COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Devourment

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 50 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby Devourment » March 22nd, 2020, 12:43 pm

We are not safe.

Back to Carnival, I don't think you all still realize that cancelling Carnival without closing borders and stopping all fetes would have been useless.

Imagine we cancelled carnival but didn't close borders, all these trinis who would have been in fetes and mas would have been visiting relatives, spending time doing things all over the country.

It's likely it they had Covid having Carnival could have even been safer.

Understand that please. Back then no country other than China and perhaps Iran was in crisis. Back then there were a few dozen cases in all of the Western world.

We literally had Carnival at the perfect time, right before the storm.

I'm not denying persons with Covid came here and may have spread it. But the risk from international travellers was always there, as we're now seeing.

Also, people riding out for carnival and coming back Ash Wednesday and a few days after were probably more likely to bring back Covid than those who came for carnival the week before.

Not blaming anyone, but that's reality.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 22nd, 2020, 12:48 pm

Screenshot 2020-03-22 at 12.44.39 PM.jpg

The number of confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the United States jumped past Iran and Germany this weekend, making the U.S. the nation with the fourth highest total in the world at the moment. The number of confirmed cases here now stands at 26,747.

The news comes as the number of confirmed cases in Los Angeles County surged to 351, in part a reflection of increased testing.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 22nd, 2020, 12:57 pm

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2020, 1:13 pm

aaron17 wrote:
aaron17 wrote:We need to be on the same page to fight this thing.Together as one.

Hello Aaron,

How can we achieve this?
I feel is ah SOE day...to be on the same page.

A SOE forces the people to comply, there is no togetherness there.

Postby adnj » March 22nd, 2020, 1:17 pm

Devourment wrote:We literally had Carnival at the perfect time, right before the storm...

You may be right.

It is widely accepted that a SARS-CoV-2 vaccine will be available about one year from now. There is also a theory that a second wave of COVID-19 may emerge in Oct - Nov 2020.

Next year, Carnival is Fri, Feb 12, 2021 – Wed, Feb 17, 2021, making it nearly impossible to have Christmas or Carnival international travel without a possible quarantine due to reinfection risks.

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2020, 1:20 pm

Regardless of the lack of support from the people of T&T,

We have to be thankful that our health facilities are not overwhelmed.....atm.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 22nd, 2020, 1:43 pm

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/govt-opposition- ... -breaches/

"Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi, piloting yesterday’s debate, said since people were ignoring moral suasion to heed safety advice, government had to take the legislative approach"

He damn right!

SOE will come thanks to our inability to act on common sense advice.

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 49 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby redmanjp » March 22nd, 2020, 1:48 pm

allyuh young ppl feel yuh invincible?

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/18/health/coronavirus-young-people.html?referringSource=articleShare&fbclid=IwAR2iKCF6KKFvqeCyRUwK7arDzd5jk1kgUbfZWIfA7KdpOtUWyHXSs2bNnrM

Younger Adults Make Up Big Portion of Coronavirus Hospitalizations in U.S.
New C.D.C. data shows that nearly 40 percent of patients sick enough to be hospitalized were age 20 to 54. But the risk of dying was significantly higher in older people.

By Pam Belluck
Published March 18, 2020
Updated March 20, 2020

American adults of all ages — not just those in their 70s, 80s and 90s — are being seriously sickened by the coronavirus, according to a report on nearly 2,500 of the first recorded cases in the United States.

The report, issued Wednesday by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, found that — as in other countries — the oldest patients had the greatest likelihood of dying and of being hospitalized. But of the 508 patients known to have been hospitalized, 38 percent were notably younger — between 20 and 54. And nearly half of the 121 patients who were admitted to intensive care units were adults under 65, the C.D.C. reported.

“I think everyone should be paying attention to this,” said Stephen S. Morse, a professor of epidemiology at Colombia University’s Mailman School of Public Health. “It’s not just going to be the elderly. There will be people age 20 and up. They do have to be careful, even if they think that they’re young and healthy.”

