Ben_spanna wrote:So why do you think it’s taking so long to implement the property tax ?
ProtonPowder wrote:Ben_spanna wrote:So why do you think it’s taking so long to implement the property tax ?
You give the world too much credit
when ever property tax was pushed, they never spoke about HDC money, they always spoke about double and bhaigan sellers with big house in the back.screwbash wrote:ProtonPowder wrote:Ben_spanna wrote:So why do you think it’s taking so long to implement the property tax ?
most pnm supporters living in hdc houses and doh even pay the small rent so them aint go pay the property tax either, the rest of them renting or squatting. is unc suppoters who go pay the tax.
Ben_spanna wrote:So why do you think it’s taking so long to implement the property tax ? Who stands to lose the most? Think about who owns multiple wealthy properties in Trinidad, think about how many government people own multiple homes that will also be subject to this same tax...
I bet they will come with some form of exclusion for those who have to pay. This tax, could be age related and remember the age of your current ministers and who might fall under this exclusion.
They want to ensure that while they tax the general public that most of their friends and family and themselves will fall under some form of exclusion so they don’t have to pay the tax themselves.
‘Watch and see. .e
Bend over with no lube ... budget 2020 coming
ProtonPowder wrote:dey go tief meh moarney :^(
ProtonPowder wrote:Ben_spanna wrote:So why do you think it’s taking so long to implement the property tax ?
88sins wrote:when you renting a building to the gov't, that building is exempt from property tax.
who thinks this is a coincidence?
bluefete wrote:88sins wrote:when you renting a building to the gov't, that building is exempt from property tax.
Please explain.
I did not see that under Section 16 with the exemptions.
https://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/a ... /76.04.pdf
88sins wrote:bluefete wrote:88sins wrote:when you renting a building to the gov't, that building is exempt from property tax.
Please explain.
I did not see that under Section 16 with the exemptions.
https://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/laws2/a ... /76.04.pdf
See 16:1.f
16. (1) All land in Trinidad and Tobago is liable to
taxation under this Act, subject to the following exemptions:
(f) land belonging to and in occupation of—
(i) the State or its servants;
(ii) a Statutory Authority; or
(iii) state enterprise controlled by the State,
for public purposes;
& 2:a
(2) For the purpose of subsection (1)(f) an
enterprise shall be taken to be controlled by the State, if the
Government or any body controlled by the Government—
(a) exercises or is entitled to exercise control
directly or indirectly over the affairs of the
enterprise;
Now tho this specifies "land", and says "belonging to and in occupation of" I suspect the final amended official version will include buildings
j.o.e wrote:So allyuh bums and freeloaders never paid property tax before or even your parents ?
meccalli wrote:j.o.e wrote:So allyuh bums and freeloaders never paid property tax before or even your parents ?
Yeah, it was $100 for the year...
I don't think anyone is opposing the tax, they're opposing the method of valuation and the disparity across areas that can burn a hole in their pocket further. It's like being punished for living in a particular area or type of house..
Can we ask what exactly is the tax monies collected going to be used for ????meccalli wrote:Honestly I think a $500 to a $1000 a year would be fine with the most households, and that's still alot of money to be made.
j.o.e wrote:meccalli wrote:j.o.e wrote:So allyuh bums and freeloaders never paid property tax before or even your parents ?
Yeah, it was $100 for the year...
I don't think anyone is opposing the tax, they're opposing the method of valuation and the disparity across areas that can burn a hole in their pocket further. It's like being punished for living in a particular area or type of house..
After receiving the valuation are they unhappy?
What would be a maximum/ fair amount people would like to pay ? Honest question (of course this will differ based on income and budget )
Just trying to understand a range.
j.o.e wrote:So allyuh bums and freeloaders never paid property tax before or even your parents ?
j.o.e wrote:So allyuh bums and freeloaders never paid property tax before or even your parents ?[/b]
j.o.e wrote:After receiving the valuation are they unhappy?
What would be a maximum/ fair amount people would like to pay ? Honest question (of course this will differ based on income and budget )
Just trying to understand a range.