Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby Dave » March 15th, 2024, 8:04 pm

The lady in Endeavour?

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2024, 8:09 pm

that dead looking real good
where from?

Postby maj. tom » March 15th, 2024, 8:39 pm

Dave wrote:The lady in Endeavour?
Where exactly I didn't note too carefully I was driving and see a whiteboard sign $20 and stop. It was surprisingly good. I mean for $20 I really wasn't expecting much. It was somewhere in the back of Rodney road, I take the branch road by the lizard bar and it was right after a tricky 4 way junction. I go GPS mark it next time for sure I going back.

the next day edit: 10.5315,-61.4031
It right opposite the MP office.

Service is very very slow because rel people like they want to buy out the woman whole kitchen. A person in front me order 6 roti and 5 chicken and chips. I wait 1/2 hour for my 1 roti. The roti cooking it right there as it ordered, and the chicken and chips always have a backlog on order so the son always frying to catch up.

Last edited by maj. tom on March 16th, 2024, 2:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.

wing

Postby wing » March 15th, 2024, 8:55 pm

Cheap, cheap: $10 chicken and fries to beat high prices

TEN dollars might not seem valuable at popular fast food restaurants in Trinidad and Tobago.

But that same $10 can buy hot-on-the-spot chicken and fries from Leela’s Home Style Flavour.

With the recent increase in selected options at fast food outlets across the nation, fast food is quickly becoming a luxury item for consumers.

However, a social media post advertising chicken and fries for $10 at a local shop in Endeavour Road, Chaguanas has captured this newspaper’s attention.

The Express visited the Endeavour shop yesterday and spoke to business owner and cook Leela Ramkissoon.

Ramkissoon, 55, shared that she is dedicated to making food affordable for customers because she understands the added financial stress consumers now face.

“It have so much people out there who maybe only have a $20 in their pocket and they want something to eat or something to drink. They have to travel, they don’t have (money)…I know how my pocket used to be,” she said.

After living in Switzerland for two years, she moved back to Trinidad in December 2023, and took the decision to open her own business. She said, for as long as she could remember, she had always hoped to run her own shop.

“I have always loved cooking. I am cooking since I was eight years old. Feeding people brings me joy,” she continued.

While this new shop is only a month old, Ramkissoon said she is no stranger to the food industry, as she prepared and sold doubles and pies before she had migrated. However, this new venture has been her riskiest, she said.

“At first it was a little bit scary because when we started, it was so dead. Nobody knew we were here because they (were) accustomed with here being a phone place…we started with the little sign and we say we going to do it like that. We going to do $10. Let we just try it.

“We not making much in it. We making something; but other people could at least eat something and feel good about it,” she continued.

With her chicken and fries being the bestseller, Ramkissoon’s menu also includes chicken roti priced at $10, $20, or $30.

She added in the mornings, sada roti with bhagi, bodi, baigan, or avocado were available at $5.

But while most customers were “blown away” by the “cheap” prices, she said there were still customers who struggled to afford these prices.

“Sometimes some people come and say: I want it (a meal) for myself and my child, but I only have $15. I will give them it. I won’t do that for everybody. It depends on (the person),” she continued.

She said while the business was still juggling the costs of purchasing, preparing, and selling food, she was happy she could bring joy to people.

Throughout the start and operation of her business, she said she has been supported by her son Dinesh Ramkissoon, who helped her build her business from scratch.

When asked if she intends to keep her prices at the current rates, she said that depended on the cost of the ingredients.

“As long as the chicken don’t go up, we can maintain it (the prices). So far, it is okay. It’s good. People love it. Every day they come back. They just give you the money and say, give me this,” she said.

She pointed to one customer, who frequently supports her business.

When the Express asked the customer what brings him back to the shop, he said: “The food tasting good and the price is very good—excellent. For $10, you get your money’s worth. I’m not cooking again. I coming out cheaper to buy food here.”

]
65f373c52d222.image.jpg

wing

Postby wing » March 15th, 2024, 8:58 pm

65f373c52d222.image.jpg

Postby maj. tom » March 15th, 2024, 9:05 pm

Yeah is her self! I recommend.

