but the newer 1155 parts are cheaper, not more expensive!M_2NR wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:am I missing something? Or is it that people just not researching before buying?
i feel its that self.
I still dont get why after so much debate and all the links shared, 1366 still being preferred. Even the i5's perform well and can be compared as a bang for buck.
As I said unless one is getting 1366 parts on sale... like at least 20% off... i dont see why not pay 20-50usd more and get the better hardware. Its probably something that you want lasting your 3-5 years (if you paid so much in the first place) why not get the best at the moment in time.
/rant
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:M_2NR wrote:Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:
I'm running 1155 i7 2600k at 4.5Ghz air cooled, CPU fan running at ~700rpm and temps of 32`C at idle and ~50`C at load. Smaller T&TEC bill FTW! lol
speedaholic wrote:My idle temps with my AMD phenom 955 Black edition is ussually around 31-32`C as welll no a/c.. with a/c on it goes down to about 27-28`C
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:but the newer 1155 parts are cheaper, not more expensive!
the 1155 RAM is dual channel and cheaper than the triple channel needed for the 1366.
the PSU can be cheaper since you don't need a big wattage as the processor uses considerably less power, even when overclocked. And the RAM is usually 1.5v
the 1155 processors are cheaper than the 1366, clock for clock and core for core.
an i7 2600k is one third the price of a 980x
You may not even need to buy a video card since the 1155 has a pretty capable GPU built into the CPU.
the smaller die means less power and less heat which means you can spend less on CPU cooling and case fans, even at high clock speeds.
I'm running 1155 i7 2600k at 4.5Ghz air cooled, CPU fan running at ~700rpm and temps of 32`C at idle and ~50`C at load. Smaller T&TEC bill FTW! lol
HCCA wrote:^^I cyar tell u how much i hate that case nah.
When i bought my first one abt 3 yrs ago i thought it was 'da bomb'. Good cooling and aesthetics but oh god the inside cramp up. Bought a used one abt 2 yrs later (cheap nah) but i sell it fast fast to a tuner.
The Antec 1200 better doh, gonna keep that for my amd system.
Latest build is ah Thermaltake Xaser VI case. It come out neat enuff but i have to install ah custom liquid cooling kit in it before i close it up. Should be able to post pics next week in it's current state.
HCCA wrote:speedaholic wrote:My idle temps with my AMD phenom 955 Black edition is ussually around 31-32`C as welll no a/c.. with a/c on it goes down to about 27-28`C
Load temps matter more.
Plus it have two versions of that cpu, 95W and 125W. Which is it you have?
ruffneck_12 wrote:how much wud it cost to bring down something as big as a GPU @ US$157.56 from new egg?
speedaholic wrote:mine is the 125W... under heavy load eg. running Crysis2 temp go up to about 55-60 MAX.. never crossed 60.. in the a/c i dont cross 52...
speedaholic wrote:HCCA wrote:speedaholic wrote:My idle temps with my AMD phenom 955 Black edition is ussually around 31-32`C as welll no a/c.. with a/c on it goes down to about 27-28`C
Load temps matter more.
mine is the 125W... under heavy load eg. running Crysis2 temp go up to about 55-60 MAX.. never crossed 60.. in the a/c i dont cross 52...
speedaholic wrote:HCCA wrote:speedaholic wrote:My idle temps with my AMD phenom 955 Black edition is ussually around 31-32`C as welll no a/c.. with a/c on it goes down to about 27-28`C
Load temps matter more.
mine is the 125W... under heavy load eg. running Crysis2 temp go up to about 55-60 MAX.. never crossed 60.. in the a/c i dont cross 52...
ABA Trading LTD wrote:also i don't game, i don't use video or photo editing progs so i dont need the best of the best
the P12 is a nine blade fan and the S12 is 7 blade.M_2NR wrote:
(see what u causing...)
Duane, whats the difference between the P12 and the one you are buying the S12B?
also, are these fan filter things useful?
Frankly i FED UP cleaning sheit every 3 months.
M_2NR wrote:also, are these fan filter things useful?
Frankly i FED UP cleaning sheit every 3 months.
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ a PC builder friend advised you buy them parts? dais not your friend! lol
the P12 is a nine blade fan and the S12 is 7 blade.
The S12 also has a ridge on the tip of the fan blade that improves forward air movement and reduces noise even furtherCode: Select all
[img]http://tech-lobby.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/nf-s12b_2.jpg[/img][youtube]tRuqh_hkxsY[/youtube]
The S12B FLX comes with 3 cable options to run the fan at 600, 900 and 1200 rpm depending on the flow and noise level you need.
HCCA wrote:If you insist on keeping dat crap case any longer then get filters for the front fans.
When i cleaned out my antec 1200 for sale,all the dust was on the front intake fan filters, no dust on the fans behind dem or the others in the case.
HCCA wrote:^^Those silverstones will do nicely. And yeah is best to wash them out and put out in the sun to dry.
Your case not very bad eh, it have very simple mods you can do to organise cables better.
A note abt the filters though: since they will impede some of the airflow into the case it may be wise to get some higher cfm fans to compensate for the loss in flow.
I mentioned this in the classifieds a while ago when someone was asking for some 120mm fans to buy, they awesome.
http://www.svc.com/y720dcd-25t1-gp.html
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:well I was trying to get the same answer out of gracen and now out of ABA Trading LTD
but neither of them answered me - I feel there is something I missing as to why people building 1366 machines from scratch right now.
in fact they could go with a i5 2600k for less money and get better performance than a i7 960
am I missing something? Or is it that people just not researching before buying?