.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby goalpost » January 11th, 2015, 9:35 am

one can only hope so...

Postby UML » January 11th, 2015, 1:44 pm

Help Us Bring Hangman Back

As the country grapples with a murderous start to 2015, Government is seeking to bring back the hangman by once again returning the death penalty legislation to Parliament. There have been 16 murders in the country in the past ten days. In February 2011, the controversial “Hanging Bill” failed to secure a majority vote in the House of Representatives as the Opposition raised concerns over provisions in the legislation. The bill was defeated as 29 Government members voted for the bill and 11 members of the Opposition People’s National Movement (PNM) voted against. it. As the People’s Partnership’s tenure of office comes to an end this year, the ruling party intends to once again make another effort to ensure the death penalty is carried out in the country. Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar had signalled last year her Government will again try to work with the Opposition to make this a reality, given the high murder toll. At the Parliament sitting last Friday, at Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan handed Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley a letter, requesting the PNM make proposals to ensure the Constitution (Amendment) (Capital Offences) Bill, 2015 is passed this year. Ramlogan stated in his letter the intention of this bill is to allow the State to carry out the sentence of death imposed by the courts on convicted murderers, regardless of how long they take to exhaust the various appellate procedures. Ramlogan pointed out that in 2011 when the bill was brought to Par- liament, the Opposition supported the death penalty as the mandatory sentence for murder. He further noted Opposition MP Marlene McDonald indicated the Opposition was in agreement that the death penalty is good law and had stated, “The position of the PNM is that we support the law of the land, and the law of the land is in Section IV of the Offences Against the Person Act, which says, ‘Every person convicted of murder shall suffer death’.” He reminded that the Opposi‐tion voted against the Constitution (Amend‐ment) (Capital Offences) Bill, 2011 although the Government made a major concession by removing the categorisation of murders. “Again, the Government would be happy to remove the categorisation of murders if the Opposition finds this objectionable, and would support the measure,’’ stated Ram‐logan. He stated subsequent to the last debate, he wrote on two occasions to solicit legislative proposals from the Opposition that supports the execution of convicted murderers who are sentenced to death. “To date, I have not received any response from your Office, and I therefore renew my invitation from you to either indicate your support for the Constitution (Amendment) (Capital Offences) Bill, 2015 or provide a counter-proposal for the Government’s consideration,’’ stated Ramlogan. “Having regard to the PNM’s public declaration of support for the implementation of the death penalty, I write to ask whether the Opposition would be minded to support the Gov‐ernment’s proposed bill to allow the sentence of death to be carried out,” he added. “You would no doubt agree that the role of the Opposition is not limited to opposing but includes proposing. It is untenable and unacceptable that a Parliament comprising elected members of Parliament from parties that support the death penalty are unable to pass a simple amendment for its implementation in the criminal justice system of Trinidad and Tobago,’’ stated Ramlogan. He pointed out in Jamaica, the Opposition joined hands with the Government in 2011 to pass similar legislation and amend its consti‐tution, section 13 (8), as follows: 13 (8) The execution of a sentence of death imposed after the commence- ment of the Charter of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms (Constitutional Amendment) Act, 2011 on any person for an offence against the law of Jamaica shall not be held to be inconsistent with, or in contravention of, this section by reason of— (a) the length of time which elap‐ses between the date on which the sentence is imposed and the date on which the sentence is executed (b) the physical conditions or arrangements under which such person is detained pending the exe‐cution of the sentence, by virtue of any law or practice in force immediately before the commencement of the Charter of Funda‐mental Rights and Freedoms (Constitutional Amendment) Act, 2011. Ramlogan stated Parliament had an inherent duty to ensure the rule of law was upheld and that laws are not passed in vain. He added the death penalty was part of the laws of Trinidad and Tobago, and Parliament had a duty to respond to the legal manoeuvres by convicted murders that frustrate and defeat the carrying out of a sentence of death imposed by a court after trial before a judge and jury. “Save and except for the catego-risation of murders (which we are prepared to remove), the Government’s bill is similar to the Jamaican legislation,” he said.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Hel ... lmob=y&c=n

The summary of the PNM....Opposition without recommendations!!!
Last edited by UML on January 11th, 2015, 1:49 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 11th, 2015, 1:47 pm

I wonder if people would really vote rowley? knowing that he is ah old PNM and nobody want any of these old politicians again?

do they not understand that the country want new blood and they tired of all these old bias crooks?