The findings served to underscore an appeal issued Wednesday at a White House briefing by Dr. Deborah Birx, a physician and State Department official who is a leader of the administration’s coronavirus task force. Citing similar reports of young adults in Italy and in France being hospitalized and needing intensive care, Dr. Birx implored the millennial generation to stop socializing in groups and to take care to protect themselves and others.

“You have the potential then to spread it to someone who does have a condition that none of us knew about, and cause them to have a disastrous outcome,” Dr. Birx said, addressing young people.

In the C.D.C. report, 20 percent of the hospitalized patients and 12 percent of the intensive care patients were between the ages of 20 and 44, basically spanning the millennial generation.

“Younger people may feel more confident about their ability to withstand a virus like this,” said Dr. Christopher Carlsten, head of respiratory medicine at the University of British Colombia. But, he said, “if that many younger people are being hospitalized, that means that there are a lot of young people in the community that are walking around with the infection.”

The new data represents a preliminary look at the first significant wave of cases in the United States that does not include people who returned to the country from Wuhan, China, or from Japan, the authors reported. Between Feb. 12 and March 16, there were 4,226 such cases reported to the C.D.C., the study says.

The ages were reported for 2,449 of those patients, the C.D.C. said, and of those, 6 percent were 85 and older, and 25 percent were between 65 and 84. Twenty-nine percent were aged 20 to 44.

The age groups of 55 to 64 and 45 to 54 each included 18 percent of the total. Only 5 percent of cases were diagnosed in people 19 and younger.

The report included no information about whether patients of any age had underlying risk factors, such as a chronic illness or a compromised immune system. So, it is impossible to determine whether the younger patients who were hospitalized were more susceptible to serious infection than most others in their age group.

But experts said that even if younger people in the report were medical outliers, the fact that they were taking up hospital beds and space in intensive care units was significant.

And these more serious cases represent the leading edge of how the pandemic is rapidly unfolding in the United States, showing that adults of all ages are susceptible and should be concerned about protecting their own health, and not transmitting the virus to others.

The youngest age group, people 19 and under, accounted for less than 1 percent of the hospitalizations, and none of the I.C.U. admissions or deaths. This dovetails with data from other countries so far. This week, however, the largest study to date of pediatric cases in China found that a small segment of very young children may need hospitalization for very serious symptoms, and that one 14-year-old boy in China died from the virus.

Of the 44 people whose deaths were recorded in the report, 15 were age 85 or older and 20 were between the ages of 65 to 84. There were nine deaths among adults age 20 to 64, the report said.

Some of the patients in the study are still sick, the authors noted, so the results of their cases are unclear. Data was missing for a number of the cases, “which likely resulted in an underestimation of the outcomes,” the authors wrote. Because of the missing data, the authors presented percentages of hospitalizations, I.C.U. admissions and deaths as a range. The report also says that the limited testing available in the United States so far makes this report only an early snapshot of the crisis.

Still, the authors wrote, “these preliminary data also demonstrate that severe illness leading to hospitalization, including I.C.U. admission and death, can occur in adults of any age with Covid-19.”
Last edited by redmanjp on March 22nd, 2020, 2:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2020, 1:55 pm

Well so far 50 spots out of the 77 setup at caura amd couva gone...
And hope not more of them cruisers get sick because that will take all....

MaxPower wrote:Regardless of the lack of support from the people of T&T,

Postby The_Honourable » March 22nd, 2020, 1:55 pm

If cases escalate and the first set of deaths begins to get reported, SOE coming for sure.

Still seeing people outside closed bars liming and ponging music.

Postby aaron17 » March 22nd, 2020, 2:03 pm

VII

Postby VII » March 22nd, 2020, 2:04 pm

Logic, rationale and perspective, very rare commodities in these parts. :wink:

Devourment wrote:We are not safe.

Back to Carnival, I don't think you all still realize that cancelling Carnival without closing borders and stopping all fetes would have been useless.

Imagine we cancelled carnival but didn't close borders, all these trinis who would have been in fetes and mas would have been visiting relatives, spending time doing things all over the country.

It's likely it they had Covid having Carnival could have even been safer.

Understand that please. Back then no country other than China and perhaps Iran was in crisis. Back then there were a few dozen cases in all of the Western world.

