The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

VII

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH) Poll added

Postby VII » August 8th, 2020, 2:51 pm

Ok so it's done..

All hail zoom

Redman wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
VII wrote:PNM winning,talk done..

Lesser of 2 evils.

UNC rel evil and their true evil going to be exposed .

Stay tuned .

Lol UNC is the lesser of the 2 evils by far.

Tell us how you arrive there.
Let’s agree in front to ignore whatever ZR has to say.
I have made it very clear than non PNM parties should Let PNM win by default.

Let PNM get all 42 voting seats

Postby MaxPower » August 8th, 2020, 2:52 pm

bluefete wrote:And the PNM continues to break the law.

I still voting PNM

But oh gosh boi, these PNM people sickening.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 8th, 2020, 2:54 pm

bluefete wrote:Thanks Zoom. You have a very good point here.

I remember when I came back to T&T around early 1990, Cro Cro was running rampant singing nasty things about indos in the tent.

I remember asking myself what happened between the time I left and came back.

People were lapping up the rubbish Cro Cro was singing and the judges were giving him 1st place in the calypso competitions.

I was very uncomfortable and amazed that people would accept that so easily. I stopped going to tents that fostered that racist rubbish.

Fast forward many years later and Cro Cro struggling to eat ah food (at least in the tents) because he bit the hands that fed him.

matr1x wrote:You trying to pull the "its racist!" Card now? Come nah, after year of attacking indo trinidadian? Man , go stick your head in a pile of sheit, or Marlene private parts. Same thing
PNM have always attacked Indos in every which way they can.

They used racist kaiso tents for year and they did not complain.

The entire ad industry leaves Indos at the back. But PNM ppl don't complain about that.

A vid showing real life in Trinidad is causing these people to rail up.

PNM ppl live in box and fail to admit real life in Trini.

You're right. An 80s tent looks markedly fuller than a post 2000 tent. And that is largely thanks to aloes and cro cro. .But patnas....it goes both ways. Google Dr Elizabeth Rosabelle Sieusarran and Dougla together and read the first search entry

katiedido

Postby katiedido » August 8th, 2020, 3:02 pm

It seems to me like Indo Trinis like to see black Trinis at the bottom...no matter how they might criticize and say the Trinity ads are real life and Afro trinis should pull themselves up...they are the only race killing and thiefing blah blah blah. Admit it...you like that false narrative.I'm a wealthy Afro Trini(not Syrian level but I have 8 figures net worth and my business makes 7 figures profit a year) and it burns Indo Trinis up that I am...like literally bothers them to no end. I get that from no other race. My Indo Trini "friends" and associates are the only group of ppl who constantly ask me about my business, how it's doing, how's Covid affecting it etc etc, how we affording to send our 2 children to X private school, what does our business do, even my parents sending me and my siblings to university in the US without scholarship was a source of constant questions from the Indo Trinis I met there. And only them. Never met another race of Trinis to constantly be in my business like that. In ALL of my dealings with Indo Trinis I have just met two who were not like that and I have met and known dozens.
In a way I appreciate it though...I'm competitive and I love to best jealous people and rub their faces in it so all their questioning is a motivator for me to make even more money.

Postby K74T » August 8th, 2020, 3:04 pm

katiedido wrote:It seems to me like Indo Trinis like to see black Trinis at the bottom...no matter how they might criticize and say the Trinity ads are real life and Afro trinis should pull themselves up...they are the only race killing and thiefing blah blah blah. Admit it...you like that false narrative.I'm a wealthy Afro Trini(not Syrian level but I have 8 figures net worth and my business makes 7 figures profit a year) and it burns Indo Trinis up that I am...like literally bothers them to no end. I get that from no other race. My Indo Trini "friends" and associates are the only group of ppl who constantly ask me about my business, how it's doing, how's Covid affecting it etc etc, how we affording to send our 2 children to X private school, what does our business do, even my parents sending me and my siblings to university in the US without scholarship was a source of constant questions from the Indo Trinis I met there. And only them. Never met another race of Trinis to constantly be in my business like that. In ALL of my dealings with Indo Trinis I have just met two who were not like that and I have met and known dozens.
In a way I appreciate it though...I'm competitive and I love to best jealous people and rub their faces in it so all their questioning is a motivator for me to make even more money.
Ok Daran

