COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 49 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby aaron17 » March 21st, 2020, 8:49 pm

VII wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
VII wrote:
Rovin wrote:arima market ...

Wow good job ...dey lock down de market too..nice..
Lockdown but they spreading it in close contact with each other in the line.

No they aren't...spreading what btw ?
Well social spacing they are not practising...a simple cough can slip out..

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2020, 8:56 pm

Lil crowd by sauce doubles on ave

Postby redmanjp » March 21st, 2020, 9:12 pm

^ no eating 1 on d spot right? and i hope the server isn't handling cash

yesterday in subway i had to tell someone who was taking out a large amount of cash then proceeded to put napkins in my subway bag he shouldn't be doing that- i cud sanitize my hand- i can't sanitize napkins or d food

VII

Postby VII » March 21st, 2020, 9:25 pm

Massey westmoorings and I suppose others have set up sinks and you must wash your hands before entering and securing a sanitized trolley...and other workers sanitizing all over the store.

Didn't feel at risk once while there...
Last edited by VII on March 21st, 2020, 10:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » March 21st, 2020, 9:28 pm

aaron17 wrote:
VII wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
VII wrote:
Rovin wrote:arima market ...

Wow good job ...dey lock down de market too..nice..
Lockdown but they spreading it in close contact with each other in the line.

No they aren't...spreading what btw ?
Well social spacing they are not practising...a simple cough can slip out..

Is de big stagers, the 'elite' , regular travellers and recent travellers you have to fear,not the common market folk with dey ole bag..
Last edited by VII on March 21st, 2020, 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby aaron17 » March 21st, 2020, 9:30 pm

13:46 corona spreads even if you are not coughing or sneezing question.

Postby eliteauto » March 21st, 2020, 10:19 pm

VII wrote:Massey westmoorings and I suppose others have set up sinks and you must wash our hands before entering and securing a sanitized trolley...and other workers sanitizing all over the store.

Didn't feel at risk once while there...

experienced this today at Massy, only issue i had was I didn't see the lady cleaning/washing the cloth that she was sanitizing the trolleys with

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 21st, 2020, 10:53 pm

Might not b true but ...
Screenshot_2020-03-21-22-51-58.jpeg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 22nd, 2020, 12:04 am

wickedtuna wrote:Might not b true but ...Screenshot_2020-03-21-22-51-58.jpeg

Just a meme, but apparently Russia is covering up te severity of the outbreak there so not sure what's the situation in Russia at the moment.

Postby Gladiator » March 22nd, 2020, 12:19 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
wickedtuna wrote:Might not b true but ...Screenshot_2020-03-21-22-51-58.jpeg

Just a meme, but apparently Russia is covering up te severity of the outbreak there so not sure what's the situation in Russia at the moment.

Russia
India
China
USA

All covering up their real stats... hope T&T telling us the truth, that's the only one that matters really.

Postby gastly369 » March 22nd, 2020, 1:08 am

I see USA 2660 new cases today?

Postby Gladiator » March 22nd, 2020, 1:19 am

gastly369 wrote:I see USA 2660 new cases today?

It was +6382 on the 21/03/2020

That 2660 is for the couple hours that gone on the 22/03/2020 ?

Postby Gladiator » March 22nd, 2020, 2:20 am

Check dem, check dem...

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 22nd, 2020, 3:38 am

i want to know if this virus so mild as the trinidad doctor say how the US running out of ventilators, so many people dying world wide. WHO say they virus airborn for 8 hrs so y parasaram telling people doh wear mask and one seta sheit. trinidad govt not taking this ting serious, time to put a SOE, only to work, grocey and pharmacy and home, no children on the street, no loitering, stop things like newspapers,sale of food, all products must be sanitized. people hadda store some food yes, at least 3 months worth.

Postby hydroep » March 22nd, 2020, 3:50 am

There's something to be said about getting both sides of a story...:|

Ramesh: 68 not kept apart in Balandra quarantine facility
Jensen La Vende

THE 68 people who were in quarantine as a precaution against covid19 at a Balandra facility felt so unsafe that social distancing was not being practised that they hired senior counsel Ramesh Maharaj to ask Government to adhere to its own guidelines.

