COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2021, 10:56 am

Bar Owners 100% Vaccinated

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/07/30/barkee ... accinated/

Barkeepers and Owners Association members fully vaccinated

The TT Barkeepers and Operators Association (BOATT) said 100 per cent of its membership has been vaccinated after its recent day of vaccination in collaboration with the Health Ministry.

It said the total vaccinated within the bar industry stands at approximately 70 per cent.

In a release, BOATT said it is urging the population to have confidence in the vaccine regime and would like to enjoin all businesses in all sectors to encourage the vaccination process.

“It has been a harsh and challenging 16 months, but we are finally seeing the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel. Now is not the time to be nit-picking about the past or present situation, but it’s a time to encourage, show and promote your willingness and readiness to serve and operate in the ‘New Normal.’”

It said vaccination coupled with full adherence and enforcement of the 3W’s (Wear a mask, Wash your hands, Watch your distance) is the only way the citizens who are currently jobless can regain their dignity, calm their mental stability, and once again feel part of society and contribute to the economic growth of TT and where businesses can once again flourish.

“The association has been at the forefront in uniting the industry and the business community by forging collaborations with various ministries, business chambers, associations and independent individuals and will continue to do so by offering our services to aid in procuring vaccines for themselves and employees so we can all return to normal business activity in the swiftest possible time.”

time to open up d bar!!

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 30th, 2021, 11:04 am

IRA is right

You not vaccinated by choice then avoid all contact with people especially the vulnerable and those who cannot be vaccinated for medical reasons

If you infect someone who unvacinated for medical reasons then there is blood on your hands
paid_influencer wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:8f08d07e-094e-48bd-85f2-be80bcbf0639.jpg

Ira Mathur with a bad take. (1) Using language like "killed her mother" is unnecessarily traumatic and should be avoided, and (2) It takes a minimum of 6 weeks to be vaccinated. Even if they got a 'first shot' two weeks ago when the process opened up, they would not have been vaccinated in time.

We don't know how much protection Sinopharm gives against being infected and spreading the virus to others. We do know the vaccine reduces hospitalization and almost certainly prevents death. It's important everyone get their own vaccine for their own personal protection.

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2021, 11:06 am

PariaMan wrote:IRA is right

You not vaccinated by choice then avoid all contact with people especially the vulnerable and those who cannot be vaccinated for medical reasons

If you infect someone who unvacinated for medical reasons then there is blood on your hands

IRA wrong like hell and should apologize.

There is no such thing as "unvacinated for medical reasons." The only contraindications for vaccination are: pregnancy and being under 18.

Everyone else needs to take their own vaccine for their own personal protection.

Postby teems1 » July 30th, 2021, 11:14 am

paid_influencer wrote:
PariaMan wrote:IRA is right

IRA wrong like hell and should apologize.

There is no such thing as "unvacinated for medical reasons." The only contraindications for vaccination are: pregnancy and being under 18.

Everyone else needs to take their own vaccine for their own personal protection.

People who suffer with severe allergic reactions should be cautious also.

This is the listing from the WHO site

https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/coronavirus-disease-(covid-19)-vaccines

Have a compromised immune system
Are pregnant or nursing your baby
Have a history of severe allergies, particularly to a vaccine (or any of the ingredients in the vaccine)
Are severely frail

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 30th, 2021, 11:17 am

Yep there are a few reasons .

But if you not in that category then blood is on your hands

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2021, 11:19 am

This is the guidance for the local MoH.

https://health.gov.tt/covid-19/covid-19 ... ld-not-get

Pregnant women. (Nursing mothers are cleared for Sinopharm vaxx.)
those under 18,
People with a history of severe reactions to a component in the vaccine

that last part does not include people with mild/moderate allergies, only specifically for people who've had past reactions to vaccinations or severe allergic reactions.
Last edited by paid_influencer on July 30th, 2021, 11:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 38014 cases, 1056 deaths, 5852 active, 31106 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » July 30th, 2021, 11:21 am

You realize it easy to get your hands on a fake vaccination card right?
Dohplaydat wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:Personally I can't spend my money at an establishment where I can't be considered to work equally....so I will be boycotting for sure
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
hover11 wrote:A list should be made available and highlight organizations with the same agenda. The unvaccinated should boycott them period!!! Let's see how they'll survive that...
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Trotters not alone

Steupse...boycott and trinis....lmfao....pretty soon all major businesses would follow suit and you will have no choice but to vaccinate

If dining were open I would SUPPORT all establishments that have harsh vaccination requirements for employees. So you boycott, they not gonna miss you and I’m also glad you’re not there with your unvaccinated self **cheers**
Yep I would definitely only go to those with harsh vaccine requirements

All work places should have the same requirements

The old saying "avoid like a plague" comes to mind.