We literally had Carnival at the perfect time, right before the storm.

I'm not denying persons with Covid came here and may have spread it. But the risk from international travellers was always there, as we're now seeing.

Also, people riding out for carnival and coming back Ash Wednesday and a few days after were probably more likely to bring back Covid than those who came for carnival the week before.

Not blaming anyone, but that's reality.
Last edited by VII on March 22nd, 2020, 3:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » March 22nd, 2020, 2:07 pm

Political puppets mostly..

wing wrote:
VII wrote:
eliteauto wrote:it must be nice to have such a level of comfort that you can continue to play politics in the face of a global crisis

And a whole other level of comfort and stupidity hoping for the worst so we could say "told you so "and contributing nothing while authorities are clearly doing a great job..

This country full of jokers and entitled babblers who deserve the worst.
X1000000

A set of clucking hens with nothing of substance to contribute.

Postby eliteauto » March 22nd, 2020, 2:08 pm

pugboy wrote:Well so far 50 spots out of the 77 setup at caura amd couva gone...
And hope not more of them cruisers get sick because that will take all....

MaxPower wrote:Regardless of the lack of support from the people of T&T,

Agustus Long has been prepped , Arima next

Postby paid_influencer » March 22nd, 2020, 2:30 pm

Devourment wrote:We literally had Carnival at the perfect time, right before the storm.

I'm not denying persons with Covid came here and may have spread it.

Let me put this on the table: It is possible to make a decision that is sensible and supported by the best possible evidence and experts available, and still have it be the wrong decision.

Hindsight is 20/20. We now know there was community spread in Europe (Italy and France) and parts of the USA (Washington state) in late-February. If we had known that in the run up to Carnival, our decisions would have been different. I think that is a reasonable and rational position.

But to your quote, the "perfect time" would have been in January, or put off until 2022. The loss in hotel bookings seems like joke compared to what we have to do now.
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 22nd, 2020, 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby The_Honourable » March 22nd, 2020, 2:36 pm

Tobago be like naaaahhh... lockdown the air and sea bridge for meh please.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/22/tha-he ... -lockdown/

Postby paid_influencer » March 22nd, 2020, 2:51 pm

Tobago coming out golden in this. Big monetary allocation, no cases, easy to isolate and the kicker: any confirmed cases in Tobago will be immediately transferred to Trinidad.

Rowley doing good for he people. If I had money I would be hiding out in Tobago right now.

Postby K74T » March 22nd, 2020, 2:57 pm

Grenada confirms its first Covid-19 case.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/g ... ium=social

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2020, 3:03 pm

It practically locked down, a padna came back Friday, two persons on flight

The_Honourable wrote:Tobago be like naaaahhh... lockdown the air and sea bridge for meh please.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/22/tha-he ... -lockdown/

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 22nd, 2020, 3:08 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Devourment wrote:We literally had Carnival at the perfect time, right before the storm.

I'm not denying persons with Covid came here and may have spread it.

Let me put this on the table: It is possible to make a decision that is sensible and supported by the best possible evidence and experts available, and still have it be the wrong decision.

Hindsight is 20/20. We now know there was community spread in Europe (Italy and France) and parts of the USA (Washington state) in late-February. If we had known that in the run up to Carnival, our decisions would have been different. I think that is a reasonable and rational position.

But to your quote, the "perfect time" would have been in January, or put off until 2022. The loss in hotel bookings seems like joke compared to what we have to do now.

I think by perfect he might have meant it was the latest 'safest' possible time. Nothing to do with planning, just pure luck to be honest.

Once a certain threshold of people get it worldwide, travel and group activities can return to some normality which most experts predict should be later this year. Postponing carnival 2021 is unlikely.

But he is 100% right that canceling carnival without closing borders would have been futile. That actually could have led to a worse situation as WHO just said smaller intimate groups like family gatherings are more likely to spread the virus than mass events as you're often closer together for a prolonged period of time.

What scenario did people want for a canceling of Carnival?
1. Cancel without closing borders, 75% of the visitors would still come with 50% of them spending more time now with family. Would fetes have been canceled too?
2. Cancel and close borders? We would have been the paranoid over-reactive nation in the world and in the end simply delay Corvid from entering. Back then closing borders would have been a logistical nightmare and the international backlash would have been insane.