Forty of them have since tested positive for the virus.

On Saturday, Maharaj confirmed he wrote two letters to Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi and the Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh on the issue. He added that on Friday he also wrote to the Prime Minister.

According to Maharaj, the letters to the ministers were not pre-action protocols and did not request that those in quarantine be released.

“My clients were abiding by the quarantine rules. They wanted to be tested. They also wanted to address the accommodation which they felt was not in keeping with the social distancing. They (the Government) did not provide for social distancing and my clients had issues with them not having cleaning agents and sanitizers.”

He said the second letter was sent after his clients said they were tested but social distancing was still not being enforced as the accommodation was not sufficient to keep people apart.

After his second letter was not acknowledged by noon Friday, he wrote to Dr Rowley and copied the two letters.

“I think it is my duty to the public to put into the public domain the context of the letters so as to not misconstrue its intention” Maharaj said.

The 68 were passengers on a cruise ship off Guadeloupe and were flown home on Tuesday and taken to the Seventh-Day Adventist Church camp in Balandra. They were tested on Thursday and on Friday night the results showed 40 had tested positive.

On Saturday morning, Deyalsingh said the 40 were taken to the Couva Hospital as a precaution as those who tested positive were all part of the "at-risk community."

He added the hospital is equipped with enough intensive care unit beds and equipment to treat severe cases.

When contacted on Saturday, Al-Rawi said he found Maharaj's letters were pre-mature. He confirmed the letters did not ask for that those in quarantine be released but asked that they be tested. He said some of them, by the time the letters were sent, showed no symptoms of the virus. He said Maharaj could have called the ministers rather than issue the letters.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/21/ramesh-68-not-kept-apart-in-balandra-quarantine-facility/

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 22nd, 2020, 3:55 am

pugboy wrote:Lil crowd by sauce doubles on ave

so me an a padna park up by doubles queen in el socorro right now drinking some rum waiting on them to open. d man making the doubles channa cooking this thing in a big pot turning with a large wooden spoon. the man only sneezing, he blowing he nose loud loud, he coughing and all this while the pot open yes. wah kinda sheit is dat. i mean the heat might kill the virus but if the man sick why the arse he cooking the food. cud be a man not sure the person hair tie up in a bun have one a black jersey. will try to take a video.

Postby hydroep » March 22nd, 2020, 3:58 am

Possible "Carnival Infection"...:|

COVID patient's daughter urges self-quarantines
Rhondor Dowlat-Rostant

With tears rolling down her cheeks, the daughter of one of the patients diagnosed with the COVID-19 virus and warded in a critical condition at the Couva Hospital fell to her knees on the shoulder of the highway and prayed for her father to pull through on Saturday.

The woman, who did not give her name or that of her father, who is 66 years, said he was one of the first five of confirmed cases. She said her father was still in a critical condition but “with small improvements.”

The woman said she strongly believed her father contracted the virus either while at the Piarco International Airport or in Trinidad but not while he was on vacation abroad.

“Where he went, the people were in quarantine and none of them have any signs of the flu, cold of any sort. Their quarantine actually ended yesterday (Friday), when he was proven positive, they have been in quarantine and they are now in the clear. It shows that he got it either from the airport here or within Trinidad.”

The woman, who came in from Canada, said she travelled into Trinidad when she heard her father was ill. However, she said she will have to leave Trinidad sad, as she is flying out today (Sunday), before the total shutdown of all international flights, because she has to return to her children in Canada.

“My father would have wanted me to go back to my children,” she said.

Asked if all the persons who were in contact with her father were in quarantine, the woman said yes.

“Other family members who were in contact are self-quarantined since the last day he spent with them. So far they are fine. Everybody who was in contact with him, we know they’re quarantined because the ministry has been contacting them,” she said.

“We are in prayer and standing together. I don’t live here, I live abroad. I came when I heard he was ill not knowing he was positive.

“I did not go to my home so I have not seen my mother and brother yet. It is a trying time all around for us. We are just keeping each other strong and keeping hopeful that one day this will soon pass.”

