zoom rader wrote:RASC wrote:PNM is the local equivalent of the Nazi party in ZR eyes.
Meanwhile the UNC is the only beacon of wholesome hope which the people so crave and need.
Reality? Who needs that!
In the Nazi eyes, the Jews where the enemy.
In the PNM eyes ,Calcutta ships is the enemy .
The Nazis destroyed and displaced the jews.
The PNM destroyed Caroni while trying to displaced the indo element with the lower dregs of the PNM masses via HDC. houses.
Hitler was obsessed with devined power
PNM is obsessed with obeah.
Nazis = White power
PNM = Black power anointed by the blood of jesus
UML wrote:681 illegal immigrants deported....11 African check newspapers tomorrow for details
Kambon is the PNM mouthpiece or is he the brainchild of the racist posters and placards on behalf of the PNM
He never provided stats of how many were given immunity in.the last 4 years and the criminal background of those deported.
As I always say..so easy to cry race...
But ppl seeing through it and getting fedup of it
UML wrote:‘Absurd and dangerous’
By JANELLE DE SOUZA Wednesday, December 10 2014
ATTORNEY GENERAL Anand Ramlogan, responding yesterday in the Senate to allegations of racial profiling in the Immigration Department following the deportation last weekend of 11 Africans, defended law enforcement agencies and described such allegations as, “absurd and dangerous.”
On the deportation of 11 African nationals last Sunday, Emancipation Support Committee (ESC) head Khafra Kambon claimed the Immigration Division unfairly targetted Africans for deportation.
Kambon also called on Government to establish an Independent Review Committee to examine the details of illegal immigrants’ cases.
But speaking during debate yesterday in the Senate, Attorney General Ramlogan refuted these claims. He stated, according to Immigration records from 2010 to now, the highest number of illegal immigrants deported are from Guyana at 41.8 percent or 734 persons.
The next highest number of deportees were from Jamaica at 18.5 percent, followed by other Caribbean countries at 11.4 percent, Asia at 10.2 percent, Central and South America at 6.5 percent and other CARICOM countries at 5.7 percent. Africa was seventh on the list at four percent or 70 deportees.
“We have a tendency in Trinidad and Tobago to call upon the law enforcement authorities to do their duty and enforce the law. Yet having called upon them so to do, when they enforce the law and take action, the very same people come now and criticise and condemn the law enforcement officers,” Ramlogan said.
The Attorney General added that the “latest trend” is to claim racial or religious profiling whenever someone is arrested. He said it was high time to stop such “hypocritical behaviour” and allow the police and other law enforcement officials to do their jobs.
He referenced the many protests in the United States over that country’s grand jury decision not to indict a white police officer, Darren Wilson, for the shooting death of unarmed black teenager Michael Brown, on August 9 in Ferguson, Missouri.
The grand jury’s decision triggered major protests in Ferguson with persons setting fire to cars, breaking into and looting stores and hundreds engaging in street protests.
Ramlogan accused such persons making and/or perpetuating claims of racial profiling in local arrests and deportations of trying to light a social flame that may very well not be controlled on the heels of the events in Ferguson.
He added, the statistics showed that the claims of discrimination were “arrant nonsense.”
“The figures and statistics show that we must reject outright that kind of nonsense, and that kind of absurd allegation against the Government of Trinidad and Tobago... It is mischievous, malicious and very dangerous in a society such as ours,” Ramlogan said.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,204053.html
Just like Emailgate......the question is will Kambon make a public apology for gross misinformation?
Convenient that the then Minister of National Security Jack Warner cannot conveinently remember a National Security issue/threat like this
RASC wrote:Its only y'all talking about RACE constantly![]()
This is a political thread you can take the post elsewhere for sure!
When PNM do their door to door canvassing, anybody that looks like Morgan Job, they will bluntly say don't vote for them kool lee ppl.
Had lots of ppl report this back to me.
The candidate will come up say hello shake hands and kiss babies. Then the foot solders will step in and say it out to the ppl the candidate had just met.
It's well planned out to keep the candidate out of it and squeaky clean.