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2020, 3:07 pm

katiedido wrote:It seems to me like Indo Trinis like to see black Trinis at the bottom...no matter how they might criticize and say the Trinity ads are real life and Afro trinis should pull themselves up...they are the only race killing and thiefing blah blah blah. Admit it...you like that false narrative.I'm a wealthy Afro Trini(not Syrian level but I have 8 figures net worth and my business makes 7 figures profit a year) and it burns Indo Trinis up that I am...like literally bothers them to no end. I get that from no other race. My Indo Trini "friends" and associates are the only group of ppl who constantly ask me about my business, how it's doing, how's Covid affecting it etc etc, how we affording to send our 2 children to X private school, what does our business do, even my parents sending me and my siblings to university in the US without scholarship was a source of constant questions from the Indo Trinis I met there. And only them. Never met another race of Trinis to constantly be in my business like that. In ALL of my dealings with Indo Trinis I have just met two who were not like that and I have met and known dozens.
Who have Afro trinis at the bottom of the ladder?

katiedido

Postby katiedido » August 8th, 2020, 3:26 pm

I never said Afro trinis were at the bottom of the ladder. I said Indo Trinis like that narrative.In my view there is a ton of poverty in both races which makes the commentary on here more sad and pathetic. I don't know if studies have been done on this but I wouldn't be surprised if both groups have equal poverty rates. There are also a lot of both races who are just middle class wage slaves....but the way people act on here it's like all Afro Trinis are poor (we'd be an extremely poor country if that was the case)...many Afro and Indo trinis are just middle class. Due to their enterprising nature which was forced on them due to Eric Williams shutting them out there are more wealthy Indo Trinis than Afro Trinis ...but overall this is still a very small part of the Indo population. Most Indians are not wealthy( we would be a very rich country overall if that was the case). The PNM has truly failed this country when most of the wealthy do not comprise the 2 major groups. We've had more than enough time to try to make right colonial legacies.

Postby sMASH » August 8th, 2020, 3:33 pm

do a survey next time hampers handing out.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 8th, 2020, 3:43 pm

katiedido wrote:

I never said Afro trinis were at the bottom of the ladder. I said Indo Trinis like that narrative.In my view there is a ton of poverty in both races which makes the commentary on here more sad and pathetic. I don't know if studies have been done on this but I wouldn't be surprised if both groups have equal poverty rates. There are also a lot of both races who are just middle class wage slaves....but the way people act on here it's like all Afro Trinis are poor (we'd be an extremely poor country if that was the case)...many Afro and Indo trinis are just middle class. Due to their enterprising nature which was forced on them due to Eric Williams shutting them out there are more wealthy Indo Trinis than Afro Trinis ...but overall this is still a very small part of the Indo population. Most Indians are not wealthy( we would be a very rich country overall if that was the case). The PNM has truly failed this country when most of the wealthy do not comprise the 2 major groups. We've had more than enough time to try to make right colonial legacies.

hoss TTO has one of the highest rates of literacy in the world,.......higher than many countries with a lot more resources. And im waiting to school you when you mention Singapore. We have one of the most educated populaces which is why you have so many TTO citizens working outside. Free education, nursery to tertiary, which means, despite what you might think about TTO, you have a fair chance at life if you take the opportunities.

katiedido

Postby katiedido » August 8th, 2020, 4:07 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
katiedido wrote:

hoss TTO has one of the highest rates of literacy in the world,.......higher than many countries with a lot more resources. And im waiting to school you when you mention Singapore. We have one of the most educated populaces which is why you have so many TTO citizens working outside. Free education, nursery to tertiary, which means, despite what you might think about TTO, you have a fair chance at life if you take the opportunities.

I guess I’m just disillusioned when I see who makes up the richest here in Trinidad as Ive gotten quite acquainted over the years with the upper upper echelons through my childrens’ school and trust me Afro and Indo form a tiny, minuscule sliver of this group that’s a microcosm of the wealthiest in the land. Then to read crap on here it’s like dogs fighting for table scraps.

The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH) Poll added

Postby MaxPower » August 8th, 2020, 4:21 pm

Hello katiedido,

Hope all is well with you as we all fight this pandemic.

I would agree that there is a false narrative with only Afro Trinis being the only race killing and stealing etc.

But i would say, and statistics prove this in most countries that Afros are the race that always stands out when it comes to crime. In T&T, the majority of crime is committed by Afros. Yes, we have quite a number of crimes by Indos as well, but Afros top the group all the time, everytime. So yes, the majority of Afro Trinis should pull themselves up and stop complaining and looking for excuses.

Now note, i said majority, the minority as yourself, who grew up sheltered, or House Negros (no offense) are the one who would progress and be successful in life. Hood Negros however, are usually the problematic ones.

I will agree, that Trinis, both Indos and Afros, have this “macocious” trait about them to count other people’s money and ofcourse jealous them. I cannot say which race is more prone to this, but it will depend on who you associate yourself with.