This is a pandemic of the unvaccinated

Unvaccinated should be "avoided like a plague"

Agreed fully. Wish we implemented a covid vaccine pass to stop unvaccinated persons from accessing dining-in, cinemas, clubs, bars amd gyms.

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2021, 11:21 am

PariaMan wrote:Yep there are a few reasons .

I think this is a straight up excuse to be mean and angry to people. Not so much care and concern about others.

but you do you bro

Postby st7 » July 30th, 2021, 11:44 am

if you need to keep asking 'why are the vaccinated so afraid of the unvaccinated' and you have been told multiple times why, then i can only assume you are an idiot with no basic understanding of anything who loves to spread misinformation because of your own insecurities and fears as a person who wants to remain ignorant.

i myself questioned this, especially when rowley said 'the unvaccinated are a threat to the vaccinated' on TV and thought lulwut? then i was provided explanations from a couple of people, one of who is a virologist (and even Duane), and when provided with the new info i admitted to being wrong about how stupid that statement was and back those who say 'the unvaccinated are a threat to the vaccinated'.

if you cannot learn to accept new info from reputable sources because of your insecurities and beliefs are tenfold, then boss man i sorry for whatever significant other u ever had to put up with you.

no one is forcing you to take the vaccine. you have a choice as an individual to do whatever you please. but if you are in an environment where you dealing with people and you dont understand how easy it is to ketch covid and carry it home putting your family at risk...then leave de wok. boycott. do whatever u think is right.

just stop being a fear-mongering pr!cklal.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2021, 11:53 am

^ You have to keep repeating the same things over and over again.
But eventually it will stick

Postby MG Man » July 30th, 2021, 12:29 pm

st7 wrote:
just stop being a fear-mongering pr!cklal.

how else are they going to assert themselves as superior intellects who understand the secret global paradigm shift

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 30th, 2021, 12:40 pm

I know alot of people who have died

Right now my good pal is fighting for his life in Couva

And to think there are still people out there who are strong and healthy and refusing to take the vaccine while probably infecting the weak the infirm and those with comorbidities makes me sick to my stomach
paid_influencer wrote:
PariaMan wrote:Yep there are a few reasons .

I think this is a straight up excuse to be mean and angry to people. Not so much care and concern about others.

but you do you bro

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2021, 12:40 pm

reposting this from the main thread

In that outbreak, vaccinated and unvaccinated people had nearly the same amount of virus recovered from test samples, indicating that vaccinated people are just as contagious as unvaccinated people when it comes to the delta variant.

With previous strains, vaccinated people who became infected with the coronavirus had much lower levels of virus, meaning they were less contagious.

That may have now changed.

The CDC has promised to release detailed data from this outbreak soon.

https://www.npr.org/2021/07/29/10225804 ... han-a-cold

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2021, 12:44 pm

PariaMan wrote:I know alot of people who have died

Right now my good pal is fighting for his life in Couva

And to think there are still people out there who are strong and healthy and refusing to take the vaccine while probably infecting the weak the infirm and those with comorbidities makes me sick to my stomach

I can agree with this, but can we cut out some of the bloodlust and animosity? The WHO guidelines say to interact with vaccine hesitant people by providing information, which is what we should be doing.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 30th, 2021, 12:47 pm

New York Times

"Infections in vaccinated Americans are rare, compared with those in unvaccinated people, the document said. But when they occur, vaccinated people may spread the virus just as easily"

Therefore it's still better to take vaccines that are available

Point is at some point we have to call a spade a spade

The unvaccinated are a serious threat to the human race and life as we know it

Postby paid_influencer » July 30th, 2021, 12:52 pm

PariaMan wrote:New York Times

"Infections in vaccinated Americans are rare, compared with those in unvaccinated people, the document said. But when they occur, vaccinated people may spread the virus just as easily"

The virus is a serious threat to the human race. By being hostile to the people you are supposed to be helping, you're creating a problem. Please stop.

