*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby bluefete » April 9th, 2025, 7:50 am

screwbash wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:this election is extremely predictable. the govt has collapsed and the administration we have now is like a ghost just waiting to depart from this world

I believe that the 1% weather it is chinese or syrian just was they did in 2010 when they made PM Manning call a snap election made that decision again but rowlee being a poosee decide he go resign and let steward call the snap election.
Either way i voting PNM. In the last few days i have see Kamla as a nasty woman who feel she is the UNC and people voting for kamla and she made the unc. she has forgotten the years of tears and sleepless nights i am sure basdeo panday had when he formed the UNC and years Makela had to watch her father fight for the people and finally became PM twice. The supporters of the UNC vote for the UNC and not kamla and she made it clear that the UNC is now hers to do with as she please.
Right now TT needs a steady hand to battle the upcoming sheitstorm that had begun with mad man trump and the entire world out of control. Unpredictable rains and heatwaves will cause shortages in food supple and now high shipping and tariffs will increase prices. Kamla cannot in she old age handle all this upcoming battles and will put persons with no experience to fork it up. At this time TT needs the PNM and an experience and stable govt at the wheel.
Tariffs do not increase prices if Trinidad has not increased its import duties

Tarrif is a tax on goods coming into a country

Zoom, they do increase prices.

If we import tariffed goods from the USA, we will be importing at a higher price because the producer/seller will pass the tax on to consumers.

That 104% tariff on goods from China will cause Chinese made goods to become significantly more expensive, if we import them from the USA.

Postby st7 » April 9th, 2025, 7:56 am

bluefete wrote:
screwbash wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:this election is extremely predictable. the govt has collapsed and the administration we have now is like a ghost just waiting to depart from this world

I believe that the 1% weather it is chinese or syrian just was they did in 2010 when they made PM Manning call a snap election made that decision again but rowlee being a poosee decide he go resign and let steward call the snap election.
Either way i voting PNM. In the last few days i have see Kamla as a nasty woman who feel she is the UNC and people voting for kamla and she made the unc. she has forgotten the years of tears and sleepless nights i am sure basdeo panday had when he formed the UNC and years Makela had to watch her father fight for the people and finally became PM twice. The supporters of the UNC vote for the UNC and not kamla and she made it clear that the UNC is now hers to do with as she please.
Right now TT needs a steady hand to battle the upcoming sheitstorm that had begun with mad man trump and the entire world out of control. Unpredictable rains and heatwaves will cause shortages in food supple and now high shipping and tariffs will increase prices. Kamla cannot in she old age handle all this upcoming battles and will put persons with no experience to fork it up. At this time TT needs the PNM and an experience and stable govt at the wheel.

If we import tariffed goods from the USA, we will be importing at a higher price because the producer/seller will pass the tax on to consumers.

That 104% tariff on goods from China will cause Chinese made goods to become significantly more expensive, if we import them from the USA.
exactly. i don't think zoom understands how things work.

most of what being imported and sold here comes from the US and they act as the middle man...

this is an excellent opportunity to become a hub for Eastern nations

Postby matr1x » April 9th, 2025, 10:30 am

Stewie acting as if another party was running Trinidad

abbow

Postby abbow » April 9th, 2025, 11:21 am

^^ It just shows where his mind was all along....all he wanted to be was PM, had nothing to do with governance or governing a country for the last 9 years.

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2025, 12:43 pm

bluefete wrote:
screwbash wrote:

Why go through USA when u can go directly to China

Postby zoom rader » April 9th, 2025, 12:44 pm

st7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
screwbash wrote:

exactly. i don't think zoom understands how things work.

most of what being imported and sold here comes from the US and they act as the middle man...

this is an excellent opportunity to become a hub for Eastern nations
Then u cut the middle out.

I know lots of businessmen that buy directly from China

Postby The_Honourable » April 9th, 2025, 4:09 pm

Allyuh want hover take more holidays :lol:

Dhanpaul condemns UNC promise to increase salaries

Finance Minister Vishnu Dhanpaul has condemned the Opposition UNC's campaign promise to offer public servants a ten per cent salary increase if they are elected to lead the country on April 28.

He said the increase would cost tax payers billions of dollars and lead long-term to economic destabilisation.

"They are promising public servants short-term gain for extremely long-term pain," he said while speaking at the TTMA's leadership discussion and networking event at the Hyatt Regency on April 9.

He said the current government has been engaging in strategic initiatives to keep building economic resilience and enhance productivity.

Dhanpaul's statements echo those of Prime Minister Stuart Young, who has criticised the UNC for its campaign promises and said the country cannot afford the proposals the party has put forward.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/04/09/dhanpa ... -salaries/

Postby j.o.e » April 9th, 2025, 4:25 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Allyuh want hover take more holidays :lol:

Finance Minister Vishnu Dhanpaul has condemned the Opposition UNC's campaign promise to offer public servants a ten per cent salary increase if they are elected to lead the country on April 28.

He said the increase would cost tax payers billions of dollars and lead long-term to economic destabilisation.

"They are promising public servants short-term gain for extremely long-term pain," he said while speaking at the TTMA's leadership discussion and networking event at the Hyatt Regency on April 9.

He said the current government has been engaging in strategic initiatives to keep building economic resilience and enhance productivity.

Dhanpaul's statements echo those of Prime Minister Stuart Young, who has criticised the UNC for its campaign promises and said the country cannot afford the proposals the party has put forward.

Hoover don’t care ….. gimme gimme mentality.

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2025, 4:41 pm

so far pnm doing a good job of keeping heinz and rowlee out of the picture
make ppl forget that we have a home invasion pandemic

Postby hover11 » April 9th, 2025, 4:46 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Allyuh want hover take more holidays

Honorable I haven't been in work for the past 3 months and I applied for another four months. I give up on them, couldn't be bothered , focusing on my private business and securing a government contract.

