Local Covid Anti-Vaxxers vs Studies Spammers

So who won the pandemic debate?

Poll ended at August 3rd, 2023, 3:48 pm

Antivaxxers - Ah still alive! babylon cyah kill me!
43%
Covidians - Small pin does chook hard but it save the world.
43%
Me eh care - Allyuh keep arguing nah man, ah wining on dis bumper right here.
14%

Total votes: 14

drchaos

Re: Local anti-vaxxers

Postby drchaos » October 5th, 2021, 9:20 am

matr1x wrote:The foundation of this is that ppl mixing up general anti vax and anti covid Vax. And it's not even that.

Saying it's voluntary and then putting a proverbial gun means dishonesty. Remember, their story changing frequently.

I apologize about the disjointed nature of my points. Very busy in real life.

Yup they starting to distance themselves from Herd immunity now while 1 year ago thats all they were talking about :lol:

Postby redmanjp » October 5th, 2021, 9:56 am

we may not get to herd immunity in terms of infection but surely since the vaccine protects from severe covid it would be herd immunity in terms of severe systemic disease which results in the hospitals being overwhelmed- and also because the vax also reduces infection chances by about 4-5 times u also cut down community transmission and the R0 of the virus. once it goes below 1 it keeps reducing and then we can open up more and more, eventually we can do away with the safe zones and even unvaxxed can return to bars and cinemas- so we all win!

but that wont happen unless a majority like 70% or more take the vax.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » October 5th, 2021, 10:20 am

Did Jenny McCarthy start the anti vax movement? Wonder how much people died because of her.

Postby redmanjp » October 5th, 2021, 10:40 am

KM_2NR wrote:Did Jenny McCarthy start the anti vax movement? Wonder how much people died because of her.

or someone who claimed vaccines cause autism

Postby adnj » October 5th, 2021, 10:53 am

drchaos wrote:
matr1x wrote:The foundation of this is that ppl mixing up general anti vax and anti covid Vax. And it's not even that.

Saying it's voluntary and then putting a proverbial gun means dishonesty. Remember, their story changing frequently.

I apologize about the disjointed nature of my points. Very busy in real life.

Yup they starting to distance themselves from Herd immunity now while 1 year ago thats all they were talking about
Repost...

Five reasons why COVID herd immunity is probably impossible

It’s unclear whether vaccines prevent transmission

Vaccine roll-out is uneven

New variants change the herd-immunity equation

Immunity might not last forever

Vaccines might change human behaviour

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-021-00728-2

Postby teems1 » October 5th, 2021, 11:10 am

KM_2NR wrote:Did Jenny McCarthy start the anti vax movement? Wonder how much people died because of her.

It's a former doctor from the UK who started this whole debacle.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andrew_Wakefield

He since been discredited, and charged with fraud and conflict of interest.

All his journals have also been retracted.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2021, 11:13 am

I'll stick to my natural, immunity. Thank you.

U Vax people can Co mingle how much u want.

Postby adnj » October 5th, 2021, 11:25 am

sMASH wrote:I'll stick to my natural, immunity. Thank you.

U Vax people can Co mingle how much u want.
For unvaccinated, reinfection by SARS-CoV-2 is likely

October 4, 2021

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, there has been much uncertainty about how long immunity lasts after someone who is unvaccinated is infected with SARS-CoV-2.

Now a team of scientists led by faculty at Yale School of Public Health and the University of North Carolina at Charlotte have an answer. Strong protection following natural infection is short-lived.

"Reinfection can reasonably happen in three months or less," said Jeffrey Townsend, the Elihu Professor of Biostatistics at the Yale School of Public Health and a lead author of the study. "Therefore, those who have been naturally infected should get vaccinated. Previous infection alone can offer very little long-term protection against subsequent infections."

The study, published in the journal The Lancet Microbe, is the first to determine the likelihood of reinfection following natural infection and without vaccination.

Townsend and his team analyzed known reinfection and immunological data from the close viral relatives of SARS-CoV-2 that cause "common colds" -- along with immunological data from SARS-CoV-1 and Middle East Respiratory Syndrome. Leveraging evolutionary principles, the team was able to model the risk of COVID-19 reinfection over time.

Reinfections can and have happened, even shortly after recovery. And they will become increasingly common as immunity wanes and new SARS-CoV-2 variants arise.

