*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2012, 9:08 pm

nah u wont get burnt...de sweat will burn off then you would react n pull ur hand away before it reaches ur skin

same concept of lickin ur finger to see if an iron is hot

*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2012, 9:32 pm

My wall is blue. I'd have to paint it white or a light colour for the ambilight to show properly

Postby pioneer » January 31st, 2012, 9:38 pm

I paintin dat normel normel fuh yuh...ah pack ah dumaurier and ah 6-pack ah stag

Postby black start » February 1st, 2012, 5:28 pm

^i din know u does take contract wok? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2012, 11:47 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Just did a lil video clip of my home theater setup

been getting alot of PMs and emails about the remote so I'll just post it here:

the Logitech Harmony 900 remote is RF so you dont need to point it at anything and works from anywhere in the house.
When watching cable I press "Watch cable" (you can set up custom activities and add buttons to the touch screen, all done on the PC and sync'd to the remote) the remote automatically turns on the TV, the cable box, the receiver, sets the volume to -40db, turns on the a/c, sets the temp to 25' and dims the lights in the room to medium. One OFF button switches off everything and gives you about 30 seconds to leave the room before dimming the lights to off.

Watch movie switches on the bluray player, sets the a/c to 22 and dims the lights to medium and them off when the movie starts, brings the lights up to medium when you press pause or stop.

the remote adjusts itself to your activity, so when watching cable the channel button controls the cable box, but the volume buttons control the receiver.

it controls everything including the apple tv and PS3.

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harmony- ... =8-1-spell

Postby crazybalhead » February 3rd, 2012, 11:51 am

AAAAAAYE, yuh actually put a plant!!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2012, 12:44 pm

^ lol yeah more to come soon - looking for some bamboo plants

Postby crazybalhead » February 3rd, 2012, 12:46 pm

Peter Richard's landscaping in Trincity Industrial Estate. Macoya, when you drive past Consol, it's all the way in the back.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2012, 1:13 pm

^ al the tall, medium-leaf, ornamental bamboo that they have is for rent only,not for sale - check ed them already

seriously contemplating going with fake bamboo but the high quality ones, similar to what they have in the walkways in Westmall

the plant I have there right now is a bamboo palm - I like the japanese look

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » February 3rd, 2012, 5:21 pm

do the plants have any effect on the acoustics in the room? :|

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2012, 10:04 pm

wait 1:17am..................

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 3rd, 2012, 10:26 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:do the plants have any effect on the acoustics in the room? :|
no it just looks/feels good

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 7th, 2012, 8:58 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:been getting alot of PMs and emails about the remote

didn't we speak a lot about harmony remotes on this thread before??? :?
they are what true universal remotes were meant to be :lol:
totally love my harmonies.
i have a cheap (USD50. think is 30 on amazon now) one for the bedroom. dont need much more for 3 components. 1.75 yrs with no probs and never even needed to change batteries.
ppl are always in awe when they see the one in the living room. 6 devices and 1 remote. :wink:
1 button and everything is set up as you want.
i will never go back.....................................

until microsoft buys logitech.
Last edited by ado15mk3 on February 7th, 2012, 9:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2012, 9:01 am

^ which one do you have in the living room?

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 7th, 2012, 9:07 am

another cheap one, the 700.
i poor :oops:
wish i could upgrade to the one in the future.
you have any issues with yours?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2012, 9:53 am

^ none so far, I honestly can't live without RF

Logitech may release upgraded versions or a refresh of their remote line up this year

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2012, 10:16 am

Duane, that logitech harmony remote could control xbox as well, like if i wanna use it to start netflix or stream a movie and i dont wanna have to use the controller?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 7th, 2012, 10:48 am

you can buy the ps3 adapter for it

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/remotes/a ... vices/5732

dunno about the xbox

on a side note..
i've got a sony tv in the bedroom with the ps3 for netflix
the sony tv remote controls the ps3 and netflix via hdmi
still have to use the ps3 remote to power on the ps3 though

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2012, 11:15 am

some reviews on amazon saying that the logitech harmony has a resetting problem.
where it resets randomly and u have to reprogram it.
anyone here have those issues?

Postby crazybalhead » February 7th, 2012, 11:17 am

S_2NR wrote:some reviews on amazon saying that the logitech harmony has a resetting problem.
where it resets randomly and u have to reprogram it.
anyone here have those issues?