Its the same reason Obama won, people eh want them old ignorant muffler bearings as their President they wanted someone new and totally different. I see nothing about Rowley being new and totally different.

Look at what Rowley did to Isha wells, if people down that side still vote for he after what he did then they really dotish. The fact that Rowley blank Isha wells shows he is no different from the rest of old PNM crooks and he does not care about his people

We back to the same assness, square pegs in round hole. MPs who do not care about the people and there for the money. I have had enough of the crook Ganga Singh as my MP, and I never voted for UNC so long as he remained our MP

Infact we held a celebration when he was moved from Caroni East. So again seeing how Rowley operating its the same old sheit, no thank you. I need an MP that can perform and who knows the people and who can get things done, I not voting for any clown from a cesspool that nobody know or heard off yet looks like a used car sales man.

Postby UML » January 11th, 2015, 2:29 pm

UML wrote:Help Us Bring Hangman Back

As the country grapples with a murderous start to 2015, Government is seeking to bring back the hangman by once again returning the death penalty legislation to Parliament. There have been 16 murders in the country in the past ten days. In February 2011, the controversial “Hanging Bill” failed to secure a majority vote in the House of Representatives as the Opposition raised concerns over provisions in the legislation. The bill was defeated as 29 Government members voted for the bill and 11 members of the Opposition People’s National Movement (PNM) voted against. it. As the People’s Partnership’s tenure of office comes to an end this year, the ruling party intends to once again make another effort to ensure the death penalty is carried out in the country. Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar had signalled last year her Government will again try to work with the Opposition to make this a reality, given the high murder toll. At the Parliament sitting last Friday, at Tower D, International Waterfront Centre, Port of Spain, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan handed Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley a letter, requesting the PNM make proposals to ensure the Constitution (Amendment) (Capital Offences) Bill, 2015 is passed this year. Ramlogan stated in his letter the intention of this bill is to allow the State to carry out the sentence of death imposed by the courts on convicted murderers, regardless of how long they take to exhaust the various appellate procedures. Ramlogan pointed out that in 2011 when the bill was brought to Par- liament, the Opposition supported the death penalty as the mandatory sentence for murder. He further noted Opposition MP Marlene McDonald indicated the Opposition was in agreement that the death penalty is good law and had stated, “The position of the PNM is that we support the law of the land, and the law of the land is in Section IV of the Offences Against the Person Act, which says, ‘Every person convicted of murder shall suffer death’.” He reminded that the Opposi‐tion voted against the Constitution (Amend‐ment) (Capital Offences) Bill, 2011 although the Government made a major concession by removing the categorisation of murders. “Again, the Government would be happy to remove the categorisation of murders if the Opposition finds this objectionable, and would support the measure,’’ stated Ram‐logan. He stated subsequent to the last debate, he wrote on two occasions to solicit legislative proposals from the Opposition that supports the execution of convicted murderers who are sentenced to death. “To date, I have not received any response from your Office, and I therefore renew my invitation from you to either indicate your support for the Constitution (Amendment) (Capital Offences) Bill, 2015 or provide a counter-proposal for the Government’s consideration,’’ stated Ramlogan. “Having regard to the PNM’s public declaration of support for the implementation of the death penalty, I write to ask whether the Opposition would be minded to support the Gov‐ernment’s proposed bill to allow the sentence of death to be carried out,” he added. “You would no doubt agree that the role of the Opposition is not limited to opposing but includes proposing. It is untenable and unacceptable that a Parliament comprising elected members of Parliament from parties that support the death penalty are unable to pass a simple amendment for its implementation in the criminal justice system of Trinidad and Tobago,’’ stated Ramlogan. He pointed out in Jamaica, the Opposition joined hands with the Government in 2011 to pass similar legislation and amend its consti‐tution, section 13 (8), as follows: 13 (8) The execution of a sentence of death imposed after the commence- ment of the Charter of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms (Constitutional Amendment) Act, 2011 on any person for an offence against the law of Jamaica shall not be held to be inconsistent with, or in contravention of, this section by reason of— (a) the length of time which elap‐ses between the date on which the sentence is imposed and the date on which the sentence is executed (b) the physical conditions or arrangements under which such person is detained pending the exe‐cution of the sentence, by virtue of any law or practice in force immediately before the commencement of the Charter of Funda‐mental Rights and Freedoms (Constitutional Amendment) Act, 2011. Ramlogan stated Parliament had an inherent duty to ensure the rule of law was upheld and that laws are not passed in vain. He added the death penalty was part of the laws of Trinidad and Tobago, and Parliament had a duty to respond to the legal manoeuvres by convicted murders that frustrate and defeat the carrying out of a sentence of death imposed by a court after trial before a judge and jury. “Save and except for the catego-risation of murders (which we are prepared to remove), the Government’s bill is similar to the Jamaican legislation,” he said.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Hel ... lmob=y&c=n