"We tend to think about immunity as being immune or not immune. Our study cautions that we instead should be more focused on the risk of reinfection through time," said Alex Dornburg, assistant professor of bioinformatics and genomics at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, who co-led the study with Townsend. "As new variants arise, previous immune responses become less effective at combating the virus. Those who were naturally infected early in the pandemic are increasingly likely to become reinfected in the near future."

https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2 ... 104303.htm
Last edited by adnj on October 5th, 2021, 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

axe

Postby axe » October 5th, 2021, 11:36 am

The narrative being pushed is:
Vaccinated stills get the virus but less severe symptoms.
Unvaccinated will get the virus with more severe cases.
Unvaccinated who got the virus can get it again. But they not saying if the symptoms are severe or not. They are not telling the whole story on natural immunity. Major research from Israel proved that natural immunity was very robust. Why still trying to push people who got covid already and survived to get vaccinated. There is no science there at all.
Israel up to 4th booster. If you don't get a booster after first 2 shots you are not given a green pass. You have no access. They still being overridden by cases. What next 5th booster?

Postby adnj » October 5th, 2021, 11:51 am

axe wrote:The narrative being pushed is:
Unvaccinated who got the virus can get it again. But they not saying if the symptoms are severe or not. They are not telling the whole story on natural immunity. Major research from Israel proved that natural immunity was very robust. Why still trying to push people who got covid already and survived to get vaccinated. There is no science there at all.
Israel up to 4th booster. If you don't get a booster after first 2 shots you are not given a green pass. You have no access. They still being overridden by cases. What next 5th booster?
The "narrative" literally posted just before you did, is that immunity, natural or vaccinated, wanes over time...

"We tend to think about immunity as being immune or not immune. Our study cautions that we instead should be more focused on the risk of reinfection through time," said Alex Dornburg, assistant professor of bioinformatics and genomics at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, who co-led the study with Townsend. "As new variants arise, previous immune responses become less effective at combating the virus."

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » October 5th, 2021, 11:52 am

If you actually read the Israeli study on natural immunity, it said that those that have it and got vaccinated had even further protections against coronavirus.

Postby matr1x » October 5th, 2021, 12:04 pm

You can blame local doctors for this too. Without researching ivermectin, they follow the liberal media and call it horse dewormer.

1) had they researched, they would have known it was not the same medicine for animals what was being prescribed.

Either they were willfully stupid, or just parroting other people data.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » October 5th, 2021, 12:08 pm

matr1x wrote:You can blame local doctors for this too. Without researching ivermectin, they follow the liberal media and call it horse dewormer.

1) had they researched, they would have known it was not the same medicine for animals what was being prescribed.

There's no proof currently that ivermectin does anything.

eitech

Postby eitech » October 5th, 2021, 12:22 pm

ed360123 wrote:
matr1x wrote:You can blame local doctors for this too. Without researching ivermectin, they follow the liberal media and call it horse dewormer.

There's no proof currently that ivermectin does anything.

He is not arguing about the proof that it does anything. He is saying that they misleading you when they say ivermectin is only for animals. There are separate ivermectin, one for human use and one for animals. Again the argument is not for proof against covid. Thats another discussion.

Postby adnj » October 5th, 2021, 12:30 pm

eitech wrote:He is not arguing about the proof that it does anything. He is saying that they misleading you when they say ivermectin is only for animals. There are separate ivermectin, one for human use and one for animals. Again the argument is not for proof against covid. Thats another discussion.

The difference at issue is the dosage necessary to be effective against COVID-19.

Why You Shouldn’t Take Ivermectin for COVID-19

Doing so can send you to the emergency room

What is Ivermectin?  

By now, you’ve probably heard about people taking large doses of ivermectin that’s been formulated for horses and cows. Ivermectin for animals is intended to prevent heartworm disease and other parasites. This version is safe for animals — not people. The higher doses of ivermectin in these formulas can be very toxic for humans, and that’s why they should be avoided.   

However, ivermectin is available by prescription for people as well. It comes in oral and topical forms. These preparations have been approved by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration (FDA) and are used to treat parasitic roundworm infections like ascariasis, head lice and rosacea. They work by paralyzing and killing parasites.   

“The oral formulation doses are much lower than the topical formulation doses,” says critical care physician Abhijit Duggal, MD. “There is some unproven chatter on the internet and people are suggesting that higher doses of ivermectin should be used. So people are getting the topical formulation and then using that as well.”  

https://health.clevelandclinic.org/why- ... -covid-19/

Understanding ivermectin for humans vs what's available for animal use. We speak to vet experts

According to De Bruyn, ivermectin for animals is available in five forms: injectable; oral liquid; powder; pour-on; and capsules, with the injectable form by far the most common.

Ivermectin for humans comes in pill or tablet form – and doctors need to apply to Sahpra for a Section 21 permit to dispense it to humans.

Is it safe for human consumption?

Although the inactive excipient or carrier ingredients present in ivermectin for animals are also found as additives in human drinks and food, De Bruyn stressed that the livestock products are not registered for human consumption.