It's the foot solders you have to watch out for. Most are PNM women with lower standard of education.
PNM ppl know of all this but will turn a blind eye to it.
[/quote]zoom rader wrote:
An allegation is not clear evidence. This is part we why this nation is in a mess the media and ignorant masses like to use 'alleged ' when its suits them to damage ppl character.
j.o.e wrote:zoom rader wrote:
When PNM do their door to door canvassing, anybody that looks like Morgan Job, they will bluntly say don't vote for them kool lee ppl.
Had lots of ppl report this back to me.
The candidate will come up say hello shake hands and kiss babies. Then the foot solders will step in and say it out to the ppl the candidate had just met.
It's well planned out to keep the candidate out of it and squeaky clean.
It's the foot solders you have to watch out for. Most are PNM women with lower standard of education.
PNM ppl know of all this but will turn a blind eye to it.zoom rader wrote:
An allegation is not clear evidence. This is part we why this nation is in a mess the media and ignorant masses like to use 'alleged ' when its suits them to damage ppl character.
UML wrote:PNM bussin the files of the PNM
IC probes PNM MP McDonald
People’s National Movement (PNM) Chief Whip Marlene McDonald is under attack by a secret group named TnT Whistleblower. The group, claiming to be supportive of the PNM, has e-mailed party leader Dr Keith Rowley, threatening to go public with a series of allegations against McDonald. The Sunday Guardian understands that this matter was already raised at the Integrity Commission. The Sunday Guardian was also informed that the matter had been re-opened and was currently under investigation.
The list of allegations e-mailed to Rowley includes her involvement in a “fake NGO (non-governmental organisation)” called Calabar Foundation, which the group claimed is headed by McDonald’s common-law husband, his brother and a colleague at the Diego Martin Credit Union.
Checks with the Companies Registry show that the name search for the Calabar Foundation was done on July 14, 2010, and it was registered on August 24, 2010, listing Michael Carew, Lennox Carew and Victor McEachrane. The registered office for Calabar Foundation is the same as Michael Carew’s listed address on the documents. The list of allegations is supported by copies of registration documents, an excerpt of the Hansard and photocopies of cheques.
In the letter to Rowley, the group also details that a $375,000 cheque was prepared on May 12, 2012, for Calabar Foundation, but on the supporting documents the date May 12, 2012, was scratched off and 2010 was scribbled in. Despite the sloppy nature of the work, the cheque details were also sent to Rowley as part of the mounting evidence against McDonald. This letter comes after McDonald was openly challenged for the Port-of-Spain East constituency candidacy.
In the Hansard dated October 18, 2011, during the Approriation to the Budget debate, McDonald named McEachrane as part of the reformed Financial Assistance Programme. In the Hansard text, McDonald is noted as saying that that scholarship programme was temporarily closed until late January 2008. “As minister, I closed that programme. The reason I closed it is because I needed to get a better understanding of what the programme actually involves,” McDonald said on parliamentary record then.
“It also gave me the opportunity to put in place a structure to deal with the particular programme. Indeed, a committee was formed,” she added. McDonald went on to name the members of that restructured committee, which included McEachrane and five others. The crux of the letter, though, seems to be the accusations of misconduct levelled against McDonald by members of the PNM, as this group claims that the party has “not acted” on various complaints against her over the past four years.
“Dr Rowley, it is our opinion that Marlene Mc Donald has been able to be promoted using deceitfulness and subterfuge for over 4 years. Do not allow this upcoming fiasco to destroy the party's chances at regaining Government,” the letter stated. It also noted that it would not send any information to the members of the People’s Partnership, as “they may in fact admire the corruption schemes we are trying to stamp out of the PNM.”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... p-mcdonald
...this going to be fun
shotta 20 wrote:I thought infighting was a UNC thing??
UML wrote:Procurement Bill finally passed
Opposition Senators abstain
Yvonne Baboolal
Published:
Wednesday, December 17, 2014
After a long, drawn-out ten-year process the Public Procurement and Disposal of Public Property Bill was passed in the Senate yesterday by a special three-fifths majority. It was passed after 24 members, including 15 Government and all nine Independent Senators, voted in favour of it. The Opposition had debated vociferously against the bill and the six PNM Senators present yesterday abstained from voting.
Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley and deputy political leader Marlene McDonald were not present in the Upper House at the time. Leader of Government Business in the Senate Ganga Singh described the passing of the bill as historic. The Opposition’s main contention was that the Government deliberately delayed the passage of the bill over the last four-and-a-half years to conduct certain procurement activities.
It argued that the Bill was brought for passage at this time only to gain political mileage for the 2015 general election. Planning Minister Dr Bhoe Tewarie, who piloted the bill, gave a rousing summary before it was passed. He focused on countering Opposition Senator Faris Al-Rawi’s earlier presentation.
Tewarie said he did not need to respond to Al-Rawi’s charge that the Government was misinterpreting the Opposition’s position “because the population is an intelligent population and knows who is skinning teeth and being deceptive and who is telling the truth.” He said Al-Rawi, like Rowley, sought to turn the procurement debate into a debate on Invader’s Bay and insinuate there was some kind of malpractice in the billion-dollar state project.
He refuted the Opposition’s argument that the Central Tenders Board (CTB) rules were bypassed in the award of contracts for the project. He said the CTB Act in relation to procurement applies to government quarters and not land and that the Commissioner of State Land dealt with all land matters. Tewarie said there was no subterfuge in the delay in the passage of procurement legislation. The bill lapsed because the PNM raised three main issues and the Government wanted to give them a hearing.
Tewarie also countered the Opposition’s argument that the Government did not allow the President to proclaim the bill by absolute discretion. He said the Constitution provided for executive power but the President was not an executive president. Charging that the Opposition really did not want procurement legislation, Tewarie said it was true it brought a white paper on it in 2005 and legislation in 2006.
He admitted it was that legislation that went before a Joint Select Committee of Parliament which presented the report that led to the present bill. However, at no time during its tenure did the PNM ever bring procurement legislation to Parliament for debate, he added. “All they did was galay and galay and galay,” the minister said, slipping into the colloquial.
Praising the Government, he said: “You could call it a box drain government if you want, but people in rural areas you put in the bamboo see the benefit of box drains.” Tewarie said the Government also did more projects in the urban PNM stronghold of East Port-of-Spain in three years than the PNM did in 20 years. “And if you only stretch me, I have the list and I will read it out,” he said, to laughter from his colleagues.
Charging the PNM was self righteous and came to Parliament playing holier than thou, Tewarie attempted to disclose details of the Broadgate project scandal under the PNM regime. However, he was quickly opposed by the Opposition on the grounds the matter was subjudice. Senate President Timothy Hamel-Smith agreed and Tewarie was silenced.
He vowed the Government was going to be in power for the next five years “and not because I say so but because the people are watching and listening and talking and also looking at what you (the PNM) are and making judgments. “The country has been brought to a good place in four-and-half years,” he said.
more info
Civil Society Group responds
Chairman of the Private Sector, Civil Society Group on Public Procurement, Winston Riley welcomed the passage of the bill, which he said had been a long time in coming. He added: “First we have to give credit to Minister Tewarie and the Independent Senators who were the driving force in getting this legislation passed. “The legislation is far more rigorous than anything that went before and we are generally happy with it in its present form.”
He said the most important issue now was the operation of the legislation and he called on the President to provide his assent to it, which he said would be a Christmas gift to the population.
Christmas greeting in House
Parliament was adjourned to a date to be fixed until after the Christmas holidays. Government Senator Marlene Coudray, giving Christmas greetings called on the nation to reflect on Christ, “the reason for the season.” “We spend so much time shopping and making preparations and have no time to reflect on what the celebrations are about. The celebrations are about the Christ child,” she said.
Camille Robinson-Regis, on behalf of the PNM, said Christmas was one of the religious festivals in T&T celebrated by all groups. “Where I live, the neighbour opposite me is a Hindu and has more lights than me. “Everybody shares in the spirit. I think it because of what it means,” she said, quoting Isaiah 9:6.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... lly-passed
dealing with the real issues.
