Re: Official 360, PS3, PC Gaming Thread v4

Postby SUPAstarr » February 3rd, 2011, 12:54 pm

in befo version 5

Postby noshownogo » February 3rd, 2011, 12:56 pm

Lee ah have ah bone tuh pick wit u too eh...yuh mofo!

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 3rd, 2011, 1:23 pm

Its not relevant whether nintendo outsold 360
because

VG Journal suggested that it was in fact an indication that only hard-core gamers were buying Xbox 360s.

I can name at least 5 women (who all bought nintendo's to play wii fit) that are NOT gamers.
the wii is a toy. Its only partially a console. I refuse to even acknowledge it as a proper competitor to the 360 or ps3.

hoe, Its a completely different market.
I'm willing to bet that at LEAST 50% of Wii owners are very casual gamers at best.

not to mention
The orginal dispute was:
rodfarva wrote:
honda hoe wrote:
rodfarva wrote:Microsoft took exactly 2 console development cycles to remove sony from gaming dominance.

wrong
this console generation was dominated by the wii
microsoft only outsells the ps3 in the states... FACT.. and what xbots fail to acknowledge is that about half of 360 sales are replacement units. RROD iymc

wrong

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Console_wars
Worldwide sales figures
Wii – 84.64 million as of 31 December 2010[8]
Xbox 360 – 50 million as of 6 January 2011[30]
PlayStation 3 – 41.6 million as of 30 September 2010[31]
Last edited by rodfarva on February 3rd, 2011, 1:33 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Cjruckus » February 3rd, 2011, 1:24 pm

Nintendo has dominated sales but I haven't turned on my wii since I beat mario galaxy 1. As for developers gravitating towards the wii, name 1 game that is a non developed wii exclusive that is WORTH playing?

Postby Cjruckus » February 3rd, 2011, 1:33 pm

Nintendo did the same thing with the first NES. They marketed it as a toy, not an ultimate gaming machine or whatever. It wasn't until the ps2 where game companies started making consoles to do more. A lot of that has to do with the huge surge of pc gaming in the mid 90s. When computers became cheaper and a lot more user friendly. Now the gaming industry is driven by consoles, not pc user base and that kinda sucks because it looks like graphics have reached the threshold and aren't changing any time soon.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 3rd, 2011, 1:39 pm

Nintendo sold out their fanbase when they made such a technically weak console.

Gone are games like Street Fighter, Mortal Kombat, Killer Instinct, Ninja Gaiden, Double Dragon....the list goes on.
Nintendo has moved away from its core fanbase and adopted the casual/non gamer. Smart financial move, but it also kills their gamer cred

Skyline_babe

Postby Skyline_babe » February 3rd, 2011, 1:41 pm

Last edited by Skyline_babe on August 24th, 2011, 11:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 16 cycles » February 3rd, 2011, 1:43 pm

Worldwide sales figures

1. Wii – 84.64 million as of 31 December 2010 (2010 -12-31)[update][8]
2. Xbox 360 – 50 million as of 6 January 2011 (2011 -01-06)[update][30]
3. PlayStation 3 – 47.9 million as of 31 December 2010 (2010 -12-31)[update][31]

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Console_wars

someone updated the figures for december for the ps3...

Postby noshownogo » February 3rd, 2011, 1:43 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Nintendo has dominated sales but I haven't turned on my wii since I beat mario galaxy 1. As for developers gravitating towards the wii, name 1 game that is a non developed wii exclusive that is WORTH playing?

you ain't play Galaxy2 or Donkey Kong Country Returns?

Postby honda hoe » February 3rd, 2011, 1:59 pm

u guys fail to realize that sales have nothing to do with quality

yes the wii has mostly crap games

yes the wii it is aimed at casual gamers

yes most wii owners rarely play it anyway

but it SELLS better than any other console

in the business world all that matters is the bottom line... profit!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 3rd, 2011, 2:45 pm

Like allyuh hadda change d name of this thread from gaming thread to financial debate...

who really cares about profit....we arent the "business men" we arent benefitting from their profits....as much as they may have the most sales it doesnt clearly mean the most PROFIT...it just means they have the highest sales...

the wii is also the cheapest console out of the three (ps3,360 & wii)

so in the business world all that matters is profit..no problem..but u dont know for a fact who has the most profit

Postby honda hoe » February 3rd, 2011, 2:52 pm

JJ as mentioned by mroc keep quiet

the wii is the only current generation console that has been selling for a profit SINCE LAUNCH

yes it is the cheapest selling but because it has last gen tech it is also the cheapest to produce

just because u may not be a businessman per se doesn't entitle u to make uninformed statements as if it were factual

ok baby? :)

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 3rd, 2011, 3:02 pm

honda hoe wrote:JJ as mentioned by mroc keep quiet

the wii is the only current genereation console that has been seeling for a profit SINCE LAUNCH

yes it is the cheapest selling but because it has last gen tech it is also the cheapest to produce

just because u may not be a businessman per se doesn't entitle u to make uninformed statements as if it were factual

ok baby? :)

:) thanks cupcakes :|

sooo if you dont mind explaining for me sir hoe... I know u always do a great job of obtaining facts and actually figures...

whats the actually cost of production, advertisement, etc for the wii, xbox and ps3?

because from the statement you made above, it seems 2 be a short-term view...

after you buy a wii, you may actually buy ONE or TWO games... PS3 and 360 you'd buy alot more games.

PS3 - sony would benefit from the bluray sales etc.
360- would benefit from online subscriptions etc.

so in the long run, who makes the most profit?

also once u say something and mroc doesnt share the same view/opinion he quick to say something about stay quiet or you talking rubbish or something of the such...so i ignore his statements...im sorry if i dont read what he says...

