COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 57419 (+90) cases, 1709 (+13) deaths, 4795 active, 50915 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » November 4th, 2021, 5:47 pm

https://www.phi.org/press/breakthrough- ... mortality/
link to study: https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/science.abm0620

tl:dr,

J&J gives basically no protection from infection after 6 months

52% effectiveness against death for >65
science.abm0620-f1.jpg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 57419 (+90) cases, 1709 (+13) deaths, 4795 active, 50915 recovered in T&T

Postby st7 » November 4th, 2021, 5:57 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
st7 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
Penguin wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Saw this on Reddit.

UK: 88% of Covid-19 Deaths were among the Fully Vaccinated in the past month according to the latest Public Health data

This ladies and gentlemen is a classic case of when idiots don't understand statistics.

Obviously in a country where 95% of 60 year olds are vaccinated will have the majority of deaths being vaccinated persons.

What you need to look at is the rate of deaths in each cohort. And the rate in the vaccinated is significantly lower.

Still, the title is a fact. I made no claims. It was taken directly from Reddit.

can you post the source link?

https://www.reddit.com/r/conspiracy/com ... the_fully/

they dont cite a source for this info. it's just a graphic that can be falsified. especially when it's in a subreddit called conspiracy...

Postby st7 » November 4th, 2021, 5:58 pm

DMan7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Too many hovers clogging up the health care system with their unvaccinated selves. smh
Yup the majority of the country are hovers .....oh No

Not the majority of the country but the majority in the health care system. Learn to comprehend...
Well seeing that 57 percent of the country is unvaccinated, guess you need SEA maths classes again to understand percentages that's the majority if you didn't know :S

You said "Yup the majority of the country are hovers .....oh No" implying that the majority of the country isn't hovers, and your stat indicated that 57% of the country are unvaccinated? And you're saying I'm the one that needs math classes? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Man you can't make this sheit up!

lollll man he CANNOT be this dotish. he hadda be trolling

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2021, 6:00 pm

allyuh taking on this troll on a holiday

Postby adnj » November 4th, 2021, 6:13 pm

paid_influencer wrote:https://www.phi.org/press/breakthrough-infection-study-compares-decline-in-vaccine-effectiveness-and-consequences-for-mortality/
link to study: https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/science.abm0620

tl:dr,

J&J gives basically no protection from infection after 6 months

52% effectiveness against death for >65
I am familiar with this study. There are two metrics: protection from infection (VE-I) and protection from death (VE-D). These numbers are very much in line with published vaccine efficacy results that I posted August 9.

From the study:

From February to October 2021, VE-I declined from 87.9% to 48.1%, and the decline was greatest for the Janssen vaccine resulting in a VE-I of 13.1%. Although breakthrough infection increased risk of death, vaccination remained protective against death in persons who became infected during the Delta surge.

From July to October 2021, VE-D for age 65 years was

73.0% for Janssen,

81.5% for Moderna, and

84.3% for Pfizer-BioNTech;

VE-D for age ≥65 years was

52.2% for Janssen,

75.5% for Moderna, and

70.1% for Pfizer-BioNTech.

Findings support continued efforts to increase vaccination, booster campaigns, and multiple, additional layers of protection against infection.

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » November 4th, 2021, 6:13 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
st7 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
Penguin wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Saw this on Reddit.

UK: 88% of Covid-19 Deaths were among the Fully Vaccinated in the past month according to the latest Public Health data

This ladies and gentlemen is a classic case of when idiots don't understand statistics.

Obviously in a country where 95% of 60 year olds are vaccinated will have the majority of deaths being vaccinated persons.

What you need to look at is the rate of deaths in each cohort. And the rate in the vaccinated is significantly lower.

Still, the title is a fact. I made no claims. It was taken directly from Reddit.

can you post the source link?

https://www.reddit.com/r/conspiracy/com ... the_fully/

Read the comments. It's misinformation.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 4th, 2021, 6:18 pm

What's the reason for the spike this time?
We can't blame the ferry anymore.

eitech

Postby eitech » November 4th, 2021, 6:31 pm

wtf wrote:What's the reason for the spike this time?

Some public figure said the spike came two weeks after they opened safe zones but in true fashion moe say not the cause. So that jus leaves the unvaccinated to blame as the only reason. Case closed

Postby st7 » November 4th, 2021, 6:35 pm

eitech wrote:

Some public figure said the spike came two weeks after they opened safe zones but in true fashion moe say not the cause. So that jus leaves the unvaccinated to blame as the only reason. Case closed

unvaxxed not solely to blame. this is the plan to lockdown by december.