The summary of the PNM....Opposition without recommendations!!!

Rowley's response :roll:

Rowley: Govt playing politics with crime Government is playing politics with crime by seeking to return the controversial “Hanging Bill” in an election year, says Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley.

He was responding to questions from the Sunday Express about a letter that was sent to him by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, asking the Opposition to state proposals that would allow the passage of legislation to ensure the death penalty is carried out. “Capital punishment is the law of the land, as we speak now, it is the written law. The punishment for murder is death by hanging, that is the existing law; it is the same law under which nine people were hanged one weekend,’’ said Rowley. Rowley said the final court of appeal in this country had ruled this country’s death penalty law was proper law. He said the Privy Council had indicated there were certain conditions that had to be carried out before the death penalty was carried out in this country. “The Privy Council had ruled in response to appeals that the death penalty law was proper law; it had laid down conditions and the State had to meet those conditions,” said Rowley. He said the State had not been meeting those conditions. The first condition was to catch the criminals, Rowley said. He said the State also had to win the appeals, and all this must be done within a five-year period. “Every time there is an election or an upsurge in crime, the Government looks to bring the “Hanging Bill” to the Parliament and play politics with crime,’’ said Rowley. Government, he said, should try to meet the conditions of the Privy Council or make the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) the final court of appeal. “On the verge of a general election, the Attorney General is talking about hanging people. How will that be received by the Privy Council and lawyers who will argue this is an election ploy?’’ said Rowley. “The Opposition is not prepared to play politics with crime,’’ said Rowley. He asked since when the United Na‐tional Congress (UNC) wanted proposals from the People’s National Movement (PNM) as it never sought its adviceon Section 34 and the run-off legislation. Rowley said PNM lawyers will look at the bill and he will officially respond to the AG’s letter.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Row ... lmob=y&c=n

Crime pays for the PNM....more criminals mean more pnm voters :roll: :lol: :lol:

Postby DVSTT » January 11th, 2015, 4:23 pm

As expected Rowley will not support them. Guess we'll just have to let our tax dollars pay for their upkeep in jail.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 11th, 2015, 5:10 pm

Bullsheit......when will you fanatics get it through your thick skulls that in order to hang a criminal, you must first catch him and successfully prosecute him.

Postby Habit7 » January 11th, 2015, 5:24 pm

When there was infighting within the PP the PM change the conversation by announcing moving to the CCJ (gratefully reversing her racist position). If we are still going to the CCJ, why bring legislation to satisfy Privy Council measures? Or has the PM given another false promise and hasn't reverse her racist position?

Postby The_Honourable » January 11th, 2015, 6:02 pm

I agree with you in bringing back the hangman... but improve the court system and the detection rate.

Postby desifemlove » January 11th, 2015, 8:05 pm

any proof that capital punishment lessens murders?

or coz de Bible say so only?