Honorable you ever read the book animal farm, no need it playing right before your very eyes.All animal are equal but some are more equal than others. It wasn't a problem nor concern for taxpayers when they got their just dues but the workers have to be happy with dregs.When they accepted their 47% increase and milion dollar backpay, economic destabilization wasn't even an after thought

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2025, 5:17 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Allyuh want hover take more holidays :lol:

So that 47% increase does what exactly?

Postby bluefete » April 9th, 2025, 5:53 pm

That 104% tariff on goods from China will cause Chinese made goods to become significantly more expensive, if we import them from the USA.[/quote]Why go through USA when u can go directly to China[/quote]

We do buy directly from China. However, people who buy from Amazon may have to look at Temu now!

Postby st7 » April 9th, 2025, 6:41 pm

hover11 wrote:

Honorable I haven't been in work for the past 3 months and I applied for another four months. I give up on them, couldn't be bothered , focusing on my private business and securing a government contract.

hoovie waz yuh private business?

Postby hover11 » April 9th, 2025, 6:50 pm

st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

That doesn't concern you

Postby bluefete » April 9th, 2025, 6:57 pm

Even Stuartie voting UNC or PF

Postby The_Honourable » April 9th, 2025, 7:01 pm

hover11 wrote:

Honorable you ever read the book animal farm, no need it playing right before your very eyes.All animal are equal but some are more equal than others. It wasn't a problem nor concern for taxpayers when they got their just dues but the workers have to be happy with dregs.When they accepted their 47% increase and milion dollar backpay, economic destabilization wasn't even an after thought

Yeah i read animal farm but WAIT... mash brakes... 3 months holidays and you could apply for another 4? how... HOW... where in the T&T public service this is happening!?

Postby st7 » April 9th, 2025, 7:06 pm

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

That doesn't concern you

yuh bring it up. come nah, i wont tell anyone

Postby hover11 » April 9th, 2025, 7:20 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
hover11 wrote:

Yeah i read animal farm but WAIT... mash brakes... 3 months holidays and you could apply for another 4? how... HOW... where in the T&T public service this is happening!?
I have alot of leave inside you know how police have leave i have like over 190 days inside

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 9th, 2025, 8:24 pm

This man could lie bai

Postby bluefete » April 9th, 2025, 8:40 pm

Postby st7 » April 10th, 2025, 5:18 am

Redress10 wrote:This man could lie bai

he get ketch in he lies already. idk why public servant keep politicianing

i know vacation days does roll over, but how much they get a year that a low-level public servant like hovie accumulate over 190?

Postby hover11 » April 10th, 2025, 5:42 am

st7 wrote:

i know vacation days does roll over, but how much they get a year that a low-level public servant like hovie accumulate over 190?
It's very easy when you get 40 days a year based on your time in the service.....if you so interested go and apply to work in the service

Postby st7 » April 10th, 2025, 9:02 am

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:

It's very easy when you get 40 days a year based on your time in the service.....if you so interested go and apply to work in the service

40 days a year? geez, on top of being non-productive, allyuh get so much time off a year?

why allyuh need that raise again? give those raises to the more productive servants - example, Nurses and Doctors 8-)

Postby Les Bain » April 10th, 2025, 9:31 am

hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:

That's not far fetched. Before the recent management put the corporate stink on everything, there were employees who racked in a ton of comp time - talking bout time that dwarfed their annual VL entitlement - and used to go on year end leave then return in the middle of the following year. For a few it wasn't because they didn't want to take leave, they were in demand and used to get promised their absence would be covered when they put in a big VL application.

I wasn't one of those but I never took VL for years at a time, and an average of 3 SL per year. Went on 3 VL months this one time, dreaded returning, then applied for an extra month and got it granted. Still had under 2 years vacation entitlement when I returned. Now when you're nearing 50 0r 60 days they sending you a stern letter reminding you to take VL.

Postby hover11 » April 10th, 2025, 9:33 am

Back to politicians

There will be an “IMF Part 2” under a United National Congress (UNC) government, the People’s National Movement’s (PNM) Aranguez/St Joseph candidate Terrence Deyalsingh warned on Tuesday night.

For more: https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/deyalsi ... 02ce188314
FB_IMG_1744291967468.jpg

Postby Les Bain » April 10th, 2025, 9:51 am

^^ IMF Part 1 was under who?

*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby MaxPower » April 10th, 2025, 10:05 am

We saw what the PNM did and are doing….

Its how people really think the UNC is so concerned with the interests of the people.

T&T is not in a good position.

Who ever gets in power is going to fill their pockets, set themselves, family and friends, blame the next govt and buss out.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 10th, 2025, 10:38 am

Les Bain wrote:^^ IMF Part 1 was under who?

NAR

Postby MG Man » April 10th, 2025, 10:41 am

hover11 wrote:Back to politicians

There will be an “IMF Part 2” under a United National Congress (UNC) government, the People’s National Movement’s (PNM) Aranguez/St Joseph candidate Terrence Deyalsingh warned on Tuesday night.

For more: https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/deyalsi ... 967468.jpg

basically PNM politicians are stating the inevitable, based on how things currently are, so that they can say 'we told you so' if UNC wins
PNM is pulling out all the stops to lose this election (strategic move similarly to Patos snap election), but despite their efforts to lose, Kams is basically guaranteeing them another win

Postby hover11 » April 10th, 2025, 10:45 am

Les Bain wrote:^^ IMF Part 1 was under who?

NAR
I didn't think we had to read and spell here...it was because the mismanagement of the previous administration which was the PNM the then NAR administration was forced to go to the IMF. Like I said once and I will say it again.

PNM actions took us before the IMF and history always repeats itself