But let me extend my congratulations on your success. I admire how you are able to analyze and adjust to those around you.

Keep well and be safe.

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 8th, 2020, 5:37 pm

katiedido wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
katiedido wrote:

I guess I’m just disillusioned when I see who makes up the richest here in Trinidad as Ive gotten quite acquainted over the years with the upper upper echelons through my childrens’ school and trust me Afro and Indo form a tiny, minuscule sliver of this group that’s a microcosm of the wealthiest in the land. Then to read crap on here it’s like dogs fighting for table scraps.

I understand that. But most places are not full with super wealthy people. I went to Austria and Belgium last year(planning to go back as soon as covid gets a vaccine). Two very first world countries that always rank high on human and social development lists. Most people do not have a car. My cousin worked as an actuary in France and never once bought a car. But people have access to healthcare, they have free education, nursery to tertiary and they travel frequently. And these services are provided by taxation, In Belgium, 45% of ones salary goes into taxes and Austria is either the same or a little higher. I remember in an Economics lecture, i suggested increased taxation as a means to improve services and i was laughed at by my literate illiterate classmates. Which is one of three problems i see with Trinidad and Tobago: inadequate taxation, a populace while educated is helplessly uninformed, and corruption. What I'm saying is that the rest of the world does not have super wealthy people. Usually when people are super wealthy and super flashy, they have something they're hiding or something they should be hiding

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2020, 5:40 pm

that truck did not make the right choice, at the right time

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2020, 5:40 pm

They don't have cars because they don't need it bro. Cars cheap AF up there

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » August 8th, 2020, 5:53 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:They don't have cars because they don't need it bro. Cars cheap AF up there

No Sah they are not....they're very, very , VERY expensive.....everything is heavily taxed. So car fuel is very expensive and there are taxes on the purchase of the vehicles themselves. The purpose is to encourage people to use public transport-taxis, subways, trams. In TTO a car is a status symbol. So one family might have three or four cars.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » August 8th, 2020, 5:59 pm

This has nothing to do with Indos like to see Afros at the bottom.

Indos generally love to maco. They do this to their own race as well.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 8th, 2020, 6:05 pm

dotish pep alberta pass with a music truck telling people she going by the bar again. not even a rally song unless the bar is d rally.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 8th, 2020, 6:06 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:They don't have cars because they don't need it bro. Cars cheap AF up there

No Sah they are not....they're very, very , VERY expensive.....everything is heavily taxed. So car fuel is very expensive and there are taxes on the purchase of the vehicles themselves. The purpose is to encourage people to use public transport-taxis, subways, trams. In TTO a car is a status symbol. So one family might have three or four cars.

Cost to drive is expensive but cars are cheap bro, I've lived and worked in some of those places. A BMW 3 series can be bought new for $250k TT and used is even cheaper, you can get 5 year old 3 series for 10K euros. Then factor in their higher salaries it's equivalent to us buying a foreign used corolla.

Also, taxes aren't 45% the highest bracket is 45% but there are tiered brackets so most times you're paying around 35% tax with average progressional salaries

Postby paid_influencer » August 8th, 2020, 6:12 pm

screwbash wrote:dotish pep alberta pass with a music truck telling people she going by the bar again. not even a rally song unless the bar is d rally.

PEP candidates have to pay their own deposit. Is she money spending, so if she want to rally by d bar, that is totally fine. :drinking:

I actually met the PEP candidate for my area. Cool fella, very relatable. I woulda give him my vote, but I already decided to vote UNC, for the greater good of the economy.
Last edited by paid_influencer on August 8th, 2020, 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » August 8th, 2020, 6:13 pm

huh, look how elections does bring them out like termites after the rain. Check that sleeper cell post history nah. Jusso after 4 years he decide to wake up today and jump out with this big speech about indo looking down on other people ent?

Postby sMASH » August 8th, 2020, 6:23 pm

did anybody ask Dr. Sh!tkicker to cite teh study he used, when he made the statement that afros not doing well?

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2020, 6:24 pm

maj. tom wrote:huh, look how elections does bring them out like termites after the rain. Check that sleeper cell post history nah. Jusso after 4 years he decide to wake up today and jump out with this big speech about indo looking down on other people ent?
I glad you spotted him/her

Postby maj. tom » August 8th, 2020, 6:28 pm

I hope they paying TTEC too to fix that, just like how they paid to hang up political banners. And don't big trucks like that need a planned route on paper with suitable approvals by the Police before they ride? So they wouldn't pull down wires or hit a flyover?

Again, what a waste of state resources, manpower and time, for elections right?

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2020, 6:28 pm

sMASH wrote:did anybody ask Dr. Sh!tkicker to cite teh study he used, when he made the statement that afros not doing well?
He said that in parliament when they were not in power.

