Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Ministry of finance visit allyuh yet? (land tax)

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2019, 7:22 pm

88sins wrote:really don't give 2shavedshits about who let what slip out of what or slide into where.
Fact remains, ANYBODY could get their ballz squeezed in a vise because of this bs property tax, and get absolutely nothing to show for the pressure they feeling, both Baboolal & Baptiste alike.

the ppl that will feel the pinch hardest are those in the lower income bracket in society. Those whose forebears toiled & suffered themselves for years to build & develop property to leave for future genrations, and those future generations that living on limited incomes & inherit highly valued properties.
Well we all know this but PNM ppl think different. Most of them are renters, squatting and HDC.

As you said you AC your house and paid vat when buying it but now you have to pay a double tax on that.

This tax is unjust for those that worked to buy their homes and paying montages. But then you have people like eleitauto & Redman who don't see nothing wrong with it. They fully support this nonsense.

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 19th, 2019, 8:13 pm

What about if you have your lil 1-bedroom leaking galvanise shack in the yard, but build your 3-4 bedroom underground in a different part of the yard and cover up the entrance with grass?

Dem coming to look for all dat?

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2019, 8:15 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:What about if you have your lil 1-bedroom leaking galvanise shack in the yard, but build your 3-4 bedroom underground in a different part of the yard and cover up the entrance with grass?

You can't build anything under 6 ft.

The state owns 6ft under unless you got mineral rights

Blaze d Chalice

Postby Blaze d Chalice » November 19th, 2019, 8:39 pm

Yeah but how will they know?

Somebody coming to search for all that?

I talking bout generator (so they can't be suspicious of high TTEC bill) and sharing wifi from the shack.

Or if I have a few containers in the back "full of old junk and rubbish" and as soon as them done do their valuation, I clean up and put back the bed and couch and rest of furniture?

Postby sMASH » November 19th, 2019, 8:44 pm

jess make sure ur flood proof and ur cespit is not leaking. go brave!!

Postby zoom rader » November 19th, 2019, 9:04 pm

Blaze d Chalice wrote:Yeah but how will they know?

Somebody coming to search for all that?

I talking bout generator (so they can't be suspicious of high TTEC bill) and sharing wifi from the shack.

Or if I have a few containers in the back "full of old junk and rubbish" and as soon as them done do their valuation, I clean up and put back the bed and couch and rest of furniture?
It will be classed as a shed and you will still have to pay taxes.

If you build a car port you will have to pay tax on it.

Down to dog kennels and fish ponds.

But you can build one of those Hindu temples huts and not pay taxes on it

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 19th, 2019, 11:36 pm

If zoom already know everything about how property tax being calculated, why not just confirm it?

Call up Devant to lodge a FOIA request into the most current valuation division assessment policy and all training, assessment and supervisory manuals used in the division.

Might tell you something interesting.

Postby matr1x » November 20th, 2019, 1:47 am

The repossession of homes goes to the state.

Hdc belongs to the state.

Who gets the hdc houses.

There you go.

Also if I walk out in my yard naked, will I be charged?

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2019, 8:00 am

ProtonPowder wrote:If zoom already know everything about how property tax being calculated, why not just confirm it?

Call up Devant to lodge a FOIA request into the most current valuation division assessment policy and all training, assessment and supervisory manuals used in the division.

Might tell you something interesting.

Bro Maybe you can break it down for us and share it.

Postby 88sins » November 20th, 2019, 8:28 am

Blaze d Chalice wrote:What about if you have your lil 1-bedroom leaking galvanise shack in the yard, but build your 3-4 bedroom underground in a different part of the yard and cover up the entrance with grass?

PART I
PRELIMINARY
Interpretation.
Ch. 75:01.
“land” means—
(a) all land, messuages, tenements and
hereditaments, corporeal and incorporeal, of
every kind and description, or any estate or
interest therein, together with all paths, passages,
ways, water-courses, liberties and privileges;
(b) land covered with water; and
(c) all buildings, or any part of any building, and all
structures, machinery, plant, pipelines, cables
and fixtures erected or placed upon, in, over,
under or affixed to land;

question asked, question answered

btw,
the way this kakahole bill & description was written, if ppl decide to buy/build boats & live on that in d sea, or even if you choose to float your arse in the air & live in a hot air balloon & NEVER touch the ground again, they can say yuh hadda pay property tax on that boat. or that balloon As covered by :

"(3) For the purpose of this section, “moveable
tenement” means a residential unit which is not permanently
affixed to the ground or any other structure."

as well as the fact they going to say your vessel or balloon is/can be affixed to land( either permanently or temporarily), even though that land may under water, by way of your vessel's anchor.