I've had two now. An old one 550 that went beserk, and now a 650 (I think) that has been OK so far. If it falls or gets a shock, it resets, but it's just like if you switch everything off. You have to press the activity and block the IR transmitter and everything is back to normal.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2012, 11:52 am

I've had my Harmony 900 since November 2009 and it never reset itself. It has had a good bit of falls and bumps.
My now 4yr old son has been using that remote more than me over the past few years, he turns everything on/off with it and watches Netflix etc with no problems (i hope allyuh doh blight me now)

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2012, 12:02 pm

ill wait till someone/i go abroad and order it from amazon.
dont know how customs will react when they see a $160USD remote :(

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harmony-Universal-Remote-Touchscreen/dp/B002RL875A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1328630432&sr=8-2

Postby crazybalhead » February 7th, 2012, 12:05 pm

Let Raptor bring it in man. Or "Raptor it in" as they say.

Postby S_2NR » February 7th, 2012, 12:07 pm

thanks, i was thinking that but im going miami for carnival so ill order it on amazon and have it shipped to me there.
instead of taking a gamble bringing it via skybox.

and yes it can work with xbox 360 for all the xbox owners.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » February 7th, 2012, 7:33 pm

never had resetting issue with any of mine.
in case raptor dont have any you can get @ carisone. decent prices too.
http://www.cariszone.com/categories/electronics/audio-tv-home-theater/television/accessories.html

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » February 7th, 2012, 7:44 pm

Logitech Harmony One Universal Remote with Color Touchscreen

by order

$1250.00

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 7th, 2012, 9:44 pm

^ the Harmony One is infra-red only, so you have to point it at all your devices - not so good when you want to control your lights, a/c unit and other things around the house

the harmony 900 has uses radio frequency so you can be anywhere in the house

audiokev

Postby audiokev » February 9th, 2012, 11:21 am

Im looking to invest in a home theatre system, now i have no experience with these systems just used to the average pc systems. I jus bought my flat screen and blue ray player and decided to complete the puzzle with a home theatre system
My budget consists of $7k for the most
I visited sound and security in Valpark and was interested in the Onkyo ht-s7400..after reading good reviews on them as they were compared to bose having same quality for lesser the buck. Also i asked a friend on his advice and he suggested i buy the equipment seperate as it would come out cheaper and better, as in the receivers and speakers separate.
My current system consists of a samsung 58" flat and a samsung blue ray player i have no need for the receiver to contain a blue ray player
whats your advice?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 9th, 2012, 11:25 am

^depends on the space your working with,your budget will allow you for a decent HTIAB,but if you wanna get seperates (which i would advise) try and save up some more cash and get a receiver and speakers as well as subwoofer.

You could check triniwattage as well,or give monsteraudio a call to see what they got left,if they weren't close down,that would have been your best bet.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 9th, 2012, 11:53 am

audiokev wrote:Im looking to invest in a home theatre system, now i have no experience with these systems just used to the average pc systems. I jus bought my flat screen and blue ray player and decided to complete the puzzle with a home theatre system
My budget consists of $7k for the most
I visited sound and security in Valpark and was interested in the Onkyo ht-s7400..after reading good reviews on them as they were compared to bose having same quality for lesser the buck. Also i asked a friend on his advice and he suggested i buy the equipment seperate as it would come out cheaper and better, as in the receivers and speakers separate.
My current system consists of a samsung 58" flat and a samsung blue ray player i have no need for the receiver to contain a blue ray player
whats your advice?

Bose really aint so hot, more marketing hype than anything - I'm sure that Onkyo receiver with some decent speakers and a decent sub will sound far better

Onkyo makes great receivers, but they don't make very good speakers :idea:

most receivers with bluray players built in aren't the best quality - jack of all trades master of none kinda thing.

search this thread for Dayton Speakers, you can get 4 of those, a decent center channel and a good sub and look also at Pioneer, Denon, Marantz, Yamaha receivers. The receiver is the heart of your home theater system, a very important part, so spend accordingly.

you don't have to go with 7.1.
5.1 is sufficient for a decent HD setup

be sure your receiver supports Dolby TrueHD, dtsHD Master Audio, Dolby Pro Logic II (IIz is a plus but not a requirement), has at least 4 HDMI inputs, at least one HDMI output!
it does not need to be 3D ready if your TV is not 3D.

I would advise that you buy a very good line conditioner, voltage regulator, line filter or a UPS with those things built in.

A good universal remote goes a long way.

you don't have to buy everything at once :idea: