&T to offer third COVID-19 vaccine dose to eligible individuals

Trinidad and Tobago will offer an additional primary dose of the COVID-19 vaccine to eligible individuals.

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh made the announcement while speaking at the Ministry of Health's virtual media conference on Saturday.

These shots, he explained, are not considered booster shots but additional primary doses.

He added that a third Sinopharm shot will be administered to people aged 60 years and over and to moderately to severely immunocompromised people.

Immunocompromised groups, he said, include those with active cancer, transplant recipients, those with an immunodeficiency, HIV patients and those on immunosuppressives.

Additionally, Deyalsingh said those who have been fully vaccinated with the AstraZeneca, Pfizer and Johnson & Johnson vaccines will be administered a third shot one to three months thereafter.

Meanwhile, Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Roshan Parasram further explained that those who received the AstraZeneca vaccine can be administered a third dose of the Pfizer vaccine

Postby aaron17 » November 6th, 2021, 2:11 pm

So a normal shot better than a booster?

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 2:22 pm

aaron17 wrote:So a normal shot better than a booster?
Pfizer stands to make $36B in profit from the vaccine for 2021 good on them

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » November 6th, 2021, 2:23 pm

nah ppl not gonna take a 3rd sinopharm. demand pfizer and j+j and other mrna vaccines instead. let deyalsingh an parasram do some reading up on mixing vaccines and organize theyself and stop this bs of waiting 6 months to make a decision. the population only take sinopharm because it didn't have nuthin else then and it was better than nothing. now things different. ppl want to be able to travel and feel safer with mrna vaccines plus mixing vaccines supposed to be better. let dem hire a canadian vaccine specialist to come down and tell them that it safe to mix and better.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 6th, 2021, 2:26 pm

But if they had research the thing properly, why the whole thing changing up now? :lol:

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 2:29 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:But if they had research the thing properly, why the whole thing changing up now?
If they don't mandate ppl to use sinopharm then the sinopharm we paid for will go to waste and our Chinese overlords will not appreciate that

Postby Kenjo » November 6th, 2021, 2:29 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:But if they had research the thing properly, why the whole thing changing up now? :lol:

Lol allyuh slow to be saying why they didn’t research it since everything has been evolving

eitech

Postby eitech » November 6th, 2021, 2:35 pm

Did the goverment come out and say something wrong with sinopharm .allyuh know better than dem owah?? D best vaccine is the one available to you.

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2021, 2:51 pm

aaron17 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:

How exactly?

You're wrong. The formula for calculating the herd-immunity threshold is 1–1/R0 — meaning that the more people who become infected by each individual who has the virus, the higher the proportion of the population that needs to be immune to reach herd immunity. 

R0 for the flu is 2; ancestral COVID ~3; COVID delta ~5.

People that can't or won't vaccinate quickly are the reason that herd immunity is difficult or impossible to achieve with COVID.

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 2:56 pm

adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:

How exactly?

You're wrong. The formula for calculating the herd-immunity threshold is 1–1/R0 — meaning that the more people who become infected by each individual who has the virus, the higher the proportion of the population that needs to be immune to reach herd immunity. 

People that can't or won't vaccinate quickly are the reason that herd immunity is difficult or impossible to achieve with COVID.
So waning immunity from vaccines doesn't have a part to play in it as well?

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2021, 3:02 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:

How exactly?

You believe that booster shots are unnecessary - that's why the calculations don't make sense to you.

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 3:08 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:

How exactly?

You believe that booster shots are unnecessary - that's why the calculations don't make sense to you.
But u didn't answer the question tho

Postby adnj » November 6th, 2021, 3:27 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
adnj wrote:

How exactly?

Had you understood the formula - your question would be moot.

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 3:34 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:That graphic is misinformation though.
How exactly?

COVID-19: Ireland's Co Waterford has one of the highest vaccination rates in the world - so why are cases surging?New figures this

Ireland is 75 percent fully vaxxed btw

https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.sky.c ... O-A01206:0

Postby Chimera » November 6th, 2021, 3:44 pm

Glad I took the vaccines yes.
Sore throat gone

Just slight sniffles and a slight headache now and then

Postby sMASH » November 6th, 2021, 4:02 pm

hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
adnj wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
ed360123 wrote:How exactly?

COVID-19: Ireland's Co Waterford has one of the highest vaccination rates in the world - so why are cases surging?New figures this

Ireland is 75 percent fully vaxxed btw

https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.sky.c ... O-A01206:0
The shits not free. The govts have to buy them from the drug manufacturers.

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 4:10 pm

Nice man, Government continue to do NOTHING
FB_IMG_1636229413805.jpg

Postby MaxPower » November 6th, 2021, 4:13 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Glad I took the vaccines yes.
Sore throat gone

Just slight sniffles and a slight headache now and then

God is great

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 6th, 2021, 4:14 pm

Rowley talking tonight at 7:30pm.
Let's hope he doesn't lockdown anything.

Postby paid_influencer » November 6th, 2021, 4:16 pm

get well soon Phone Surgeon. Make sure you wear your surgical or better and God bless

Postby hover11 » November 6th, 2021, 4:17 pm

wtf wrote:Rowley talking tonight at 7:30pm.
Let's hope he doesn't lockdown anything.
Even if they don't lockdown at least a roll back this is getting out of hand and ppl not seeing that until you see 500 cases a day

Postby paid_influencer » November 6th, 2021, 4:17 pm

Ajit Lalvani, chair of infectious diseases, and director of the NIHR Health Protection Research Unit in Respiratory Infections, Imperial College London, said, “What we found, surprisingly, was that by three months after the second vaccine dose, the risk of acquiring infection was high compared with being more recently vaccinated. This suggests that vaccine induced protection is already waning by about three months after the second dose.”

Asked whether boosters should be brought forward in light of the findings, Neil Ferguson, director of the MRC Centre for Global Infectious Disease Analysis, Imperial College London, said, “Six months is an arbitrary cut-off. It was chosen because most of the early data from Israel on the effect of boosters involve that level of delay.” He added, “Biologically, there’s nothing to make us think the boosters will be any less effective if given after four months. It is for the Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation to consider the data and the government to consider whether they want to accelerate the booster programme.”

https://www.bmj.com/content/375/bmj.n2638