"Ivermectin has been used for many years for humans [as a treatment for certain other diseases]. It is relatively safe. But we don't know exactly that if we use it so regularly to treat or prevent the Covid-19 what the long-term effects are, but also it can have quite serious effects on the brain if overdosed (sic).

"You know, people can become blind or go into a coma. So, it's very important that they consult a health professional, and that they follow the dosage instructions they receive from that health professional," Dr De Bruyn said.

Professor Vinny Naidoo is the dean of the Faculty of Veterinary Science at the University of Pretoria and an expert in veterinary pharmacology.

In a piece he wrote, Naidoo stated that there was no evidence that veterinary ivermectin worked for humans.

He also warned that the clinical trials on humans involved only a small number of patients and, therefore, people who took ivermectin needed to be observed by doctors.

https://www.news24.com/health24/medical ... 20210201-2

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 5th, 2021, 2:53 pm

They chaining you up by having you chase the wrong target.
They keep mentioning neutralizing antibodies, which can help prevent reinfection.

Natural course of an infection is to drop antibodies after 6 months or so then create memory B cells or Plasma cells. These wait until you reinfected and then they start multiplying and producing more antibodies.
Once you have memory B cells your reinfection will be far less severe unless you are very very immunocompromised.

No one should care about covid reinfection if you have memory B cells. Its just propaganda to get you to keep vaccinating ... Show them the money.

Postby adnj » October 5th, 2021, 4:21 pm

drchaos wrote:

They keep mentioning neutralizing antibodies, which can help prevent reinfection.

Natural course of an infection is to drop antibodies after 6 months or so then create memory B cells or Plasma cells. These wait until you reinfected and then they start multiplying and producing more antibodies.
Once you have memory B cells your reinfection will be far less severe unless you are very very immunocompromised.

No one should care about covid reinfection if you have memory B cells. Its just propaganda to get you to keep vaccinating ... Show them the money.
You should not be very concerned about COVID reinfection once you have had a mild infection or vaccination. The chances of severe disease are greatly diminished - for the most part.

Of course if your immune system is compromised, you may have difficulty with COVID reinfection -- and any other infection.

Problematic are the likelihood of reinfection of COVID variants of concern or the possibility of exposing others with naive (or possibly compromised) immune systems.

While the impact of a COVID infection having a negative outcome beyond the week or two that the individual has the disease is typically very limited, the potential of negatively affecting others is high.

Postby st7 » October 5th, 2021, 7:59 pm

Postby redmanjp » October 5th, 2021, 8:43 pm

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 5th, 2021, 10:17 pm

adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:

You should not be very concerned about COVID reinfection once you have had a mild infection or vaccination. The chances of severe disease are greatly diminished - for the most part.

Of course if your immune system is compromised, you may have difficulty with COVID reinfection -- and any other infection.

Problematic are the likelihood of reinfection of COVID variants of concern or the possibility of exposing others with naive (or possibly compromised) immune systems.

While the impact of a COVID infection having a negative outcome beyond the week or two that the individual has the disease is typically very limited, the potential of negatively affecting others is high.

Yup, no one should leave their house ever ... We are a danger to everyone around us at all times.

Postby gastly369 » October 6th, 2021, 12:01 am

Postby adnj » October 6th, 2021, 12:40 am

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Yup, no one should leave their house ever ... We are a danger to everyone around us at all times.
You are a possible danger to some people so long as you are infected. You lessen the chances of infection, disease and transmission by reintroduction of vaccines to boost the immune system -- whether you have previously been infected or not.

When coming into contact with with at-risk populations, vaccinations are the standard prophylaxis used.

Vaccination tends to be much more cost effective than the hospitalizationof the severely affected population even before taking into account lost productivity. When combined with possible suffering and death, there is no bona fide solution that is less expensive or more long-term effective than a vaccination program for nearly any disease.

Penguin

Postby Penguin » October 6th, 2021, 1:43 am

drchaos wrote:
adnj wrote:
drchaos wrote:

Aren't you the nookie who got paranoid after taking a vaccine that causes clots in 1 and 250k?

Postby hover11 » October 6th, 2021, 6:42 am

Why I am unvaccinated?

I am not vaccinated against Covid-19 and do not intend to take any of the existing vaccines. Here are my reasons.

Medical: I am under 70 years of age, have no co-morbidities, am not obese, and can run one mile in under nine minutes. This puts me in a cohort that Covid does not seriously affect. Thus, the vaccine does not benefit me.

Statistical: If I do catch Covid, the odds of me dying are virtually nil; and for hospitalisation, extremely low. The overall fatality rate is 1.3 per cent, and 99 per cent of those who die have already exceeded the average life expectancy of their country (73 years in Trinidad), have co-morbidities, and/or are obese.
Put another way, I know the risks of Covid, but the vaccine risk for me remains an unknown—ie, I do not know if I am one of the few who will have a severe or fatal reaction.