EmilioA wrote:With falling oil prices, and with natural gas prices expected to fall also, I think Kamla will throw the election and let Rowley deal with the hardship of raising taxes and cutting pensions and salaries.
desifemlove wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12-19/govt-pays-2m-sparrow%E2%80%99s-memorabilia
hmm....."Mother Christmas" or "Santa Kamla..." ent so?
desifemlove wrote:http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12-19/govt-pays-2m-sparrow%E2%80%99s-memorabilia
hmm....."Mother Christmas" or "Santa Kamla..." ent so?
desifemlove wrote:Ent govt. sponsor fund Soca/Chutney monarchs? most people hate Machel, Bunji, Nisha/Ravi B?
desifemlove wrote:i don't dispute that...who would?
sorry, but people does get suspicious if Teachers, churches, Sparrow, sick chirren, people on de long time HDC list, does all get ting six months before an election.... and before anybody say it cos it Christmas...Kamla's a Hindu, and is most of she party and even Prakash/Dooks. Since when do Hindus believe in a Son of God?
UML wrote:SEE WAH AH MEAN!!!
look how good the PNM does hide they secrets...only because it have a rift between Rowley followers and Manning followers, files bussin!!!!
MAKES YOU WONDER WHAT OTHER SKELETONS THEY HAVE HIDDEN IN THE CLOSET!!Marlene’s name called
Donation allegedly made to her foundation
Lake Asphalt’s audit report
Gail Alexander
Published:
Friday, December 19, 2014
PNM deputy leader Marlene McDonald’s name has figured in a Lake Asphalt of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) audit report concerning a review of contracts and conflicts of interest in that company, where a senior LATT official allegedly told a company in 2007 to make a contribution to a foundation McDonald had in order to get more LATT jobs.
The information is contained in a 16-page LATT internal audit report of May 2011 concerning alleged issues under the tenure of former LATT CEO, Wayne Wood, no longer with LATT. Prior Beharry, strategic communications consultant to Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine, said yesterday the minister had received the report and forwarded it to the Attorney General for appropriate action.
The audit noted there had been concerns regarding due process in relation to procurement of contracts, payment of contracts and possible conflict of interest between Wood and Tramway Marketing Ltd. Tramway was described in the report as a limited liability company, incorporated July 6, 1999.
Directors were Alvin Phillips and Althea Phillips with McDonald as the secretary at the date of incorporation. This was changed to Althea Phillips on October 6, 1999. The report contained copies of companies registrar documents confirming that.
The report noted that during Wood’s tenure approximately 54 contractors were engaged, at a cost of $19 million, and the review found evidence of conflict of interest and inappropriate reporting relationship between the then CEO and the director of Tramway Marketing.
It also noted senior officials knowingly overrode controls, irregularities and non-compliance with the tender policy and procedure, inefficiencies in the payment process and failure on procurement systems. The report, which detailed all of what was found, stated the audit discovered that it was not the first time conflict of interest was alleged between Wood and Tramway.
It was noted that since the appointment of Wood as CEO, Tramway was paid $1.3 million for contracts, including grass-cutting, ground maintenance, landscaping, janitorial contracting and inventory management. The report cited interviews including with one Curlan Worrell. He said he had been self employed “doing odd jobs here-and-there and at one time was awarded contracts with LATT, including general maintenance.”
He said the contracts were awarded under MIE Engineering Co Ltd (MIEECL) where he was operations manager. MIEECL was a pre-qualified contractor with LATT.
Worrell is quoted as saying during 2007 he and the owner of MIEECL were approached by Wood and told that MIEECL could be given more jobs at LATT and Palo Seco Agricultural Enterprises Ltd (where Wood was also a director at the time) but “MIEECL would have to make a contribution to two foundations, one belonging to Peter Taylor and the other belonging to Marlene McDonald.”