Postby DVSTT » January 11th, 2015, 8:18 pm

desifemlove wrote:any proof that capital punishment lessens murders?

They aren't solving any murders so that's an issue, however there are convicted persons on death row no so?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 11th, 2015, 8:42 pm

DVSTT wrote:

They aren't solving any murders so that's an issue, however there are convicted persons on death row no so?

Time run too long for the majority so they have been commuted, I'm guessing the others have made appeals

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 11th, 2015, 11:33 pm

The ones on death row still committing murders outside of jail?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 12th, 2015, 12:50 am

Saudi Arabia has one of the lowest if not the lowest crime rate in the world?

They chop off your hands there for stealing. But yes for the most part commonsense will tell you capital punishment works. A man is less likely to rape, steal, kill if he know the consequences would be drastic to fatal.

Also Gulags in Russia. Nobody going Siberia to work in mines as a slave, so they will try to stay out of trouble. Because Jail in Russia is not a bed of roses like Trini where tax payers provide you 3 grand meals a day.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 12th, 2015, 6:21 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Saudi Arabia has one of the lowest if not the lowest crime rate in the world?

They chop off your hands there for stealing. But yes for the most part commonsense will tell you capital punishment works. A man is less likely to rape, steal, kill if he know the consequences would be drastic to fatal.

Also Gulags in Russia. Nobody going Siberia to work in mines as a slave, so they will try to stay out of trouble. Because Jail in Russia is not a bed of roses like Trini where tax payers provide you 3 grand meals a day.

First things first. They catch you in those countries. Detection rates are significantly higher.

Postby UML » January 13th, 2015, 5:40 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:The ones on death row still committing murders outside of jail?

maybe I misunderstood but I tort das what they mean when the media reports that a hit was ordered from inside the prison :? :|

PNM supports death penalty

....but Rowley upset as PP uses it as political tool

Renuka Singh

Published:
Sunday, January 11, 2015

People’s National Movement (PNM) Leader Dr Keith Rowley is slamming the Government for using the controversial death penalty as an “election tool.” With 16 murders in just ten days, T&T had a bloody beginning to the new year and by Friday, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan wrote to Rowley asking him to either support the Constitutional (Amendment) (Capital Offences) Bill or propose changes to the bill that would foster the PNM’s support.

“As you are aware, the Government proposes to reintroduce the Constitutional (Amendment) (Capital Offences) Bill 2015 to operationalise the death penalty in Trinidad and Tobago,” Ramlogan stated in the letter. This is Ramlogan’s third attempt to pin down the PNM on the death penalty issue. But, in an interview with the Sunday Guardian yesterday, Rowley accused the Government of resurrecting the death penalty for the sake of the upcoming general election and not as a crime fighting initiative.

“It is quite annoying that with a few weeks to go before elections, they choose to play games with the death penalty. ” Rowley said. “The death penalty is already the law and the PNM supports it, we are not going to be distracted by foolish political games,” Rowley said. Rowley said instead of using the current crime situation to score political points, the Government should ensure that T&T met guidelines and procedures laid out by the Privy Council to use the death penalty.

“I know they (Government) want to say that the Opposition is not in support of the death penalty, and that is a lie,” he said. He said in 1999 former United National Congress (UNC) attorney general Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj utilised that existing law to execute nine men, including known drug lord, Nankisson ‘Dole Chadee’ Boodram. Boodram was the first person to be hanged in T&T after more than 20 years. “The identical law is what is there today,” Rowley said.

“What the Government needs to do is improve the administration so that they can improve detection, improve conviction instead of scoring political points by lying to the population and saying the PNM is against the death penalty,” he said. Rowley accused the Government of trying to use the PNM as the “scapegoats” and “part of their stupid agenda” as they are unable to deal with the spiralling crime situation.

He also said that the Government was seeking to amend the Constitution instead of complying with the Privy Council conditions. “And we know what they are because they have been tested and retested through trials and retrials,” he said. Rowley said the death penalty on its own was useless unless the police detection rate improved. “Imagine, out of 100 murders, 87 go undetected. We must be able to identify criminals,” he said.