The woman putting some real home style care in her cooking and I hope it doesn't change.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 1st, 2024, 8:19 pm

Bumppp! Looking for a good late night doubles! Who have a spot, central/south side

Postby rollingstock » May 3rd, 2024, 9:08 pm

See a lot of persons on chag main road on the right before the market. Never tried it myself but they attract a crowd.

Postby Chimera » May 3rd, 2024, 10:28 pm

rollingstock wrote:See a lot of persons on chag main road on the right before the market. Never tried it myself but they attract a crowd.
In front of daisy's. It does taste real bess

Postby rollingstock » May 3rd, 2024, 10:28 pm

Yep there self

Postby Chimera » May 4th, 2024, 10:26 am

aranguez main road has a nice doubles from 8pm til morning from wednesday to saturday as well

right after auto 8 / before carlos bar

kyle115

Postby kyle115 » July 23rd, 2024, 6:05 am

I'd recommend checking out the gyro house in Port of Spain. Their gyros are fantastic, packed with flavor and served with fresh ingredients. For burgers, the burger shack is a must-visit, their patties are juicy and made from quality beef.

You can find these places easily with a quick search or by asking locals for directions. If you’re also into exploring food, there’s a cool article on https://www.mklibrary.com/best-thai-food-in-sacramento/ about the best Thai food in Sacramento that might give you more ideas on what to try elsewhere.
Last edited by kyle115 on July 27th, 2024, 5:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2024, 7:26 am

who have a good smash burger at a good price ?
see a few pretenders at high prices

Postby MaxPower » July 23rd, 2024, 9:22 am

May i ask why there is so much inconsistency in T&T?

Postby Chimera » July 23rd, 2024, 10:44 am

pretty stupid question

unless its a franchise with set ingredients and rules/regulations then everyone stuff would taste different

different seasoning, different supplier, different cooking practices

Postby MaxPower » July 23rd, 2024, 8:36 pm

Chimera wrote:pretty stupid question

unless its a franchise with set ingredients and rules/regulations then everyone stuff would taste different

different seasoning, different supplier, different cooking practices

No question is stupid, but that is why you settle and accept anything….and thats fine. But the topic here is “Best” and consistency plays a major role, not excuses.

It have doubles men that taste the same way everytime. May have slight differences with seasoning etc as you said, but generally, it tastes how it usually does, not terrible.

But u just answered the stupid question…..its the different cooking practices that is one the reasons. Practices that involve not a care in the world. Practices that have NO pride and dedication to proper consistent preparation. Practices that management fails to monitor and address. Practices that people accept.

A good establishment’s food will always taste good and others need to follow suit.

Yuh food cannot be tasting like sheit and you telling me oh its the supplier fault, try again and stick to the recipe.

Postby pugboy » July 23rd, 2024, 8:45 pm

Max, allyuh left out the most important part of when you have workers who don’t care about consistency

Postby paid_influencer » July 24th, 2024, 9:30 pm

quick q:

where has good street food in and around crown point, or tobago in general

bonus for places that open in d night

Postby SMc » July 25th, 2024, 4:18 am

Along the strip between Coco Reef and the turn off to Pigeon Point have quite a few places, you are likely to find something there.

Postby 16 cycles » July 25th, 2024, 9:12 am

Sharks off Brazil coast test positive for cocaine

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cek9mr43x1xo

not sure what migratory patterns are....

Postby mero » November 23rd, 2024, 8:23 pm

Looking for a nice BBQ pig tail up North (not savannah) . Where has it good along the EWC?

Postby MaxPower » November 23rd, 2024, 8:44 pm

O toppy boss,

Nuh sure na

But this week i want to try Piigy Liiks in Eddie Hart Savanna.

Postby mero » November 24th, 2024, 8:29 am

Actually went to Eddie Hart as I was about 5 minutes away from there. No piigy leeks though, end up buying from someone else, but meh.

Had some Suya as well but daz failure compared to the og Suya man in the Croisee that used to be opposite where Ramesh and Leela were..

Postby pugboy » November 24th, 2024, 8:31 am

suya most overrated
salty stuff plenty paprika and powdered seasoning