Epidemiological: In all previous pandemics, two principles have applied—protect the sick and vulnerable and carry on as normal (ie, no lockdowns of any sort). These basics have been overturned for Covid-19—the only coronavirus that poses no danger to healthy persons. It is, therefore, wrong in principle to obey such restrictions.

Ethical: It is now known that even vaccinated people can infect others. This means that my taking the vaccine does not protect anyone else. Even before the vaccines were available, however, the “protect other people” argument was specious. Anyone who wishes to avoid catching Covid can do so by staying away from others. If they refuse to do so, it is because they have decided that the risk is worth it. It is not anyone else’s responsibility to either facilitate or block their decision.

Everyone has their own reasons for taking or not taking the Covid vaccine. That should be their choice. When coercion is invoked (eg, “safe” zones), it becomes a civic duty to oppose the Government’s erosion of our human rights.

Kevin Baldeosingh

https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/let ... ium=social

Postby matr1x » October 6th, 2021, 6:55 am

You know it's funny. Supporters of the vaccines for covid are telling people to trust the science, but themselves have no idea how the vaccination actually works.

Remember, to get funding, scientists will say whatever the donar asked.

Postby timelapse » October 6th, 2021, 7:20 am

hover11 wrote:Why I am unvaccinated?

I am not vaccinated against Covid-19 and do not intend to take any of the existing vaccines. Here are my reasons.

Medical: I am under 70 years of age, have no co-morbidities, am not obese, and can run one mile in under nine minutes. This puts me in a cohort that Covid does not seriously affect. Thus, the vaccine does not benefit me.

Statistical: If I do catch Covid, the odds of me dying are virtually nil; and for hospitalisation, extremely low. The overall fatality rate is 1.3 per cent, and 99 per cent of those who die have already exceeded the average life expectancy of their country (73 years in Trinidad), have co-morbidities, and/or are obese.
Put another way, I know the risks of Covid, but the vaccine risk for me remains an unknown—ie, I do not know if I am one of the few who will have a severe or fatal reaction.

Epidemiological: In all previous pandemics, two principles have applied—protect the sick and vulnerable and carry on as normal (ie, no lockdowns of any sort). These basics have been overturned for Covid-19—the only coronavirus that poses no danger to healthy persons. It is, therefore, wrong in principle to obey such restrictions.

Ethical: It is now known that even vaccinated people can infect others. This means that my taking the vaccine does not protect anyone else. Even before the vaccines were available, however, the “protect other people” argument was specious. Anyone who wishes to avoid catching Covid can do so by staying away from others. If they refuse to do so, it is because they have decided that the risk is worth it. It is not anyone else’s responsibility to either facilitate or block their decision.

Everyone has their own reasons for taking or not taking the Covid vaccine. That should be their choice. When coercion is invoked (eg, “safe” zones), it becomes a civic duty to oppose the Government’s erosion of our human rights.

Kevin Baldeosingh

Kevin Baldeosingh is also a self confessed drunkard that is obsessed with the re-opening of bars.What he is NOT , is a doctor, medical researcher,or even a nurse that has the slightest inkling of medical training.In short, is just rumshop talk from him

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » October 6th, 2021, 7:21 am

hover11 wrote:Why I am unvaccinated?

Kevin Baldeosingh

Can't believe they publish this.

Postby adnj » October 6th, 2021, 7:33 am

matr1x wrote:You know it's funny. Supporters of the vaccines for covid are telling people to trust the science, but themselves have no idea how the vaccination actually works.

Remember, to get funding, scientists will say whatever the donar asked.

The word is DONOR not DONAR

Some "people" understand very, very well.

Postby Redman » October 6th, 2021, 7:58 am

With Merk charging 700+ for the non ivermectin pill they are estimating 7B usd as the year one number.
Of course this pill is on patent while the Ivermectin isn't.

That new pill cost 17 usd to make.

Off patent Ivermectin is available here in TnT for 4.50 per tablet.

Postby adnj » October 6th, 2021, 8:12 am

Redman wrote:With Merk charging 700+ for the non ivermectin pill they are estimating 7B usd as the year one number.
Of course this pill is on patent while the Ivermectin isn't.

That new pill cost 17 usd to make.

Off patent Ivermectin is available here in TnT for 4.50 per tablet.
Ivermectrin is an anthelmintic drug specifically designed to treat parasitic worms.

Molnupiravir is an experimental antiviral drug designed to treat influenza viruses.

After more than 18 months, there has not been a single study of quality that establishes ivermectrin as a reasonably safe treatment for COVID. Even though the drug is inexpensive and widely avaible to ANY country or organization that has the interest required to run the study.
Last edited by adnj on October 6th, 2021, 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.