MORE INFO
Anand: Opposition leader playing smart with foolishness

In a subsequent interview, Ramlogan challenged Rowley to a public debate on the death penalty issue. Ramlogan yesterday said Rowley was “deliberately playing smart with foolishness” by mixing up the detection rate with the death penalty issue. “Rowley is confused if he thinks the death penalty has anything to do with the detection rate,” Ramlogan said.

There are currently 500 persons charged with murder and awaiting trial in the system right now, those are 500 persons caught and waiting,” Ramlogan said. He challenged Rowley to “join hands” with the Government when the ongoing investigations, trials and convictions are determined by the courts.

“The question is when a convict is caught and prosecuted, would the PNM join hands with the Government to amend the law?” Ramlogan said.He said Rowley claims to support the death penalty but has consistently voted against it in the past.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-01- ... th-penalty

so the PNM supports the death penalty but votes AGAINST it?!!! :shock: :roll:

Postby 16 cycles » January 13th, 2015, 7:19 am

if the current law was used to hang Dole, what changed since then to stop the hangings?

what new law is the AG trying to pass that is different from the old?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 13th, 2015, 10:12 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
First things first. They catch you in those countries. Detection rates are significantly higher.

I agree with this

But why then don't they catch people in Trinidad? why do so many people continue to get away? who is to blame the police?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 10:38 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I agree with this

But why then don't they catch people in Trinidad? why do so many people continue to get away? who is to blame the police?

Imagine as a officer you catch a criminal, do up your reports, go to court etc and then the lawyer begs for bail and the magistrate grants it even though the guy is a repeat offender, how will that make you feel as an officer to know your efforts going in vain and mere hours after you lock up a man he back on the street. The Judiciary is in a total mess and the CJ only gum bumping and glass knocking and not dealing with the issues

Postby UML » January 13th, 2015, 11:56 am

16 cycles wrote:if the current law was used to hang Dole, what changed since then to stop the hangings?

The PC passed a decision, I think it was from the Pratt and Morgan case, where anyone in death row after all appeals have been exhausted can only be executed within 5 years.

Dole Chadee was not the last. There was someone else who was executed..but it wasnt as high profile. He was hanged before all his appeals were exhausted and the PC made a further decision which made it almost impossible to have another execution in Trinidad. The PC frowns upon executions.

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I agree with this

Imagine as a officer you catch a criminal, do up your reports, go to court etc and then the lawyer begs for bail and the magistrate grants it even though the guy is a repeat offender, how will that make you feel as an officer to know your efforts going in vain and mere hours after you lock up a man he back on the street. The Judiciary is in a total mess and the CJ only gum bumping and glass knocking and not dealing with the issues

the only non-bailable offence is murder.

THIS GOVT is trying to make GUN POSSESSION non-bailable for 120 days...but u know how crime pays for the PNM and how they vote!!!

you fail to take into consideration the poor evidence gathering and analysis of the police officers which cause cases to be thrown out.

Postby pete » January 13th, 2015, 12:40 pm

That's why this country is in the mess it is.

After a certain number of violent crime charges a person should be denied bail. This surely would not take much to implement?

Postby hustla_ambition101 » January 13th, 2015, 12:58 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Bai ... 56171.html

Bail (Amendment) Act gets nod
... ‘One strike and you’re out’