Postby hover11 » November 4th, 2021, 6:35 pm

eitech wrote:

Those dam unvaccinated they just existing and causing all these problems

eitech

Postby eitech » November 4th, 2021, 6:44 pm

st7 wrote:
eitech wrote:

unvaxxed not solely to blame. this is the plan to lockdown by december.

This is a pandemic of the unvaccinated

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2021, 6:47 pm

that’s pretty obvious

Postby st7 » November 4th, 2021, 7:02 pm

i just received word from a friend that her cousin's wife died at home from covid. she was unvaxxed and sick for a week. was told both people didnt take the vaccine because they were of the strong belief it would kill them... i hope the husband changes his mind.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 4th, 2021, 7:06 pm

st7 wrote:i just received word from a friend that her cousin's wife died at home from covid. she was unvaxxed and sick for a week. was told both people didnt take the vaccine because they were of the strong belief it would kill them... i hope the husband changes his mind.

How old were they? any comorbidities?

Postby st7 » November 4th, 2021, 7:08 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
st7 wrote:i just received word from a friend that her cousin's wife died at home from covid. she was unvaxxed and sick for a week. was told both people didnt take the vaccine because they were of the strong belief it would kill them... i hope the husband changes his mind.

How old were they? any comorbidities?

wife is 42? husband is 10 yrs older

friend doesnt know about any comorbidities

Postby j.o.e » November 4th, 2021, 7:21 pm

Who hadda dead go dead #whdgd

Postby redmanjp » November 4th, 2021, 7:23 pm

RIP.

Angel of death passing for the unvaccinated

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2021, 7:24 pm

why is it one of the first questions is if the dead ppl had comorbidities

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 4th, 2021, 7:27 pm

pugboy wrote:why is it one of the first questions is if the dead ppl had comorbidities

Why you think dumbo?

Postby paid_influencer » November 4th, 2021, 7:29 pm

I just want to thank the people of Felicity for the decision they made this year with regard to the Divali celebrations.

Yes, it is hard to give up the lighting up celebration as we are accustomed, but your sacrifice will translate into lives saved and more spaces in the ICU for those that need it. This is really the type of unity we need right now.

A big Thank You for all those that are making the changes this year to keep COVID levels in check.

Postby hover11 » November 4th, 2021, 7:34 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
pugboy wrote:why is it one of the first questions is if the dead ppl had comorbidities

Why you think dumbo?
Aye we have some scholars here tonight

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2021, 7:36 pm

seems more like a question based on insecurity

Postby redmanjp » November 4th, 2021, 7:37 pm

One reason could be to gauge whether the new variants are more severe and affecting more healthy ppl than before.

Postby hover11 » November 4th, 2021, 7:40 pm

How long do you think it will be until delta is the dominant variant , also can someone who was infected with gamma or even alpha like last month be reinfected with delta or does the natural immunity cover all variants?

Postby aaron17 » November 4th, 2021, 7:43 pm

st7 wrote:if only there was a way to mitigate the risks of death and serious illness by 98%

I now remember ur pic ..its from mallrats.
Saw the new one but didnt like it.
I like Jay & Silent Bob Strike Back with Mark Hamil in the end.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » November 4th, 2021, 7:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:

One reason could be to gauge whether the new variants are more severe and affecting more healthy ppl than before.

Thank you.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 4th, 2021, 8:27 pm

Thing about the numbers is the cases go up quite easily but to bring it down takes months after a HARD breaking force is applied.
If we lock down now( which I not condoning) we will see a decrease most likely next year February.

Postby hover11 » November 4th, 2021, 8:31 pm

wtf wrote:Thing about the numbers is the cases go up quite easily but to bring it down takes months after a HARD breaking force is applied.
If we lock down now( which I not condoning) we will see a decrease most likely next year February.
If we don't lockdown or for the very least Rollback....then those numbers will skyrocket to when we were making 500 and 600 a day.When Jamaica was dealing with delta they had no movement days in addition to daylight curfew, imagine Sunday you have to be inside by 3pm, we on the other hand want to pretend everything normal and leave it as the unvaccinated problem
Last edited by hover11 on November 4th, 2021, 8:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby redmanjp » November 4th, 2021, 8:32 pm

Are they still quarantining all Delta cases both local and imported in a state facility? Or is it that by the time the sample is sequenced the person already recovered?

Postby pugboy » November 4th, 2021, 8:49 pm

it is an unvaxxed problem in jamaica
they have a vax rate if like 5%