Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Re: Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby mero » February 28th, 2024, 3:54 pm

Dizzy, yuh smoke a hard weed before yuh went dey orr?

Sounding like dread munchies.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 28th, 2024, 3:58 pm

redmanjp wrote:anyone ever went Food Square on the Avenue? (Corner Rosalino street & Ariapita Avenue)

its basically an open air food court- it has a burger/sandwich shop, a doubles shop, pizza, and others

so far i tried the doubles as well as the burger

this vid was a few months ago when they launch

Went there last week for the first time.
Had doubles from Darrens, Pizza from Casali's, gyro from the Arabian place and pork from Piggiliiks (not full portions of anything obviously, shared stuff with my wife)
Darren's is not a new thing for me as my inlaws always buy from him when we lime by them and end up staying over for the night.

The gyro was kinna meh even though it had non traditional fillings such as sauteed onions. The pizza from Casali's was ok (I wanted a cheese but thier pizza by the slice were only meat options) and the chadon beni pork from Piggi Liiks was the greasiest pork I have seen in a long time.

How the prices?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 28th, 2024, 7:53 pm

DMan7 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:anyone ever went Food Square on the Avenue? (Corner Rosalino street & Ariapita Avenue)

its basically an open air food court- it has a burger/sandwich shop, a doubles shop, pizza, and others

Had doubles from Darrens, Pizza from Casali's, gyro from the Arabian place and pork from Piggiliiks (not full portions of anything obviously, shared stuff with my wife)
Darren's is not a new thing for me as my inlaws always buy from him when we lime by them and end up staying over for the night.

The gyro was kinna meh even though it had non traditional fillings such as sauteed onions. The pizza from Casali's was ok (I wanted a cheese but thier pizza by the slice were only meat options) and the chadon beni pork from Piggi Liiks was the greasiest pork I have seen in a long time.

How the prices?
mero wrote:Dizzy, yuh smoke a hard weed before yuh went dey orr?

Sounding like dread munchies.
It sounds alot but I didn't eat all at once. Just took a few bites to taste. Casali cut the pizza in two to fit the box so I had half slice there.

There was still food remain back for the next day.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 28th, 2024, 7:54 pm

DMan7 wrote:

How the prices?
Similar to other like joints. Darren's doubles is $6, the pizza slice was $18, the gyro was $45 and the pork by 1/4 portion was fifty something I think

Postby nervewrecker » February 28th, 2024, 8:13 pm

gastly369 wrote:Lil fyzo gyro with ah extra lamb link up no extra cost bai nerve...place near bhola hardware side
IMG_20240227_190200.jpg
You try the schwarma (sp) yet?

Postby nervewrecker » February 28th, 2024, 8:17 pm

maj. tom wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:He eh know dirtier the canal and stinker the roti shop better the food? KFC having a hard time finding rat and cockroach for the oil these days it seems so it not tasting the way it used to.

I moved your quote because I didn't want to let that other thread take a tangent for nothing.

Places like these, well not exactly the cockroaches, but the perceived "dirty/poor establishment" are known as "hole in the wall" and everywhere has them all over the world. I particularly go looking for them within big cities and find that they have the best tasting food and best prices. It's a big thing in France and Italy, in those small villages all over the place.

It have a small hidden Chinese place in Chaguanas near Pariagh Hardware dunno how long they there, but definitely Trini-Chinese with our full accent and everything. Classic Hole in the Wall place. It's some of the best local Chinese food I ever eat. I ask the chef to wok-hai the fried rice and he instantly knew what I wanted. He blaze up the jet stove I swear the place was gonna burn down but the rice was that perfect roasted smoky flavour.
Have a spot in curepe too. Opposite the gas station, I always buy from there. Justice for money and I think most uwi pplz used to frequent it back in the day. Clear glass so you can see your food being cooked too. Place clean

Postby MaxPower » February 28th, 2024, 8:38 pm

Do we have any salad trucks in T&T?

Postby pugboy » February 28th, 2024, 9:55 pm

you can get your salads by subway
all the sauces and ketchup added too

MaxPower wrote:Do we have any salad trucks in T&T?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 28th, 2024, 9:59 pm

Why dunk sauces on your salad though? Seem counter productive.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » February 29th, 2024, 5:02 am

Price Club in Chaguanas had the best grocery rotisserie chicken, or at least they did two years ago. Not sure about the quality now.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 29th, 2024, 10:39 am

dogg wrote:Which grocery has the best rotisserie allyuh find? I only had from Massy and Tru Valu. Massy better IMO- I like the finish in the skin. Any reviews from elsewhere?

Massy has regular, jerk, Italian and Chinese style rotisserie.

They’re all pretty good, better than Pricesmart Priceclub, and JTA. Never had the jerk tho, only the other three.

Postby pugboy » February 29th, 2024, 11:06 am

because it’s free

DMan7 wrote:Why dunk sauces on your salad though? Seem counter productive.