Story Created: Feb 20, 2014 at 10:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Feb 21, 2014 at 7:32 PM ECT
The “one strike and you’re out” law is now in effect.
The Bail (Amendment) Act, 2014 was last Friday given the nod by President Anthony Carmona, the Office of the Attorney General announced in a press release yesterday.
According to the release, “Criminals who are repeat offenders will now face certain jail as they will be denied bail if they have a previous conviction”.
The Bail (Amendment) Act, 2014 targets repeat offenders and one prior conviction for a specified serious offence can result in the denial of bail for up to 120 days.
The act was piloted by Attorney General Anand Ramlogan and was passed in both Houses of Parliament.
It is now the law, having been assented to by the President on February 14.
The act applies to a person who has one prior conviction for any of the serious and violent criminal offences (except capital offences) listed in Part II of the First Schedule to the Act.
When such a person is released from prison, if he or she is arrested and charged with committing another serious and violent crime within the next ten years after the date he or she left prison, bail can be denied for up to 120 days.
After that period, if the prosecution has not started its case, the offender can apply to a judge for bail.
“Thus this act will restrict, but not completely take away, the right to bail in relation to a specified category of offences,” the Office of the Attorney General stated.
“It will also provide a constitutional safeguard against abuse of power by giving the person a right to apply to the Court for bail after 120 days in cases where the prosecution fails to starts its case.”
Secondly, where a person is out on bail for any offence but is subsequently convicted for one of the serious and violent criminal offences under this act or the Anti-Gang Act, the court will have the power to reconsider bail in respect of any pending charge.
“The court may revoke bail or change the bail conditions in respect of the pending charge, in light of the conviction of a serious and violent criminal offence under this act or the Anti-Gang Act.
“A person coming into this country with a criminal record and committing a serious and violent offence would also be caught by provisions in this law.”
“A foreign or local offender who repeats his criminal conduct here in relation to serious offences would be denied bail for up to 120 days,” the release stated.

What the Bill says

The serious and violent crimes to which the Act applies are:
(a) An offence under the Firearms Act which is punishable by imprisonment for a term of ten years or more, or an offence under section 8, 9 or 10 of that Act;
(b) An offence under the Larceny Act which is punishable by imprisonment for a term of ten years or more;
(c) An offence under the Malicious Damage Act which is punishable by imprisonment for a term of ten years or more;
(d) A sexual offence in which the alleged victim is a child, including a sexual offence under the Sexual Offences Act or the Children Act, 2012 or any Act repealing and replacing any of those Acts;
(e) An offence under the Sexual Offences Act which is punishable by imprisonment for a term of ten years or more;
(f) An offence under the Offences Against the Person Act which is punishable by imprisonment for a term of ten years or more, or an offence under section 48 or 54 of that Act;
(g) An offence under the Dangerous Drugs Act which is punishable by imprisonment for a term of ten years or more;
(h) An offence under the Trafficking in Persons Act, 2011 which is punishable by imprisonment for a term of ten years or more;
(i) Perverting or defeating the course of public justice;
(j) An attempt to commit an offence listed in this Part or Part I of this Schedule.

How much of a difference has this amendment made?

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 13th, 2015, 1:03 pm

UML wrote:
16 cycles wrote:if the current law was used to hang Dole, what changed since then to stop the hangings?

The PC passed a decision, I think it was from the Pratt and Morgan case, where anyone in death row after all appeals have been exhausted can only be executed within 5 years.

Dole Chadee was not the last. There was someone else who was executed..but it wasnt as high profile. He was hanged before all his appeals were exhausted and the PC made a further decision which made it almost impossible to have another execution in Trinidad. The PC frowns upon executions.

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

I agree with this

the only non-bailable offence is murder.

THIS GOVT is trying to make GUN POSSESSION non-bailable for 120 days...but u know how crime pays for the PNM and how they vote!!!

you fail to take into consideration the poor evidence gathering and analysis of the police officers which cause cases to be thrown out.

:roll: Yep, PNM Criminals does leave the block and the bush and go and vote :|

P.P Criminals does just wait till after the vote and throw Ministers birthday parties and get contracts

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 13th, 2015, 1:04 pm

Or let Princess Margaret come and fart up in dey nice nice sheets and den is $40 mill contracts :|

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 13th, 2015, 1:06 pm

Or get their buddies to proclaim their freedom while men bussin scratch bomb hopin when we find out it too late, and den invite them to bashment in Tobago :roll:

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 13th, 2015, 1:08 pm

Or lie your way into power with the help of neo-nazi style loyal support, in order for Kalc* to give out luxury vehicles as gifts :|

Postby UML » January 13th, 2015, 11:16 pm

Postby UML » January 16th, 2015, 8:43 am

If you vote PP, I done with TT

Friday, January 16 2015

OPPOSITION People’s National Movement (PNM) General Election candidate for Mayaro Clarence Rambharat on Wednesday night told supporters if the country votes to keep the People’s Partnership (PP) in office, he will “wash my hands” of Trinidad and Tobago.

