Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 26th, 2011, 12:43 am

shaq090 wrote:
shaq090 wrote:btw thats the sandybridge processors?
yup, one third the price and just as fast and overclockable using less power

but is that the same batch of sandy's that goes through sata I/O degradation after a period of time?

SATA i/o has nothing to do with the processor - the problem was with the intel Cougar Point chipset

and no they revised all the boards after March 2011
once a board has a "B3 Stepping revision" label on it then it does not have the SATA issue

it was fixed - people who bought boards before April would have the issue, eventually.

http://www.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/inte ... 14th/11385

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 26th, 2011, 7:43 am

ohhh good to hear....still love my i7 tho.....i just like to lol when im multitasking alot and only see it fluctuate from 0% to 3%

HCCA

Postby HCCA » May 26th, 2011, 8:07 am

shaq090 wrote:ohhh good to hear....still love my i7 tho.....i just like to lol when im multitasking alot and only see it fluctuate from 0% to 3%

Same with my i7 930 at stock speed. Put stuff to download, ran 4 instances of winrar decompressing dvd size files, ran a game and played some music and all cores barely went above 26% each. :|

Was considering a sandy bridge upgrade but i eh see the point since i can't max out this cpu as yet.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 26th, 2011, 8:38 am

HCCA wrote:
shaq090 wrote:ohhh good to hear....still love my i7 tho.....i just like to lol when im multitasking alot and only see it fluctuate from 0% to 3%

Same with my i7 930 at stock speed. Put stuff to download, ran 4 instances of winrar decompressing dvd size files, ran a game and played some music and all cores barely went above 26% each. :|

Was considering a sandy bridge upgrade but i eh see the point since i can't max out this cpu as yet.

Hence i not even bothering to price the upgrades for sandy bridge

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 26th, 2011, 10:26 am

makes no sense upgrading from 1366 to 1155 IMO
if yuh done bounce yuh head then just relax until X68 comes out

is like yuh buy a 2010 Bugatti and then they bring out the new 2011 model just as fast and capable of going faster but using less gas for less than half the price -

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 26th, 2011, 10:47 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:makes no sense upgrading from 1366 to 1155 IMO
if yuh done bounce yuh head then just relax until X68 comes out

is like yuh buy a 2010 Bugatti and then they bring out the new 2011 model just as fast and capable of going faster but using less gas for less than half the price -

Daz thing to make yuh wanna cuss

Postby bushwakka » May 26th, 2011, 8:51 pm

^^lol.....technology will always march on

5forward

WTK:COD MW2 AND BLACK OPS "LAN" FOR PC

Postby 5forward » May 26th, 2011, 9:36 pm

I wana know how to do this and where do i get the appropriate download for them.I wana "LAN/offline multiplayer" COD MW2 and Black ops...if thats possible

fouljuice

Re: WTK:COD MW2 AND BLACK OPS "LAN" FOR PC

Postby fouljuice » May 26th, 2011, 9:46 pm

5forward wrote:I wana know how to do this and where do i get the appropriate download for them.I wana "LAN/offline multiplayer" COD MW2 and Black ops...if thats possible

I can't confirm how/if these work, but check these programs: Hamachi and/or Tunngle

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 26th, 2011, 9:51 pm

i use tunngle but u need some config file for it to work...

5forward

Postby 5forward » May 26th, 2011, 10:24 pm

you mind saying how to do it...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 26th, 2011, 10:41 pm

bushwakka wrote:^^lol.....technology will always march on
true, can't avoid it! Android users will attest to that!

but technology marched on and people still holding on to 1366 like is l337...

sorry sorry I was supposed to stop doing that -carry on

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 26th, 2011, 10:42 pm

ummm i doh know entirely eh but i got crysis 2 to work like that...it just needed a config file that launches u straight to ur multiplayer part....try a youtube or google for more info

Postby M_2NR » May 26th, 2011, 10:55 pm

My 775 still rocking tho dan :|

only BlOps does lag. Dirt 3 maxed out normel.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 26th, 2011, 11:11 pm

^^^ sweeet! how much is DiRT3 an improvement from DiRT2?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 26th, 2011, 11:11 pm

rocking an am2+ mofos!!