Postby maj. tom » February 29th, 2024, 12:10 pm

I don't think these places using any different rotisserie chicken seasoning. They're probably all using the same blend of dry rub from Chief or Karibbean Flavours or whoever. So the only difference would be maybe some places seasoning inside the chicken too with the rub before the spinny roasting. Maybe those places will let it marinate a few hours to let the salt do some work, but that's not really marination like how we normally season chicken with wet seasoning and let it rest overnight in the fridge.

The hotter and fresher the chicken off the rack, the better it going to taste. When it get cold you have to either make a chicken salad or use the rest of it for stock/soup.

I know Costco/Pricesmart only dabbing the rub on the outside skin. When it get cold is like dog food and smelling fresh with no flavour.

philkbw

Postby philkbw » March 1st, 2024, 4:59 am

Kebab station on the Avenue , genuine ingredients cooked on the spot

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2024, 5:38 am

charcoal grilled too
the doner kebabs very good
their stuff a bit on salty side tho

philkbw wrote:Kebab station on the Avenue , genuine ingredients cooked on the spot

dogg

Postby dogg » March 1st, 2024, 8:04 am

maj. tom wrote:I don't think these places using any different rotisserie chicken seasoning.

They use different seasonings and cooking temperatures. Massy appears to use a higher temp that gives a nice finish to the skin. Tru Value uses a lower temp and their's is more moist, but the flavour is also different. Both are very good IMO and great options for a quick reasonably priced meal protein.

I took a chance and bought one from a one-branch supermarket in east and it was bad. Over-seasoned, and undercooked.

That's why I was asking for reviews on other options, cuz I not going to try random rotisserie unless I get positive reviews.

Postby Dave » March 1st, 2024, 8:16 am

What about the Food Circuit place? Never passed in but always seem like a ghost town.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 1st, 2024, 9:06 am

Dave wrote:What about the Food Circuit place? Never passed in but always seem like a ghost town.

Never even heard about his before now

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 1st, 2024, 9:35 am

dem is not sufferer prices for the square...

Postby K74T » March 1st, 2024, 9:47 am

Food Circuit is the place off the highway by Caroni?

Postby Dave » March 1st, 2024, 9:47 am

Dave wrote:What about the Food Circuit place? Never passed in but always seem like a ghost town.

Never even heard about his before now
Just after Beujcal heading north on the Solomon Hochoy.

Postby maj. tom » March 1st, 2024, 10:00 am

It on Google Maps. https://maps.app.goo.gl/1XeybrcYn2m2nCX78
oh hell no, I not stopping dey unless it's a dire emergency, and no way for food!

Postby Rovin » March 1st, 2024, 11:09 am

seems like everywhere u go somebody opening up a street food joint ...

Postby pugboy » March 1st, 2024, 1:06 pm

as things get harder and harder in the economy the entrepreneurial options become less and less with many reverting to the basics ie food, low end street food
landlords happy since the business risk is shifted to these small entrepreneurs

Postby paid_influencer » March 1st, 2024, 6:05 pm

pugboy wrote:as things get harder and harder in the economy the entrepreneurial options become less and less with many reverting to the basics ie food, low end street food
landlords happy since the business risk is shifted to these small entrepreneurs

a wise man once said the pnm kill off all the productive industry and making a nation of store clerks

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » March 2nd, 2024, 7:20 am

Local food trucks or small eateries in areas like Maracas Bay or St. James usually serve up the best gyros, burgers, and street food in Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby Rovin » March 10th, 2024, 6:22 pm

everybody out here trying something to make it in life eh but when u decide to name ur business CHUCKWAGON Chicken whether or not it have anything\nothing to do with old chuckwagon franchise from rellll loooong time ago, u better come good cause it have ppl who remember d old taste & even if jes happen to use a name whatever u selling make it good ... trinis will tell u as it is

[i eh try it- jes sharing something i see on fb]

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=12 ... 2272198975

Postby pugboy » March 10th, 2024, 6:28 pm

rovin, you so old ?
hope you don’t remember the taste of famous recipe chicken either :lol:

Postby Rovin » March 10th, 2024, 6:38 pm

:lol: i kinda old yea but i really cant remember d taste of chuckwagon

triniterribletim wrote:Price Club in Chaguanas had the best grocery rotisserie chicken, or at least they did two years ago. Not sure about the quality now.

so yesterday evening i didnt know wth to eat, havent had rotisserie chicken in over a year since i never was a big fan of it, i still say lemme try d one at priceclub [$58] cause if u see how small it is at hilo u almost feel sorry for d poor chicken like it eh get chance to get big & they cut he throat :lol: [& d price too iirc was $68]

so my review of d PC RC is : it bigger than hilo, price better, taste wasnt anything special but imho d meat kinda dry, i dunno if they over cooked it, to me it has less salt than others i remembered tasting so thats a plus & they tied d legs together so it looks more presentable then skin up open legs at hilo looking like d ting ready to make child :lol:

... others can try & lets see if they say something similar to me

Postby maj. tom » March 15th, 2024, 6:19 pm

You know what I find this was good for $20.
Seasoned to the bone. The pepper was a good mix too. It remind me of early Royal Castle.