Worrell’s statement alleged the cheques were to be made out to two foundations, “one being Peter Taylor and the other Marlene McDonald for $25,000-$35,000. I did so and gave the cheques to Mr Wood,” he added. The report stated MIEECL indeed received a contract from PSAEL and MIEECL made the payment and gave the cheques to Wood.
The report also stated Worrell also claimed Alston Grant, who was affiliated with MA Trading Ltd, was also associated with Conrad Enill, (described in the report as Energy Minister) and asked Worrell to manage some contracts that would be awarded to LATT. Worrell said he was informed Enill instructed Wood to award contracts to MA Trading. It was also noted MA Trading received LATT contracts.
MORE INFO
McDonald didn’t answer calls yesterday. Taylor, who was PNM Princes Town MP, said he never had a foundation. “Nah, I wasn’t in anything like that. We only had a constituency group. I never asked anyone for any contributions,” he said Enill said: “I never instructed anybody to give any contracts but in politics, people use your name all the time.
“I can’t tell you how many times people would come to me and say ‘Mr Manning told me to tell you X and Y’. I would call him about it and he would say ‘But I see you all the time, so I would have told you if I had done that’ “That’s why I prefer to give written instructions and specifics. Third party instructions are not instructions as far as I’m concerned. I don’t go through third parties,” Enill said.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... ame-called
UML wrote:UML wrote:SEE WAH AH MEAN!!!
look how good the PNM does hide they secrets...only because it have a rift between Rowley followers and Manning followers, files bussin!!!!
MAKES YOU WONDER WHAT OTHER SKELETONS THEY HAVE HIDDEN IN THE CLOSET!!Marlene’s name called
Donation allegedly made to her foundation
Lake Asphalt’s audit report
Gail Alexander
Published:
Friday, December 19, 2014
PNM deputy leader Marlene McDonald’s name has figured in a Lake Asphalt of Trinidad and Tobago (LATT) audit report concerning a review of contracts and conflicts of interest in that company, where a senior LATT official allegedly told a company in 2007 to make a contribution to a foundation McDonald had in order to get more LATT jobs.
The information is contained in a 16-page LATT internal audit report of May 2011 concerning alleged issues under the tenure of former LATT CEO, Wayne Wood, no longer with LATT. Prior Beharry, strategic communications consultant to Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine, said yesterday the minister had received the report and forwarded it to the Attorney General for appropriate action.
The audit noted there had been concerns regarding due process in relation to procurement of contracts, payment of contracts and possible conflict of interest between Wood and Tramway Marketing Ltd. Tramway was described in the report as a limited liability company, incorporated July 6, 1999.
Directors were Alvin Phillips and Althea Phillips with McDonald as the secretary at the date of incorporation. This was changed to Althea Phillips on October 6, 1999. The report contained copies of companies registrar documents confirming that.
The report noted that during Wood’s tenure approximately 54 contractors were engaged, at a cost of $19 million, and the review found evidence of conflict of interest and inappropriate reporting relationship between the then CEO and the director of Tramway Marketing.
It also noted senior officials knowingly overrode controls, irregularities and non-compliance with the tender policy and procedure, inefficiencies in the payment process and failure on procurement systems. The report, which detailed all of what was found, stated the audit discovered that it was not the first time conflict of interest was alleged between Wood and Tramway.
It was noted that since the appointment of Wood as CEO, Tramway was paid $1.3 million for contracts, including grass-cutting, ground maintenance, landscaping, janitorial contracting and inventory management. The report cited interviews including with one Curlan Worrell. He said he had been self employed “doing odd jobs here-and-there and at one time was awarded contracts with LATT, including general maintenance.”
He said the contracts were awarded under MIE Engineering Co Ltd (MIEECL) where he was operations manager. MIEECL was a pre-qualified contractor with LATT.
Worrell is quoted as saying during 2007 he and the owner of MIEECL were approached by Wood and told that MIEECL could be given more jobs at LATT and Palo Seco Agricultural Enterprises Ltd (where Wood was also a director at the time) but “MIEECL would have to make a contribution to two foundations, one belonging to Peter Taylor and the other belonging to Marlene McDonald.”