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 26th, 2011, 11:39 pm

gonna sell my rig and buy a p4 machine with a pci slot...and a 40gb hdd.....with a caveman monitor that can only do 800x400 bess

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 26th, 2011, 11:45 pm

^^ thats jus a stupid thought!!

but seriously...got a am2+ as my work horse working BESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 26th, 2011, 11:46 pm

^ bess!

I remember buying a Matrox Millenium video card to run Quake in 1995 - it had 4MB of RAM!!!!

I upgraded to the Sandy Bridge from a 775 which is still running good.
the ASUS P5K Deluxe board it was on though decided to cap out when I removed it from the case.
So it's running on a Gigabyte board now :(

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 27th, 2011, 12:12 am

i doh see the need to really buy a new piece of hardware as it comes out...like for instance i doh need 12gb of ram to play vid games....d most i ever see on a game using my ram was 3gb and i have abunch of chrome tabs up with flash content on it...a simple dual core with a nice junk of ram could give u similar fps on games that depend heavily on gpu...but when dx11 come into play...( evil grin )

Postby Sinister_Audio » May 27th, 2011, 2:38 am

fcuk yall, new egg have a kingston 24gb ram ddr3 1600 RAM combo for $274

i doh have a computer, buh ah buying it :|

*totes*

Virus

Postby Virus » May 27th, 2011, 5:19 am

Chiney wrote:rocking an am2+ mofos!!

Hay me tooo :shock:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 27th, 2011, 6:40 am

Looking at one of these printers

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-MG6120-Wire ... 51&sr=1-13

How do these work???

Im looking at this for the new build but i won't be using a wireless network card to be connected to the web :/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 27th, 2011, 11:42 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:fcuk yall, new egg have a kingston 24gb ram ddr3 1600 RAM combo for $274

*totes*
Waaays! What CAS timing?

Virus

Postby Virus » May 27th, 2011, 11:55 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:fcuk yall, new egg have a kingston 24gb ram ddr3 1600 RAM combo for $274

*totes*
Waaays! What CAS timing?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104170

Postby bushwakka » May 27th, 2011, 12:26 pm

M_2NR wrote:

My 775 still rocking tho dan :|

only BlOps does lag. Dirt 3 maxed out normel.

lol yes....my 775 still fulfilling all my needs...i dont hav to hav bragging rights.....that too expensive

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » May 27th, 2011, 12:31 pm

*totes*

HAHAHA! buy one for me to nabaidanbai!

Postby M_2NR » May 27th, 2011, 3:54 pm

speedaholic wrote:^^^ sweeet! how much is DiRT3 an improvement from DiRT2?

It aite. Graphics is more crips and the cars handle nicely with some tweaking. Getting a controller though.
The actual storyline is nothing fancy tho but mexicans surely had an influence on it esp the gymkhana.
Man calling yuh amigo and muchacho... i literally force quit after i heard him call me that :|

Virus wrote:
Chiney wrote:rocking an am2+ mofos!!

Hay me tooo :shock:

They are quite picky tho. Pops has two here and i get random reboots every so often (like once a month). Kind of odd. But they are workhorses none the less. On probably 16 hours a day.
I must say though as of recently chips have gotten so efficient! AM3's now use 1/2 the power than those AM2/+ with similar/better performance.

Postby Sinister_Audio » May 27th, 2011, 11:51 pm

Virus wrote:

*totes*
Waaays! What CAS timing?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104170

thais the thing self!

just put together a lil list of what i'd want my computer to be like in the near future and so far w.o GPU its coming up to 1500USD :?

Board: Asus Maximus Extreme IV
Proc: might be a 960 or a SB 2600k (not too sure yet)
RAM: 12DDR3 1600 corsair dominator w/ cooler
SSD: leaning towards the vertex 2 80gb
HDD: WD2TB
PSU: corsair 1Kw
CASE: nzxt phantom

also thinking about buying a K&N filter case after that i aint want ONE SPEC of dust in that mofo :|

the GPU is giving me the biggest headache looking at either TWO 1gb cards or ONE superclocked gtx580 :?

HCCA

Postby HCCA » May 28th, 2011, 12:19 am

^^Best to go with one single gpu card instead of sli or crossfire.

Some major games still have stupid driver issues with multi-gpu setups.

I use an Antec 1200 case for one of my systems, dust only in the front air intake filter which can be easily removed to be cleaned.