The meeting followed Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley’s second walkabout in the constituency currently held by UNC MP Winston ‘‘Gypsy’’ Peters. Rambharat told supporters he left his job at the Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation (HSBC) in Canada on May 20, to work on getting the Opposition back in power.

“I left my job in Canada. I haven’t worked since. My time has been dedicated to getting the PNM back into office. I am 8,000 miles away from my wife and kids. If we lose this election, I wash my hands of this country! If we lose, I will not have a Plan B for you...”

In an attempt to emphasise the crucialness of removing the PP, Rambharat said the Government has done a lousy job of running the country.

“The UNC is a relentless campaign machinery and a relentless mischief machinery...This Government will do anything.. We’ve got an obligation to recover every cent of money for our young people. If the stories are true about six houses and two $20 million houses, then we need to know and recover it,” Rambharat said.

Rambharat was approached by Rowley in December 2013, to join the PNM team. “In December 2013, Rowley approached me and said I would have his personal support.”

Rambharat said he feels comfortable in representing Mayaro in a PNM government and said no one can represent that constituency better than he. “As a candidate, I’m comfortable with what lies in front of me. No one can represent Mayaro better than me.

I won’t waste my time talking about the Government because air time expensive and I want to talk about me.

“Dr Rowley has endorsed our East Coast Renewal Project. Everytime Devant Maharaj stands up in the Senate and attacks me, I have to remind them of the 1992, tripartite report where Dr Rowley was able to bring together all elements of the Sugar Industry, wipe away Caroni’s billion dollar debt and give that company a fresh start. And not long after, Mr Panday came into Government and we know what happened,” Rambharat said.

“A PNM government will talk about agriculture, we have to talk about consumption. We have to talk about where you get your food. And when I sit in a PNM government, I am going to require that my Navet dasheen, my Mayaro fish and my Mayaro coconut water be on the plate of every government minister,” Rambharat said.

Rambharat admitted that winning the votes of Mayaro residents is difficult and he has a hard time especially when he comes into Poole. He urged the PNM brigade to work harder to ensure that in the end, the party succeeds in getting the 1,500 UNC voters in Poole to support him.

“When I get into Poole, I have problems. I see Diego Martin West, Pointe-a-Pierre and Tabaquite (referring to those present at the PNM meeting).

“But I have a more serious battle here. I’ve walked this constituency and people cuss meh.” He said once Mayaro goes to the PNM the party will win the general election.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,205608.html

VERY PATRIOTIC!!!

We see how sincere and that he does not have the country interest at heart since he can abandon ship so quickly and easily!!!

BUT THEN AGAIN...his entire family lives in Canada....so he eh business!!

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » January 18th, 2015, 12:21 am

Newsday Today :|

GRADE C FOR PP
By Andre Bagoo Sunday, January 18 2015

click on pic to zoom in

ALMOST FIVE years after the signing of the Fyzabad Declaration calling on the coalition Government parties to establish mechanisms for the achievement of consensus, that matter is still a work in progress.

High-ranking party officials of the United National Congress (UNC), Congress of the People (COP), Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP), and National Joint Action Committee (NJAC) all agree that much more work needs to be done and most are lukewarm over current arrangements.

So much so that the new chairman of the COP, Nicole Dyer-Griffith, last week rated the progress on this one issue as being “Grade C+”. She says there are yet to be finalised rules of engagement between the parties that would ensure all feel their voice is being heard.

“I’d give it a grade C +”, the COP chairman said when asked to rate progress on establishing rules of engagement. “Even if I believe the performance of the Government has been A+, the terms of engagement are still something that we need to discuss moving forward,” Dyer-Griffith says. On mechanisms for consensus, Dyer-Griffith says, “that is the one that we are still working on. We need to put a little more work into that.”