Worrell’s statement alleged the cheques were to be made out to two foundations, “one being Peter Taylor and the other Marlene McDonald for $25,000-$35,000. I did so and gave the cheques to Mr Wood,” he added. The report stated MIEECL indeed received a contract from PSAEL and MIEECL made the payment and gave the cheques to Wood.
The report also stated Worrell also claimed Alston Grant, who was affiliated with MA Trading Ltd, was also associated with Conrad Enill, (described in the report as Energy Minister) and asked Worrell to manage some contracts that would be awarded to LATT. Worrell said he was informed Enill instructed Wood to award contracts to MA Trading. It was also noted MA Trading received LATT contracts.
MORE INFO
McDonald didn’t answer calls yesterday. Taylor, who was PNM Princes Town MP, said he never had a foundation. “Nah, I wasn’t in anything like that. We only had a constituency group. I never asked anyone for any contributions,” he said Enill said: “I never instructed anybody to give any contracts but in politics, people use your name all the time.
“I can’t tell you how many times people would come to me and say ‘Mr Manning told me to tell you X and Y’. I would call him about it and he would say ‘But I see you all the time, so I would have told you if I had done that’ “That’s why I prefer to give written instructions and specifics. Third party instructions are not instructions as far as I’m concerned. I don’t go through third parties,” Enill said.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... ame-called
No wonder they didnt support the Procurement legislation.....everybody have cocoa in d sun
They making Calder Hart look like an angel!!!
UML wrote:McDonald blames former PNM politician for witch-hunt
Published:
Sunday, December 21, 2014
MP for Port-of-Spain East Marlene McDonald has accused a former PNM politician of colluding with external forces in a bid to ruin her political career. McDonald, who has been gagged by her legal advisers, responded to two incidents that recently surfaced in the media, allegedly accusing her of misconduct. “Collusion and a witch-hunt, that is what this is,” McDonald said in an interview yesterday with the Sunday Guardian.
In a letter directed to party leader Dr Keith Rowley two weeks ago, a supporter claimed that McDonald was accused of misconduct during her time as minister of Community Development because a cheque was issued on May 12, 2010, to a company that was registered three months after that date.
The company, Calabar Foundation, lists three directors, Michael Carew, Lennox Carew and Victor McEachrane. Carew (Michael) has been described as McDonald’s common-law husband of 20 years and McEachrane as a friend from her university days. “I have never owned any foundation,” McDonald said.
McDonald’s name is also mentioned in a 2011 audit report into Lake Asphalt T&T (Latt). The audit report contains concerns about the review of contracts and conflicts of interest in that company, as a senior Latt official is alleged to have told a company in 2007 to make a contribution to a foundation McDonald had in order to get more Latt jobs. When asked if that was the same Calabar Foundation, McDonald repeated that she never owned any foundation.
“I was approached by a client at the time to form a company and used my name as secretary to incorporate the company. The year later, by 1999, my name was removed. What is this silly story even about?” she asked. She said she was not aware that Attorney General Anand Ramlogan had signalled his intention to investigate the Lake Asphalt matter.
“The AG is free to do whatever he wants. There is a lot more to look at in his own party and that is where he should be looking, but everyone will want to jump on the bandwagon now,” she said. “I have lived my entire life above board,” McDonald added.
We are satisfied with MARLENE—Rowley
Meanwhile, Rowley continued to support McDonald’s bid for re-election to the Port-of-Spain East seat next year. He said he was not surprised that the AG was planning to investigate the matter and he was leaving it up to McDonald to respond accordingly.
“If the response is inappropriate then we will act,” he said. Rowley said he was aware that some people “hated” that McDonald was re-selected for her constituency seat.
“But that is their point of view, we are satisfied that we have chosen a proper candidate and until we are convinced otherwise, she shall remain,” he said.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... witch-huntAG to probe allegations against McDonald
Gail Alexander
Published:
Saturday, December 20, 2014
The 2011 Lake Asphalt (LATT) audit report containing allegations of corruption, which mentions PNM Deputy Leader Marlene McDonald and other PNM officials, is being scrutinised by the Attorney General to determine if there are grounds to lay a charge of misconduct in public office. Attorney General Anand Ramlogan said this after yesterday’s T&T Guardian article on the report in which McDonald’s name appears.