I agree we should all be taking the vaccine. I am definitely pro-vaxx, for the record.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 30th, 2021, 12:55 pm

I will never stop .The message must be clear it is unacceptable to be strong and healthy and unwilling to vaccinate
paid_influencer wrote:
PariaMan wrote:New York Times

The virus is a serious threat to the human race. By being hostile to the people you are supposed to be helping, you're creating a problem. Please stop.

I agree we should all be taking the vaccine. I am definitely pro-vaxx, for the record.

Postby aaron17 » July 30th, 2021, 1:06 pm

Soo ppl with comorbidities should be vaccinated as priority.

Postby aaron17 » July 30th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Postby adnj » July 30th, 2021, 1:32 pm

aaron17 wrote:Soo ppl with comorbidities should be vaccinated as priority.
There are about ten locations that take walk-ins/drive-ins with zero appointments. All the health centers are giving appointments for vaccinations, too.

You can't do much more unless you go door to door.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 30th, 2021, 4:12 pm

every 10 years we take a tetanus shot and we dig in the dirt and get cuts and scratches all over the place and tetanus will NEVA go away. yet there are persons who forget to get it or the 10 years passes and only when they get a deep cut of scrape they go for the shot and their ignorance does nothing to you as you vaccinated, you dig in the dirt etc and doesnt get tetanus cause you are vaccinated. this vaccine for covid stiill allows you to get covid and they want to force everyone to take it. is it against the law to fire someone with HIV? or Herpes? people getting blood clots and strokes, heart problems and even trouble lifting their arms after the shot and its being denied all over the world. everyone forget franklyn khan get the vaccine and heart attack a few days after. the hesitance is not if to take the vaccine or not. give me a good, tested and proof it works vaccine and i will take it smiling.

The tetanus vaccine is part of the recommended series of childhood and adult immunizations. It protects against the bacterial infection tetanus, also known as lockjaw.

Tetanus causes painful muscle spasms and can lead to death. The tetanus vaccine has made tetanus a preventable disease. Thanks to its widespread use, lockjaw has become very rare in the U.S. Even so, adults need to be vaccinated against it. There’s no cure and 10% to 20% of people who have it die.

You can get it through a cut or other wound. Tetanus bacteria are common in soil, dust, and manure. The tetanus bacteria can infect a person even through a tiny scratch. But you’re more likely to get tetanus through deep punctures from wounds created by nails or knives. The bacteria travel via blood or nerves to the central nervous system.

Postby adnj » July 30th, 2021, 4:36 pm

daring dragoon wrote:

every 10 years we take a tetanus shot and we dig in the dirt and get cuts and scratches all over the place and tetanus will NEVA go away. yet there are persons who forget to get it or the 10 years passes and only when they get a deep cut of scrape they go for the shot and their ignorance does nothing to you as you vaccinated, you dig in the dirt etc and doesnt get tetanus cause you are vaccinated. this vaccine for covid stiill allows you to get covid and they want to force everyone to take it. is it against the law to fire someone with HIV? or Herpes? people getting blood clots and strokes, heart problems and even trouble lifting their arms after the shot and its being denied all over the world. everyone forget franklyn khan get the vaccine and heart attack a few days after. the hesitance is not if to take the vaccine or not. give me a good, tested and proof it works vaccine and i will take it smiling.

The tetanus vaccine is part of the recommended series of childhood and adult immunizations. It protects against the bacterial infection tetanus, also known as lockjaw.

Tetanus causes painful muscle spasms and can lead to death. The tetanus vaccine has made tetanus a preventable disease. Thanks to its widespread use, lockjaw has become very rare in the U.S. Even so, adults need to be vaccinated against it. There’s no cure and 10% to 20% of people who have it die.

You can get it through a cut or other wound. Tetanus bacteria are common in soil, dust, and manure. The tetanus bacteria can infect a person even through a tiny scratch. But you’re more likely to get tetanus through deep punctures from wounds created by nails or knives. The bacteria travel via blood or nerves to the central nervous system.
Tetanus is caused by a bacterium not a virus. That's in the post that you quoted. You can treat a bacterial infection with antibiotics.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 30th, 2021, 6:07 pm

vaccine is vaccine brudda.

adnj wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Tetanus is caused by a bacterium not a virus. That's in the post that you quoted. You can treat a bacterial infection with antibiotics.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » July 30th, 2021, 7:00 pm

Vaccine blind loyalist look away now.

https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/70/wr/mm7031e2.htm

^This is what the cdc used to inform their new mask recommendations.