Asked if she was satisfied with how the authorities are dealing with the COVID-19 situation and her father’s care, she replied: “I am not satisfied but I know it’s a tedious situation. But we cannot criticise anybody because that is not my expertise. They are doing what they can do now."

“In my opinion, it should’ve been done before Carnival. Carnival could have waited. The day my father tested positive was just 16 days after Carnival ended. That doesn’t mean he got it when he went abroad. Abroad is out of the picture. Where he went has zero cases to this date. I even spoke to people from that country and there are still no cases there.”

She added, “We know for sure still that the medical fraternity is doing everything that they can to help and we are very pleased with the response we are getting from the doctors and also everyone else in the ministry has been calling my other family who is in quarantine because of contact with my dad. Daily contact, so our system is working for us and we just have to not lose hope and stick together.”

The woman sent out a message to the people of T&T, saying, “Let’s all behave as though we all have it.

“If we behave that way and have that mindset, we will keep to ourselves and eradicate this terror that is causing so much despair. It is not only causing illness, I heard of a story where a lady and her mother in quarantine, apart from each other and because it has been over a week, the old lady has dementia and she forgot her daughter. Apart from illnesses, it’s causing other forms of despair in everyone,” the woman said.

“Now is a time for us to come together as a people. Forget race, politics, everything and join together to help mankind and the world. Positive energy can do anything in whatever form or fashion we live in.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid-patients-daughter-urges-selfquarantines-6.2.1084146.237722aaae

Postby De Dragon » March 22nd, 2020, 6:13 am

hydroep wrote:There's something to be said about getting both sides of a story...:|

Jensen La Vende

THE 68 people who were in quarantine as a precaution against covid19 at a Balandra facility felt so unsafe that social distancing was not being practised that they hired senior counsel Ramesh Maharaj to ask Government to adhere to its own guidelines.

On Saturday, Maharaj confirmed he wrote two letters to Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi and the Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh on the issue. He added that on Friday he also wrote to the Prime Minister.

According to Maharaj, the letters to the ministers were not pre-action protocols and did not request that those in quarantine be released.

“My clients were abiding by the quarantine rules. They wanted to be tested. They also wanted to address the accommodation which they felt was not in keeping with the social distancing. They (the Government) did not provide for social distancing and my clients had issues with them not having cleaning agents and sanitizers.”

He said the second letter was sent after his clients said they were tested but social distancing was still not being enforced as the accommodation was not sufficient to keep people apart.

After his second letter was not acknowledged by noon Friday, he wrote to Dr Rowley and copied the two letters.

“I think it is my duty to the public to put into the public domain the context of the letters so as to not misconstrue its intention” Maharaj said.

The 68 were passengers on a cruise ship off Guadeloupe and were flown home on Tuesday and taken to the Seventh-Day Adventist Church camp in Balandra. They were tested on Thursday and on Friday night the results showed 40 had tested positive.

On Saturday morning, Deyalsingh said the 40 were taken to the Couva Hospital as a precaution as those who tested positive were all part of the "at-risk community."

He added the hospital is equipped with enough intensive care unit beds and equipment to treat severe cases.

When contacted on Saturday, Al-Rawi said he found Maharaj's letters were pre-mature. He confirmed the letters did not ask for that those in quarantine be released but asked that they be tested. He said some of them, by the time the letters were sent, showed no symptoms of the virus. He said Maharaj could have called the ministers rather than issue the letters.

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/21/ramesh-68-not-kept-apart-in-balandra-quarantine-facility/

All of a sudden Couva good to go eh? :roll:
If Ramesh didn't take on this issue, somebody else would've, so the people who were attacking him, and now baselessly it seems, need to realize that. EVERYONE has rights, including the right to legal representation. Then again, if no less a person than the CoP froths up about this all the time, then what is expected?

