Flow Internet Thread

whatever_

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby whatever_ » July 8th, 2015, 7:06 pm

nick639 wrote:I dunno but during peak hours... My neighbor's 2mb blink does cut my ass cuz he has better ping and less lag

I am a little skeptical here, how does he cut your ass? I'm guessing your talking about gaming here, what games? what servers?

From what I've seen so far Flow has better latency to most servers than Blink's ADSL service.

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » July 8th, 2015, 7:13 pm

sparkette wrote:Because blink internet is dedicated internet. The technologies used to provide the services are different. Pay for 10mb with blink, you're going to get 10mb. Your flow bandwidth fluctuates based on the usage in the neighbourhood. I only see 75mbps speeds at 2am in Belmont area. Outside of that, it's anywhere between 27-40.

In theory this is true. Reality, however, is that it's TSTT we dealing with. Poor service is the norm. And I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one who has used Blink ADSL service and have experienced poor speeds during peak hours.

Anyway, 27-40 is still greater than what Blink broadband offering right now at 10mb for the average person who want to max their connection.

TSTT on bs as usual with this pay $600 for 10mb.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » July 8th, 2015, 7:25 pm

whatever_ wrote:
sparkette wrote:Because blink internet is dedicated internet. The technologies used to provide the services are different. Pay for 10mb with blink, you're going to get 10mb. Your flow bandwidth fluctuates based on the usage in the neighbourhood. I only see 75mbps speeds at 2am in Belmont area. Outside of that, it's anywhere between 27-40.

In theory this is true. Reality, however, is that it's TSTT we dealing with. Poor service is the norm. And I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one who has used Blink ADSL service and have experienced poor speeds during peak hours.

Anyway, 27-40 is still greater than what Blink broadband offering right now at 10mb for the average person who want to max their connection.

TSTT on bs as usual with this pay $600 for 10mb.

I had no problem in Point Fortin with Blink besides the price. Speed was always constant. During peak times however, my newly upgraded "75Mbps" FLOW connection maxes out @ 20-30Mbps on speedtest...not really a problem, except if I pay for 75, I want 75. The only reason I have the 75 is for peak time.

whatever_

Postby whatever_ » July 8th, 2015, 7:26 pm

nick639 wrote:
whatever_ wrote:
nick639 wrote:I dunno but during peak hours... My neighbor's 2mb blink does cut my ass cuz he has better ping and less lag

I am a little skeptical here, how does he cut your ass? I'm guessing your talking about gaming here, what games? what servers?

From what I've seen so far Flow has better latency to most servers than Blink's ADSL service.

BF4 and AW on Ps4 and we tested it simple by being hosts for game modes, when he hosts everyone(local and foreign) is fine with 3-4 bars... But then I host, 1 bar :(

Interesting. Your PS4 not using wifi by any chance?

Postby stev » July 8th, 2015, 8:25 pm

no upgrade yet :(

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 8th, 2015, 8:56 pm

fed up reset and pull out battery etc so I decide to call them.

woman say a senior technician need to refresh the account and none available tonight so they will do it in the morning and contact me

Xplode

Postby Xplode » July 8th, 2015, 9:53 pm

Only $25 U.S. a month and running magic jack for calls .

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1436406665.350768.jpg

TheDemiGod

Postby TheDemiGod » July 9th, 2015, 12:18 am

Did the 2MB package also raise?

brickman

Postby brickman » July 9th, 2015, 12:40 am

TheDemiGod wrote:Did the 2MB package also raise?

Nope.

Postby maj. tom » July 9th, 2015, 1:10 am

brickman wrote:
TheDemiGod wrote:Did the 2MB package also raise?

Nope.

Postby stev » July 9th, 2015, 8:19 am

i pull the plug on my modem in frustration. lol

...forgot about it and plugged it in 30mins later. needless to say that I finally got the upgrade...only on LAN though.....my WiFi is balls.

Postby redmanjp » July 9th, 2015, 10:23 am

stev wrote:i pull the plug on my modem in frustration. lol

...forgot about it and plugged it in 30mins later. needless to say that I finally got the upgrade...only on LAN though.....my WiFi is balls.

try changing the wifi channel on the router and see if that helps

Postby teems1 » July 9th, 2015, 11:26 am

redmanjp wrote:

try changing the wifi channel on the router and see if that helps

There are apps like WiFi Analyzer which show the current channels being utilized by the WiFi networks in the area.

That way it will make it easier for you to determine which one is free/less crowded, and to utilize that channel.

Postby S_2NR » July 9th, 2015, 11:33 am

One word. Tomato

Postby M_2NR » July 9th, 2015, 9:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:

One word. Tomato

boy my asus on it's way. I miss Tomato :cry:

yuh ever tried easytomato? it's a refreshed UI/Theme firmware. I hardly got to play with it though.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 9th, 2015, 10:40 pm

enjoying the updated speeds.... 30/3....

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » July 9th, 2015, 11:03 pm

thanks for the unplug tip
nice

Postby stev » July 10th, 2015, 1:19 pm

I forgot to mention that my current WiFi router is some cheap no name crap I got d other day as a temporary replacement :|

thanks for the suggestions though :)

i ordered the ASUS RT-AC66U just last night. 8-)

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » July 10th, 2015, 2:40 pm

Nice

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 10th, 2015, 5:23 pm

blink sux :evil:

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 15th, 2015, 9:12 pm

Anyone else internet giving problems? Constantly dropping every few minutes - Chaguanas area.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 15th, 2015, 9:49 pm

Update: Down for the last 30mins or so. No internet at all

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 15th, 2015, 9:57 pm

dredman1 wrote:Update: Down for the last 30mins or so. No internet at all

EDIT - just came back up as I typed that

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » July 17th, 2015, 6:16 pm

Decided to give up on Flow internet after their upgrades service got worst
CSR always making sorry excuses for their terrible service
Can wait for Blink to roll out GPON in my area this year
End of year I will disconnect their video service also

konartis

Postby konartis » July 18th, 2015, 3:51 pm

Doubt blink would be better than flow

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » July 18th, 2015, 4:18 pm

well my 4mbs Blink runs much better than my 50mbs from flow

VLDS

Postby VLDS » July 18th, 2015, 11:38 pm

If anyone who complaining about flow Internet dropping AND u have a flow WiFi modem. That's most likely your problem. Change to the normal modem and buy a good router. I have flow Internet for 2 years with a linksys router and normal modem. Never dropped except when a truck buss down the line.

Postby gastly369 » July 19th, 2015, 12:45 am

^^ X2 what he said flow WiFi modem is balls

Pumpin Linksys with ddwrt .. Level pace

Postby M_2NR » July 19th, 2015, 1:26 pm

^x3

Flow modem, personal router setup here and mostly pumpments. Only last night I feel the local cache of google servers were acting up a bit as I only got 2mbit. Works now though.

R-H-D

Postby R-H-D » July 19th, 2015, 3:54 pm

I had the regular Data modem off course the Flow wifi router/modem is crap
Point is I got fed up ever since they switch to Docsis 3 modems is issues
Will settle with my 4MBS from Blink till they roll out GPON in maraval later this year