In hindsight, we did enough honestly (not talking about our health facilities here). We closed borders to China early, then Iran, Spain, Italy, Germany etc. As far as it goes, we prepared better than most of Europe and the US.

Regardless, it seems very unlikely that Carnival brought Covid-19 here, there would have been far more cases by now.

In the end, it was inevitable it would end up here.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 22nd, 2020, 3:09 pm

14,000 new cases in the US...mamma mia what the f*ck!

Postby paid_influencer » March 22nd, 2020, 3:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Regardless, it seems very unlikely that Carnival brought Covid-19 here, there would have been far more cases by now.

here's the rub... until yesterday, the criteria for testing involved having travel history. If we did get community spread following Carnival, we would not have detected any cases since those persons did not have a travel history.

Next week the Ministry will be conducting much more testing under the expanded criteria. Only then will we know if we picked up anything.

Postby aaron17 » March 22nd, 2020, 3:42 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:Regardless, it seems very unlikely that Carnival brought Covid-19 here, there would have been far more cases by now.

here's the rub... until yesterday, the criteria for testing involved having travel history. If we did get community spread following Carnival, we would not have detected any cases since those persons did not have a travel history.

Next week the Ministry will be conducting much more testing under the expanded criteria. Only then will we know if we picked up anything.
So why ppl not popping up as conmunity spread?..like flu symptoms etc.

Halfbreed12

Postby Halfbreed12 » March 22nd, 2020, 3:45 pm

A mil next week?
52D23A7B-704B-485C-A6C7-3BDC94CBB34B.jpeg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 22nd, 2020, 3:46 pm

Do you all really believe for a second that there is only 49 cases of this in this country?

Look at the US and other places it is spreading like wildfire, Trinis still for the most part do not wash their hands etc there is clearly more cases here just not confirmed, don't be surprised if you suddenly hear one morning that half this country has Covid 19

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 22nd, 2020, 3:50 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Do you all really believe for a second that there is only 49 cases of this in this country?

Look at the US and other places it is spreading like wildfire, Trinis still, for the most part, do not wash their hands, etc there is clearly more cases here just not confirmed, don't be surprised if you suddenly hear one morning that half this country has Covid 19

No there likely 10 times that due to the asymptomatic carriers. When extensive testing is done we'll no the real truth.

Expect a lot more locally transmitted cases reaching the hospital next week.

As it stands, our testing procedures are grossly misrepresenting the number.

Postby adnj » March 22nd, 2020, 4:05 pm

Halfbreed12 wrote:A mil next week?
The trend is the number of cases doubling every 7 days.

[URL]https://ourworldindata.org/coronavirus
[/URL]

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2020, 4:07 pm

aaron17 wrote:So why ppl not popping up as conmunity spread?..like flu symptoms etc.

Same thing i was thinking...

What the experts say? 14 days to show symptoms?

Since Carnival you telling me NO serious cases popped up in hospitals even from the old folks?

If we were badly off we wouldve seen chaos at clinics and hospitals by now.

Im not taking this lightly, but jus thinking its kinda odd not many people showing up sick.

Maybe the virus really is man made and certain areas are targeted?

I eh know, too much info going around.

Postby aaron17 » March 22nd, 2020, 4:09 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Do you all really believe for a second that there is only 49 cases of this in this country?

Look at the US and other places it is spreading like wildfire, Trinis still, for the most part, do not wash their hands, etc there is clearly more cases here just not confirmed, don't be surprised if you suddenly hear one morning that half this country has Covid 19

No there likely 10 times that due to the asymptomatic carriers. When extensive testing is done we'll no the real truth.

Expect a lot more locally transmitted cases reaching the hospital next week.

As it stands, our testing procedures are grossly misrepresenting the number.
Enlighten me..why next week tho?not because they testing.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 22nd, 2020, 4:27 pm

The only way a SOE will be called is when it hit close to home to a political or 1% old head. They ain't realise yet they trap in this virological cesspool with the rest of us now. Their usual escape routes are worse than here now.