Failgerald Hinds said it a few weeks ago when he said newcomers are doing better than Afros. But where was the public outcry for these statements.

Rowlee and Hinds was not deemed racist then

katiedido

Postby katiedido » August 8th, 2020, 6:30 pm

maj. tom wrote:huh, look how elections does bring them out like termites after the rain. Check that sleeper cell post history nah. Jusso after 4 years he decide to wake up today and jump out with this big speech about indo looking down on other people ent?

Because this thread is ridiculous and out of control. Exposing yourselves for the divisive racists you are.

Anyways to whoever posted the reply calling me house negro and I'm a minority among Afro Trinis etc etc....maybe expand your horizons. Most Afro Trinis are just regular working people(wage slaves usually) , not Hood negroes as you call them. Statistically if 40% of the population was Hood negroes and criminals Trinidad would be an extremely unlivable place (like can't step foot outside your door because 1 in 2 ppl almost is an armed criminal kind of unlivable). Most crimes of poverty (gang culture) are committed by AfroTrinis but to posit that most Afro Trinis are criminals is pretty asinine and sounds uneducated and lacking in basic statistical inference.

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2020, 6:30 pm

maj. tom wrote:

I hope they paying TTEC too to fix that, just like how they paid to hang up political banners. And don't big trucks like that need a planned route on paper with suitable approvals by the Police before they ride? So they wouldn't pull down wires or hit a flyover?

Again, what a waste of state resources, manpower and time, for elections right?
I think a guy that was billed 25k for crashing into a lamppost a while back

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 8th, 2020, 6:31 pm

PNM just passed by my house however they made sure to keep the volume at a minimal and within the Noise pollution regulation

Then UNC passed playing some crazy song about how rum kill some man lover and he family and one set ah assness. The volume was so loud it terrified my dog and gave him a panic attack.

When is the cop going to do something about these music trucks disturbing the peace?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 8th, 2020, 6:31 pm

PNM just passed by my house however they made sure to keep the volume at a minimal and within the Noise pollution regulation

Then UNC passed playing some crazy song about how rum kill some man lover and he family and one set ah assness. The volume was so loud it terrified my dog and gave him a panic attack.

When is the cop going to do something about these music trucks disturbing the peace?

Postby zoom rader » August 8th, 2020, 6:38 pm

katiedido wrote:

Because this thread is ridiculous and out of control. Exposing yourselves for the divisive racists you are.

Anyways to whoever posted the reply calling me house negro and I'm a minority among Afro Trinis etc etc....maybe expand your horizons. Most Afro Trinis are just regular working people(wage slaves usually) , not Hood negroes as you call them. Statistically if 40% of the population was Hood negroes and criminals Trinidad would be an extremely unlivable place (like can't step foot outside your door because 1 in 2 ppl almost is an armed criminal kind of unlivable). Most crimes of poverty (gang culture) are committed by AfroTrinis but to posit that most Afro Trinis are criminals is pretty asinine and sounds uneducated and lacking in basic statistical inference.
Trinidad is an extremely unlivable place and non afro folk have a fear when they encounter an Afro male they don't know.

Thats the truth, folk do not trust afro males. Violent crimes are mostly comitted by Afros and the jails show this number .

Good try in defending PNM , but you got made out .

katiedido

Postby katiedido » August 8th, 2020, 6:42 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
katiedido wrote:
Trinispougla wrote:
katiedido wrote:

I understand that. But most places are not full with super wealthy people. I went to Austria and Belgium last year(planning to go back as soon as covid gets a vaccine). Two very first world countries that always rank high on human and social development lists. Most people do not have a car. My cousin worked as an actuary in France and never once bought a car. But people have access to healthcare, they have free education, nursery to tertiary and they travel frequently. And these services are provided by taxation, In Belgium, 45% of ones salary goes into taxes and Austria is either the same or a little higher. I remember in an Economics lecture, i suggested increased taxation as a means to improve services and i was laughed at by my literate illiterate classmates. Which is one of three problems i see with Trinidad and Tobago: inadequate taxation, a populace while educated is helplessly uninformed, and corruption. What I'm saying is that the rest of the world does not have super wealthy people. Usually when people are super wealthy and super flashy, they have something they're hiding or something they should be hiding

Point taken but my main gripe is the super wealthy should mirror the overall population demographics and it really is not for various reasons. Yet the poor does reflect our demographics. I will say being around rich Trinis and seeing the demographic pushes me to want more for myself so there's that. But some people on here are content with being crabs in a barrel and get a high and sense of superiority off tearing down Afro Trinis.