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2019, 8:53 am

PART I
PRELIMINARY
Interpretation.
“land” means—

btw,
the way this kakahole bill & description was written, if ppl decide to buy/build boats & live on that in d sea, or even if you choose to float your arse in the air & live in a hot air balloon & NEVER touch the ground again, they can say yuh hadda pay property tax on that boat. or that balloon As covered by :

as well as the fact they going to say your vessel or balloon is/can be affixed to land( either permanently or temporarily), even though that land may under water, by way of your vessel's anchor.
Yup they taxing you on dog kennels and in my case cow pens and a pond that I have.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 20th, 2019, 4:30 pm

You should take a stand for something instead of running your mouth

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby MaxPower » November 20th, 2019, 4:45 pm

Congratulating the PNM on their victory in advance.

Allyuh know PNM is here to stay. This is what the people want. Allyuh love to eat sheit, so eat up.

And i really DGAF about allyuh UNC mc either.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » November 20th, 2019, 4:59 pm

PART I
PRELIMINARY
Interpretation.
“land” means—

btw,

I hope Imbert doesnt make the entire valuation division look at the movie Up

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2019, 5:14 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

You should take a stand for something instead of running your mouth
I did by not voting PNM.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » December 2nd, 2019, 10:56 pm

evening everybody
1511432141680.jpg

Postby zoom rader » December 2nd, 2019, 11:06 pm

After GE no House Tax

Postby The_Honourable » December 2nd, 2019, 11:28 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:evening everybody

Like yuh have an update...

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2019, 7:04 am

The_Honourable wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:evening everybody

Like yuh have an update...

Yeah Tax to be repealed under UNC and a much fearer valuation to be carried out.

Postby 88sins » December 3rd, 2019, 7:21 am

Now see growley talking about the lge results. The boi lookin like he actually worried.

As he should be, remember lge results tend to be a very good indicator of what to expect for the ge.
Expect the usual widespread and rampant road paving and box drain construction and gift giving from January till next ge ppl.

Postby zoom rader » December 3rd, 2019, 7:31 am

88sins wrote:Now see growley talking about the lge results. The boi lookin like he actually worried.

As he should be, remember lge results tend to be a very good indicator of what to expect for the ge.
Expect the usual widespread and rampant road paving and box drain construction and gift giving from January till next ge ppl.

Who ever repeals this evil unfair tax will win GE, its as simple as that.

Postby The_Honourable » September 3rd, 2020, 3:47 pm

Got the call from valuation office, they want to visit next week.

Property tax full speed ahead...

Postby *KRONIK* » September 3rd, 2020, 3:50 pm

When you submit?
The_Honourable wrote:Got the call from valuation office, they want to visit next week.

Postby The_Honourable » September 3rd, 2020, 3:55 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:When you submit?
The_Honourable wrote:Got the call from valuation office, they want to visit next week.

The officer said he have all my documents so no more required atm. They might take pictures and GPS points of the property .

Postby Dave » September 3rd, 2020, 4:19 pm

Same here, ducked him

Postby 88sins » September 3rd, 2020, 5:36 pm

Never submitted crew checking in.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2020, 5:41 pm

Daz joke...my folks got their proposed figure already. 4k for the year. When my old man asked how they arrived at that, they told him to come in and discuss it further :|

Postby Dave » September 3rd, 2020, 5:53 pm

Does his Wasa bill have a ATV amount?

Postby The_Honourable » September 3rd, 2020, 6:31 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Daz joke...my folks got their proposed figure already. 4k for the year. When my old man asked how they arrived at that, they told him to come in and discuss it further :|

4K hoss? :shock:

Like he have to walk with some curry and a bottle of rum to the office...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 3rd, 2020, 6:45 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

4K hoss? :shock:

Like he have to walk with some curry and a bottle of rum to the office...

Them on real sheit if you ask me...how does the tax apply to pensioners? My old man 4 years shy of 60...lol...

4k for a single storey house is pure bull. PURE!!! Yuh see the part where they measured everything with a roof separately, that was a real scene, so idk nah. Garage, outdoor bathroom, tool room and gazebo got separate figures :|