boxy

Postby boxy » March 22nd, 2020, 7:29 am

I often wondered why the press keep asking stupid/obvious questions in the briefing but I realize that it's for people like you to understand. But even after a week u still in get it. They consistently specifiy the symptoms are mild for YOUNGER people. And that if you get the mild symptoms ISOLATE yourself from the older people don't go and visit your parents cause the mild cough you have and moving around with will wind up putting them and people with underlying conditions on respirators.
Respirators in short supply in the US for the exact reason flattening the curve is important. Yesterday had 2000+ cases imagine out of the 2000 cases 1100 are people with underlying conditions or elderly all ending up in the hospital at the same time. No country is capable of handling that influx unless it's probably in the middle of a war and even then doctors invoke the formula of treating those who are most likely to survive to not dwindle precious resources.

screwbash wrote:i want to know if this virus so mild as the trinidad doctor say how the US running out of ventilators, so many people dying world wide. WHO say they virus airborn for 8 hrs so y parasaram telling people doh wear mask and one seta sheit. trinidad govt not taking this ting serious, time to put a SOE, only to work, grocey and pharmacy and home, no children on the street, no loitering, stop things like newspapers,sale of food, all products must be sanitized. people hadda store some food yes, at least 3 months worth.

Postby adnj » March 22nd, 2020, 7:36 am

The camp looks to me like there is more than enough space for social distancing. Maybe I should hire this attorney because I can't get any hand sanitizer either. :D

Last edited by adnj on March 22nd, 2020, 7:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 22nd, 2020, 7:37 am

hydroep wrote:There's something to be said about getting both sides of a story...:|

Jensen La Vende

All of a sudden Couva good to go eh? :roll:
If Ramesh didn't take on this issue, somebody else would've, so the people who were attacking him, and now baselessly it seems, need to realize that. EVERYONE has rights, including the right to legal representation. Then again, if no less a person than the CoP froths up about this all the time, then what is expected?

From being the worsttttt thing built by the yellow people to a tertiary level building....my word

Expected some "harsher" measures this week...just wait for it....allyuh din see how deyalsingh nearly fold up yesterday when asked about crowded maxis

Postby j.o.e » March 22nd, 2020, 7:49 am

hydroep wrote:Possible "Carnival Infection"...:|

Rhondor Dowlat-Rostant

With tears rolling down her cheeks, the daughter of one of the patients diagnosed with the COVID-19 virus and warded in a critical condition at the Couva Hospital fell to her knees on the shoulder of the highway and prayed for her father to pull through on Saturday.

The woman, who did not give her name or that of her father, who is 66 years, said he was one of the first five of confirmed cases. She said her father was still in a critical condition but “with small improvements.”

The woman said she strongly believed her father contracted the virus either while at the Piarco International Airport or in Trinidad but not while he was on vacation abroad.

“Where he went, the people were in quarantine and none of them have any signs of the flu, cold of any sort. Their quarantine actually ended yesterday (Friday), when he was proven positive, they have been in quarantine and they are now in the clear. It shows that he got it either from the airport here or within Trinidad.”

The woman, who came in from Canada, said she travelled into Trinidad when she heard her father was ill. However, she said she will have to leave Trinidad sad, as she is flying out today (Sunday), before the total shutdown of all international flights, because she has to return to her children in Canada.

Asked if all the persons who were in contact with her father were in quarantine, the woman said yes.

“Other family members who were in contact are self-quarantined since the last day he spent with them. So far they are fine. Everybody who was in contact with him, we know they’re quarantined because the ministry has been contacting them,” she said.

“We are in prayer and standing together. I don’t live here, I live abroad. I came when I heard he was ill not knowing he was positive.

“I did not go to my home so I have not seen my mother and brother yet. It is a trying time all around for us. We are just keeping each other strong and keeping hopeful that one day this will soon pass.”

Asked if she was satisfied with how the authorities are dealing with the COVID-19 situation and her father’s care, she replied: “I am not satisfied but I know it’s a tedious situation. But we cannot criticise anybody because that is not my expertise. They are doing what they can do now."

“In my opinion, it should’ve been done before Carnival. Carnival could have waited. The day my father tested positive was just 16 days after Carnival ended. That doesn’t mean he got it when he went abroad. Abroad is out of the picture. Where he went has zero cases to this date. I even spoke to people from that country and there are still no cases there.”

She added, “We know for sure still that the medical fraternity is doing everything that they can to help and we are very pleased with the response we are getting from the doctors and also everyone else in the ministry has been calling my other family who is in quarantine because of contact with my dad. Daily contact, so our system is working for us and we just have to not lose hope and stick together.”