The audit report concerned a review of contracts and conflicts of interest in that company where a senior LATT official allegedly told a company in 2007 to make contributions to foundations run by McDonald and Peter Taylor, in order to get more LATT jobs.
The audit also noted concerns had been expressed regarding due process in relation to procurement of contracts, payment of contracts and possible conflict of interest between the former LATT senior official and Tramway Marketing Ltd. McDonald was secretary of that company up to 1999.
Ramlogan said yesterday: “The report is engaging the attention of my office with a view to determining whether there are any grounds for misconduct in public office or any violation or potential violation of T&T’s laws.” He said all aspects and issues concerning persons involved would be examined.In the absence of replies from PNM leader Keith Rowley and PRO Faris Al Rawi yesterday, PNM Deputy Leader Rohan Sinanan said he had no comment.
But political analyst Dr Bishnu Ragoonath said the PNM would have to deal with this and other allegations concerning McDonald. “As the PNM will want to enter elections as clean as possible to ensure they’re not compared with the PP.
“To that extent they may have to rethink some candidates. Currently, however, the PNM seems more occupied in doing damage control in defending why they didn’t vote for the Procurement bill in Senate on Tuesday and abstained on it, so McDonald may be secondary business for them,” Ragoonath said.
Fixin’ T&T yesterday called on Rowley “to demonstrate responsible leadership by publicly insisting on a thorough, transparent and independent investigation into this matter (the foundation) or providing irrefutable evidence that one was conducted and she was cleared.
“The PNM’s handling of the recent allegations of corruption against MP Marlene McDonald mirrors that of the Government’s initial responses to allegations of corruption made against Jack Warner, Anil Roberts and Anand Ramlogan etc, as they have chosen to attack the accusers and reduce the matter to political mischief.” The group said the PP Government and the Opposition PNM “are two sides of the same coin,” reiterating appeals to the PP and PNM for campaign financing reform.
The group said Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s “gift” of $55 million to churches, using public funds, was apparently ably supported by the Opposition without any system of accountability in place: “This is the same Government and Opposition that recently unanimously bypassed the Salaries Review Commission and passed legislation in our Parliament to raise their salaries and pensions...Similarities can also be seen in the Prime Minister’s unwillingness to provide full disclosure on the source of funding for her ‘toy drive’ and the Opposition Leader’s response to calls for complete transparency in the raffle for the three BMWs.”
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-12- ... t-mcdonald
Cox holds Christmas treat for 400
Story Created: Dec 22, 2014 at 9:36 PM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 22, 2014 at 9:36 PM ECT
The children of the Laventille East/Morvant constituency were on Sunday treated to a Christmas party hosted by their Member of Parliament, Donna Cox. The event, held at the House of Angostura in Laventille, featured video games, face-painting, a bouncy castle and cartoon characters as well as an appearance by Santa Claus himself.
Some 400 children were treated to gifts, food and drinks, but Cox said more children had turned up than was catered for.
“We had to stop registering because we would not have had enough toys to give everybody,” she said. “But we are very happy that we had a very big turnout. It keeps getting bigger and bigger. This is the biggest we have had.”
The toys, she said, were bought abroad and there were extra costs attached for customs and freight charges. Some of the money to fund this came from her birthday fund-raising event and some from donations, she said.
Cox catered for parents as well this year as she said she was happy to see them, especially the men, out with their children.
She noted that a lot of fathers had brought their children to the event, disproving the notion that fathers are not as involved in their children’s lives.
“So we provided an area for the parents to hang out inside and we had drinks and so on for them.”
Cox, who complained in previous years that very little corporate support was received to host the event, told the Express that it was somewhat the same this year. She remained disappointed that not many companies in the area had stepped in to offer financial support.
“Only two companies in the area assisted,” she said.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Cox ... 27511.html