The MSJ, which left the coalition mid-term, last week said the issue of inter-party dialogue was a breaking-point for them.

While Dyer-Griffith says the coalition has established a chairman’s caucus which has regular meetings, these meetings have been, in recent months, few and far between due to various internal elections within the parties.

She says there was need, “to formalise the process and to ensure we can treat with each organisation with a formal agenda.”

At the same time, she adds that, “the relationship between the partners and the chairmen is a cordial and good relationship. Each one of us can pick up the phone and discuss things. That is democracy in action: recognising that you have different opinions. Politics is about multiplication and addition, not subtraction and division.” The interim UNC chairman, Khadijah Ameen last week said there was room for improvement in terms of how the parties collaborate.

“Of course there is always room for improvement of communication and to widen the people we communicate with,” she says. “As we intensify our exercises I expect that communication to grow in coming months.” Of the long-gestating rules of engagement meant to regulate the relationship between the parties, she says they are still to be finalised.

“I know when we had Mrs (Carolyn) Seepersad-Bachan as the head of the chairmen’s caucus, we spoke of rules of engagement,” Ameen says. “At the last meeting it was discussed, but we did not make any decision. These will be guidelines as to how the parties will collaborate with each other and engage the electorate. They would serve to ensure that there would be no suspicion of any one party being undermined.”

The political leader of the National Joint Action Committee (NJAC) also voices concerns about the mechanism of collaboration.

“There are areas that need improvement,” Kwasi Mutema says. “Internally, there is a need for systems and institutions to be put in place that can allow the various parties within the coalition to be able to voice their differences, clarify what needs to be clarified and to be able to share views so that the party would be able to speak with one voice.”

He added, “We need to be able to communicate more effectively in terms of our achievements over the period that is not being done as effectively.” The Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP), meanwhile, does not even have a chairman to sit on the chairmen’s caucus. TOP political leader Ashworth Jack last week said the party’s last chairman resigned and there is yet to be a replacement. In the meanwhile, the TOP has not had a presence on the chairmen’s caucus “for a while now”.

“I would want to fix my internal matters first,” Jack says. “We have not been there for a while but there are other meetings in a couple of months. The parties still have leaders who make the final decisions. The chairmen make recommendations.”

The Fyzabad Declaration, signed on April 21, 2010, states, “The partners have established collaborative teams to develop a common public policy programme to be shared on a common platform and have agreed to establish mechanisms for the achievement of consensus.”

MSJ political leader David Abdulah, though, says the Declaration has become irrelevant by this stage. He says there was no mechanism established for the negotiation of the allocation of seats, nor for the allocation of Senate posts and/or Ministerial appointments, amongst the political parties which formed the Partnership.

“All the Declaration stated was that there would be only one candidate from among the parties contesting each seat,” he says. “The actual negotiations for the allocation of seats was concluded before the Declaration was signed on April 21, 2010 and for the local government elections a committee was established to negotiate the allocation of seats.” Disclosing that he chaired that committee, Abdulah says, “We had no guidelines — each party came with their own demands/positions.”

The MSJ leader says during the Partnership’s first six months in office, “there were no mechanisms put in place to establish consensus, except for discussions at the level of the Cabinet and Parliamentary caucuses.” Abdulah, who was a government senator at that time, also says, “These however relate to the functioning of the government, not the relations between and among the parties.”

In January 2011, a committee comprising the chairpersons of the five parties, which was chaired by Abdulah, was mandated to develop recommendations for the parties to work together. A report from that committee was briefly discussed by the political leaders of the coalition on April 21, 2011, the first anniversary of the signing of the Fyzabad Declaration. Abdulah says that was the “first meeting of leaders since May 27, 2010 when there was a meeting to develop consensus re the appointment of Senators and selection of Ministers.”

“The next time the leaders met was in March 2012. Up to the time I left the far reaching recommendations were never seriously discussed by the leaders,” Abdulah says.

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » January 18th, 2015, 8:33 am

Clarence Rambharat

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » January 18th, 2015, 8:43 am

^^ who de fcuk he feel he is???