The woman sent out a message to the people of T&T, saying, “Let’s all behave as though we all have it.

“If we behave that way and have that mindset, we will keep to ourselves and eradicate this terror that is causing so much despair. It is not only causing illness, I heard of a story where a lady and her mother in quarantine, apart from each other and because it has been over a week, the old lady has dementia and she forgot her daughter. Apart from illnesses, it’s causing other forms of despair in everyone,” the woman said.

“Now is a time for us to come together as a people. Forget race, politics, everything and join together to help mankind and the world. Positive energy can do anything in whatever form or fashion we live in.”

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/covid-patients-daughter-urges-selfquarantines-6.2.1084146.237722aaae

Or not. He would’ve come through an international airport to get to Piarco, all airports are teeming with Covid. She can’t be certain

Postby maj. tom » March 22nd, 2020, 7:51 am

The government didn't provide soap and water? Yeah right.
The government didn't "provide social distancing?" Whatever the f*ck that means...
It was not enough room to keep people apart? The government was supposed to lock you in a 6x10 cell or something for these people to actively practise social distancing?

Testing? Isn't this situation carefully and personally monitored by the Chief Medical Officer and his team of doctors and experts? They're telling the doctors when and how to test? But they got tested though and were positive.

The only response to this mischief has to be "Ok Boomer."

Postby rspann » March 22nd, 2020, 7:52 am

Mosque by me had Juma on Friday. Even the beggars outside were in full attendance and tightly packed together.

Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 49 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby MaxPower » March 22nd, 2020, 8:14 am

Allyuh go ahead with your religious congregations.

Stuarty will not be pleased.

Call the SOE.

Postby 88sins » March 22nd, 2020, 8:26 am

Over 100K newly reported cases

in 3 frickin days

All who want to play like yuh eh know this thing is HIGHLY contagious, go rith on ahead

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2020, 8:52 am

ny shiet starting to hit the fan

Postby Gladiator » March 22nd, 2020, 9:01 am

The man went Grenada boy... And the time he spent there was less time than the incubation period of Covid19. He came back sick on Tuesday and had to go hospital 6am on Thursday. He was critical...

So there is a 90% chance that he left trinidad with it.

Grenada had and still has no cases...

Put allyuh balisier in the cupboard for the next couple week and take out allyuh critical thinking hats duss it out and try to wear it. You can't trust the Government, they will play politics at every opportunity and this could cost lives.
j.o.e wrote:
hydroep wrote:Possible "Carnival Infection"...:|

Rhondor Dowlat-Rostant

Or not. He would’ve come through an international airport to get to Piarco, all airports are teeming with Covid. She can’t be certain
Last edited by Gladiator on March 22nd, 2020, 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » March 22nd, 2020, 9:04 am

rspann wrote:Mosque by me had Juma on Friday. Even the beggars outside were in full attendance and tightly packed together.

Imagevia Imgflip Meme Generator

:drinking: :drinking:

Postby adnj » March 22nd, 2020, 9:25 am

FDA Approves First Rapid COVID-19 Test

March 21, 20206:38 PM ET

The Food and Drug Administration has approved the first rapid point-of-care COVID-19 test, that can deliver results in less than an hour.

Cepheid, a Silicon Valley diagnostics company, made the announcement on Saturday, saying it has received emergency authorization from the government to use the test.

While the agency has approved about a dozen other COVID-19 tests in response to the public health emergency caused by the coronavirus pandemic, this is the first one that can be used at the point of care.

Cepheid said the test kits will be available by the end of the month.

Until now, to get test result, a health care worker would take a swab from the back of a person's nose, and send it off to a public health, commercial or hospital lab, or to a lab at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta. The process can take days.

The newly approved test kit still involves taking a nasal swab, but the test can be done in a doctor's office or clinic with a detection time of approximately 45 minutes, according to Cepheid.

[URL]https://www.npr.org/sections/coronavirus-live-updates/2020/03/21/819629909/fda-approves-first-rapid-covid-19-test
[/URL]