The summary:
Screenshot_20210730_182951.jpg

Screenshot_20210730_183102.jpg

Translation: absolutely no difference from when the world didn't have covid vaccines to now. (with delta apparently)

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 30th, 2021, 7:35 pm

Co worker died today

May he rest in peace

Postby adnj » July 30th, 2021, 7:37 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Vaccine blind loyalist look away now.

https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/70/wr/mm7031e2.htm

^This is what the cdc used to inform their new mask recommendations.

The summary:
Screenshot_20210730_182951.jpg

Screenshot_20210730_183102.jpg

Translation: absolutely no difference from when the world didn't have covid vaccines to now. (with delta apparently)

What's changed:

EVERYBODY'S risk of infection has increased
No one is safe from infection from the vaccinated.

Here’s How Well COVID-19 Vaccines Work Against the Delta Variant

Key takeaways

The World Health Organization (WHO) has said data so far supportsTrusted Source claims that the Pfizer-BioNTech and AstraZeneca vaccines work against preventing severe COVID-19 caused by the delta variant.

But it has also acknowledged that the vaccines may offer less protection against milder, symptomatic illness caused by delta, though studies still suggest that people fully vaccinated “retain significant protection against the delta variant.”

Receiving the full regimen of two doses of a mRNA COVID-19 vaccine, such as Pfizer-BioNTech or Moderna vaccines, has also shown to be much more effective against the delta variant.

“The bottom line is that the vaccination program with any of the current vaccines available is the only way to break the cycle of spread by not allowing the virus to infect unvaccinated hosts and then mutate into variants such as delta. These vaccines are safe and with a high degree of efficacy to prevent further morbidities and mortalities,” Strange said.

Prof. Tim Spector, an epidemiologist from King’s College London, told Healthline that it is now time for the United States to take lessons from the United Kingdom in dealing with this new variant.

“[They] should start spreading the word about the new symptoms. [D]o not get too relaxed when you get your vaccine either, especially if you are in a high-risk area,” he said.

“Your risk may be an eighth of what it was [after getting vaccinated] but still a considerable number of people will be infected,” he added, highlighting the importance of physical distancing and wearing masks in crowded, unventilated places.

Postby K74T » July 30th, 2021, 7:38 pm

PariaMan wrote:Co worker died today

May he rest in peace
Sorry to hear, my condolences.

Postby adnj » July 30th, 2021, 7:49 pm

daring dragoon wrote:vaccine is vaccine brudda.

adnj wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

For tetanus:

HOW TO TREAT MINOR CUTS

Wash your hands with soap and water.

Wash the cut to prevent infection. Use cool or lukewarm water and a mild soap or cleanser to gently remove dirt or debris.

Stop the bleeding. Apply pressure to the cut using a clean washcloth or gauze. Maintain pressure for one to two minutes or until the bleeding stops.

Apply petroleum jelly. This will help keep the wound moist for faster healing. Make sure you apply it continuously until the cut heals. To help prevent the spread of dirt and bacteria, consider using petroleum jelly from a tube instead of a jar. Do not apply topical antibiotics.

Cover the cut with a sterile bandage. This will help protect the cut and prevent it from reopening. Change the bandage daily, and keep the cut covered until it heals.

Consider taking over-the-counter pain medication. Acetaminophen can help relieve painful cuts.

Make sure your tetanus vaccination is up to date if your cut is from a dirty or rusty object. If you aren’t sure, contact your primary care doctor.

Because a vaccine is a vaccine,
Because you can treat bacterial infections,
Because, in general, treating viral infections is very difficult,
Because you know the cut POTENTIALLY introduced Clostridium tetani into your bloodstream,
You take a tetanus vaccine booster to prevent the possibility of infection.

When were you exposed to Covid-19? When will you be exposed? How will you be exposed? If you don't know, you take the vaccine now. Before you have been exposed.

You received a tetanus shot as a child. You actually received it five times before you were able to read to build up the immunity that prevents you from dying from a cut received while digging in the dirt. Because a vaccine is a vaccine.
Last edited by adnj on July 30th, 2021, 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 30th, 2021, 7:51 pm

May he rest in peace

Condolences PariaMan

Postby adnj » July 30th, 2021, 7:54 pm

May he rest in peace
So sad to hear this. Condolences to you and his family.