I can compare the xbox 360, ps3 and wii since i owned all consoles... :|

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 3rd, 2011, 3:08 pm

JJ16 wrote:also once u say something and mroc doesnt share the same view/opinion he quick to say something about stay quiet or you talking rubbish or something of the such...so i ignore his statements...im sorry if i dont read what he says...

I don't agree with this statement at all.

JJ16 wrote:I can compare the xbox 360, ps3 and wii since i owned all consoles... :|

I didnt want to say anything, but seriously, you were actually 100% wrong in your last post WRT Xbox > 360. Mroc just Called you out on it.
Seriously.

Man reach 15th prestige on Being wrong yes.
Last edited by rodfarva on February 3rd, 2011, 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby honda hoe » February 3rd, 2011, 3:09 pm

honeymuffin

the amount of video game copies sold or revenue collected from XBL or psn plus or dlc etc is not relevant to how many actual units of hardware were sold

the wii has sold more units than ps3 or 360. period

what u arguing about?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 3rd, 2011, 3:10 pm

:lol: Its the pokemon of Consoles

Agreed...wii sold like hotcakes

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 3rd, 2011, 3:13 pm

you hear me arguing....did i NOT just simply ASK you a QUESTION>

the wii has the most profit, YES **when compared to the other consoles**

the cop of a wii is approx $165US...and they sell for wha $200US

the PS3 has the BIGGEST loss...

so if you speaking about console sales, doesnt xbox have more sales than ps3?

if you speaking about profitability on consoles, doesnt 360 beat ps3...since a ps3 makes a loss of approx 300us per unit

and the xbox makes a loss of approx 120usd per unit.....

these were figures from back in the days..when the ps3 was 500us btw

and farva..its okay if you dont agree with my statement...its all good and well.

Postby honda hoe » February 3rd, 2011, 3:21 pm

JJ16 wrote:you hear me arguing....did i NOT just simply ASK you a QUESTION>

if you speaking about profitability on consoles, doesnt 360 beat ps3...since a ps3 makes a loss of approx 300us per unit

and farva..its okay if you dont agree with my statement...its all good and well.

apart from u spewing outdated and inaccurate data, i will reiterate

THE WII IS THE BEST SELLING CONSOLE THIS GENERATION

i doh see the relevance of u comparing 360 to ps3... they both sold less than the wii

sometimes talkin to u is like talkin to my big toe. except my big toe smart enough not to talk sh!t :|

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 3rd, 2011, 3:24 pm

honda hoe wrote:
JJ16 wrote:you hear me arguing....did i NOT just simply ASK you a QUESTION>

apart from u spewing outdated and inaccurate data, i will reiterate

THE WII IS THE BEST SELLING CONSOLE THIS GENERATION

i doh see the relevance of u comparing 360 to ps3... they both sold less than the wii

sometimes talkin to u is like talkin to my big toe. except my big toe smart enough not to talk sh!t :|

so you saying that just because the wii outsold the other consoles, you cant answer which one is more profitable between the ps3 and the xbox 360?

and well then hoe, i've been asking u a few post now, 2 please update me with the facts and figures...

and since u being difficult, between the xbox 360 and the ps3, which console has the higher level of sales and most profitability? :)

Postby honda hoe » February 3rd, 2011, 3:28 pm

THE WII IS THE BEST SELLING CONSOLE THIS GENERATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 3rd, 2011, 3:30 pm

its a pity that all that u hadda carry on with...

whats the problem brent? can you not say.. THE XBOX 360 outsold the PS3....the Xbox 360 is more profitable than the PS3...its okay you know :| its just a console...

if you speaking about hardcore gaming, we already came to the conclusion the wii isnt considered a serious console....

Postby sharkman121 » February 3rd, 2011, 3:31 pm

rodfarva wrote:Man reach 15th prestige on Being wrong yes.

Postby honda hoe » February 3rd, 2011, 3:32 pm

honda hoe wrote:THE WII IS THE BEST SELLING CONSOLE THIS GENERATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jason u real chupid yunno

u havin ur own conversation yes

tell me where in my bold highlighted statement above u see the words 360, ps3, profitability or hardcore gaming?

Last edited by honda hoe on February 3rd, 2011, 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby honda hoe » February 3rd, 2011, 3:40 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 3rd, 2011, 3:44 pm

Classic strategy....

Before you spoke about it, now you totally bypass d statements... Then change topic to laughing at something from before..... it real sad...you are a big arse sony fanboy dan.... :|

Postby SUPAstarr » February 3rd, 2011, 3:46 pm

honda hoe wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:

Postby honda hoe » February 3rd, 2011, 3:47 pm

JJ16 wrote:Classic strategy....

Before you spoke about it, now you totally bypass d statements... Then change topic to laughing at something from before..... it real sad...you are a big arse sony fanboy dan.... :|

i'm a SONY fanboy? cuz i stated the fact that the NINTENDO wii is the best selling console of this generation?

aren't u contradicting urself?

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » February 3rd, 2011, 3:54 pm

honda hoe wrote:
JJ16 wrote:Classic strategy....

i'm a SONY fanboy? cuz i stated the fact that the NINTENDO wii is the best selling console of all time?

aren't u contradicting urself?

i not asking you about wii

i asked BETWEEN THE XBOX 360 AND THE PS3, WHICH ONE HAS THE MOST SALES AND MOST PROFITABILITY why not answer that?

i NOT asking you about the WII